We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Beijing Templeside Deluxe Hutong House

Hostel | No.2, Bai Ta Xiang, Inside An Ping, Zhao Deng Yu Road, Xi Cheng D. Beijing, China 100088

91.2% Overall Rating

50 out of 51 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/07/2014)

Mattias Stridh thinks…

"If you travel in a group so you can book the whole room, or if you just stay one night, I think you will be ok."

Read all Beijing Templeside Deluxe Hutong House reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Beijing?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Beijing

INNer City
16.27 USD

Guesthouse 85.0% 57 reviews
Chinese Box Courtyard Hostel
17.89 USD

Hostel 89.4% 133 reviews
Red Lantern House
13.01 USD

Hostel 90.9% 547 reviews
BackHome Beijing Guest house
9.76 USD

Guesthouse 82.6% 19 reviews
Templeside Lianlian Hutong Guest House
16.27 USD

Hostel 90.3% 67 reviews
Beijing Wada Youth Hostel
9.43 USD

Hostel 77.7% 25 reviews
Beijing Houhai Courtyard Inn
32.37 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Beijing Si He Courtyard Hotel
68.81 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.2%

Overall Rating

50 out of 51 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Beijing Templeside Deluxe Hutong House'

Atmosphere
93.6%
Location
84.0%
Facilities
90.4%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
92.8%
Value
91.2%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 48 of 50 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Mattias Stridh

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2014

Liked: If you travel in a group so you can book the whole room, or if you just stay one night, I think you will be ok.

Disliked: If you travel light and dont mind to wake up and be told to pack your things and move to another room, or even another building a few minutes away(!), before you go out sightseeing in the morning, then this is the place for you! If you just get a dormitory bed, you will never be sure that the bed you sleep in one night is the bed you sleep in the next. Depending on the booking situation they are moving people around to make place for groups/families when needed. Also try to avoid the "other building" as it is worse than the main house. I am never returning here as a solo backpacker.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Graeme Harper

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 July 2014 Graeme would recommend this property

Liked: i enjoyed the property and the location. very authentic chinese and i loved the fact it was away from the tourist scene.

Disliked: Graeme left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stefan Kolling

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 April 2013 Stefan would recommend this property

Liked: Authentic Hutong house. Good atmosphere and character. If you want to live right among the Chinese, then this is the way to go. Also, the ping pong table is a definite plus.

Disliked: Not the best place to meet fellow travellers as mainly families stay there. So you should know what you are looking for.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

28 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff friendly and very helpful, especially ordering taxi's, booking day trips, recommending local places to eat & get grocery items. Staff able to understand English, which was fantastic! Difficult for taxi drivers to locate, however staff provide directions when driver phoned. Beds comfortable; room clean, tidy & warm. Would stay here again

Disliked: Private bathroom was not private - shared with staff (?) Not related to accommodation - be careful if getting a taxi from airport. Travelling in a party of 5 with children & not wanting to be separated, we got ripped off with the taxi fare, even though we went to the taxi rank. BEWARE of private taxi operators who have false documentation & no meters. Even though we knew this, we still got caught out. We took two taxi's from then on.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a really nice place with a chinese atmosphere. The staff was friendly and really heplful. It was possible and easy to order tickets to the Beijing Opera, acrobacy show, Kung Fu-show and even a transportation to the Great Wall.

Disliked: Location seemed a bit far away from everything, although there was a subway station near by, about 15 min. walk. Inside the room it was a bit moist and it smelled like it too. Safety boxes would have been nice for passports etc.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Original hutong-house in quiet surroundings.

Disliked: Service and communication/interaction with the staff could be improved.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alain Castermans

As a family with children

Family Holiday

17 July 2012 Alain would recommend this property

Liked: Prima guesthouse voor een goede prijs in het relatief dure Beijing. Ze hebben ook een grote kamer bestaande uit twee verdiepingen met boven 2 2-pers bedden waarvan 1 met een super goede boxspring matras. Daarnaast kunnen in de woonkamer beneden ook nog 2 mensen slapen op de bedbanken. Dus een prima guesthouse voor gezinnen met 3 a 4 kinderen! Verder erg sfeervol. In de buurt kun je prima eten en in het guesthouse kun je ook een prima westers ontbijt bestellen.

