HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Sanlitun Youth Hostel Beijing Hostel

No.1 Chunxiu Lu(Gong Ti Bei Lu), Chaoyang District, Beijing, China

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 72%

Facilities 74%

Location 89%

Safety 86%

Staff 80%

Value 82%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Policies

  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Beijing?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 72%

Facilities 74%

Location 89%

Safety 86%

Staff 80%

Value 82%

Showing 31-26 of 26 reviews

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Big rooms, nice bar and common areas.

Disliked: no Wi-Fi in the rooms, and the bathrooms was quite dirty. The location is not the best...

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: Spacious, clean rooms and hot showers with great water pressure. The staff are super friendly and helpful and you can't beat the price. Located right next to restaurants and convenience stores with a bus stop a few minutes walk away.

Disliked: WiFi can only be accessed in the bar, which serves average food that is expensive by Chinese standards. There are mosquitos in the bar area as well.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Its location is very convenient and rooms are very quiet.

Disliked: If you would like to meet other travelers, this is not the place.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 May 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Good breakfast (hard to get in China) and good bar, both in the common area where you can hang out and meet other travelers. Nice neighborhood with plenty to do around. The girls that work there are all pretty which is a plus =).

Disliked: No elevator. No wifi in rooms. A little far from the subway station. Some of the tours are overpriced.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: The hostels location is awesome, not far from Beijings party district and the airport express. It's easy to get to know nice people, staff is quite helpful and most of them are really nice - especially the hostel dog! ;) Bedroom and bathroom was clean. It's really good value for money!

Disliked: No elevator to get to the 4th floor, 6 bed room was not too big so it was a little hard to manage having 6 suitcases in the dorm. Socket-outlet above my bed was broken and it caused a short whenever you wanted to use it. Also, the lockers didn't have locks so no place to store your valuables when you didn't bring a lock on your own.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I thought the rooms, and all of the hostel was very clean and the staff were very helpful with any enquiries. Mattresses were a bit too flat and thin than I'd prefer, but I still got a decent nights sleep. Food and drink in their bar downstairs is good value for money too. Showers and toilets are shared with your gender but always kept clean on a daily basis.

Disliked: Just the mattresses being a bit too thin, but that's really a tiny issue compared to the rest of my stay.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I've stayed at Sanlitun every time I've passed through Beijing for the last few years, and each visit has been great. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the staff are friendly and helpful and the bar is great fun, and a great place to meet people. I've left glowing reviews for this place before, so this time I'm mention two minor (very minor) gripes with the place. First, the wifi doesn't extend beyond the ground floor (though if you're lucky you might pick up a signal on the second). Most hostels in this price range offer wifi throughout. Saying that, you can plug your laptop in with a LAN cable, so it's not a big deal. Second, I like to cycle while in the city but the rental bikes available could use a serious service. Each time I come here they get a little worse, and this last one was especially bad. The pedal was falling off, the bike was stuck in a single gear and one of the brake pads was pressed against the rim, so it was like cycling uphill all day. Please, please give the bikes a good once over before I return. Other than those two tiny problems Sanlitun was awesome as ever, and I'd have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone.

Disliked: See above.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Highly recommended. Fantastic location. Very efficient and friendly staff. Very clean too. Love the did, Yu Yu. Finally, very good atmosphere. Though just a hostel overall we reckon this place is better then most 4 star hotels. Will certainly book into this place the next time we are here.

Disliked: The main access road into this hostel should have be better paved.

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 100%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Comfortable bar with decent prices on foreign beers

Disliked: slow staff who kept me waiting at reception longt ime for simple things like getting change b

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Great Location, close to shops, subway and bas and clubs. Some staff are very friendly

Disliked: Bit expensive to eat and drink here. Pool table is 10RMB per hour.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability