HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Classic Courtyard

Hostel | 31 Bei Xin Hutong, Yong He Gong Dajie, Dong Cheng District Beijing, China 100007

82.5% Overall Rating

391 out of 432 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/02/2014)

"I liked the traditional atmosphere of the hostel, but the modern bedrooms and bathroom was amazing!"

Read all The Classic Courtyard reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 48.73
  • Breakfast USD 4.87

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Beijing?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Beijing

Beijing 161 Lama Temple Courtyard Hotel
39.74 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
An Ding Men Hotel
16.24 USD

Hotel 1 star 63.4% 5 reviews
Beijing Citystar Hotel - Chinese Snack Street
20.14 USD

Hotel 3 star 75.2% 9 reviews
Confucious International Hostel
12.99 USD

Hostel 67.4% 22 reviews
Ming Courtyard
8.93 USD

Hostel 87.6% 3 reviews
Lucky Family Hostel
11.37 USD

Hostel 88.9% 182 reviews
Tang House Hotel
23.39 USD

Hotel 3 star 79.3% 8 reviews
Dragon King Hostel
9.75 USD

Hostel 92.0% 115 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.5%

Overall Rating

391 out of 432 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Classic Courtyard'

Atmosphere
79.2%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
78.4%
Cleanliness
76.8%
Staff
80.8%
Value
83.2%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 380 of 401 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 15 | 16   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Kuhl

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 January 2011 David would recommend this property

Liked: Such a great location.....close to the subway so getting around town was easy, and when i took a cab the driver always knew right were i was going. There was a big sign letting you know where it was too, so easy to find right away. The people who worked there were great and very helpful, also the tours they offered were a lot of fun and affordable. Great place to stay....next time i go to beijing ill be back there.

Disliked: Only thing I didnt like was that there wasnt a clock in the room.....I didnt bring a watch with me, I thought my cell phone would work in China but it didnt so I never knew what time it was. This isnt an issue for most travelers who have a watch or whose phones work, but for me it was a little tough.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexandro Garcia

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 January 2011 Alexandro would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked how friendly and cheerful the staff is. When I was there I was travelling alone but such a place would never make me feel lonely, quite the oposite. The location is also very convenient, very well conected to metro and bus stations, located in the heart of Beijing. There's plenty of nice walks, around, dozens of nice hutongs like Guozijian or Nanluoguxian and also a 24h restaurant street called Ghost Street. The sheets and towels are white clean and fresh. The atmosphear is ideal to make new friends

Disliked: There is nothing I dislike about this property.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Family Holiday

29 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to spend some days in the center of BEIJING. the room was very comfortable and clean. The area is traditional.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

18 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place is really clean and the location is really convenient. There are two train stations nearby, the Lama temple is good to visit, there are some great shopping places and bars within walking distance, food is cheap at nearby shops, it was easy to meet people in the bar, really happy here.

Disliked: It's not the closest to the party district in Sanlitun so you can't really walk home, but it's still only 13RMB by taxi, which is nothing if you share the ride with friends from the hostel like I did.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mark Vayngrib

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 December 2010 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: this place rocks! Cool staff, perfect location for going anywhere in Beijing and great value. I come here whenever I'm in Beijing and it never disappoints.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

tristan mennen

Alone

01 December 2010 tristan would recommend this property

Liked: Thanks you so much for the great time here at the 1 Hai Inn !!!I had an amazing time here in BJ ,this is the best hostel I have stayed.I love the friday night Hot Pot,so great!

Disliked: no

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

kassandra moitaschek

With friends / other travellers

01 December 2010 kassandra would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff, good location and very nice week events.

Disliked: eveything is nice

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kevin Ryan

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture
Family Holiday

17 November 2010 Kevin would recommend this property

Liked: The great staff on hand and their eagerness to assure that we had a pleasant time. The amenities such as the bar area with couches and tables, reading material, TV, movies, WiFi and Internet hook ups throughout the property. Daily clean up of the room, info on Beijing and around China, tour info, laundry service. Theme nights and activities for the guests on local cuisine and tea tasting and last but not least good coffee!

