We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Beijing Sanlitun Youth Hostel

Hostel | No.1, North Road of Worker's, Stadium, Chun Xiu Lu, Chaoyang Beijing, China 0000

82.6% Overall Rating

355 out of 382 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/05/2014)

"I loved the social scene of this hostel. I met so many other travellers which was important was I am travelling alone. They do cool things like free hotpit which is helps you meet people as well. The rooms are quite…"

Read all Beijing Sanlitun Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Beijing?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Beijing

Beijing Golden Pineapple Youth Hostel
16.08 USD

Hostel 70.1% 41 reviews
Beijing Perfect Inn
16.08 USD

Hotel 3 star 75.1% 7 reviews
Haina Hostel
17.87 USD

Hostel 79.2% 48 reviews
Ming Courtyard
10.56 USD

Hostel 87.6% 3 reviews
Beijing Citystar Hotel - Chinese Snack Street
20.14 USD

Hotel 3 star 75.2% 9 reviews
Happy Dragon Courtyard Hostel
11.37 USD

Hostel 82.6% 172 reviews
Lucky Family Hostel
12.99 USD

Hostel 89.0% 181 reviews
Beijing 161 Lama Temple Courtyard Hotel
39.74 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.6%

Overall Rating

355 out of 382 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Beijing Sanlitun Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
78.4%
Cleanliness
72.8%
Staff
84.0%
Value
83.2%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 318 of 353 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

09 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great price, location, and value! I've stayed in the dorms before and they are also really well done with a private locker and decent showers/toilets. This time, I stayed in the single ensuite, and it was a great! Can't find anything comparable for price or location, so this is a gem!

Disliked: The ceiling in my room could use a coat of paint, but otherwise everything was good.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Piotr Grochowski

Alone

City break

05 January 2012 Piotr would recommend this property

Liked: As always with Sunlitun, everything tip-top. see you next time!

Disliked: Piotr left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent Staff!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Patrick Wilson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 December 2011 Patrick would recommend this property

Liked: The showers are GREAT! 24hrs /7 days. Wireless very quick & reliable. Great food served right through the day & drinks cheap. The dorms were warm... Maybe a little too warm at times. Individual lockers . Staff were friendly & approachable but & spoke relatively good English.

Disliked: My dorm had an obvious old aged western "long stayer" in it- a COMPLETE NO NO for any YOUTH hostel. This guy felt it was appropriate to sleep naked, snore/talk in his sleep & generally be a slob in his bed space. This should not be allowed as it wrecks the ambience & vibe of the place. Seriously, these guys need to NOT have their midlife crisis in a youth backpackers hostel- NOT cool! The pet kitten! Cute, I'll give ya' that.... But not when it's running all over the tables that people sit & eat at!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

06 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is perfect

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

06 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: LOCAtion is perfect

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

sarah reeve

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

05 December 2011 sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were so helpful, food was very reasonably priced, really welcoming atmosphere.

Disliked: sarah left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Patrick MacDonald

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 December 2011 Patrick would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked how friendly and helpful the staff were. I found it to be a clean and safe place while I was in Beijing.

Disliked: I had some trouble finding the property when I gave the hostel's directions to the taxi driver, but I called the front desk and they helped right away.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is not in the center and most of the taxi drivers might not know where the place is, but as far as i learned it id typical for Beijing. The hostel is close to the subway station and bus stop, close to the big shopping mall, market and bars&clubs street. There is a nice and cozy bar in the hostel with good prices, and it is a great place to meet new people. The staff is nice and friendly and very helpful and their english is way better than that of the staff in big expensive hotels. There are guided tours organized from the hostel, they are not for free, but the price is ok. So you will never be bored staying there! The rooms are average, have safe lockers, you just have to ask for a paddle lock on reception.

Disliked: Common shower/toilet was not my fav place there, apparently :) but must admit that the place was cleaned regularly and mostly there were no troubles

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

16 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is located in the perfect place, it is near the markets and restaurants, bars and clubs, and is also only a short walk from the subway. The staff are really helpful and speak very good english. The bar area served good food and they have different deals on each night for the food and drinks, the hotpot night is especially good! The rooms are a good size and the beds are comfy the showers have hot water in them. The location means there is not too much noise coming from the street aswell so you don't get alot of drunk people coming past your window at all hours of the night.

