We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Classic Courtyard

Hostel | 31 Bei Xin Hutong, Yong He Gong Dajie, Dong Cheng District Beijing, China 100007

82.5% Overall Rating

391 out of 432 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/02/2014)

"I liked the traditional atmosphere of the hostel, but the modern bedrooms and bathroom was amazing!"

Read all The Classic Courtyard reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 48.73
  • Breakfast USD 4.87

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Beijing?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Beijing

Beijing 161 Lama Temple Courtyard Hotel
37.85 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
An Ding Men Hotel
16.24 USD

Hotel 1 star 63.4% 5 reviews
Beijing Citystar Hotel - Chinese Snack Street
20.14 USD

Hotel 3 star 75.2% 9 reviews
Confucious International Hostel
12.99 USD

Hostel 67.4% 22 reviews
Ming Courtyard
7.31 USD

Hostel 87.6% 3 reviews
Lucky Family Hostel
8.12 USD

Hostel 89.7% 183 reviews
Tang House Hotel
23.39 USD

Hotel 3 star 79.3% 8 reviews
Dragon King Hostel
7.31 USD

Hostel 91.1% 116 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.5%

Overall Rating

391 out of 432 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Classic Courtyard'

Atmosphere
79.2%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
78.4%
Cleanliness
76.8%
Staff
80.8%
Value
83.2%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 380 of 401 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 15 | 16   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

natasha rasmussen

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2011 natasha would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Super close to the Lama Temple subway stop. Very easy and quick to get to the airport express from (just 1 subway stop). Very nice and friendly staff.

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

lee tony

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

28 June 2011 lee would recommend this property

Liked: i like this hostel

Disliked: i like this hostel

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

wang xiaoliang

Alone

Family Holiday

26 June 2011 wang would recommend this property

Liked: I am traveling alone when i on holiday,and I booked 1 hai inn just because one of my friend recommended.It was a cozy nice courtyard hotel.well- decorated,very good english speaking staffs,very detailed travel and tour info.It was very convenient location,A stone throw for Yonghegong subway.(Line2&5) I booked for 8bed dorm which the cheapest one,also get a free beer for welcome drink.My room is big enough also there are only 5 people in.Chean and quiet,Feeling comfortbale,then stayed longer,The most deep impression is they held a really good buffet party at the restaurant on friday night, I paid 45yuan +(1free beer), had a lot of food such as pasta,pizza,chicken wings,salad,soup,dumplings Kaoya(Roast duck)and Chinese dishes,It was very good that i can make dumplings on the party,It was honnor that i met a gang which from england,climing wall to earn money for one hospital, we are friends now and the staffs working in the bar taught them how to make it.haha....Thanks for Cindy Vivi and Kitty service us. It was funny to play pool in the evening,bet a beer if you win for sure. The girls worked in the hostel are very helpful and friendly, I am very easy to get lost,asking questions all the time when i leaving.they are fantastic!!!

Disliked: Could not be better! I will be back soon after the trip XI'an!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was really friendly and helpful. Lots of good cheer here!

Disliked: Some days or evenings when the WiFi was down, or no AC in common areas.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ruurt van der Wel

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

19 June 2011 Ruurt would recommend this property

Liked: The staff, especially Cindy, where very kind and helpful. Also location is perfect.

Disliked: When you take a shower, you will clean the toilet and you have to be smaller then 1.50 m when you will stand under shower.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Francisco Veleda Varela

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 June 2011 Francisco would recommend this property

Liked: It's really perfect!!, fantastic place. 100% recommended.

Disliked: nothing, all is perfect.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect for exploring hutongs around the area! The drain in the dorm bathroom was clean so you didn't have to shower in a pool of water. They provide towels, clean soft sheets, and a free beer with check-in. The food is pretty good too.

