We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Happy Dragon Hostel

Hostel | 29 Ren Min Shi Chang Xi Xiang, Dong Cheng District, Beijing, China -

85.1% Overall Rating

306 out of 331 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (31/08/2015)

Stephan Faulhammer thinks…

"! I stayed there for 5 nights in a 6-Bed dorm. It was pretty cool, that every bed has a curtain, so you have privacy. I took the pick up service from the airport to the hostel, as I arrived during…"

Read all Happy Dragon Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 31.37

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Beijing?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Beijing

Beijing Sweet Garden House
7.84 USD

Hostel 63.5% 85 reviews
Peking Yard Hostel
15.68 USD

Hostel 90.1% 81 reviews
Dragon King Hostel
10.98 USD

Hostel 89.4% 136 reviews
Spring Time Hostel
62.73 USD

Hostel 87.5% 26 reviews
Beijing Yuexuan Courtyard Garden Hostel
14.12 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Happy Dragon Courtyard Hostel
10.98 USD

Hostel 82.1% 176 reviews
Lucky Family Hostel
10.98 USD

Hostel 90.7% 199 reviews
Beijing Fly by Knight Courtyard
20.39 USD

Hostel 87.7% 118 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.1%

Overall Rating

306 out of 331 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Happy Dragon Hostel'

Atmosphere
77.6%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
82.4%
Cleanliness
81.6%
Staff
90.4%
Value
87.2%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 301 of 320 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

03 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Small hostel, very friendly staff. I stayed 9 nights at this place, and It was really good.

Disliked: The wifi was not working so well.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really had a great time at this hostel! The location was good, the staff was very helpful and friendly, even went out with us for drinks, dinner, helped us buying good Chinese booze, especially Echo from the bar is super sweet and always a joy talking to. Met lots of people, beds were nice, showers clean.. really it's hard to find anything to complain about!

Disliked: No free beers - beers should always be free! ; ) Joking, really there is nothing bad to say.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Inna Sych

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013 Inna would recommend this property

Liked: Location, price and staff.

Disliked: Aircondition in the room was out of order.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

06 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere and location was nice. Staff spoke English and was helpful.

Disliked: The water in the shower would come on and off at times.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I just stay one night , but I really like the small hostel, the staff speak good english and the room are nice clean, and nice welcome! i will recommend to may friends. and it is nice bar to meet people.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

tess nowadly

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

17 April 2013 tess would recommend this property

Liked: we had nice stay there verything is good.

Disliked: tess left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

bashall anna

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 April 2013 bashall would recommend this property

Liked: the staff speak good english, the hostel are nice.

Disliked: the bar in the hostel are close early

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jessica wang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

17 April 2013 jessica would recommend this property

Liked: the room are clean and the staff was nice the bar is really nice to meet other people!!!

Disliked: the weather was very cold

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Patrick Köhler

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 April 2013 Patrick would recommend this property

Liked: Toller Staff, tolle Bar. Simon - Bester Mann neben dem Koch, der einfach megagut ist!!! Jederzeit wieder.

Disliked: Einziges Manko war, dass die Bar so früh schließt und man dann in den Flur abgeschoben wird und es dementsprechend laut ist. Eine Lösung wäre die Bar offen zu lassen und den Getränkeschrank zu schließen, so dass die Gäste einen Aufenthaltsraum hätten ;)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

08 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were exceptionally helpful and had a good grasp of English.

Disliked: Noisy young hostellers in the early hours of the morning. However, I think this is what I expect for the price and the likely clientele.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Lisa Salomonsen

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2013 Lisa would recommend this property

Liked: The bathroom and shower was nice, the room was clean and good. The bar was cheap and good. the tour to the great wall was very nice. and the friendliness of the staff was good.

Disliked: The restaurant was not the best. and our room was very cold, the toilet broke a few times.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Visiting friends or family

02 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff here speak good English and are super-friendly and helpful. The cleaning staff don't speak English but are also cheery and polite. The location is right next to the line 5/line 6 interchange underground station (Dong Si) so it's pretty easy to access the city via public transport. It's also very close to nice recreational areas like the Llama Temple and the Bell and Drum Tower area near Houhai Lake. The bins in the rooms get emptied every day and if you want the room made up, you can put a notice on your door. I stayed in a single room expecting a cramped space and, whilst it obviously wasn't huge, it was more spacious than I expected for the cheap price! Food in the bar is pretty good and not as over priced in some other places I've stayed.

Disliked: Struggle to think of anything.... the bar can be a bit dark and noisy I guess. But it's just so friendly! :D

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

alexis krug

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Shopping

26 March 2013 alexis would recommend this property

Liked: nice staff good food and price not very expensive

Disliked: alexis left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

rachel davies

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa

26 March 2013 rachel would recommend this property

Liked: the staff were very nice and friendly.and very close to the subway I will recommed to my friends!!!

Disliked: rachel left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff

Disliked: On some days we didn't get any room service.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Natalie Simmons

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 January 2013 Natalie would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in a double bed bedroom which was very clean but the heater didn't work that well. The bar downstairs is nice and warm and the food was quite good. The staff here are the best I've had in china, they helped me so much with trains and getting around. Sara and Apple from the bar were especially lovely and helpful. Overall I did love this hostel but if you are on your own it isn't the best place to meet many people, it's more of a quiet one which is still great when looking for one. Definatly come here if you want lovely helpful staff.

Disliked: heater should work better and the showers are quiet low down

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to subway, staff speak good English

Disliked: Have to pay to use computers and you only get 15 mins, bit far to walk to tourist attractions.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: definitely stay again. great staff and good rates.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

03 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are very friendly, helpful and accommodating. Convenient location. Make sure you have the hotel's address and phone number for taxi drivers that may be unsure of where the hostel is. Good food from their cafe.

Disliked: We found bedbugs in one of the beds in the bunk-bed room # 6 on the first floor. The staff were great; at no additional charge they transferred us to a private room on the second floor that was cleaner and had no sign of bugs.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, good location.

Disliked: We went on a tour to the Great Wall of China. The tour was fine, but our English guide didn't come on the wall with us as you may expect and we had to pay an additional fee to cable car up and down. You can walk up, but it would be good to know about these things up front.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Axel Weinberg

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 October 2012 Axel would recommend this property

Liked: Muy bien ubicado. Habitaciones correctas

Disliked: No hay mucho sitio para el espacio comunitario, solo el bar y es muy nocturno. No hay lobby

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Matthew Pincus

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 October 2012

Liked: The Great Wall tour was nice, but I imagine you could book that through any hostel or hotel. The market down the street had some good food in the morning.

Disliked: I felt deceived when I showed up and was told the hostel was overbooked due to an error with the online system. I'm sure there was no error; that's just their scam. I got shuttled off to their sister hotel, with no English speaking staff, no wifi, and no communal area. It made for a very lousy experience.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are extremely helpful and are available all hours for any questions. They were not pushy to sell tours and advised me on good and bad tours. They advised me on scams to watch out for and the best sites to see, and how to get there.

Disliked: I thought the food and drinks were a bit expensive. A bottle of 6000ml of Tsingtao beer was 20RMB when the bar next door was selling for 4RMB. I think they would have more custom if they lowered their prices.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Björn Münchberg

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 October 2012 Björn would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was extremly friendly, and speaks very good english.

Disliked: Building is from the outside and the area not so nice.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 October 2012

Liked: Nothing good

Disliked: As they do not transcribed my booking from Hostelbookers and after 1 hour of negotiation at 12am, the better proposition that they made was to stay in the "twin" hostel, managed by the sister of the owner. This "twin hostel" is for Chinese costumers, so the staff don't speak English and all the rooms are for smokers. If you don't care about the chance to get in a place with smelly rooms, people spitting in the corridors, toilets with funny odors (sewer system), a location surrounded by abandoned buildings and parking lots, maybe this is your place. In addition, in the check out day, they forgot that I had already paid (again, they didn't do the transcription) , adding additional stress to the departure to the airport.