Disliked: De Dorm room ligt in de kelder en beschikt i.t.t. het vermelde niet over een eigen badkamer. Deze badkamer wordt ook door het eigen personeel gebruikt.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

trianie ananda

Alone

Visiting friends or family

17 April 2012 trianie would recommend this property

Liked: the place look so hutong like

Disliked: 15 min walk to the nearest subway

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Radmila Krivankova

As a family with children

Family Holiday

12 April 2012 Radmila would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice for kids, nice staff, we were very happy here.

Disliked: Radmila left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthew Winning

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

26 January 2012 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: It's the perfect place if you want to experience life in a hutong. It is in the perfect location to all the sights and if need be close to two subway lines to get you to you destination even quicker. Definelately would recommend this place!

Disliked: Matthew left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

FERMIN ROBLES RODRIGUEZ

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 January 2012 FERMIN would recommend this property

Liked: I like the location of the TempleSide, its inside is look very confortable, even in the cold winter they have AC ready to stay warm. It´s the kind of place where you can spend the whole day inside with no need to see Beijing, the people is very gently and open to talk, If I get back to Beijing for sure I will repeat.

Disliked: FERMIN left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

13 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very lovely place!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Patricia ETAVARD

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2011 Patricia would recommend this property

Liked: L'emplacement (hutong très authentique, proximité du métro et des bus, relativement central), la gentillesse du personnel

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kym Blanchard

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2011 Kym would recommend this property

Liked: We felt like we had an authentic Chinese experience. The hutong location made it interesting, the house itself was charming. It was a small and relaxed atmosphere, perfect for a family or couple. After a few days we felt like "family". Memorable experience for China-ties.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katharina Wüstnienhaus

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2011 Katharina would recommend this property

Liked: I like that it is in a small Hutong where normal chinese people live and the style of the house is beautiful. The bathroom is very nice. The staff was kind and helpful. They have stuffed animals and buggies for families with small children.

Disliked: Not really dislike, but if you want to meet people this is not the place. Since i was travelling with my parents we liked the quiet atmosphere. Maybe if there is a few more families it is more lively.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elizabeth Berganio

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2011 Elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: The ambience was good, quiet place, near convenience store easy to buy foods. We had lunch and dinner at the open garden.. cool place. The rooms was big enough for all of us we are 10 in a group, thanks for Bobby"s recommendation to choose 8beds & 1 private room for us. The staff was very friendly esp. the girl name "LIU" ( if i'm not mistaken) she's very kind.. :) Thank you!

Disliked: NONE

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marcia Kear

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 February 2011 Marcia would recommend this property

Liked: The place was beautiful and very authentic Chinese while still being very catering to Westerners. The hostel had a welcome booklet which let you know all about the various packages they sell for tours and tickets to different events. Because the hostel recommends them, you know they are trust worthy and very safe. I cannot recommend this place more strongly. It was perfect and the only place I will stay in Beijing.

Disliked: I didn't dislike it, but I could see how others would. The hostel is located in the alley section of Beijing so it is older and tucked away in an alleyway. This gives the impression from the outside that the place might be creepy and dirty but you are pleasantly surprised when you enter. There is no question concerning safety and this allows for a more authentic Beijing experience.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ye Jing

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Family Holiday

10 October 2010 Ye would recommend this property

Liked: the staff and their advices

Disliked: Ye left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jan Hendrik Milark

Alone

08 September 2010 Jan Hendrik would recommend this property

Liked: cleanliness, staff

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jonathan lockwood

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 September 2010 jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: very relaxed friendly atmosphere - can't do enough for you and sooo flexible

Disliked: nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cleanliness

Disliked: not good to meet people

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

28 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome little hostel. Friendly staff, great place. I was attending a conference in Beijing and could not afford the conference hotel, so decided to stay here in a dorm bed. I was worried about it slightly, but when I arrived here I felt like coming home. I was able to check in already at 8 am (not possible at hotels) and it was all easy and comfortable. The dorm has good beds and air-conditioning.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jan Hendrik Milark

15 May 2010 Jan Hendrik would recommend this property

Liked: staff

Disliked: Jan Hendrik left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

30 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Enjoyed our stay, templeside has lots of character and it was great being in a hutong neighborhood. I wish the staff offered more food services, like a light breakfast, and coffee and tea was easily accessible. This would make their place top notch.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

08 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the really helpful staff, the hutong area, location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.