HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Sanlitun Youth Hostel Beijing Hostel

No.1 Chunxiu Lu(Gong Ti Bei Lu), Chaoyang District, Beijing, China

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 73%

Facilities 76%

Location 89%

Safety 87%

Staff 80%

Value 82%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Policies

  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Beijing?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 73%

Facilities 76%

Location 89%

Safety 87%

Staff 80%

Value 82%

Showing 71-23 of 23 reviews

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nice atmosphere

Disliked: bathroom and toilets not really clean but still okay compared to other experiences in china ;)

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Great hostel, friendly staff and good rooms with good beds.We got a private room for 2 and got everyday clean towels. We did like the bar downstairs with some good (also western) food, drinks (beers, juices, smoothies, cocktails) and music. We also booked a trip to the Great Wall at the hostel which was arranged very good!

Disliked: You only got WiFi downstairs and it doesn't work all the time. There are only three computers which you can use (1 RMB for 15 minutes). The hostel is not really close to an subway station (abou 15 minutes walk), but there are some nice restaurants in the street.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The rooms were air conditioned, which was definitely needed! The great wall trip was good. Staff were usually friendly

Disliked: Not much to dislike here. They didn't take card for payment just as a heads up to others!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: EVERYTHING!!! From the patient staff to the food everything was great. The staff was pleasant and patient with me as asked the same question over and over got lost because I could follow simple directions. The space was nice it has rain head showers which are my favorites, and thanks to this hostel I met some of my new best friends. Without a doubt my stay at this hostel was one of the top ten experiences of my life.

Disliked: For some reason there are two dogs that live in there. They are very tame and well mannered its just that sometimes the entrance to the hostile gets this weird wet dog smell to it. Slightly discomforting.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The atmosphere was great. They had a restaurant and bar with good food and specials on drinks and food depending on the day. They had a tour desk. Clean bathrooms/ showers. They had separate shower/bathrooms for men and women. Bed was reasonably comfortable.

Disliked: Had to carry my luggage up 4 flights of stairs. The A/C was not working well and it was hot as hell in the middle of summer.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good location, convenient to book tours.

Disliked: They put us in the hotel next door and said it was their 'second building'. The room was digusting and the shower was even worse. It was too late to find somewhere else to stay and they said they were fully booked. The next day we went to check out and get a refunf for the rest of our stay but they were able to move us into a room in the actual hostel building, not next door. The rest of our stay was pretty pleasant.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Excellent place to stay! The staff servicing the tour desk is extremely helpful and energetic! We took a private double room which turned out to be in the hotel across the parking lot rather than the actual Sanlitun hostel, so be aware of this. We had problems in that hotel's room and changed rooms to a private twin in the actual Sanlitun hostel. This was MUCH better.

Disliked: Only complain is the lack of wifi in the rooms, especially given the rate charged for a private room.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Relaxation / spa, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The staff is incredibly nice and helpful

Disliked: The owner has tried turning this venue into a cash cow. The hotel he recently purchased is run-down and is filled with cast-off, broken-down furniture. Because of the expansion, there are too many guests and the common area is often too full of people. The furnishings are the cheapest possible. There is a brothel at the hotel that draws an unsavory clientele. For the same price, travelers can get much better elsewhere.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife

Liked: Very good location, close to the famous bar street, nice staff and good food

Disliked: Only one western toilet in each bathroom

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Decent sized rooms with good storage cupboards. Pool table to use but it was really shit. Friendly staff, nice place overall, good social area.

Disliked: The pay for computers were dreadful, to the point they barely worked, I think they were running IE6 for browsing...not that you can browse anything in China anyway... Enough saidI like a hard bed, but these were pushing my limits, fine for me but maybe not for you if you like a soft bed.It's a fair walk to the nearest station

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability