We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Beijing Sanlitun Youth Hostel

Hostel | No.1, North Road of Worker's, Stadium, Chun Xiu Lu, Chaoyang Beijing, China 0000

84.6% Overall Rating

360 out of 388 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/05/2014)

"I loved the social scene of this hostel. I met so many other travellers which was important was I am travelling alone. They do cool things like free hotpit which is helps you meet people as well. The rooms are quite…"

Read all Beijing Sanlitun Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Beijing?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Beijing

Beijing Golden Pineapple Youth Hostel
16.13 USD

Hostel 70.1% 41 reviews
Haina Hostel
17.93 USD

Hostel 78.5% 50 reviews
Ming Courtyard
8.96 USD

Hostel 87.6% 3 reviews
Happy Dragon Courtyard Hostel
7.33 USD

Hostel 82.9% 174 reviews
Lucky Family Hostel
8.15 USD

Hostel 89.5% 189 reviews
Beijing 161 Lama Temple Courtyard Hotel
37.97 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Beijing Yuexuan Courtyard Garden Hostel
14.67 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
N.E. Hotel Beijing
31.62 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.6%

Overall Rating

360 out of 388 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Beijing Sanlitun Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
78.4%
Cleanliness
74.4%
Staff
85.6%
Value
88.0%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 324 of 359 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

29 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: excellent and helpful with all aspects of stay. The cafe/bar is great for food with stuff on most nights. Cleaned regularly and warm through winter!

Disliked: Directions to get there a little vague, print a map and the address in chinese if you plan to catch aa taxi. Otherwise, great

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Theresa Goldsmith

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

29 January 2012 Theresa would recommend this property

Liked: First of all I would like to say we were extremely anxious about staying in a hostel as my husband and I are nearly 50 and have never used a hostel before. The service was second to none, staff more helpful than being in a hotel and having a tour rep. The location was excellent and the food on offer was good......the carbonara being the best i have ever tasted. Our son currently lives and works in China and is hoping to move to Beijing for a new job so we will have to visit again and i will not hesitate to book this particular hostel and would even feel comfortable taking my young grand daughter with me.

Disliked: This is actually quite difficult so in an effort to be objective.....the hostel has four floors and could do with a lift for us less fit people but the staff are that helpful i am sure if you asked they would put you on a lower floor and carry your luggage up for you.........so not an issue really.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

netin patel

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 January 2012 netin would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: netin left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Roni Hasid

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping

27 January 2012 Roni would recommend this property

Liked: Pretty cheap, location is ok (not amazing) as long as you don't mind walking a bit to the train stations. The staff was helpful though to be honest they're too busy to really be friendly which is a shame! The pool table is free and is a fun way to socialize and meet new people :) there's a restaurant/ bar so if it's cold outside (or for whatever other reason) you can just spend a whole weak in this hostel without ever leaving. Big lockers in the rooms and outside and a storage room, so you never have to worry about the safety of your things...

Disliked: The food is expensive in Chinese standards (though not so much in Sanlitun standards). Can't rent a towel- have to buy one. Bed is just a wooden board on four wooden sticks- not stable nor comfortable! But I've had less comfortable beds in big hotel rooms too. And for the price this is really ok.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

RICHARD ADEGUN

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

26 January 2012 RICHARD would recommend this property

Liked: So many people from different countries. People meeting each other was so nice. I met 4 people there. It is really a nice place to be. Far better than hotels

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

18 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it has a nice character and is reasonably close for the connections to the airport. I also liked that it was easy for to get a sleep in it which I needed badly after a long day of travelling. There is also a good social aspect around it which I had experienced on a previous visit but not this time due to 2 long days of travelling to get back to the UK.

Disliked: On the booking confirmation the address wasn't printed in pinyin which made it difficult to find it and impossible to book a taxi to it. I have mentioned it to the staff and maybe hostelbookers should also try and make sure it is printed as it is difficult to travel round Beijing as it is.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

09 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great price, location, and value! I've stayed in the dorms before and they are also really well done with a private locker and decent showers/toilets. This time, I stayed in the single ensuite, and it was a great! Can't find anything comparable for price or location, so this is a gem!

Disliked: The ceiling in my room could use a coat of paint, but otherwise everything was good.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Piotr Grochowski

Alone

City break

05 January 2012 Piotr would recommend this property

Liked: As always with Sunlitun, everything tip-top. see you next time!

Disliked: Piotr left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent Staff!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Patrick Wilson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 December 2011 Patrick would recommend this property

Liked: The showers are GREAT! 24hrs /7 days. Wireless very quick & reliable. Great food served right through the day & drinks cheap. The dorms were warm... Maybe a little too warm at times. Individual lockers . Staff were friendly & approachable but & spoke relatively good English.

