We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Beijing Sanlitun Youth Hostel

Hostel | No.1, North Road of Worker's, Stadium, Chun Xiu Lu, Chaoyang Beijing, China 0000

84.6% Overall Rating

360 out of 388 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/05/2014)

"I loved the social scene of this hostel. I met so many other travellers which was important was I am travelling alone. They do cool things like free hotpit which is helps you meet people as well. The rooms are quite…"

Read all Beijing Sanlitun Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Beijing?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Beijing

Beijing Golden Pineapple Youth Hostel
16.14 USD

Hostel 70.1% 41 reviews
Haina Hostel
17.93 USD

Hostel 78.5% 50 reviews
Ming Courtyard
8.97 USD

Hostel 87.6% 3 reviews
Happy Dragon Courtyard Hostel
7.34 USD

Hostel 82.9% 174 reviews
Lucky Family Hostel
8.15 USD

Hostel 89.5% 189 reviews
Beijing 161 Lama Temple Courtyard Hotel
37.99 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Beijing Yuexuan Courtyard Garden Hostel
14.67 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
N.E. Hotel Beijing
31.63 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.6%

Overall Rating

360 out of 388 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Beijing Sanlitun Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
78.4%
Cleanliness
74.4%
Staff
85.6%
Value
88.0%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 324 of 359 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

30 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location, close to the famous bar street, nice staff and good food

Disliked: Only one western toilet in each bathroom

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MANGIN POLOVTSEVA AMANDINE

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2012 MANGIN POLOVTSEVA would recommend this property

Liked: It's a very great hostel, one of the best I've been to ! The staff is very helpful and friendly, the food is delicious, they're a lot of massage place around ( a must do !) They also organised different kind of tours ...

Disliked: Nothing !

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice big 8 bed dorm, good wifi, helpfull staff but not always best informed, good place to meet people, free food parties

Disliked: no real common room or kitchen only the overpriced restaurant, 15 min to the metro

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Kurt Thiele

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2012

Liked: The location is good. Well equipped with most everything you could want.

Disliked: There is no wifi in the rooms. My room was dirty even after the cleaners were in. Food and drinks are very expensive and the portions are small. Downstairs there are always so many mosquitos and it is very hot. At night time they play very loud music making skype impossible.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bryce Zimmerman

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2012 Bryce would recommend this property

Liked: Great vibe. Awesome food. Helpful and friendly staff.. the Great Wall tour we booked through them was an experience I'll never forget. I had an incredible time in Beijing!

Disliked: Absolutely nothing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

11 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hotel staff was fantastically helpful. I didn't have enough cash for my safety deposit fee when I was checking in, so the lady at the front desk said I could pay it later. Aside from that, it was a good atmosphere. Everyone was friendly and it was close to popular areas.

Disliked: It's hot and there's lots of mosquitos. I got several bites. The walls are very thin, so bring ear plugs if the noise bothers you. Lastly, it smelled a bit near the bathrooms.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

01 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I live in China but always stay at Sanlitun Youth Hostel whenever I visit Beijing. The atmosphere is great, guest and staff and nice and helpful. They just added a new patio area out front which will be great for relaxing outside.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

24 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything!

Disliked: Nothing!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good food and a good space to hang out in. Plenty of tables inside and outside.

Disliked: It was a little far from the main sights of Beijing and a bit difficult to find at first.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Frederic Baird

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2012 Frederic would recommend this property

Liked: Has everything budget travelers could want. Tours, great, relaxed facility. Very helpful staff. Spacious rooms. Safe, fairly central location. We've been on the road for eleven months, and it's one of the best two or three hostels we've encountered in five continents. We'd recommend it to anyone.

Disliked: The bed was a little lumpy, but not horrendous.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Dan Rogers

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2012 Dan would recommend this property

Liked: Easy directions from metro. Always clean (maybe too many cleaning staff sometimes in your way). Friendly bar (maybe to much if you want wifi and silence). Front desk staff spoke English very well. Many different tours offered. Food good priced. Ethernet cable provided for internet in rooms.

Disliked: Only wifi is downstairs in bar area (keeping you around to buy their drinks and food).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Megan Donchi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 May 2012 Megan would recommend this property

Liked: Really great rooms, comfy beds, clean bathrooms and awesome bar downstairs. The staff are super helpful and you are able to book heaps of stuff through them.

