We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Happy Dragon Hostel

Hostel | 29 Ren Min Shi Chang Xi Xiang, Dong Cheng District, Beijing, China -

84.3% Overall Rating

299 out of 322 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/10/2014)

"The stuff is super super super friendly!! They are very helpful and the trips they organize are good and cheaper than if somebody would do it by theirselves. Also, the location is just great, 20 minutes walk from the…"

Read all Happy Dragon Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 32.49

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Beijing?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Beijing

Beijing Sweet Garden House
8.12 USD

Hostel 63.5% 85 reviews
N.E. Hotel Beijing
31.51 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Peking Yard Hostel
12.99 USD

Hostel 90.7% 76 reviews
Dragon King Hostel
7.31 USD

Hostel 90.6% 118 reviews
Spring Time Hostel
16.24 USD

Hostel 87.5% 26 reviews
Beijing Yuexuan Courtyard Garden Hostel
8.12 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Happy Dragon Courtyard Hostel
7.31 USD

Hostel 82.2% 173 reviews
Lucky Family Hostel
9.75 USD

Hostel 89.7% 183 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.3%

Overall Rating

299 out of 322 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Happy Dragon Hostel'

Atmosphere
75.2%
Location
83.2%
Facilities
81.6%
Cleanliness
85.6%
Staff
88.0%
Value
84.8%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 294 of 311 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

12 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great Hostel. Really easy to meet people in the little bar/lounge area. This was my first stop so was a little daunting but felt at home and would recommend to all. Food in the bar was also pretty good if you cant be bothered to go out. I really enjoyed the olympic village area - for me a must for any visitor!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

11 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and close to a nice hutong and all the major locations including food streets, sights, shopping and parks!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

10 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was clean and had western toilets.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

09 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great little hostel, lots offun, great service.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

08 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cool location, nice food, friendly staff!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

07 October 2009

Liked: i wouldn't recommend this to those who are traveling with their family or with kids or couple... this place is good for traveling friends... a real backpacker's haven. the staff is super friendly and nice. we only stayed for 1 night though and transferred to another hostel

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

martin kuenzle

01 October 2009 martin would recommend this property

Liked: Absolute cool Hostel in BeijingStaff is GREAT, they helped us carry our luggage and getting a cab while we were in an ultimate rush to get to the trainstation. The atmoshphere is great, especially outside in the little street with the small stores, they offer beer for 3yuan, great times with other travellers!anytime again

Disliked: martin left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

30 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone at the hostel was very friendly and helpful. They remembered who you were and were glad to help.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

28 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely friendly staff!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

26 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice staff!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Stefan Vogel

23 September 2009 Stefan would recommend this property

Liked: Happy Dragon was very friendly and helpful, booking onwards hostels, train tickets etc. The free bike tour was awesome, thanks John!

Disliked: Stefan left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

21 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff, free internet, nice rooms

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

19 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, value for money rooms and a good place to meet people.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

17 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel I've stayed in so far in over 4 weeks across Japan and China. Owner fosters an environment of happy staff and happy customers!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joern Bollinger

17 September 2009 Joern would recommend this property

Liked: nicelocation, nice bar, nice stuff..

Disliked: Joern left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

fernando hernandez vidal

15 September 2009 fernando would recommend this property

Liked: I spent wonderful days at this perfect location hostel and I enjoyed the help of best staff ever to discover Beijing !!Thanks Amanda!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Disliked: fernando left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

13 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly staff...encourage you to have fun. Good atmosphere. Didn't think the breakfast was good value.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Ladommatos

12 September 2009 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is great, the staff are amazing, everything is AWESOME. I would actually consider moving to Beijing and living in this hostel, it's so great. All the staff are so helpful and just hang out with you all day whilst you sit in the bar which is great. Never a dull moment. The bar is awesome! the guests are great! Great location. There was a party on Friday night and I had a train booked to Shanghai but the party was great, so I didn't want to go, so Amanda that works here even came to the train station with me to help me change my train ticket! If you ever go to Beijing, STAY HERE! Big up to Luke and Hugh

Disliked: Andrew left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Bev Lees

05 September 2009 Bev would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were brilliant and it was very lively. My only complaint is the one communal room/bar is small and allows smoking so non-smokers could not breath and it was not very nice to eat your food in the room.

Disliked: Bev left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ZHENGYU ZHAO

03 September 2009 ZHENGYU would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay. They arrange specially small events like cycling tour, and dumpling party, and all for free!Excellent stuff! Very friendly and helpful. Although the surrounding environment seems bit shabby, but the inside furnish is up to the standards. Recommend

Disliked: ZHENGYU left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Gerwyn Davies

29 August 2009 Gerwyn would recommend this property

Liked: amazing hostel! This was the first place i stayed in China and after travelling around to several other hostels I have realised how much of a hidden gem this place is. The staff are brilliant and so helpful they definitely make the stay special. There is a very homely atmosphere there which is so important (and what every other place lacked). If you're going to beijing, definitely stay in the happy dragon hostel.

Disliked: Gerwyn left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samantha Granger

27 August 2009 Samantha would recommend this property

Liked: The Happy Dragon was fantastic - It was a great place to stay, staff made the place amazing they could not do enough for us it was brilliant - laundry came out really clean, internet was good - the bar area and food good we can't rate this hostel high enough - if we manage to make it back to Beijing in the future this will be the first place on our list for accomodation. We wish that every hostel was like this one..... Sam and Keith UK nottingham

Disliked: Samantha left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JONATHAN BAINES

27 August 2009 JONATHAN would recommend this property

Liked: great spot - the staff are extremely hospitable and very welcoming

Disliked: JONATHAN left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jan Turdell

27 August 2009 Jan would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff!

Disliked: Jan left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

24 August 2009

Liked: firendly staff, good location for shopping, tiananmen and sanlitun.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.