We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Beijing Sanlitun Youth Hostel

Hostel | No.1, North Road of Worker's, Stadium, Chun Xiu Lu, Chaoyang Beijing, China 0000

82.6% Overall Rating

355 out of 382 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/05/2014)

"I loved the social scene of this hostel. I met so many other travellers which was important was I am travelling alone. They do cool things like free hotpit which is helps you meet people as well. The rooms are quite…"

Read all Beijing Sanlitun Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Beijing?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Beijing

Beijing Golden Pineapple Youth Hostel
16.08 USD

Hostel 70.1% 41 reviews
Beijing Perfect Inn
16.08 USD

Hotel 3 star 75.1% 7 reviews
Haina Hostel
21.61 USD

Hostel 79.2% 48 reviews
Ming Courtyard
9.75 USD

Hostel 87.6% 3 reviews
Beijing Citystar Hotel - Chinese Snack Street
20.15 USD

Hotel 3 star 75.2% 9 reviews
Happy Dragon Courtyard Hostel
11.37 USD

Hostel 82.6% 172 reviews
Lucky Family Hostel
9.75 USD

Hostel 88.6% 180 reviews
Beijing 161 Lama Temple Courtyard Hotel
42.32 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.6%

Overall Rating

355 out of 382 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Beijing Sanlitun Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
78.4%
Cleanliness
72.8%
Staff
84.0%
Value
83.2%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 318 of 353 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ou Sun Zhu

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

04 September 2014 Ou would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for money, atmosphere (young people)

Disliked: Nothing

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Ivan Pelaez

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

31 August 2014

Liked: They are pretty close to all the bars and clubs

Disliked: I first got a shared room for 4 people with a shared bathroom... The bed in the room had a chinese matress, which means 2cm thick. The aircon was on but all it really acomplished was make noises. The bathroom smelled like your train station public bathroom. I asked to be changed to a private room with normal matresses and a private bathroom. The lighting in the room resembles the lighting in a South American prostitution house. I killed two cocroaches in 1 night, the towels were stained (the color resembled that of blood or feces) and the bathroom smelled like mold. The hostel itself is located in a super sketchy, shady courtyard. I was planning to stay two nights and ended up leaving at 8 am the next day because the room and the toilet were absolutely disgusting. I've stayed in hostels all over Germany and Italy, London, Ecuador, Hong Kong and other cities in China, and I've never seen a dirtier place before.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great little bar good location

Disliked: the bathrooms could be modernised

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Chang Liu

Alone

City break

01 July 2014 Chang would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean for the price, and the location is wonderful.

Disliked: The wifi wasn't great. The cleaning lady once also took away my towel thinking it was someone else's leftover. They eventually returned the towel without apologizing. Would think twice about retuning.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the social scene of this hostel. I met so many other travellers which was important was I am travelling alone. They do cool things like free hotpit which is helps you meet people as well. The rooms are quite clean and showers are ok.

Disliked: THE STAFF! The staff were just rude. This happened to everyone that I met. For example I was eating some take away noodles in the communal area and a staff member came over and shouted at me and asked me to leave the property. There were no signs to state no outside eating. This was one of many incidents that I witnessed.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthew Wood

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

21 April 2014 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: There are lockers for everyone in the dorms. Bring or purchase your own lock. Cynthia is very nice and helpful. The coffee and beer are good and the prices are right.

Disliked: The check-on process was not smooth. My friend and I were put in separate rooms. They prioritise by who checks in first, not who booked first.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location

Disliked: should be more clean

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: English speaking staff

Disliked: No kitchen area for you to use

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

17 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, clean rooms, staff speaks English very well, very cheap.

Disliked: No free wifi in rooms, only in the communal area

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing offer at Hostelbookers, beds were cheap. The hostel and the rooms were clean, except for the bathrooms. There was a locker for everybody in the room.

Disliked: Every other services are very expensive. High commission on bookings (40 Y/train ticket). Beer was more expensive than in other restaurants. Only cable internet in the rooms (1 cable for 8 beds).

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

16 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location just next to the sanlitun area. The hostel was all you can expect from a youth hostel, warm, friendly and affordable.

Disliked: They were no soap in the room but that is a minor dislike !

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rebecca Chant

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 November 2013 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: It was very social and the staff was super helpful

Disliked: It is in the "expat" area, so there is a lot of shopping and a lot of bars. Doesn't give the true feeling of being in Beijing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Igor Erhartic

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 November 2013 Igor would recommend this property

Liked: Great Hostel to meet people and get usefull tips about Beijing. Very helpfull staff!

Disliked: Igor left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

14 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere in the bar/restaurant

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Ksenia Aryasova

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 October 2013 Ksenia would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel has a very nice location, close to yashow market and the bar street, as well as to a plenty of nice malls and cafes. The stuff there is really nice and helpful.

Disliked: the second time i stayed there bathroom was kinda gross.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: zzz

Disliked: zzzz

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kate Smith

Alone

Work / volunteering

15 September 2013 Kate would recommend this property

Liked: I really like the communal area downstairs which definitely has a proper hostel feel about it. That's why I chose to come back again this year when I knew that I would be needing to stay for a longer period of time. It made it a lot easier to meet other people.

Disliked: The main issue is the WIFI. Sometimes it works fine, but sometimes it can take over an hour for my computer to pick it up. Most people had at least some problems with it. There are desktops available as a last resort, if you're willing to pay for internet.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Christopher Kempson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 September 2013

Liked: Location is good but ....

Disliked: I arrived late checked in but couldn't find my room. When I asked of they could show me where it was the receptionist became very aggressive and refused to show me my room and started shouting at me. I immediately checked out and found another hostel very close which provided excellent service.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff are so helpful speak fluent English and always about. I arrived at 6:30am and they checked me in and got me a bed at that time no worries..... when you get to the place it looks a bit dingy as you have to cut thru a strange little carpark but once you are there its all good....

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Big rooms, nice bar and common areas.

Disliked: no Wi-Fi in the rooms, and the bathrooms was quite dirty. The location is not the best...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Meaghan Li

Alone

Partying / nightlife

12 August 2013 Meaghan would recommend this property

Liked: Spacious, clean rooms and hot showers with great water pressure. The staff are super friendly and helpful and you can't beat the price. Located right next to restaurants and convenience stores with a bus stop a few minutes walk away.

Disliked: WiFi can only be accessed in the bar, which serves average food that is expensive by Chinese standards. There are mosquitos in the bar area as well.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Phillip Chung

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 June 2013 Phillip would recommend this property

Liked: Its location is very convenient and rooms are very quiet.

Disliked: If you would like to meet other travelers, this is not the place.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Peter Isra

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

26 May 2013 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: Good breakfast (hard to get in China) and good bar, both in the common area where you can hang out and meet other travelers. Nice neighborhood with plenty to do around. The girls that work there are all pretty which is a plus =).

Disliked: No elevator. No wifi in rooms. A little far from the subway station. Some of the tours are overpriced.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Su Za

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 May 2013 Su would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to meet other travellers.

Disliked: I found things to be a little overpriced.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jack Bell

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2013 Jack would recommend this property

Liked: I thought the rooms, and all of the hostel was very clean and the staff were very helpful with any enquiries. Mattresses were a bit too flat and thin than I'd prefer, but I still got a decent nights sleep. Food and drink in their bar downstairs is good value for money too. Showers and toilets are shared with your gender but always kept clean on a daily basis.

Disliked: Just the mattresses being a bit too thin, but that's really a tiny issue compared to the rest of my stay.