Disliked: Megan left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Naomi Davine

Alone

Business / conference

01 May 2012 Naomi would recommend this property

Liked: It was close to the centre railway station, they had a private room I could have instead of a dorm, as when I arrived I came down with the flu and needed to sleep.

Disliked: Its really a place for younger people, I felt a bit out of place, but, if I were younger it would have been very buzzy and perfect. It was very smoky in my room, (cigarettes) so I changed which they were ok with. The single room was expensive for what it was, but it was ok.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

colin crowley

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 April 2012 colin would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were really helpful

Disliked: colin left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sophie Adumson

Alone

Work / volunteering

22 April 2012 Sophie would recommend this property

Liked: I like the smile from the front-desk acceseptors.

Disliked: I like everything here .

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gloria Fazza

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 April 2012 Gloria would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the location (even if not really close to the metro but it's China!!), the atmosphere and the cleanliness of dorms and bathrooms.

Disliked: Even if the staff is generally kind, it is not at all helpful if you want to travel by yourself. I tried to go to the Great Wall by myself instead of taking their expensive tour and they didn't give me the explanations I wanted. Practically they told me: why don't you stay one day more and take our tour? They really do not understand that travelers are different and people who can speak Chinese go around by their selves and not with overrated tours.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Roger Peek

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 April 2012 Roger would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in a private room for 2 nights at this hostel, the atmosphere was great and staff very helpful indeed. With pool table, tv, various computers, comfortable couches etc on offer, the facilities are very good and much used, you can certainly make new friends and meet travel companions at this place. I booked a few tours, including one to the Great Wall, from here and staff were very helpful and honest about the alternatives on offer. The room was basic but better than I had expected at a hostel in central Beijing, bed very comfortable and bathroom tiny but functional. Great value for money!

Disliked: One note of disappointment - at the last minute I tried to extend my stay in this hostel, but no rooms were available. Instead, the hostel offered me accomodation right next door (across the courtyard) at a cheap Chinese hotel, where they rent some rooms for just such occasions. This is a mistake. The Chinese hotelrooms are not up to the same standard, dirty, slightly mouldy, and I also did not feel quite safe there due to very strange sounds coming from the corridors and surrounding streets at night (fights?). If you book at this hostel, just make sure your room is in the hostel itself, and not at this 'convenient' alternative.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Patricia Raeker

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Visiting friends or family

13 April 2012 Patricia would recommend this property

Liked: Location,friendly & helpful staff, close to massages.

Disliked: Steep increase in price from just 5 months ago. (50% price increase and they expect it to go higher this summer). Also the beer price went up by 10rmb.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Meltheodor Gozar

Alone

City break

07 April 2012 Meltheodor would recommend this property

Liked: mein drittes mal dort und ich habe sogar 4 österreicher getroffen.

Disliked: die hunde die nicht stubenrein sind

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere at the bar. Clean toilets.

Disliked: Expensive menu and drinks. The tours they offer don't worth it.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Katrine Berger

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 March 2012 Katrine would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff good bar/cafe area

Disliked: cleaning in room could have been better

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

01 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Price; friendly and helpful staff; location

Disliked: Cleanliness not up to scratch - the first room I was put in the bed sheets had not been changed, which I only found out after dragging 24 kilos of baggage up three flights of stairs. The staff made the effort to change this immediately; wifi a bit temperamental; food and drink in communal area expensive by chinese standards (but I was allowed to bring my own into another part of the hostel - not ideal, but again a credit to the flexibility of the staff); it can be noisy, so bring earplugs Overall - I wouldn't stay again unless I needed somewhere cheap. I would say, spend a few more kuai and get into a place with reviews in the 90%s. The only other place I have been in Beijing is Peking International Youth Hostel, which I liked.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Evangeline Lin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

27 February 2012 Evangeline would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are great. I also like that the hostel is very cosy, and is a great place to meet people from everywhere.

Disliked: A little bit of a walk from the subway stations.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2012

Liked: the staff were very friendly and helpful with excellent English

Disliked: for the price we paid, which was similar to hotel prices, we expected the room to at least be clean.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Timothy Clark

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 January 2012 Timothy would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel has a fantastic atmosphere - plenty of social activities, and the bar downstairs is a good spot for mingling. Dumpling making night was fun, and the location is close to Sanlitun bars/restaurants/shopping.

Disliked: Mattresses are paper thin (moreso than any other Chinese hostel I stayed in) and beds feel very unstable - makes a terrible noise every time the upper bunk occupant rolls over! Also - one squat and one regular toilet per floor isn't enough for a hostel of this size!!