HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Beijing Sanlitun Youth Hostel

Hostel | No.1, North Road of Worker's, Stadium, Chun Xiu Lu, Chaoyang Beijing, China 0000

84.3% Overall Rating

354 out of 380 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/05/2014)

"I loved the social scene of this hostel. I met so many other travellers which was important was I am travelling alone. They do cool things like free hotpit which is helps you meet people as well. The rooms are quite…"

Read all Beijing Sanlitun Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Beijing?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Beijing

Beijing Golden Pineapple Youth Hostel
16.06 USD

Hostel 70.1% 41 reviews
Beijing Perfect Inn
16.06 USD

Hotel 3 star 75.1% 7 reviews
Haina Hostel
21.58 USD

Hostel 79.2% 48 reviews
Ming Courtyard
10.55 USD

Hostel 87.6% 3 reviews
Beijing Citystar Hotel - Chinese Snack Street
20.12 USD

Hotel 3 star 75.2% 9 reviews
Happy Dragon Courtyard Hostel
12.98 USD

Hostel 82.3% 171 reviews
Lucky Family Hostel
12.98 USD

Hostel 85.7% 173 reviews
Beijing 161 Lama Temple Courtyard Hotel
35.98 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.3%

Overall Rating

354 out of 380 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Beijing Sanlitun Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
86.4%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
74.4%
Staff
84.8%
Value
86.4%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 316 of 351 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good food and a good space to hang out in. Plenty of tables inside and outside.

Disliked: It was a little far from the main sights of Beijing and a bit difficult to find at first.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Frederic Baird

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2012 Frederic would recommend this property

Liked: Has everything budget travelers could want. Tours, great, relaxed facility. Very helpful staff. Spacious rooms. Safe, fairly central location. We've been on the road for eleven months, and it's one of the best two or three hostels we've encountered in five continents. We'd recommend it to anyone.

Disliked: The bed was a little lumpy, but not horrendous.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Dan Rogers

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2012 Dan would recommend this property

Liked: Easy directions from metro. Always clean (maybe too many cleaning staff sometimes in your way). Friendly bar (maybe to much if you want wifi and silence). Front desk staff spoke English very well. Many different tours offered. Food good priced. Ethernet cable provided for internet in rooms.

Disliked: Only wifi is downstairs in bar area (keeping you around to buy their drinks and food).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Megan Donchi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 May 2012 Megan would recommend this property

Liked: Really great rooms, comfy beds, clean bathrooms and awesome bar downstairs. The staff are super helpful and you are able to book heaps of stuff through them.

Disliked: Megan left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Naomi Davine

Alone

Business / conference

01 May 2012 Naomi would recommend this property

Liked: It was close to the centre railway station, they had a private room I could have instead of a dorm, as when I arrived I came down with the flu and needed to sleep.

Disliked: Its really a place for younger people, I felt a bit out of place, but, if I were younger it would have been very buzzy and perfect. It was very smoky in my room, (cigarettes) so I changed which they were ok with. The single room was expensive for what it was, but it was ok.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

colin crowley

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 April 2012 colin would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were really helpful

Disliked: colin left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sophie Adumson

Alone

Work / volunteering

22 April 2012 Sophie would recommend this property

Liked: I like the smile from the front-desk acceseptors.

Disliked: I like everything here .

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gloria Fazza

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 April 2012 Gloria would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the location (even if not really close to the metro but it's China!!), the atmosphere and the cleanliness of dorms and bathrooms.

Disliked: Even if the staff is generally kind, it is not at all helpful if you want to travel by yourself. I tried to go to the Great Wall by myself instead of taking their expensive tour and they didn't give me the explanations I wanted. Practically they told me: why don't you stay one day more and take our tour? They really do not understand that travelers are different and people who can speak Chinese go around by their selves and not with overrated tours.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Roger Peek

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 April 2012 Roger would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in a private room for 2 nights at this hostel, the atmosphere was great and staff very helpful indeed. With pool table, tv, various computers, comfortable couches etc on offer, the facilities are very good and much used, you can certainly make new friends and meet travel companions at this place. I booked a few tours, including one to the Great Wall, from here and staff were very helpful and honest about the alternatives on offer. The room was basic but better than I had expected at a hostel in central Beijing, bed very comfortable and bathroom tiny but functional. Great value for money!

Disliked: One note of disappointment - at the last minute I tried to extend my stay in this hostel, but no rooms were available. Instead, the hostel offered me accomodation right next door (across the courtyard) at a cheap Chinese hotel, where they rent some rooms for just such occasions. This is a mistake. The Chinese hotelrooms are not up to the same standard, dirty, slightly mouldy, and I also did not feel quite safe there due to very strange sounds coming from the corridors and surrounding streets at night (fights?). If you book at this hostel, just make sure your room is in the hostel itself, and not at this 'convenient' alternative.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Patricia Raeker

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Visiting friends or family

13 April 2012 Patricia would recommend this property

Liked: Location,friendly & helpful staff, close to massages.

