HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Classic Courtyard

Hostel | 31 Bei Xin Hutong, Yong He Gong Dajie, Dong Cheng District Beijing, China 100007

82.5% Overall Rating

391 out of 432 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/02/2014)

"I liked the traditional atmosphere of the hostel, but the modern bedrooms and bathroom was amazing!"

Read all The Classic Courtyard reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 48.73
  • Breakfast USD 4.87

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Beijing?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Beijing

Beijing 161 Lama Temple Courtyard Hotel
39.74 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
An Ding Men Hotel
16.24 USD

Hotel 1 star 63.4% 5 reviews
Beijing Citystar Hotel - Chinese Snack Street
20.14 USD

Hotel 3 star 75.2% 9 reviews
Confucious International Hostel
12.99 USD

Hostel 67.4% 22 reviews
Ming Courtyard
8.93 USD

Hostel 87.6% 3 reviews
Lucky Family Hostel
11.37 USD

Hostel 89.7% 183 reviews
Tang House Hotel
23.39 USD

Hotel 3 star 79.3% 8 reviews
Dragon King Hostel
9.75 USD

Hostel 92.0% 115 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.5%

Overall Rating

391 out of 432 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Classic Courtyard'

Atmosphere
79.2%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
78.4%
Cleanliness
76.8%
Staff
80.8%
Value
83.2%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 380 of 401 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 15 | 16   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: bit run down but had great character

Disliked: toilet and shower were together behind one curtain, and frosting on bathroom wall meant you could see the other person in there!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

15 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the traditional atmosphere of the hostel, but the modern bedrooms and bathroom was amazing!

Disliked: The price of water was quite high

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Position

Disliked: They do not clean our room during our stay

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Guglielmo Perasole

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2013 Guglielmo would recommend this property

Liked: a really nice chinese atmosphere in a really good and convenient location. really friendly and english speaking staff

Disliked: probably the rooms are a bit small for the price

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

10 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice clean big room. Classic setting. Near to one of the most unique streets in Beijing -Dongzhimen Street, "Ghost Street" stretches 1.5km and contains more than 150 shops, including 100 restaurants.

Disliked: It was a bit dusty because of on going renovation. The room is chilly even though the air conditioner is on at 30 degree C. The door was not properly sealed allowing cold wind in. The location is not easy to find.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alison Lamont

Alone

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

11 October 2012 Alison would recommend this property

Liked: Really great location even if you're not site-seeing - close to the Yonghegong subway station which is a transfer station for lines 5 and 2. There are plenty of places to eat close by, and plenty of coffee shops down Wudaojing hutong if you're yearning for some chilled coffee drinking. The hostel itself is well equipped, and the single room I had was comfortable and had everything I needed. The wifi was pretty good throughout the whole hostel. I only ate there once, but the food was pretty good too. But best, the staff were available 24hrs a day, 7days a week and they were both friendly and helpful. Really great.

Disliked: Beds were a bit on the hard side, but they say that's good for your back, right? :)

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

May Kosaka

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 September 2012

Liked: Good neighborhood, very safe and walkable to Lama Temple, Ghost Street (Gui Jie) restaurant row, & the 2 useful train stations at those sites. The beds are ok, showers are good & hot. Overall not bad for the price. It's convenient that food & draft beer can be ordered downstairs in the cafe.

Disliked: The wifi was kind of slow. OK for internet browsing & emails, but too slow for a decent Skype conversation. Some of the rooms have little fresh air or light. My 2nd night there, i stayed in one of the rooms behing the reception area. The only light was through the frosted glass walls of the bathrooom, which had 1 window looking out into a hallway. We kept the door open most of the time to let more air in.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Zhang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Shopping

23 September 2012 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: I LOVEEEEEE this hostel. Beautiful courtyard, nice rooms, good facilities, fantastic location close to a metro station and food street. But the best part about this place is the staff. They're all wonderful, incredibly full of information and sweet. Zoe(reception girl) is a very helepful and lovely girl, Always a big smile on her face.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

18 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: near with MRT.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very near subway station,helpful and friendly staff, clean room.

Disliked: No

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

07 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice environment, friendly staffs, but most important, low price and great location.

Disliked: nothing dislike yet.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

tallulah francis

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2012 tallulah would recommend this property

Liked: Nice atmosphere, quiet and lots to do.

Disliked: There's no breakfast and the phone was broken so I couldn't make a phone call. Also the staff's english isn't very good.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

EKATERINA DROZD

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2012

Liked: Price and location is the best. Very native design. Many not expensive food cafe aroud hostel and cheap fruit/vegdeble market.

Disliked: When I book I ask a bed in female room but at checkin get only in mixed room.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the bar is very nice and they rent bycicle for going around!

