HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Beijing Sanlitun Youth Hostel

Hostel | No.1, North Road of Worker's, Stadium, Chun Xiu Lu, Chaoyang Beijing, China 0000

84.3% Overall Rating

354 out of 380 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/05/2014)

"I loved the social scene of this hostel. I met so many other travellers which was important was I am travelling alone. They do cool things like free hotpit which is helps you meet people as well. The rooms are quite…"

Read all Beijing Sanlitun Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Beijing?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Beijing

Beijing Golden Pineapple Youth Hostel
16.06 USD

Hostel 70.1% 41 reviews
Beijing Perfect Inn
16.06 USD

Hotel 3 star 75.1% 7 reviews
Haina Hostel
21.57 USD

Hostel 79.2% 48 reviews
Ming Courtyard
10.54 USD

Hostel 87.6% 3 reviews
Beijing Citystar Hotel - Chinese Snack Street
20.11 USD

Hotel 3 star 75.2% 9 reviews
Happy Dragon Courtyard Hostel
12.98 USD

Hostel 82.3% 171 reviews
Lucky Family Hostel
12.98 USD

Hostel 85.7% 173 reviews
Beijing 161 Lama Temple Courtyard Hotel
35.97 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.3%

Overall Rating

354 out of 380 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Beijing Sanlitun Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
86.4%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
74.4%
Staff
84.8%
Value
86.4%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 316 of 351 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great little bar good location

Disliked: the bathrooms could be modernised

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Chang Liu

Alone

City break

01 July 2014 Chang would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean for the price, and the location is wonderful.

Disliked: The wifi wasn't great. The cleaning lady once also took away my towel thinking it was someone else's leftover. They eventually returned the towel without apologizing. Would think twice about retuning.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the social scene of this hostel. I met so many other travellers which was important was I am travelling alone. They do cool things like free hotpit which is helps you meet people as well. The rooms are quite clean and showers are ok.

Disliked: THE STAFF! The staff were just rude. This happened to everyone that I met. For example I was eating some take away noodles in the communal area and a staff member came over and shouted at me and asked me to leave the property. There were no signs to state no outside eating. This was one of many incidents that I witnessed.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthew Wood

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

21 April 2014 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: There are lockers for everyone in the dorms. Bring or purchase your own lock. Cynthia is very nice and helpful. The coffee and beer are good and the prices are right.

Disliked: The check-on process was not smooth. My friend and I were put in separate rooms. They prioritise by who checks in first, not who booked first.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location

Disliked: should be more clean

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: English speaking staff

Disliked: No kitchen area for you to use

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

17 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, clean rooms, staff speaks English very well, very cheap.

Disliked: No free wifi in rooms, only in the communal area

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing offer at Hostelbookers, beds were cheap. The hostel and the rooms were clean, except for the bathrooms. There was a locker for everybody in the room.

Disliked: Every other services are very expensive. High commission on bookings (40 Y/train ticket). Beer was more expensive than in other restaurants. Only cable internet in the rooms (1 cable for 8 beds).

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

16 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location just next to the sanlitun area. The hostel was all you can expect from a youth hostel, warm, friendly and affordable.

Disliked: They were no soap in the room but that is a minor dislike !

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rebecca Chant

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 November 2013 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: It was very social and the staff was super helpful

Disliked: It is in the "expat" area, so there is a lot of shopping and a lot of bars. Doesn't give the true feeling of being in Beijing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Igor Erhartic

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 November 2013 Igor would recommend this property

Liked: Great Hostel to meet people and get usefull tips about Beijing. Very helpfull staff!

Disliked: Igor left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

14 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere in the bar/restaurant

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Ksenia Aryasova

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 October 2013 Ksenia would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel has a very nice location, close to yashow market and the bar street, as well as to a plenty of nice malls and cafes. The stuff there is really nice and helpful.

Disliked: the second time i stayed there bathroom was kinda gross.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: zzz

Disliked: zzzz

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kate Smith

Alone

Work / volunteering

15 September 2013 Kate would recommend this property

Liked: I really like the communal area downstairs which definitely has a proper hostel feel about it. That's why I chose to come back again this year when I knew that I would be needing to stay for a longer period of time. It made it a lot easier to meet other people.

