HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of The Classic Courtyard Beijing Hostel

No.31 Beixin Hutong Yonghegong Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing, China

Atmosphere 80%

Cleanliness 76%

Facilities 78%

Location 92%

Safety 86%

Staff 82%

Value 83%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • DVDs
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Nightclub
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 45.00USD
  • Breakfast 4.50USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 09:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Beijing?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 80%

Cleanliness 76%

Facilities 78%

Location 92%

Safety 86%

Staff 82%

Value 83%

Showing 51-4 of 4 reviews

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: helpful staff

Disliked: Although the room itself was properly cleaned, I rated the cleanliness worse than average because there was mold on & in the wall. Since I am allergic against it, I had a runny nose and a sore throat whenever I entered the room and it stopped as soon as I left.

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Walking distance to metro

Disliked: The moldy smell of the bedroom and specially bathroom is really strong and gave me headache. Beds too hard to sleep on, and staff were unfriendly.


The property's response is

Thanks for comments,I remember you came to our hostel on 25th,Aug frist time for 2 nights.We are very happy see you again on 30th,Aug for 5 nights.We really thank you come to our hostel 2 times and give us 2 times very bad rating .We are really friendly and helpful to every customer,and let them have a good time at our hostel.We alway try to help them when they have some questions and requires. Most of customer think our room is comfortable and clean.We will change some beds,let them more soft.

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: First and most important is that all rooms smell like mold, we changed our room 3 times and all smelled like mold specially the bathrooms. We had to keep the door and window always open when in the room and saw that everyone else did the same, and when we asked they told us the same thing. The beds were so hard that it felt like you were sleeping on the floor and they didn't changed the linnen every day. I'm not picky I don't mind all this but just the smell of mold made it so umberable to stay there. I would recommend you search for another place.


The property's response is

Thanks for comments,I remember you came to our hostel on 25th,Aug frist time for 2 nights.We are very happy see you again on 30th,Aug for 5 nights.We really thank you come to our hostel 2 times and give us 2 times very bad rating .We are really friendly and helpful to every customer,and let them have a good time at our hostel.We alway try to help them when they have some questions and requires. Most of customer think our room is comfortable and clean.We will change some beds,let them more soft.

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Hostel is ok, maybe nor perfect location but it is not so far from metro and the most important points of Beijing. Good food, access to internet for free.

Disliked: Bar is open only till 1am, in bathroom is dark (light is really weak)

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Friendly atmosphere,very knowledgeable staff

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Clean, good location, not expensive, answered all my needs! Would definitely stay there again if in the area.

Disliked: Nothing at all :)

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location is great. The bar has a nice rooftop terrace, reasonably priced beers and a 2 for 1 happy hour.

Disliked: The wifi is quite unreliable and you can't receive it in the rooms. The great wall tour is a real downer, as you actually spend more time in shops than at the sights. This shopping (40 mins at a jade factory, half an hour at a teahouse and half an hour at a pearl store) was not announced until the start of the tour. Staff at these places are really pushy. Most importantly, the need to go to these places makes the guide rush you through the sights, which leaves you about 1.5 hour at the great wall in practice. I suppose the hostel cant really help the way the tour is conducted but they could at least notify you beforehand.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Clean room. Good atmosphere in the social areas. Great variety of food, was nice to have Western food available. Booked Kung Fu, Acrobatics and Great Wall (Jinshanling) events through the hostel and transport provided which was mostly good. Staff were English speaking and helpful. The owner was often around to help and advise, which was nice.

Disliked: Our room was directly opposite the kitchen and the (rather dirty) fridge in the corridor, where staff are extremely noisy from 8am, causing sleeping problems. One of the events we were not provided transport back, but given money to get a taxi back, which proved difficult on a busy evening and didn't cover the entire cost. Seeing a rat run past our bedroom and the kitchen to under the fridge was rather dissatisfying. Our bedroom door was left open by the cleaners for quite a few hours while we was out, which the hostel told us was due to a leaking air conditioner, however I believe this was not true - there was absolutely no sign of a leak and we later found the door to be faulty, whereby it sometimes the latch gets stuck, so the door probably blew open when we was out. As a result, the hostel seems to have lied because they didn't know the reason.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Work / volunteering

Liked: First off, when I enter the hostel, the staffs were so friendly and helpful, and they did speak English. Secondly, the staffs there will clean the room and the room toilet everyday, I rate 5 stars for the cleanliness.I think the atmosphere there was great, the building was built in Chinese style and was full of character which really worth going to feel China!I really enjoyed staying in it.

Disliked: I like the hostel so well that

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: atmosphere is good. easy to get along with people

Disliked: too dirty, especially the mixed doorm


The property's response is

Thanks for your comment. All the rooms in our hostel cleaned every day by professional cleaning staff. You stayed in 6 bed dorm that can be messy , depends on the guests that stay in there. Same thing can happened in every another hostel where 6 people live together in the same room.If you feel that the room is not clean enough , you always can say it to our reception during day time and we will clean it again.We glad that you like the atmosphere in our hostel and we hope to see you again.

Check Availability