We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Beijing Golden Pineapple Youth Hostel

Hostel | No.18 Xinzhong Jie Dongcheng, District, Beijing, China 100027

70.1% Overall Rating

32 out of 41 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/10/2011)

"It was located near the express train station to the airport so I could easily take the first train."

Read all Beijing Golden Pineapple Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Beijing?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Beijing

Beijing Sanlitun Youth Hostel
8.93 USD

Hostel 82.6% 382 reviews
Haina Hostel
17.87 USD

Hostel 79.2% 48 reviews
Beijing Perfect Inn
16.08 USD

Hotel 3 star 75.1% 7 reviews
Ming Courtyard
10.56 USD

Hostel 87.6% 3 reviews
Beijing Citystar Hotel - Chinese Snack Street
20.14 USD

Hotel 3 star 75.2% 9 reviews
Beijing 161 Lama Temple Courtyard Hotel
39.74 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Lucky Family Hostel
12.99 USD

Hostel 89.0% 181 reviews
Happy Dragon Courtyard Hostel
11.37 USD

Hostel 82.6% 172 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
70.1%

Overall Rating

32 out of 41 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Beijing Golden Pineapple Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
59.2%
Location
80.0%
Facilities
63.2%
Cleanliness
68.0%
Staff
69.6%
Value
73.6%
Safety
76.8%
Refine your results Showing 32 of 37 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

10 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, though not all spoke English which made things interesting.

Disliked: It could have been cleaner.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

10 July 2012

Liked: /

Disliked: /

65.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 October 2011

Liked: It was located near the express train station to the airport so I could easily take the first train.

Disliked: There was no windows in the dormitory. The staffmember seemed to hesitate to give me the deposit when I check out.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 September 2011

Liked: IS CHEAP, BUT I DON'T LIKE AT ALL AFTER ME AND MY FRIEND STAY IN THIS PLACE, THIS HOSTELS DON'T HAVE ANY CONDITION LIKE "REALLY HOSTEL".

Disliked: The address is not explain well in the website, is more than 12 minutes walking from the close metro station, the Air conditioner was't working a lot. Mix boys and girls, so in this sense must explain much better in the site. With the payment is they make me wrong calculations that at the end the manager doesn't know how to explain. Clients is not the priority for this hostel. My personal opinion, in this place don't have any manners to talk with clients. All the information provide in the site is wrong is not like hostel. I DON'T LIKE AT ALL AFTER ME AND MY FRIEND STAY IN THIS PLACE, THIS HOSTELS DON'T HAVE ANY CONDITION LIKE "REALLY HOSTEL".

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

christopher eberhardt

Alone

Work / volunteering

29 August 2011 christopher would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff

Disliked: I spoke to staff in Chinese, not sure if there was an English option late at night, might be hard for some.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Joanna Kochmanska

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2011

Liked: Location is very good.

Disliked: Very hard bed, no window in the room!!!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: convenient location

Disliked: -

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

29 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I booked a 4-bed room and had the whole room to myself. There were no windows but the room was very clean and although the bed mattress was 4cm thick on a metal frame, I slept OK. I was in transit for a night but it was in a very "locals" neighborhood and there were several foreigners milling around. It is the best deal if you need a place to stay overnight from the airport. It is a short walk and a quick trip to/from the Beijing terminal. I did not have time to do anything else. At the time of this writing, the Dongzhimen subway station is under construction so the only exit was the "E" exit. It is about a 800m walk along Xin Zhong Jie before you get to the hostel (plus another 400m from the station exit)....including two turns in the road. Don't give up...you'll eventually find it! There is a 7-Eleven next door for convenience food shopping.

Disliked: No windows in room but it is good if you need darkness to sleep!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

kim sunho

Alone

City break
Romantic getaway

30 April 2011 kim would recommend this property

Liked: it's the lowest price

Disliked: location

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

neil Dyke

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 April 2011 neil would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, great value

Disliked: Not a hostel more like a hotel so not a great place to meet people. Air is permanently circulated around the rooms through a central system meaning that people smoking in the nearby "non Smoking" rooms shared their smoke with us. Thanks neighbours!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was certainly one of the most clean and hotel-like I've stayed in worldwide. Environment clean and tidy, great shower

Disliked: Beds in 4bed dorm were very hard; room was stuffy and did not have a window

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

09 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location to subway and event venue; cheap price

Disliked: no wifi

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 October 2010

Liked: the staff is nice and the common room is good.