Disliked: The main issue is the WIFI. Sometimes it works fine, but sometimes it can take over an hour for my computer to pick it up. Most people had at least some problems with it. There are desktops available as a last resort, if you're willing to pay for internet.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Christopher Kempson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 September 2013

Liked: Location is good but ....

Disliked: I arrived late checked in but couldn't find my room. When I asked of they could show me where it was the receptionist became very aggressive and refused to show me my room and started shouting at me. I immediately checked out and found another hostel very close which provided excellent service.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff are so helpful speak fluent English and always about. I arrived at 6:30am and they checked me in and got me a bed at that time no worries..... when you get to the place it looks a bit dingy as you have to cut thru a strange little carpark but once you are there its all good....

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Big rooms, nice bar and common areas.

Disliked: no Wi-Fi in the rooms, and the bathrooms was quite dirty. The location is not the best...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Meaghan Li

Alone

Partying / nightlife

12 August 2013 Meaghan would recommend this property

Liked: Spacious, clean rooms and hot showers with great water pressure. The staff are super friendly and helpful and you can't beat the price. Located right next to restaurants and convenience stores with a bus stop a few minutes walk away.

Disliked: WiFi can only be accessed in the bar, which serves average food that is expensive by Chinese standards. There are mosquitos in the bar area as well.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Phillip Chung

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 June 2013 Phillip would recommend this property

Liked: Its location is very convenient and rooms are very quiet.

Disliked: If you would like to meet other travelers, this is not the place.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Peter Isra

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

26 May 2013 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: Good breakfast (hard to get in China) and good bar, both in the common area where you can hang out and meet other travelers. Nice neighborhood with plenty to do around. The girls that work there are all pretty which is a plus =).

Disliked: No elevator. No wifi in rooms. A little far from the subway station. Some of the tours are overpriced.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Su Za

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 May 2013 Su would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to meet other travellers.

Disliked: I found things to be a little overpriced.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jack Bell

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2013 Jack would recommend this property

Liked: I thought the rooms, and all of the hostel was very clean and the staff were very helpful with any enquiries. Mattresses were a bit too flat and thin than I'd prefer, but I still got a decent nights sleep. Food and drink in their bar downstairs is good value for money too. Showers and toilets are shared with your gender but always kept clean on a daily basis.

Disliked: Just the mattresses being a bit too thin, but that's really a tiny issue compared to the rest of my stay.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Hanna Andrea Sand

Alone

Visiting friends or family

29 April 2013 Hanna Andrea would recommend this property

Liked: The hostels location is awesome, not far from Beijings party district and the airport express. It's easy to get to know nice people, staff is quite helpful and most of them are really nice - especially the hostel dog! ;) Bedroom and bathroom was clean. It's really good value for money!

Disliked: No elevator to get to the 4th floor, 6 bed room was not too big so it was a little hard to manage having 6 suitcases in the dorm. Socket-outlet above my bed was broken and it caused a short whenever you wanted to use it. Also, the lockers didn't have locks so no place to store your valuables when you didn't bring a lock on your own.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

keith taylor

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2013 keith would recommend this property

Liked: I've stayed at Sanlitun every time I've passed through Beijing for the last few years, and each visit has been great. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the staff are friendly and helpful and the bar is great fun, and a great place to meet people. I've left glowing reviews for this place before, so this time I'm mention two minor (very minor) gripes with the place. First, the wifi doesn't extend beyond the ground floor (though if you're lucky you might pick up a signal on the second). Most hostels in this price range offer wifi throughout. Saying that, you can plug your laptop in with a LAN cable, so it's not a big deal. Second, I like to cycle while in the city but the rental bikes available could use a serious service. Each time I come here they get a little worse, and this last one was especially bad. The pedal was falling off, the bike was stuck in a single gear and one of the brake pads was pressed against the rim, so it was like cycling uphill all day. Please, please give the bikes a good once over before I return. Other than those two tiny problems Sanlitun was awesome as ever, and I'd have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone.

Disliked: See above.