Disliked: the staff is not very well organized in dealing with the booking

The property's response is...

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

24 May 2012

Liked: nothing

Disliked: no activities,so no funny. no clean,floor is fulfilled dust,powder... no safe, even your door can't be locked. no HELP,new staff ,they can't find my reservation...

The property's response is...

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Tom Leczynski

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 May 2012

Liked: the location was good and in between to train stations plus it was very close to the lama temple with coffee shops nearby..

Disliked: every thing else.. The rooms were awfull and atmosphere lacking.. It felt really seedy and with the constant hamering and tools of the ongoing renovations it was hard to have peace.. the bathroom design was terrible and did i mention the smell??

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Simba Chioto

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 May 2012 Simba would recommend this property

Liked: the firendliness and helpfulness of everyone

Disliked: n/a

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Santiago Toro Acelas

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

13 May 2012 Santiago would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that it was very close to Lama Temple. It has a great location.

Disliked: When we arrived there, it was under construction, so it had a lot of dust and a lot of noise.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Mollie Gossage

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2012 Mollie would recommend this property

Liked: The location is very convenient and the surrounding area is great--lively with temple activities during the daytime, quiet at night, but in the hutongs across the main street there are some really cool little shops and cafes that are open later than the shops on the main street. (Including a CAT CAFE!!!!!) Also nearby is a good bao zi place and some convenience stores. The staff was helpful and friendly--especially when we spoke Chinese with them. (They do speak enough English though.) I was able to hire a private driver to the Mutianyu Great Wall through the hostel. It was a good service. (They also arrange group tours.) Our room had horsie wallpaper. The lobby is a comfortable place to hang out or kill time; there are drinks and snacks for sale. Tsingtao was buy-one-get-one-free. The coolest part was the feeling that I was living in a hutong!

Disliked: The sink was broken in our bathroom. (But the staff helped repair it in a timely manner.) The foosball table didn't work well due to water damage; the pool table was covered with stuff and we didn't feel that we were allowed to use it. When we took a shower, water spilled out of the bathroom and all over the floor of the bedroom. As a result, the room grew increasingly muggy and smelly over the course of our stay there.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Antti Lähteenmäki

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2012

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Very noisy construction work! Bathroom smelled sewage and ceiling was covered in mold. Staff didnt know about/check our reservation which was made 4 hours before. Wifi at room/lobby didn´t work all the time, staff didn´t react when complained.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is excellent, rooms are clean, nearby subway and good value for your money.

Disliked: No daylight in your room (the only window is in your bathroom).

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 March 2012

Liked: It came equipped with key card access and a portable space heater. The room was tended to by staff each day. The bedding was warm.

Disliked: The room smelled like raw sewage due to, what seemed like, a septic system problem. The staff wasn't very helpful. Our room was prepped for 2 guests when we booked it for 3. It looked like mold was behind the wallpaper that was patched with packing tape.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

04 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Deutsch: Wir waren 10 Tage in einem Twin-Room mit eigenem Bad. Das Hostel liegt sehr gut, da es zwei U-Bahnlinien in der Nähe gibt. Für Beijing-Verhältnisse kann man alles recht schnell erreichen. Die Zimmer werden jeden Tag gereinigt und es gibt frische Handtücher. Es gibt immer heißes Wasser und genügend Toilettenpapier. Man muss sich um seine Wertsachen nicht sorgen und fühlt sich generell sehr sicher (im Hostel und in Beijing). English: We spent 10 days in a twin room with own bath. The hostel is well located in the approximity of two subway lines. You can reach most sights and the universities rather quick. The rooms are cleaned up every day, and you get provided with fresh towels as well. There is always hot water and enough toilet paper. The level of security is amazing, and you don't have to worry for leaving your stuff in your room over the day.

Disliked: Deutsch: Die Zimmer sind etwas verwohnt, aber sauber! Das WiFi ist kostenlos, aber öfter sehr, sehr langsam, was in China ein generelles Problem zu sein scheint. Zum Emailschecken und Skypen (telefonieren) reicht es jedoch in der Regel. English: The rooms are a little bit weared down, but clean! The WiFi is for free, but really slow at times. That seems to be a generel problem in China. However, it is good enough to check your emails and use skype.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

19 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: For that price , there can't be made any complaints. Nothing especially amazing, but also nothing I could complain about. An average Beijing hutong hostel, not worse then most of those costing double the price.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, right next a beautiful Hutong area. 1 Free beer per person (only stayed one night, not sure if you get a free one for every night)

Disliked: Room was a little cold. Thin walls (as always in hostels!). Also the window in the room was in the bathroom where you obviousl want to keep the curtain closed! So there was no real light coming into the room.