Disliked: The dorms don't have a window. this didn't seem like a big deal at first but the stale air makes you wake up feeling sick sometimes. as soon as i was out of dorm for an hour or so i started feeling better.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fairuz Majid

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 September 2010 Fairuz would recommend this property

Liked: Well connected to the subway and is situated in a quiet, pleasant area. The rooms are clean and secure, in fact, it is more like a hotel than a hostel. There's a small supermarket next door and many restaurants around the hotel.

Disliked: The shower smelled damp, and many of the staff don't speak English so it was hard to communicate at times.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa

14 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, close to Sanlitun shopping and clubbing district and a 5-10 minute walk from Dongzhimen and Dongsishitiao subway stations. Also on a local high street with a good range of restaurants, banks and other facilities.Laundry available on site - very cheap, easy to use, instructions in English.Staff were helpful and there were no issues about getting back deposits or paying for the room, which is often a pain at other places. Bathrooms are cleaned daily. Every room has an ensuite - including dorm rooms.Staff generally have an OK standard of English (or there is one staff-member on duty with good English) and seem well-trained.Prices are very reasonable.

Disliked: Bedrooms typically have no windows! The building is in poor condition and our room had a lot of mould on the walls. Our shower leaked all over the bathroom floor. Although bathrooms are cleaned daily, sheets and the rest of the room are not. We had the same sheets on our beds for a week. Internet access is available for 6 yuan per hour, which is a bit high, and only two computers are available. Internet speeds were very poor, as bad as a dial-up connection, and the computers were not in an internet cafe or lounge area of the hostel, but in a room alongside reception which seems to be mostly for the use of staff. Sitting in there felt as though you were intruding on the staffroom - the hostel would really benefit from a separate lounge/internet cafe and certainly has the room to expand into it. There is a restaurant attached which we felt no compunction to use, as it looked like a typical poor-quality Chinese hotel restaurant, with zhŏu breakfast only. Not a good place to meet people as there is no clearly defined public hang-out area - the nearby Sanlitun hostel manages this aspect much better. Overall, it is not clear whether Golden Pineapple wants to be a hostel or a hotel. It would be helpful for travellers if it went down one route or the other.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, with subway, shops, food joints nearby and has a 7/11 right next door for anything you need anytime of the day. The rooms and the ensuite bathrooms are very clean and in great shape. The in-room internet was fast and the room has a nice desk and chair to sit down and work at, if needed. The staff were ok and helpful.

Disliked: None of note!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: its close to the subway station.

Disliked: staff is not very helpful

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Thomas Micheneau

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

01 July 2010

Liked: the price

Disliked: cleaess, unfriendly staff , there is no place to gather with other travellers, the place is quite far from the subway

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Mark Ogden

14 June 2010 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: It's location. However, the Golden Pineapple staff told me they didn't have our six-person room since they didn't receive your reservation until June 12 in the afternoon. That was very disappointing as I received a confirmation several days before the visit that I had a six-person room reserved. Sincerely, Mark Ogden

Disliked: Mark left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

15 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: More like a hotel? Clean and safe rooms?Small tv room with a couple of computers?Not a good place to meet people?Very very hard beds?Staff were friendly,but only one women spoke english so it was hard to get help or explain stuff?Nice place and good location?

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rhona Cameron

14 March 2010 Rhona would recommend this property

Liked: Good price for Beijing, and couldn't have been any cleaner. Nice warm rooms and fairly close to metro and bus stations.

Disliked: Rhona left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

10 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Not too far from city...10 minutes walk to metroStaff's english skills weren't good, at all.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

16 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff do not speak much English and some who do tend to be rude. There is no self-catering facility apart from water machine in the room.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

11 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was really good value, my room was amazing, it was quiet and peaceful, and the staff were lovely.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aaron Bromley

08 October 2009 Aaron would recommend this property

Liked: great location but the majority of the staff struggle with anything more than room related english,but it doesn't stop them trying to help.

Disliked: Aaron left no negative feedback.