HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Classic Courtyard

Hostel | 31 Bei Xin Hutong, Yong He Gong Dajie, Dong Cheng District Beijing, China 100007

81.6% Overall Rating

390 out of 431 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/02/2014)

"I liked the traditional atmosphere of the hostel, but the modern bedrooms and bathroom was amazing!"

Read all The Classic Courtyard reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 48.56
  • Breakfast USD 4.86

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Beijing?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Beijing

Beijing Lama Temple Youth Hostel
17.81 USD

Hostel 67.6% 20 reviews
Beijing 161 Lama Temple Courtyard Hotel
32.29 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
An Ding Men Hotel
16.19 USD

Hotel 1 star 63.4% 5 reviews
Beijing Citystar Hotel - Chinese Snack Street
20.07 USD

Hotel 3 star 75.2% 9 reviews
Confucious International Hostel
12.95 USD

Hostel 67.4% 22 reviews
Lucky Family Hostel
11.33 USD

Hostel 90.9% 150 reviews
Tang House Hotel
23.31 USD

Hotel 3 star 79.3% 8 reviews
Dragon King Hostel
8.09 USD

Hostel 90.1% 98 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.6%

Overall Rating

390 out of 431 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Classic Courtyard'

Atmosphere
78.4%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
76.8%
Cleanliness
76.8%
Staff
79.2%
Value
81.6%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 379 of 400 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 15 | 16   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

yang zhou

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

05 February 2012 yang would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, nice facility, and great fellow backpackers.

Disliked: The room can be cleaner, it smells sometimes.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I strongly recommend this place

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a beautiful building with a friendly atmosphere. Good location, clean, cheap bike rental, and great restaurant just around the corner, recommended by the staff. The bar in the hostel is also a very welcoming place with cheap food and good opportunity to meet people.

Disliked: nothing.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

koen kanters

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 January 2012 koen would recommend this property

Liked: Location was good. Hotel is clean and service of staff was good. Room was cold but staff brought addition heater so problem was solved.

Disliked: At the time we stayed the hostel was renovating their reception and bar. Therefore there was no warm general room to hang out. Also all activities where cancelled. It was (western) new years eve and unfortunatly they didn't offer any alternative.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Wei Rui Nigel Lee

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 December 2011 Wei Rui Nigel would recommend this property

Liked: It is extremely value for money for the location. Its in between 2 metro stations, has the famous gui jie food market, lama temple and even nanluoguxiang walking street within walking distance. Changes my towel and cleans toilet daily too

Disliked: Not really a good place to make friends. Maybe its winter and people would rather stay in their rooms.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Amanda Centofanti

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 December 2011 Amanda would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the location!! You can't beat being a five minute walk away from the metro! Also I appreciate the fact that they have free wifi and a kitchen that works from 8am-11pm, and you can even order breakfast earlier if you plan the night before. I also liked that they provide you with free linen and towels, and that the staff will help you with anything, from getting a disposable razor to explaining to you the best/cheapest ways to visit various sights. Also, they were kind enough to warn me about the lunar eclipse that was happening one night!

Disliked: The bathroom would get rather dirty...I'm not very sure people cleaned in the rooms everyday really, either. But you can ask for new towels and sheets whenever you want for free. The bathroom just had a moldy smell to it, since the shower rains over the entire bathroom because of the flimsy circular partial curtain.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

André-Philippe Chenail

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 December 2011 André-Philippe would recommend this property

Liked: This Hostel will let you experience the reel Beijing life. By being directly located in the Hutong, and beside the Lama Temple, you will experience daily China in a far better way than in a 30 floors hostel!

Disliked: The bar is being renovated. Luckily it a terasse outside and its winter right now.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

29 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place is cheap and close to a subway stop. Comfortable beds. A nice, Beijing courtyard atmosphere and a friendly staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

16 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was great---especially the location.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

phillip drake

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 November 2011 phillip would recommend this property

Liked: well placed and a great atmosphere.

Disliked: nothing realy

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Arnau Garcia Terrades

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 October 2011 Arnau would recommend this property

Liked: - Excellent backpacking atmosphere. - Some of us fell sick and they treated us excellently. The staff is incredibly helpful (24/7). - Transport tickets advice and sale. - Free beer on arrival; free pool, internet, table football, cinema, etc.