Disliked: The hostel can be a little bit hard to find because it is in a back street and you cannot smoke in the bar area.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa

13 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is in most part very friendly, helpful and proficient in english. staying one night longer even during the weekend went well. the food is great you don't even have to go to the den for a burger. bar street is quite near and the rickshaw back costs only 10 yuan or even less. the rooms (twin, triple) except for the showercurtains in some rooms are clean and generally in good condition.

Disliked: during my last stay the heating was a little annoying because you couldn't switch it off and it got boiling hot. you can still open the window but you might have some construction noises waking you up the next day.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Ng

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

12 November 2011 David would recommend this property

Liked: The convenience of it all, everyone spoke good english and was really friendly, except for one guy, but I'd give him the benefit of the doubt that it was just miscommunication both mine and his part. Two workers really stand out to me, Michael, a shaggy haired, soft spoken guy was really accomodating and helpful with any questions I had. The other (never got her name) was this incredible outgoing, smiley, upbeat girl who helped us with our Great Wall questions and booking (in the end we had to cancel (which she was very understanding) the trip because my roomie was sick)). Context: I stayed in the double ensuite, eventually changing to the double singles ensuite (as my roomie arrived later). Highlights: - staff are friendly and helpful - price is great - location central - courtyard area is nice - restaurant/bar attached is convenient - free pool table and wi-fi

Disliked: - The location was not as convenient as I liked, but definitely on the more decent compared to others - there is an car attendant that isn't always there (for the shared hotel in the same area) so when cars are trying to enter or leave in the early morning, their incessant honking will wake you - the wi-fi is only on the main floor and the internet didn't work for me in the second room I changed to (even after the staff reset the internet 2x) - you can't bring food into the common area (HOWEVER, they didn't say anything when I brought it to my room) - that being said food and drink in the restaurant/bar was quite pricey

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rolf Moersdorf

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 November 2011 Rolf would recommend this property

Liked: very nice atmosphere, friendly stuff, well equiped

Disliked: .

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

20 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Location

Disliked: The noise due to the thin walls

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Benny Lahmish

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 October 2011 Benny would recommend this property

Liked: This is the best hostel we have been in china, realy good location near many nightlife places and the staff are realy friendly and helping. Also you can meet lot of people here

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

02 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The food taste good, also the foosball.

Disliked: no

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping

01 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location and cleanliness room

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

27 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa

25 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The helpful staff and their cats.

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

18 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

17 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, excellent atmosphere and service, central location...and cheap!

Disliked: nothing to complain for!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Darko Stanimirovic

Alone

Partying / nightlife

23 August 2011

Liked: The hostel is clean and organised. But...

Disliked: First of all, the hostel is situated in the middle of Beijing party district and is full of not-so-smart wannabe cool people. Next, everything in the hostel is overpriced. 2 eur/kg for laundry. 1 eur/min for international call etc. Everything is about double the normal price in China. Further on, in the ground floor of hostel is bar-restaurant that is also overpriced, but that also means there is no place to socialise with other travellers if you don't opt for eating/drinking in this bar.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There was always something going on around the hostel. If you didn't want to go out and party, then you could just stay in. And the food and drinks were really cheap.

Disliked: They were very easy on letting people stay longer than their reservations making it inconvenient for the person(s) coming in on the day they reserved. My friend and I requested a 4 bed, but were put in a 6 bed. It was pretty bad. The toilets and showers always smelled really bad even though the cleaners cleaned them often everyday. I think they just wiped it down with water instead of using disinfectant or proper cleaner.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

21 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything!Fantastic location... near metro station and Sanlitun bars Friendly and helpful staff. International guests... people meet in the bar and you can find new friends and exchange experiences

Disliked: I like everything! I

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

CARLOS MANUEL ENCUENTRA MARIN

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2011 CARLOS MANUEL would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms and toilets were very clean. Good location if you want to go out in Sanitun

Disliked: everything was al right