We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Templeside Lianlian Hutong Guest House

Hostel | No.8 An Ping Xiang (Alley), Zhao Deng Yu Lu (Road), Beijing, China 100043

90.3% Overall Rating

65 out of 67 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/08/2014)

Brent & Aletta Swann thinks…

"Lovely staff, we woke them up at 3am and they let us in, we are very sorry guys for the early wake. We waited in the reception area until the reception opened (our fault - didn't read description…"

Read all Templeside Lianlian Hutong Guest House reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Laundry service
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 45.48
  • Breakfast USD 5.69

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Beijing?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Beijing

Chinese Box Courtyard Hostel
16.24 USD

Hostel 89.4% 133 reviews
BackHome Beijing Guest house
9.75 USD

Guesthouse 82.6% 19 reviews
INNer City
10.56 USD

Guesthouse 85.0% 57 reviews
Beijing Templeside Deluxe Hutong House
17.87 USD

Hostel 91.2% 51 reviews
Beijing Si He Courtyard Hotel
47.76 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Beijing Houhai Courtyard Inn
32.32 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Beijing Wada Youth Hostel
8.93 USD

Hostel 77.7% 25 reviews
Red Lantern House
12.99 USD

Hostel 90.3% 553 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.3%

Overall Rating

65 out of 67 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Templeside Lianlian Hutong Guest House'

Atmosphere
93.6%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
96.8%
Value
85.6%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 59 of 62 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Xiao Lin

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

02 April 2011 Xiao would recommend this property

Liked: I like this hostel. Staff there are very nice. And its very quiet and nice. I've already recommended to my friends.

Disliked: The Room NO. 1 doesn't get the sunshine very often. So its a bit cold and humid!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

30 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great people, nice atmosphere, clean No food but there are restruants nearby

Disliked: Nothing! It was great

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice room and furnitures

Disliked: strange smell in the bathroom

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

01 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that the hostel was in a traditional Hutong of Beijing. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Karen Lowe

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 November 2010 Karen would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful Hutong - much nicer place to stay than a hostel/hotel. Warm, clean, huge rooms and really well run place

Disliked: Karen left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Natalie Bootes

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 November 2010 Natalie would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was absolutely fantastic. The staff were very friendly & helpful & even offered for me to sit & have lunch with them one day. As well as helping me with directions, sight advice & even purchasing of a sim card (no easy feat if you don't speak Mandarin). It was much more interesting to stay here than at a hotel & I met lots of very nice & friendly guests.

Disliked: The directions to VIP Deluxe & Hutong#2 are WRONG! Where it says to turn right from Fuchengmen st you actually need to turn LEFT. Or you can turn left before the main st (if you are feeling adventurous) on the lane after shop 193, follow that down (many good food shops here) & turn left at An Ping Xing alley (main alley at the end) & they are both on the right hand side - look for the signs. If you've reached the main road you've gone to far. The beds are a little hard (where isn't in China?)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrea McCormick

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 November 2010 Andrea would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful and friendly staff. Great location super close to the metro.

Disliked: The beds were quite hard, but that is the norm in China. Also a littl chilly, we were here in November, but there was a heater in the room and they gave us extra blankets upon request.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Aaron Geddes

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2010 Aaron would recommend this property

Liked: It was a nice place and the staff were as helpful as possible. The location is very good with only a 3 minute walk to Xisi subway station. I would stay here again as it was very comfortable.

Disliked: I think it could be a little cheaper per night, as close to $50USD a night is a little pricey for a place that doesn't give you a fresh towel everyday.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

leonardus van rossenberg

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2010 leonardus would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff and cosy atmosphere

Disliked: leonardus left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

23 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very charming place, in the heart of an authentic local neighborhood. Staff very helpful and friendly. Close to subway.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michel Majoros

20 April 2010 Michel would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect, we come back at Temple side when going next month to Beijing

Disliked: Michel left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

David Aldworth

01 November 2009 David would recommend this property

Liked: Close to subway. Real hutong neighbourhood. Great street food, market. Excellent staff. Nice courtyard .

Disliked: David left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

21 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Temple Side Hostel is a very nice place to stay!! We had a very cosy room with view on the courtyard and... with a private bathroom. The staff was friendly and helpful and we got everything we needed!!Btw; Beijing is a very pleasant city to visit!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

02 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fun for older people. Not too much of a party place.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lisa Colloby

30 September 2009 Lisa would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best places I've stayed in years. So refreshing to stay in a small, friendly place with so much character and not anothyer bland kids' party hostel. Fantastic staff, lovely sociable courtyard area, a million miles in atmosphere from the busy streets of Beijing. Highly recommended.

Disliked: Lisa left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

17 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is the 2nd time I've stayed at Templeside, and each house has its own characteristic charm! #1 is hostel-style: great for meeting people and sharing journeys. Like the website says, this is a courtyard-house (siheyuan) and getting in/out lets you wander through the alleys that make old Beijing famous.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

30 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff were all very accomadating and helpful

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

01 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and interesting place to stay.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Gordana Milenkovic

29 June 2009 Gordana would recommend this property

Liked: cleanliness and helpfulness of the staf

Disliked: Gordana left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

18 May 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a siheyuan, located down a "hutong" (traditional, courtyard house) was fabulous! We were 150m from the local market, bus stops, and then just a few minutes' walk to off-the-beaten-track museums. There were very helpful tour suggestions. Bobby, the owner/manager, was super-helpful and so accommodating. The other guests weren't all-that-friendly, but it's not a reflection on Templeside. The staff seemed to make up for that grumpiness!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

adam beer

04 March 2009 adam would recommend this property

Liked: the hutong and charecter of the house

Disliked: adam left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ALFONSO DEL ROSARIO TOMAS

09 February 2009 ALFONSO would recommend this property

Liked: A good place for visit Beijing

Disliked: ALFONSO left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Amir-Hosseyn Yassari

02 February 2009 Amir-Hosseyn would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was friendly and the services offered (trips, etc...) very good. Just in the winter it is super freezing in the dormitories.

Disliked: Amir-Hosseyn left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

wuddy brown

21 December 2008 wuddy would recommend this property

Liked: superb place, very nice helpful staff. I think it already a very nice stay and good value Many free service. However the owner told me they have a even more deluxe house nearly ready to open. I wish can stay with them again. Highly recommended!

Disliked: wuddy left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jonna cooper

21 December 2008 jonna would recommend this property

Liked: cleaness, warm staff and impressive atmosphere

Disliked: jonna left no negative feedback.