We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Happy Dragon Hostel

Hostel | 29 Ren Min Shi Chang Xi Xiang, Dong Cheng District, Beijing, China -

83.3% Overall Rating

305 out of 330 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (31/08/2015)

Stephan Faulhammer thinks…

"! I stayed there for 5 nights in a 6-Bed dorm. It was pretty cool, that every bed has a curtain, so you have privacy. I took the pick up service from the airport to the hostel, as I arrived during…"

Read all Happy Dragon Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 31.26

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Beijing?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Beijing

Beijing Sweet Garden House
7.81 USD

Hostel 63.5% 85 reviews
Peking Yard Hostel
15.63 USD

Hostel 90.1% 81 reviews
Dragon King Hostel
10.94 USD

Hostel 89.4% 136 reviews
Spring Time Hostel
62.51 USD

Hostel 87.5% 26 reviews
Beijing Yuexuan Courtyard Garden Hostel
14.07 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Happy Dragon Courtyard Hostel
10.94 USD

Hostel 82.1% 176 reviews
Lucky Family Hostel
10.94 USD

Hostel 90.7% 199 reviews
Beijing Fly by Knight Courtyard
20.32 USD

Hostel 87.7% 118 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.3%

Overall Rating

305 out of 330 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Happy Dragon Hostel'

Atmosphere
76.0%
Location
83.2%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
80.0%
Staff
88.8%
Value
84.8%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 301 of 320 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Bev Lees

05 September 2009 Bev would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were brilliant and it was very lively. My only complaint is the one communal room/bar is small and allows smoking so non-smokers could not breath and it was not very nice to eat your food in the room.

Disliked: Bev left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ZHENGYU ZHAO

03 September 2009 ZHENGYU would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay. They arrange specially small events like cycling tour, and dumpling party, and all for free!Excellent stuff! Very friendly and helpful. Although the surrounding environment seems bit shabby, but the inside furnish is up to the standards. Recommend

Disliked: ZHENGYU left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Gerwyn Davies

29 August 2009 Gerwyn would recommend this property

Liked: amazing hostel! This was the first place i stayed in China and after travelling around to several other hostels I have realised how much of a hidden gem this place is. The staff are brilliant and so helpful they definitely make the stay special. There is a very homely atmosphere there which is so important (and what every other place lacked). If you're going to beijing, definitely stay in the happy dragon hostel.

Disliked: Gerwyn left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samantha Granger

27 August 2009 Samantha would recommend this property

Liked: The Happy Dragon was fantastic - It was a great place to stay, staff made the place amazing they could not do enough for us it was brilliant - laundry came out really clean, internet was good - the bar area and food good we can't rate this hostel high enough - if we manage to make it back to Beijing in the future this will be the first place on our list for accomodation. We wish that every hostel was like this one..... Sam and Keith UK nottingham

Disliked: Samantha left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JONATHAN BAINES

27 August 2009 JONATHAN would recommend this property

Liked: great spot - the staff are extremely hospitable and very welcoming

Disliked: JONATHAN left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jan Turdell

27 August 2009 Jan would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff!

Disliked: Jan left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

24 August 2009

Liked: firendly staff, good location for shopping, tiananmen and sanlitun.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Erin Tehee

21 August 2009 Erin would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly and helpful staff that could help you with any possible query. Good range of tours. Really good breakfasts too. Busy and social hostel, but not so much so that you couldn't get a good nights rest.

Disliked: Erin left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carolina Gonzalez-Urena

20 August 2009 Carolina would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was excellent and the rooms were clean and had lockers. They also offer activities like a bike ride (really cool) and Chinese lessons (both for free!!!), as well as tours to the Great Wall and evening shows. The best thing in the hostel though is the staff: they are really friendly and helpful, AWESOME!

Disliked: Carolina left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Stuart Fraser

18 August 2009 Stuart would recommend this property

Liked: The staff here are incredibly friendly and welcoming, even more so than in the many other great hostels I have stayed at in China. The rooms are ok with lockers big enough for valuables or people travelling light but not for a whole backpack. It isn't especially spacious and there isn't a huge amount of common space. Just a small restaurant/bar and an internet area. This is probably a reflection of it's location in Beijing and may be true of other hostels in the city. It's conveniently located close to a subway station and I would definitely stay here again.

Disliked: Stuart left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

17 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great service and location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Didzis Bardovskis

16 August 2009 Didzis would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice place to stay, staff was very friendly!

Disliked: Didzis left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

claus sjørslev madsen

14 August 2009 claus sjørslev would recommend this property

Liked: The single room is simple and clean, but it has no window - which drove me mad. The best thing about this place is the staff. Really nice and helpful. Only problem was that it took them 3 days to fix the internetconnection.

Disliked: claus sjørslev left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

14 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were excellent and very friendly. Thank you for a great stay!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alejandro Diez Ascaso

10 August 2009 Alejandro would recommend this property

Liked: The best part of my vacation were the days spent in Beijing. I like Bejing but thanks to this wonderful hostel too. I stayed in a double room, which had a bathroom, air conditioning and TV, for a very good price. But above all, has a staff made up of wonderful people. Special mention to the bar where I spent a good time :). Thanks very much Happy Dragon.

Disliked: Alejandro left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Christopher Aston

09 August 2009 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: Great little hostel, near Dongsi metro station. We stayed in double room with ensuite for a week and it was great . Staff are fine, although they seem a little bit too keen to retain their hostelbookers 'friendlest staff' award - verging a little on the annoying! Unfortunately, the night staff were nowhere near as competent as the day staff, which proved quite annoying as we were out during the day and wanted to get a lot of things done in the evening. Nevertheless, great atmosphere, everybody seemed to be happy, reasonable speed internet (free) and great food (little on the expensive side though).

Disliked: Christopher left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

04 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff! Very friendly and helpful. Location very good!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

04 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were amazing. They were so honest and helpful and didn't mind taking the time to give you individual attention and information. I would definitely stay here again. I've stayed in many places in Beijing, and this would have to be my favorite.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

03 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome. Tours were really good. Staff was super nice.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

02 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: English speaking staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

02 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really lovely hostel - the best we stayed in on our trip to China. The staff are incredibly friendly, there's a really nice bar area with good food and we had a great 3 bed private room with ensuite shower. Location is pretty central and very near to the subway. They also organise loads of day trips and free bike tours around the city.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

02 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We were moved to the sister hotel which was a 2 minute walk from the hostel, and the rooms in there were spacious and clean, probably nicer than those in the hostel itself.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

30 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I love this hostel!! You can spend there a fantastic stopover when you are in Beijing!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Heather Patriquin

30 July 2009 Heather would recommend this property

Liked: It was great! The Great Wall tour was worth the money and the lunch was terrific!

Disliked: Heather left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Gillespie

30 July 2009 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: I absolutely LOVE this place. The staff are literally the nicest people you will ever meet and the bar is a great place to meet people. Rooms are cleaned every day and it's literally a 3 minute walk to the metro, making it a gateway to the rest of the city.

Disliked: Laura left no negative feedback.