Disliked: The Internet is a bit dodgy but where is it not in China.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sander Boonstra

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 May 2011 Sander would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is great! They were 24 hours per day happy and willing to help you! (There was someone who was snoring really loud, so at 01.00 a.m. we asked for another room - the night before the man was snoring the whole night, so we had two or three hours sleep - and they asked who it was and that they would talk to him the next morning and they were giving us another room). They know a lot of Beijing and will help you with everything! The rooms are clean and the restaurant is cozy and nice to meet people. Every night there is something to do in the hostel (great dinner, movie-night, etc.) The location is great! Really close to the Lama Temple and the metro-stations are 2 or 3 minutes walking!

Disliked: Sometimes in the restaurant there was a weird smell. In the double room we heard the noise of the court yard (people talking and the cleaning staff); we didn't hear this noise in the dorm.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

23 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is a perfect place to sleep and relax in Beijing. My friends recommended it before. The location is really convenient and you can visit Lama Temple (amazing place!). The english speaker staff is friendly and they try to help you. I will come back here when I go to Beijing again.

Disliked: Perfect place

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

David French

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 May 2011 David would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and close to public transport. Great facilities including a sweet bar and communal courtyard. Most of the staff are friendly and have good english skills. We booked a tour to the Great Wall which was very professional and maximised our time at the wall..(no gimmicks or stop offs).

Disliked: The courtyard tends to trap all the noise so you can hear people at night and it can make it hard to sleep. We had some fools waking us up at 4am, but you gets them everywhere. Rooms get a little damp as there is no airflow but for the price it is fine.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Goodnight

Alone

Business / conference
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

12 May 2011 James would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, great facilities, great atmosphere, great staff all for a great price. I just finished a two week stay in Beijing and while my goal was to stay in as many different places as possible...I found it hard to leave this AMAZING hostel. To start, the location is perfect for Beijing. It's inside the city's more traditional part of town, full of culture and void of giant buildings. The streets and hutongs are alive and full of shops and restaurants, great food all reasonably priced, many with picture menus or english menus. At night, the street in front of the hostel closes down pretty early, making for a quite evening, but if you walk a block away the street is lit up with lanterns and tons of restaurants. The hostel is located between two subway station stops making it very convenient to get around. The staff at the front desk are amazingly helpful with all your needs. I found it very easy to check in, get the internet working, get laundry done, help copy down address and locations of places I wanted to visit, and all sorts of information. ++Free beer at check in. The rooms are good for the price, and the communal atmosphere is very open with great natural light. The best part though...is the bar upstairs. To start, it's a comfortable lounge with great food and beer at a decent price. I highly recommend the french toast for breakfast or the jiaozi at night, the friday night buffet has a TON of food, and of course the giant mugs of beer for 10 kuai cant be beat. Outside the bar is a smoking patio including a pool table! The bar opens early for a quick cup of coffee with breakfast before heading out for the day, and then full of people with whom you can share your experiences with at the end of the day. I also found the staff consistently attentive and friendly. While it is always fun to meet other travelers, the BEST part for me was the staff offering to help me with my studying of chinese, thank you Cindy. 讓你花那麻多時間, 真不好意思:)This made me much more confident in casual conversations and gave me a place to ask questions about the language in a comfortable environment. So OVERALL, I am extremely happy that I found this gem of a hostel and have already made reservations to return in August. If you plan to stay this summer, book early because this place is EXTREMELY popular and gets pretty busy.

Disliked: That I didn't find it sooner!

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 May 2011

Liked: food served at the bar

Disliked: particularly unfriendly staff

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, good shower, great location - very near to tube station, so it is easy to get around in Beijing

Disliked: There was no reason to complain

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

benjamin dolisi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 April 2011 benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: I liked,it very much. It's very clean, warm and helpful staff. The location in Yonghegong makes it perfect. Easy for travellers to find and to rest because it's a quiet location.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

benjamin dolisi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 April 2011 benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the fact that I could feel safe in a friendly environment. The staff is welcoming and warm. I enjoyed every day of my staying. I recommend 1 Hai Inn to travellers.