Disliked: My dorm had an obvious old aged western "long stayer" in it- a COMPLETE NO NO for any YOUTH hostel. This guy felt it was appropriate to sleep naked, snore/talk in his sleep & generally be a slob in his bed space. This should not be allowed as it wrecks the ambience & vibe of the place. Seriously, these guys need to NOT have their midlife crisis in a youth backpackers hostel- NOT cool! The pet kitten! Cute, I'll give ya' that.... But not when it's running all over the tables that people sit & eat at!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

06 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is perfect

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

06 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: LOCAtion is perfect

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

sarah reeve

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

05 December 2011 sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were so helpful, food was very reasonably priced, really welcoming atmosphere.

Disliked: sarah left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Patrick MacDonald

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 December 2011 Patrick would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked how friendly and helpful the staff were. I found it to be a clean and safe place while I was in Beijing.

Disliked: I had some trouble finding the property when I gave the hostel's directions to the taxi driver, but I called the front desk and they helped right away.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is not in the center and most of the taxi drivers might not know where the place is, but as far as i learned it id typical for Beijing. The hostel is close to the subway station and bus stop, close to the big shopping mall, market and bars&clubs street. There is a nice and cozy bar in the hostel with good prices, and it is a great place to meet new people. The staff is nice and friendly and very helpful and their english is way better than that of the staff in big expensive hotels. There are guided tours organized from the hostel, they are not for free, but the price is ok. So you will never be bored staying there! The rooms are average, have safe lockers, you just have to ask for a paddle lock on reception.

Disliked: Common shower/toilet was not my fav place there, apparently :) but must admit that the place was cleaned regularly and mostly there were no troubles

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

16 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is located in the perfect place, it is near the markets and restaurants, bars and clubs, and is also only a short walk from the subway. The staff are really helpful and speak very good english. The bar area served good food and they have different deals on each night for the food and drinks, the hotpot night is especially good! The rooms are a good size and the beds are comfy the showers have hot water in them. The location means there is not too much noise coming from the street aswell so you don't get alot of drunk people coming past your window at all hours of the night.

Disliked: The hostel can be a little bit hard to find because it is in a back street and you cannot smoke in the bar area.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa

13 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is in most part very friendly, helpful and proficient in english. staying one night longer even during the weekend went well. the food is great you don't even have to go to the den for a burger. bar street is quite near and the rickshaw back costs only 10 yuan or even less. the rooms (twin, triple) except for the showercurtains in some rooms are clean and generally in good condition.

Disliked: during my last stay the heating was a little annoying because you couldn't switch it off and it got boiling hot. you can still open the window but you might have some construction noises waking you up the next day.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Ng

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

12 November 2011 David would recommend this property

Liked: The convenience of it all, everyone spoke good english and was really friendly, except for one guy, but I'd give him the benefit of the doubt that it was just miscommunication both mine and his part. Two workers really stand out to me, Michael, a shaggy haired, soft spoken guy was really accomodating and helpful with any questions I had. The other (never got her name) was this incredible outgoing, smiley, upbeat girl who helped us with our Great Wall questions and booking (in the end we had to cancel (which she was very understanding) the trip because my roomie was sick)). Context: I stayed in the double ensuite, eventually changing to the double singles ensuite (as my roomie arrived later). Highlights: - staff are friendly and helpful - price is great - location central - courtyard area is nice - restaurant/bar attached is convenient - free pool table and wi-fi

Disliked: - The location was not as convenient as I liked, but definitely on the more decent compared to others - there is an car attendant that isn't always there (for the shared hotel in the same area) so when cars are trying to enter or leave in the early morning, their incessant honking will wake you - the wi-fi is only on the main floor and the internet didn't work for me in the second room I changed to (even after the staff reset the internet 2x) - you can't bring food into the common area (HOWEVER, they didn't say anything when I brought it to my room) - that being said food and drink in the restaurant/bar was quite pricey

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rolf Moersdorf

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 November 2011 Rolf would recommend this property

Liked: very nice atmosphere, friendly stuff, well equiped

Disliked: .

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

20 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Location

Disliked: The noise due to the thin walls

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Benny Lahmish

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 October 2011 Benny would recommend this property

Liked: This is the best hostel we have been in china, realy good location near many nightlife places and the staff are realy friendly and helping. Also you can meet lot of people here

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

02 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The food taste good, also the foosball.

Disliked: no

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping

01 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location and cleanliness room

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

27 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa

25 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The helpful staff and their cats.

Disliked: nothing