HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Sanlitun Youth Hostel Beijing Hostel

No.1 Chunxiu Lu(Gong Ti Bei Lu), Chaoyang District, Beijing, China

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 74%

Facilities 76%

Location 86%

Safety 85%

Staff 80%

Value 79%

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Policies

  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Beijing?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 74%

Facilities 76%

Location 86%

Safety 85%

Staff 80%

Value 79%

Showing 1-10 of 157 reviews

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Jun 2017

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Age Range:
31-40

Liked: The bar is quite cozy

Disliked: The room smelt damp. The ensuite tap dripped. No soap or shampoo provided. Old interior. Staff not helpful. Hard to find. Would not recommend.

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
74% Overall Rating


07 Jun 2017

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
31-40

Liked: - Very good facilities and generally pretty clean - Each bed had a power swtch and a personal light

Disliked: - Extremelly far from the metro - Problem with language (this is a general issue), but they speak some english - The bathrooms for men and women were in different floors so it was difficult to move - Relativelly expensive (20 euros per day)

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Jan 2017

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Social atmosphere not to big. Tooooo much outside so everyone disappear soon. But thats part of sanlitun area

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Oct 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: Everything was great. 24 reception/check in. Helped with information on how to get to Great Wall. Great trip.

Customer would recommend this property

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location was good

Disliked: It was not allowed to bring drinks from outside, the ensuite bath was quite dirty and there was a lot of mold in the shower and around the sink. The sink was broken and water ran down the tiles. You could smell the mold in our private room.And I was also eye witness when one of the employees tried to steal money from one of the customers. They were arguing in chinese and the guest dropped her ID-pocket on the floor with some money in it. She did not realize it and the employee stepped on it so she could not see it lying on the floor. She went away and he gave it to his colleague at the receptionists desk. I confronted the employee with what I saw and they both turned stupid. I told them that I will call the police and after some discussion they gave it back to her. That is not what I want as a guest when I stay at a hostel!

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: A bit overprized in summer but I love staying here because of the other hostel guest. Lost of long term guest (interns) so you really make friends here.

Disliked: The rooms are just too expensive, also compared to other hostels in Beijing. Some of the staff is friendly, some of them aren't at all.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: The location was great (bar street is really a 10 minute walk away), and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The cafe/bar on the property is great!

Disliked: It was a little difficult to find, because it's not exactly on the main road. The bathrooms could be maintianed better, but it was still very good.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nice feel about it. Good value for money. Staff spoke good English. Rooms were a solid standard.

Disliked: Was very hard to locate. I spent ages running around looking for it (dragging a heavy case, because of their vague directions).

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: The hostel is in the center of most things entertaining so, in that regard it's a great place to stay.

Disliked: No wifi in room even though we booked for wifiNo soap and toilet paper, luckily I purchased my own but I've stayed in other hostels that at least put soap in the bathroom, like how much is soap gonna set this place back?Our oom was changed because some lady made a stink about needing a room close to the first floor. We were heading out and had to repack, rush and move rooms as a courtesy.....do you think they offered us anything? Nope.......the room we moved to was worse than our first room btw

37% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
37% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: One of the staff members (the man) was helpful

Disliked: 1) If you want any sleep at all do NOT stay here. The beds are completely un-sleepable. Rock solid and can feel every spring, I can usually sleep anywhere but not on these mattresses. 2) If you book a private room with shared bathroom then realise that the bathroom is at the other end of the hostel, has one western and one Chinese toilet and is really pretty disgusting. 3) There's wifi in the common area but not in any rooms and it was forever breaking down.

Check Availability