Disliked: Kevin left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ENRIQUE BARRERA

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

15 November 2010 ENRIQUE would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. For 3 euros the night, you get a nice bed to sleep, towel, very nice, helpful and friendly staff, fair prices for food and drinks, close from the underground, from restaurants, nice bar with pool... Top ten place.

Disliked: Everything good.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Joanne Smith

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 November 2010

Liked: Food was reasonably priced and very tasty although we booked for the 'chinese buffet' which consisted off pizza, chips and dumplings so we were quite disappointed! The staff were friendly and helpful and they had lots of trips on offer and were easy to book even at short notice.

Disliked: The dorms were very dark and quite crowded and the bathroom was quite dirty.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

최 현경

With friends / other travellers

24 October 2010 최 would recommend this property

Liked: the free beer and nice staff.

Disliked: 최 left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the lane

Disliked: breakfast

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping
Work / volunteering

18 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very relaxed easy in and out in charming part of city very close to Subway.Would definitely stay again.Good clean fresh beds/linens.

Disliked: Not so fast internet, but adequate.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Randy Kaufman

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture

18 October 2010 Randy would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was incredibly accommodating! The front desk staff was very well informed and knowledgeable about the area and therefore good at giving recommendations and directions. The housekeeping was very good as they cleaned our rooms daily and supplied us with many toiletries that were replenished regularly. The restaurant was charming and quaint and offered quick service with decent food. The location was ideal. It's located on a quiet street next to the Lama Temple where you get both convenience and atmosphere. It's in the middle of tea shops and shops selling incense an prayer beads for the L. Temple. During the day there is instrumental music playing and incense burning making the experience exotic and authentic. For sightseeing, it's easy to get around as there is a subway station a few short minutes away and the cabs rides were all inexpensive to most places of interest. Other notable pro's: Free computers/internet, welcome drinks, reasonably priced tours with pick-up at the hotel, free toiletries, business card with address for the cab.

Disliked: Our room had a small leak and one of our books was ruined. We didn't however inform the staff as we were rarely in the room and not too bothered by it.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

chris matthews

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

13 October 2010 chris would recommend this property

Liked: central location (for a megacity)easy to find24hr schedulehelpful staff and liberal approach

Disliked: shower not fixed when promised, internet set up for chinese use not foreigners public front desk area too small

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture

11 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They have a great location and easy to find. They were great and even got a cake for me when it was my birthday.

Disliked: The set up with the bathroom wasn't the best, I didn't like the frosted glass walls.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location:only 5 minute walk from subway and 10 minutes from big avenue with restaurants and bars, helped us saving money by booking domestic flights for us

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like location of this hostel in historical place of Beijing, good stuff and available price! I will real reccomendate this hostel to my friends!

Disliked: We didnt have TV and open window. sometimes it is uncomfortable, but if you wanna go to Beijing you shoud see sightseeings, not TV :)))

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

04 October 2010

Liked: the food was ok

Disliked: we booked double room and got for the same price dorms - which wre pretty sucky... the staff isn't very helpful even about giving basic information about the near places to shop and eat.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Family Holiday
Shopping

02 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location of this hostel is convenient - it's near the Lama temple and the metro. The hostel also provides really straightforward instructions and is easy to find.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Majella Marry

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

01 October 2010

Liked: The hostel is in a great location and the staff are friendly.

Disliked: The ceiling in our room and bathroom leaked. There was a constant dripping and a smell of damp in the room. It is the only reason I wouldn't recommend this hostel.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Geoffrey Hayes

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

29 September 2010 Geoffrey would recommend this property

Liked: There's good night life on the roof deck and helpful informative staff, plus it's located a short walk from the metro.

Disliked: --

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

29 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and central, a two minute walk from the nearest subway, located in a very hutang with a very pretty courtyard. Very close to the Lama temple and some other sights.

Disliked: One thing the ensite toilet and shower is surrounded by a glass 'wall', and is not very private. The staff are helpful but not exactly overfriendly.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and good information about tours and places to go

Disliked: Staff were quite slow and the laundry/cleaning facilities were poor

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Joao Aleluia

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 September 2010 Joao would recommend this property

Liked: Good location near the Lama Temple

Disliked: Joao left no negative feedback.