HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Happy Dragon Hostel

Hostel | 29 Ren Min Shi Chang Xi Xiang, Dong Cheng District, Beijing, China -

84.2% Overall Rating

295 out of 318 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/01/2014)

michelle challens thinks…

"Fantastic staff, who couldn't help enough! Comfortable accommodation that was convenient and clean. Excellent atmosphere, didn't want to leave, I felt so at home and cared for! Loved everything about…"

Read all Happy Dragon Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 32.37

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Beijing?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Beijing

Beijing Sweet Garden House
8.09 USD

Hostel 67.4% 82 reviews
N.E. Hotel Beijing
31.40 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Peking Yard Hostel
16.18 USD

Hostel 90.4% 70 reviews
Dragon King Hostel
8.09 USD

Hostel 90.3% 97 reviews
Spring Time Hostel
12.95 USD

Hostel 88.3% 24 reviews
Happy Dragon Courtyard Hostel
8.09 USD

Hostel 84.6% 166 reviews
Lucky Family Hostel
11.33 USD

Hostel 90.9% 150 reviews
Fly by Knight Courtyard
21.04 USD

Guesthouse 88.3% 113 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.2%

Overall Rating

295 out of 318 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Happy Dragon Hostel'

Atmosphere
76.0%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
79.2%
Cleanliness
84.8%
Staff
87.2%
Value
84.0%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 290 of 307 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Didzis Bardovskis

16 August 2009 Didzis would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice place to stay, staff was very friendly!

Disliked: Didzis left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

claus sjørslev madsen

14 August 2009 claus sjørslev would recommend this property

Liked: The single room is simple and clean, but it has no window - which drove me mad. The best thing about this place is the staff. Really nice and helpful. Only problem was that it took them 3 days to fix the internetconnection.

Disliked: claus sjørslev left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

14 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were excellent and very friendly. Thank you for a great stay!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alejandro Diez Ascaso

10 August 2009 Alejandro would recommend this property

Liked: The best part of my vacation were the days spent in Beijing. I like Bejing but thanks to this wonderful hostel too. I stayed in a double room, which had a bathroom, air conditioning and TV, for a very good price. But above all, has a staff made up of wonderful people. Special mention to the bar where I spent a good time :). Thanks very much Happy Dragon.

Disliked: Alejandro left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Christopher Aston

09 August 2009 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: Great little hostel, near Dongsi metro station. We stayed in double room with ensuite for a week and it was great . Staff are fine, although they seem a little bit too keen to retain their hostelbookers 'friendlest staff' award - verging a little on the annoying! Unfortunately, the night staff were nowhere near as competent as the day staff, which proved quite annoying as we were out during the day and wanted to get a lot of things done in the evening. Nevertheless, great atmosphere, everybody seemed to be happy, reasonable speed internet (free) and great food (little on the expensive side though).

Disliked: Christopher left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

04 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff! Very friendly and helpful. Location very good!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

04 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were amazing. They were so honest and helpful and didn't mind taking the time to give you individual attention and information. I would definitely stay here again. I've stayed in many places in Beijing, and this would have to be my favorite.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

03 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome. Tours were really good. Staff was super nice.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

02 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: English speaking staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

02 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really lovely hostel - the best we stayed in on our trip to China. The staff are incredibly friendly, there's a really nice bar area with good food and we had a great 3 bed private room with ensuite shower. Location is pretty central and very near to the subway. They also organise loads of day trips and free bike tours around the city.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

02 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We were moved to the sister hotel which was a 2 minute walk from the hostel, and the rooms in there were spacious and clean, probably nicer than those in the hostel itself.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

30 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I love this hostel!! You can spend there a fantastic stopover when you are in Beijing!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Heather Patriquin

30 July 2009 Heather would recommend this property

Liked: It was great! The Great Wall tour was worth the money and the lunch was terrific!

Disliked: Heather left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Gillespie

30 July 2009 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: I absolutely LOVE this place. The staff are literally the nicest people you will ever meet and the bar is a great place to meet people. Rooms are cleaned every day and it's literally a 3 minute walk to the metro, making it a gateway to the rest of the city.

Disliked: Laura left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christina Till

28 July 2009 Christina would recommend this property

Liked: If it wasn't for the chaotic check-in and check-out, this would have been one of the best hostels ever. When I arrived they told me that they overbooked my room and that I should stay in the hotel closeby, which in the end didn't work out because I wasn't allowed to sleep in one room with 2 men, ended up in the wangfujing branch of the hostel (same owner) which isn't nearly as good as the Happy Dragon is. Had to move back the next day. Check-out was annoying as well- they just took some of my stuff on my bed even though I didn't have to check-out yet, took me some time to recollect everything from the staff and in the room. But all in all the staff was just wonderful, they offer some nice but pricey trips, can recommend the acrobats. Great atmosphere and good food. The lady outside selling beer in this little cigarette shop is also just lovely, great place to sit outside in the evening and have some beers. Will come back definitely!

Disliked: Christina left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

28 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A very friendly place in beijing !!!!was cool to stay there

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Jose Renato Carollo Turci

26 July 2009

Liked: didn't like it. I think you can get better deals in beijing . I was surprised because generally places live up to the ratings they get. this one was a (negative) surprise to me. one of the things it pissed me off most was they gave my private room away and dealt with it jokingly ; my laundry was handed back to me still wet ; the excursion to the great wall they offer is not the best sight to visit either but they don't tell you that.

Disliked: Jose Renato left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

25 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff !!!!!A lot of fun there !!!!!For sure, the best hostel in Beijing !MIKE

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

21 July 2009

Liked: We felt this hostel was, although ok, a bit overrated in the reviews. Our first impressions were of the small and dingy bar, not the kind of place you want to spend a lot of time and only about 4 tables making it far too small for the size of the hostel. The staff were very friendly, although sometimes a bit too much (in a starbucks/pret kinda way.) However, be wary of being asked to try their sister hostel round the corner as we were...this is a grubby hostel with zero atmosphere. The final negative was the location, perfect walking distance for the forbidden city but not a lot else. Its a long walk to the nearest tube, most other hostels in the area are much better linked up.On the upside, our room was very clean and pleasant. We also booked 2 tours through the hostel which were both very reasonably priced and a lot of fun. Overall we have stayed in 4 other hostels in china and all have been better than this one, so we are surprised by how well rated this hostel gets on hostel bookers.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

19 July 2009

Liked: We were moved to their sister hotel for our first night even though we had booked nights at the hostel. DO NOT STAY at the sister hotel, it is awful. LOTS of people had this problem and it was a nightmare! ;(

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

17 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was realy a nice place

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Christine Peter

17 July 2009 Christine would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, extremely nice and helpful staff, fun place to meet people, pool bar and little shops directly across the street, station and supermarket just 5minutes away, funniest and coolest chinese tourguide for the Great Wall Badaling tour! I can just recommend this hostel and would surely come back for another visit!

Disliked: Christine left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

12 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: As one of the best rated hostels in Beijing we've choosen the Happy Dragon Hostel for our second accommodation within our stay in the city. The staff seemed to be extraordinary friendly, just only to the costomers; unauthentically happy, you could say. The internet is for free, but the prices in the bar contrawise are very high. You can get halfprice water, coke etc. outside the hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

12 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really good... there English is good, and can help alot sorting out places to stay. There tours are really good to!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephanie Mills

12 July 2009 Stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: The helpful staff. The clean rooms and bathrooms. The hostel bar.

Disliked: Stephanie left no negative feedback.