Disliked: Nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the bar

Disliked: loud Staff in the Morning, some rooms don't hava windows

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Visiting friends or family

23 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: providing drinking water, towels & private bath room.

Disliked: intermittent slow internet access

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Daphne Garcia

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 April 2011

Liked: The beds in the dorm rooms were a good size and there was a locker for every bed in the dorm.

Disliked: The staff were verging on rude. They didn't even look at us when we checked in, when we asked for help on information regarding buses, trains etc., they provided us with the least information possible. We had to stand there for ages and keep asking questions in order to get anything useful out of her. The hot water in each dorm lasted for less than 30 minutes each time then you have to wait for it to heat up again, which is a nightmare if there are eight people sharing a dorm!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Welch

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 April 2011 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: Everything, locations, staff very friendly and helpful with routes and planning the day. Food was great and fairly priced, the beer was 10 yaun for over a pint glass. Arranged themed nights were good value, buffet night and movie night. Dorm rooms were cleaned everyday and fresh towels provided if asked for. Free wifi and use of computers.

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fine restaurant; not too expensive. Good location; 3 min, walk from metro, with 2 different lines. The rooms and the restaurant are warm. The laundry service was fast.

Disliked: The Great-wall trip to Jinshanling was very expensive (300 yuan). The staff is not incredible at English, but it is okay.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Alex Matos

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 February 2011 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: Good location near the subway and computers with internet free of charge. Good western breakfast specialy when your on the road for a long time it feels like a treat...

Disliked: Average room with very thin wall that lets you hear everyone passing by on the corridor in and out of the bar...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Anastasiya Pyzh

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 January 2011 Anastasiya would recommend this property

Liked: location, price, atmosphere, design

Disliked: nothing special for such a price

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Maarten Verweij

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 January 2011 Maarten would recommend this property

Liked: The location is good, rooms are nice. We booked a double, but it wasn't available, so we got a triple for the same price. We had a special offer including a free breakfast every day. Breakfast is really good. Heating in the room was more than sufficient for the cold winter nights.

Disliked: Wifi is slow, but ethernet cables in the rooms more than make up for it! The kitchen was without power an entire day, so no breakfast, but with a little encouragement the staff offered free noodles instead (cooker in the room to prepare that stuff).

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jialin Ko

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 January 2011 Jialin would recommend this property

Liked: the room is warm(outside is 10 degrees below zero) and clean. the price is the best too!

Disliked: none

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

18 January 2011

Liked: It is close to the Lama Temple, and public transit, which made getting around the city easy.

Disliked: Overall, our hostel experience here was underwhelming. The rooms encircle a covered courtyard with a foosball table and picnic tables. It is a great social location, so much so that people enjoy using it into the wee hours of the night - to the dismay of those who like to sleep. The internet was unreliable, and the staff were unable to help or suggest alternatives. The worst aspect, however was the Great Wall tour that we booked through the hostel. The seven hour tour was supposed to include stops at the Ming Tombs and the Great Wall. Instead, we were brought to a remote corner of the Ming Tombs that did not actually give access to what we had read and researched that you can go visit - the things worth seeing. We were also taken to the gift shops of the jade factory, the silk museum, and a tea house. At all three stops, we were given a 5 minute tour, and then 40 minutes to roam through the gift shop. Our tour guide (who did precious little explaining or guiding) approached all of the members of the tour at the stops, encouraging us to buy the overpriced souvenirs. He said we "really should buy some things" and "it would be doing him a big favour." In the end, we only had two hours at the Great Wall, which was a disappointment. We wasted so much of the day, and missed out on what could have been a fabulous tour. This was arranged through the hostel - and left us feeling like we had been taken advantage of by the staff of Hai Inn. We would suggest doing some research into more reputable tour companies to take you to the Ming Tombs and Great Wall!