We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Beijing Sanlitun Youth Hostel

Hostel | No.1, North Road of Worker's, Stadium, Chun Xiu Lu, Chaoyang Beijing, China 0000

82.6% Overall Rating

356 out of 383 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/05/2014)

"I loved the social scene of this hostel. I met so many other travellers which was important was I am travelling alone. They do cool things like free hotpit which is helps you meet people as well. The rooms are quite…"

Read all Beijing Sanlitun Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Beijing?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Beijing

Beijing Golden Pineapple Youth Hostel
16.08 USD

Hostel 70.1% 41 reviews
Haina Hostel
17.87 USD

Hostel 79.2% 48 reviews
Ming Courtyard
7.31 USD

Hostel 87.6% 3 reviews
Beijing Citystar Hotel - Chinese Snack Street
20.14 USD

Hotel 3 star 75.2% 9 reviews
Happy Dragon Courtyard Hostel
7.31 USD

Hostel 82.6% 172 reviews
Lucky Family Hostel
6.50 USD

Hostel 89.7% 183 reviews
Beijing 161 Lama Temple Courtyard Hotel
37.85 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Beijing Yuexuan Courtyard Garden Hostel
14.62 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.6%

Overall Rating

356 out of 383 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Beijing Sanlitun Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
84.8%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
78.4%
Cleanliness
73.6%
Staff
83.2%
Value
83.2%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 319 of 354 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julie Sugano

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

15 May 2011 Julie would recommend this property

Liked: There was staff available 24/7, they were really helpful, they spoke English, and they were very knowledgeable about the area.

Disliked: The food wasn't great, but decent

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The bar and social area

Disliked: nothing

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Lisa Kriss

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 May 2011

Liked: Once you were inside, it seem clean

Disliked: Everything, the location was at the back of a building site, car parking lot, did not look inviting at all. The staff were very unfriendly, and not helpful, food was very pricey, and so was the beer, and they made no effect getting people together and talking.... not a fun place to stay. No choice of movies or music..... Just boring!! They also lost my train ticket, very unprofessional and did not make me feel comfortable at all.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lucy Finlay

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

05 May 2011 Lucy would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the Bohemian feel of the social area- I felt like I was in France!

Disliked: Nothing really- bar the building works around but they can't help that!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Michael Lycett

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 April 2011 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Hotel style property clean and very friendly staff

Disliked: Bathroom flooded quickly as shower in wet room and not in an enclosure

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

PETER DADSWELL

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 April 2011 PETER would recommend this property

Liked: This may be the perfect hostel. Unbelievably cheap, great staff, very clean and a great location. You can stop looking for other places to stay now!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

27 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They have a nice bar. You can drink good draught beer there. Staff is really friendly and helpful. They sent a way description after we had booked. We did not find the hostel in the darkness although we were already very close to it. People around adviced us to take a taxi but we asked again at the reception of another hotel. The reception gave Sanlitun hostel a call and told us to go to the next traffic light where we were picked up

Disliked: nothing to say

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly Staff, Fun people living, great atmosphere although the food is a bit overpriced.

Disliked: The price of the breakfast, with juice and coffee

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Visiting friends or family

20 April 2011

Liked: good location.

Disliked: No common place or room to seat & chat with others other than the play room, which is not a convenient place.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything!

Disliked: It was all ok

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: really friendly staff and great atmosphere

Disliked: Food and drink was expensive in the bar

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luke Hollands

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 April 2011 Luke would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, friendly staff, good tours on offer, clean and safe.

Disliked: smoking allowed in the bar/ resteraunt

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

29 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was really nice, very good western food.

Disliked: Chinese food a little bit expensive.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really good location Nice staff

Disliked: Nothing bad

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexander Levén

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 March 2011 Alexander would recommend this property

Liked: couches are soft

Disliked: a little bit expensive food and drinks

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

yves Sutanto

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 March 2011 yves would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff, awesome service

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

06 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location and veeeeeeeery friendly staff.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping

03 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very nice staff and clean room

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Megan Steen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 February 2011 Megan would recommend this property

Liked: EVERYTHING! Great atmosphere. Great Restaurant and Bar. Extremely helpful staff. 10 minute walk to the metro. Free activities every night. Clean rooms and bathrooms.

Disliked: Absolutely nothing, Best hostel I've ever stayed at.

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

25 February 2011

Liked: Clean, warm rooms, nice bar.

Disliked: Expensive and disappointing meals, boring surroundings (unless you're there to party in Sanlitun), noisy - too party-orientated. My main complaint is the Internet - wires in the room not working, and Wi-Fi going down, sometimes for days.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

20 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Hostel is full of life and vibrant, location is a plus if you into night life. The friendliness of the front house staff and always taking a step ahead makes it all different. I initially booked for just 3days but end up staying extra 4 more days.

Disliked: The food is abit overcharged i felt after what i got for 4daysbreakfast continiously. the sausages was always over cooked (dried) and a strip of bacon looks like it was preheated from left overs. hashbrown over deep fried. Maybe the chef need bit more lesson on how to serve fresh food. ah not forgettin Muesli it was just a waste of money. Apart from the restaurant side i was very happy with my stay in Hostel

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 February 2011

Liked: The food was quite good

Disliked: The rooms were sparse for the money paid and you could hear other people in thier rooms The noise - expect to find other guests shouting and making noise at all hours The location - 15- 20minutes walk to the nearest metro

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jessica Catnach

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 February 2011 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: This is a fantastic hostel for partying as it's close to the Sanlitun Village and the bar in the hostel itself is well equipped and well run. Had a great time, would definitely go back!

Disliked: It's a party hostel through and through so if you want a good night's sleep get a private room :)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Victoria Hacker

Alone

Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

05 February 2011 Victoria would recommend this property

Liked: The excellent, friendly, helpful staff. The diversity of guests & the good atmosphere generated by both. The food was also good & the free internet access so incredibly useful. I would highly recommend Sanlitun Hostel for these reasons.

Disliked: The rooms weren't kept very clean (window cills were filthy and coated anything you put on them with dirt) & under the beds/bunks there was also a lot of dust/dirt which invariably ended up on your belongings.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ekaterina Fefelova

Alone

Visiting friends or family

04 February 2011 Ekaterina would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful and friendly stuff, nice common area includes a bar/cafe, pool table, etc, nice interior decorations too, cosy couches...Let me keep my bags in the luggage room for the whole day (after checkout) even though i only stayed one night, got me a taxi and helped carrying the bags when i was leaving...can't recall anything negative abt the hostel)

Disliked: nothing