HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Templeside Lianlian Hutong Guest House

Hostel | No.8 An Ping Xiang (Alley), Zhao Deng Yu Lu (Road), Beijing, China 100043

90.3% Overall Rating

65 out of 67 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/08/2014)

Brent & Aletta Swann thinks…

"Lovely staff, we woke them up at 3am and they let us in, we are very sorry guys for the early wake. We waited in the reception area until the reception opened (our fault - didn't read description…"

Read all Templeside Lianlian Hutong Guest House reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Laundry service
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 45.48
  • Breakfast USD 5.69

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Beijing?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Beijing

Chinese Box Courtyard Hostel
24.36 USD

Hostel 89.4% 133 reviews
BackHome Beijing Guest house
9.75 USD

Guesthouse 82.6% 19 reviews
INNer City
14.62 USD

Guesthouse 85.0% 57 reviews
Beijing Templeside Deluxe Hutong House
17.87 USD

Hostel 91.2% 51 reviews
Beijing Si He Courtyard Hotel
68.71 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Beijing Houhai Courtyard Inn
32.32 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Beijing Wada Youth Hostel
9.42 USD

Hostel 77.7% 25 reviews
Red Lantern House
12.99 USD

Hostel 90.5% 550 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.3%

Overall Rating

65 out of 67 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Templeside Lianlian Hutong Guest House'

Atmosphere
93.6%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
96.8%
Value
85.6%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 59 of 62 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brent & Aletta Swann

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 August 2014 Brent & Aletta would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely staff, we woke them up at 3am and they let us in, we are very sorry guys for the early wake. We waited in the reception area until the reception opened (our fault - didn't read description about reception hours, assumed 24 hours). Very helpful, although not necessarily 100% helpful, they really wanted to try and help and did all they could. Helped us book flights via ctrip. Cool to stay in a real Hutong rather than a sterile block of rooms :-)

Disliked: A little bit further out of town, close to metro/underground/subway, but not in the tourist areas. Great for a real Beijing experience, just not central.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

18 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I love that atmosphere, and I love the rooftop.

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Michaela Wrede

With a large group / tour

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013 Michaela would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is the perfect location to experience the traditional Chinese way of living. It is located in a Hutong, so that you get an insight into a traditional neighborhood, with its local shops and markets. Additionally, the Hostel has very friendly staff, which provides helpful tips and personal insights. They try to fulfill you every wish/request. Communication was quite easy as the staff either speaks fluent English or German. The hostel is furnished in a practical way and decorated with loving attention to detail. It is cleaned every day and they even tidy up your bedroom. A typical Chinese-style breakfast can be ordered to experience the local taste. For us as a student group, it was the perfect location as the Financial street is very close and the two metro stations within walking distance (~15 min --> quite close for Beijing Mega-City). Moreover, we had the whole hostel for our own. The roof terrace is a perfect spot to relax after a busy day. All in all, staying in this hostel was a great way to learn about the Chinese culture and its people. We were told several times during our stay that Beijing (Business + shopping district), Shanghai and Hong Kong is not China. But living in this hostel is where you can experience the REAL China!

Disliked: We had the whole hostel for ourselves so that everyone of us had the same program and schedule. This meant that the water pipes were heavily used at some times. As a consequence, water only flew extremely slowly in the showers, sinks and toilets. Since the house walls are quite thin, the noise can be quite high if people are talking outside, but this is only a minor thing. In general, the neighborhood is very quiet.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This may be the best hostel (more like a lodge or guest house) I have ever been. I like the family feeling and pure Chinese atmosphere. The best of all, I got a good deal for free upgrading, thanks for those nice and honest staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yonee Zhou

With friends / other travellers

City break

12 December 2012 Yonee would recommend this property

Liked: for about USD 30 per night to stay such a guest house, it is a real worth. I even got a free upgrading on the top. The staff are nice and kind. They really want everyone enjoy the house

Disliked: none

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

12 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: no more extra words to say, perfect stay, great place! I love their hutong style and dumpling food party ! A little bit far from metro, about 10 mins walking, but it is OK considering the size of the whole city. The room is heated and warm, esp a big value for winter price. Highly recommended.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good staff couldnt do enough to help , nice atmosphere, sociable, lots of charactor , interesting location,

Disliked: really cant think of anything

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice and friendly staff that speak excellent English and do go the extra mile to help their guests. We stayed in the guesthouse described here but also in the Templeside Deluxe guesthouse that belongs to the same owner. While the furniture in the Deluxe guesthouse was nicer (antiques style), we liked the "regular" Templeside hostel even better because of the open courtyard and the overall atmosphere. They had just renovated the "regular" guesthouse as well, so the furniture and bathroom in the rooms was new and clean, even though maybe a bit more basic than in their deluxe guesthouse. Anyway, value for many, we would definitely recommend the regular Templeside Guesthouse. Both guesthouses are located in a real local hutong (not the ones that are targeting tourists) which is nice because you get to see everyday life, but as I describe below also brings the disadvantage that you have to communite in order to get to the restaurants recommended in guidebooks etc. ; Direct bus connection (bus stop is close by) to Tianamen square.

Disliked: It's about a fifteen minutes walk to each of the two metro stations closest to the hostel; there are not too many restaurants close by so that most of the time you will need to take the metro or bus to go to dinner which can be quite time consuming given that Bejing is so big. Taxis are often (especially in the evenings) hard to get anywhere in central Bejing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed at both templeside hutong house and templeside deluxe house, both hostels were really nice with extremely helpful staff, even when we arrived at 2am.

Disliked: Hostel was a 15minute walk from the nearest metro stations.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: All in all the property was nice and the rooms were decent. We stayed in a three bed with private bath. The hostel was cute and had a good atmosphere. Beds were comfortable (especially for China) and the location was close enough to 2 metro lines. The staff at the hostel was nice, but not super helpful.

Disliked: Nothing was bad, but nothing was super fantastic. A little expensive for what you get

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Michael Gujan

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 April 2012 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice people..make you feel homely! We arrived on monday and monday nights they always have dumpling evening which is a great way to get know the hostel and the other guests! Our first room was already really nice but for the last night they offered us to switch to a deluxe room which was awesome..both rooms were really clean and the bed was absolutely comfortable.

Disliked: Michael left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Bob Ketting

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 March 2012 Bob would recommend this property

Liked: It's real Beijing (hutong).

Disliked: Nearest metro is a 10 min walk

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jose Tomas Castro

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 December 2011 Jose Tomas would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent place, located near a subway station. Staff was friendly and helpful, the place beautiful and clean.

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Anthony Border

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 October 2011 Anthony would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, near xi si station. Friendly owner, great shower, quiet relaxing neighborhood and good value for money.

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

16 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lies in a nice Hutong, beautiful inner courtyard.

Disliked: Thin matraces, hard beds.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Shinichiro Makino

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 October 2011 Shinichiro would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Only few min walk to underground station and bus stops. Easy access to main rail stations and places to visit such as Palace, Parks, Beijing Zoo and etc. It locates quiet old residential area even close to the busy street. I could sleep well. Staffs are very kind and helpful. The room, bed and other facilities are simple but enough clean. There are many family run small restaurants, food stands, and stores near by. I could eat many popular Chinese dishes with low price.

Disliked: Nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to subway, nice house

Disliked: We booked a room with private bathroom and chose the hotel for its destination. The room appeared not available, so we could choose between shared bath in good location or private bath in less location. We took shared, but the bathroom was really poor. The location is good because of the subway, the area itself is not really vivid.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jakub Piaszczyk

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2011 Jakub would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel is really nice, the staff is so friendly and helpful. Rooms are very clean. Close to the metro station.

Disliked: everything is great

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Rebecca O'Sullivan

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2011 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: In a hutong area, very quiet, minimal tourists around and situated between two subway stations for lines 2 and 4 so very convenient. Courtyard house-style building, courtyard has been turned in to a communal area for Ping Pong.

Disliked: Advertised a family room and a triple room separately, however arrived to find a triple room IS a family room, fortunately the two I travelled with were ok with sharing a double bed. The hostel is split in to two buildings quite far away form each other as well, however, after booking, you are given no details as to which building you're in and only given directions to the first building, despite this the hostel staff felt it acceptable to treat us like idiots for going to the wrong building.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jacob Miles

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

01 July 2011 Jacob would recommend this property

Liked: The setting within the Hutong area.

Disliked: N/A

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice atmosphere in the outside area

Disliked: Beds were very hard

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness

Disliked: Expensive

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

19 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Well, its a Huton, its my favourite Hostel in China!! It probably depends on what you are expecting; if your main priority is to have ultraconvenient facilities and luxurious bedding, you will get way more value for your money in those big hotellike hostels in the citycenter. Without knowing the language or having friends over here you probably wont see anything of the "real china", but this hostel and the surrounding hutons and small alleyways will at least give you a hint of the real deal. Plus the staff is really friendly and speaks very good english. (Bedding and facilities are convenient enough, dont worry)

Disliked: No complaints while I was there. I heard they raised the price after I left to about 80rmb per night for the dorm...even though I really liked it, thats too much! If you dont care about money, go for it, but budget-travellers should visit this area around Xisi and stay in a cheaper hostel... just my 2cents

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

17 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Charm and character and friendlyness

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Located in the middle of a traditional Hutong improved the atmosphere of being among local Chinese people. Besides, all rooms were adjoining the central courtyard, which was great! Staff was really friendly!

Disliked: Can't think of any dislikes.