Disliked: Steep increase in price from just 5 months ago. (50% price increase and they expect it to go higher this summer). Also the beer price went up by 10rmb.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Meltheodor Gozar

Alone

City break

07 April 2012 Meltheodor would recommend this property

Liked: mein drittes mal dort und ich habe sogar 4 österreicher getroffen.

Disliked: die hunde die nicht stubenrein sind

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere at the bar. Clean toilets.

Disliked: Expensive menu and drinks. The tours they offer don't worth it.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Katrine Berger

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 March 2012 Katrine would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff good bar/cafe area

Disliked: cleaning in room could have been better

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

01 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Price; friendly and helpful staff; location

Disliked: Cleanliness not up to scratch - the first room I was put in the bed sheets had not been changed, which I only found out after dragging 24 kilos of baggage up three flights of stairs. The staff made the effort to change this immediately; wifi a bit temperamental; food and drink in communal area expensive by chinese standards (but I was allowed to bring my own into another part of the hostel - not ideal, but again a credit to the flexibility of the staff); it can be noisy, so bring earplugs Overall - I wouldn't stay again unless I needed somewhere cheap. I would say, spend a few more kuai and get into a place with reviews in the 90%s. The only other place I have been in Beijing is Peking International Youth Hostel, which I liked.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Evangeline Lin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

27 February 2012 Evangeline would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are great. I also like that the hostel is very cosy, and is a great place to meet people from everywhere.

Disliked: A little bit of a walk from the subway stations.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2012

Liked: the staff were very friendly and helpful with excellent English

Disliked: for the price we paid, which was similar to hotel prices, we expected the room to at least be clean.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Timothy Clark

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 January 2012 Timothy would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel has a fantastic atmosphere - plenty of social activities, and the bar downstairs is a good spot for mingling. Dumpling making night was fun, and the location is close to Sanlitun bars/restaurants/shopping.

Disliked: Mattresses are paper thin (moreso than any other Chinese hostel I stayed in) and beds feel very unstable - makes a terrible noise every time the upper bunk occupant rolls over! Also - one squat and one regular toilet per floor isn't enough for a hostel of this size!!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

29 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: excellent and helpful with all aspects of stay. The cafe/bar is great for food with stuff on most nights. Cleaned regularly and warm through winter!

Disliked: Directions to get there a little vague, print a map and the address in chinese if you plan to catch aa taxi. Otherwise, great

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Theresa Goldsmith

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

29 January 2012 Theresa would recommend this property

Liked: First of all I would like to say we were extremely anxious about staying in a hostel as my husband and I are nearly 50 and have never used a hostel before. The service was second to none, staff more helpful than being in a hotel and having a tour rep. The location was excellent and the food on offer was good......the carbonara being the best i have ever tasted. Our son currently lives and works in China and is hoping to move to Beijing for a new job so we will have to visit again and i will not hesitate to book this particular hostel and would even feel comfortable taking my young grand daughter with me.

Disliked: This is actually quite difficult so in an effort to be objective.....the hostel has four floors and could do with a lift for us less fit people but the staff are that helpful i am sure if you asked they would put you on a lower floor and carry your luggage up for you.........so not an issue really.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

netin patel

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 January 2012 netin would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: netin left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Roni Hasid

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping

27 January 2012 Roni would recommend this property

Liked: Pretty cheap, location is ok (not amazing) as long as you don't mind walking a bit to the train stations. The staff was helpful though to be honest they're too busy to really be friendly which is a shame! The pool table is free and is a fun way to socialize and meet new people :) there's a restaurant/ bar so if it's cold outside (or for whatever other reason) you can just spend a whole weak in this hostel without ever leaving. Big lockers in the rooms and outside and a storage room, so you never have to worry about the safety of your things...

Disliked: The food is expensive in Chinese standards (though not so much in Sanlitun standards). Can't rent a towel- have to buy one. Bed is just a wooden board on four wooden sticks- not stable nor comfortable! But I've had less comfortable beds in big hotel rooms too. And for the price this is really ok.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

RICHARD ADEGUN

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

26 January 2012 RICHARD would recommend this property

Liked: So many people from different countries. People meeting each other was so nice. I met 4 people there. It is really a nice place to be. Far better than hotels

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

18 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it has a nice character and is reasonably close for the connections to the airport. I also liked that it was easy for to get a sleep in it which I needed badly after a long day of travelling. There is also a good social aspect around it which I had experienced on a previous visit but not this time due to 2 long days of travelling to get back to the UK.

Disliked: On the booking confirmation the address wasn't printed in pinyin which made it difficult to find it and impossible to book a taxi to it. I have mentioned it to the staff and maybe hostelbookers should also try and make sure it is printed as it is difficult to travel round Beijing as it is.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

09 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great price, location, and value! I've stayed in the dorms before and they are also really well done with a private locker and decent showers/toilets. This time, I stayed in the single ensuite, and it was a great! Can't find anything comparable for price or location, so this is a gem!

Disliked: The ceiling in my room could use a coat of paint, but otherwise everything was good.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Piotr Grochowski

Alone

City break

05 January 2012 Piotr would recommend this property

Liked: As always with Sunlitun, everything tip-top. see you next time!

Disliked: Piotr left no negative feedback.