Disliked: - The information about the Great Wall tours they offer is not completely true, may cause misunderstandings. - The manager insists a lot on rating the hostel online. (No bad feelings, Michael!)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere

Disliked: rooms smelled stale, and not the cleanest.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Sarah Wulbrecht

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Work / volunteering

14 October 2011 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel has a really cool atmosphere, neat decorations and common areas where it's easy to socialize. The bar was also nice and there's a pool table. The staff was cheerful and helped me find which bus I needed to take to get to a few parks. Awesome location, right by wudaoying hutong and llama temple subway station. Not far from sanlitun either. One of the computers there has a VPN too so you can get on facebook

Disliked: internet was SO SLOW! Both the wifi and the desktop computers. Beggars can't be choosers though. Rooms were a bit dirty and smelly, probably a major side effect of the fact that you're not supposed to flush toilet paper. If you don't speak Chinese not all of the staff members can help you and you might have to wait to have your questions answered (I loved the staff though!)

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap, well-located, has a bar.

Disliked: Staff weren't super-friendly and wouldn't recommend anywhere to eat other than their own bar! Tourist information consisted entirely of tours with 'hidden' costs and unwanted shopping stops.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel had lots of character and charm. It was in a brilliant location, close to metro station, bars, restaurants, Lama Temple. I liked the fact you could easily rent a bike. The staff were really sweet and helpful. I liked the bar area with the comfy sofas and the entrance also had sofas and tables, so there were lots of opportunities to socialise. It was generally clean and tidy. Dorms were fine for the money that you pay. I have cool memories of this hostel and will definitely recommend!

Disliked: Just be careful when booking their tours. We booked a trip to the Great Wall and the itinery was different to what we thought and the guide was not flexible once we were on the bus. Check the itinery with the guide before you start a tour.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

TENFU CHANG

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 October 2011 TENFU would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is close to subway stations, and busy street with plenty of restaurants that opened till like 2AM. People interaction is very good and I met people from Germany, French, and we all had great conversation. Bike rental is very helpful to me. It costs only 20 RMB a day, and 300RMB deposit. Make sure you keep your deposit paper copy, or you are not going to get your deposit back.

Disliked: Staff needs to work on their service and attitude towards their customers. I think it's a general problem in China Service industry and it just takes time to improve.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 October 2011

Liked: helpful staff

Disliked: Although the room itself was properly cleaned, I rated the cleanliness worse than average because there was mold on & in the wall. Since I am allergic against it, I had a runny nose and a sore throat whenever I entered the room and it stopped as soon as I left.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Žan Anderle

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 September 2011 Žan would recommend this property

Liked: the staff was very helpful with everything we needed, great location, clean room and bathroom, great hostel

Disliked: We came from the airport and took a taxi to the hostel and overpaid it, if you come from airport take metro, its cheap and very easy to navigate.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chiron Aesir

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

25 September 2011 Chiron would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that the staff were really friendly and helpful, they were always eager to help whenever I needed directions or to find out what was happening around town. The atmosphere was great, and the upstairs bar had a cool scene you even get a free beer when you arrive The beds were comfortable and the showers were great in the ensuite dorm rooms. It was really good value for money

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Erik John Lahdekorpi

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

21 September 2011 Erik John would recommend this property

Liked: 1 Hai Inn is great overall. I liked it so much I went back a second time. It is in a great location for being close to a metro station, it is cleaner than many other hostels I have been to, the people are all really friendly whether it be guests or staff (especially Yuanyuan!) If you come to Beijing, this hostel is a definite great pick!

Disliked: If there was a bathroom besides the one in the room, I never found it, otherwise great.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2011

Liked: Walking distance to metro

Disliked: The moldy smell of the bedroom and specially bathroom is really strong and gave me headache. Beds too hard to sleep on, and staff were unfriendly.

The property's response is...

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2011

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: First and most important is that all rooms smell like mold, we changed our room 3 times and all smelled like mold specially the bathrooms. We had to keep the door and window always open when in the room and saw that everyone else did the same, and when we asked they told us the same thing. The beds were so hard that it felt like you were sleeping on the floor and they didn't changed the linnen every day. I'm not picky I don't mind all this but just the smell of mold made it so umberable to stay there. I would recommend you search for another place.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jason green

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 September 2011 jason would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was very helpful really made a huge difference. They reccomended tours and restaurants, even talk to people in chinese for us, and wrote directions for us too. Really good help thanks!

Disliked: .

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location and the staff were friendly. It was always clean and the maid came everyday. The food was good aand reasonably priced. The room size was good and the bathroom was big enough.

Disliked: They could have given a clean towel for those with a longer stay than 3 days.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 September 2011

Liked: The location is perfect, just a short walk from two metro stations and near a relatively walkable area in Beijing. It's also easy to get to other main destinations because it's close to the metro which has two lines running through it. The restaurant was convenient and pretty good food.

Disliked: Rooms were not well maintained, our room had a lot of mold on the ceiling and the bathroom was just wiped down every day and not thoroughly cleaned. Also the beds were so hard it was difficult to sleep.