We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Beijing Sanlitun Youth Hostel

Hostel | No.1, North Road of Worker's, Stadium, Chun Xiu Lu, Chaoyang Beijing, China 0000

80.9% Overall Rating

365 out of 395 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/08/2015)

Abedin Rafique thinks…

"The location was great (bar street is really a 10 minute walk away), and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The cafe/bar on the property is great!"

Read all Beijing Sanlitun Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Beijing?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Beijing

Beijing Golden Pineapple Youth Hostel
15.55 USD

Hostel 70.1% 41 reviews
Haina Hostel
17.27 USD

Hostel 78.5% 51 reviews
Ming Courtyard
10.99 USD

Hostel 80.7% 8 reviews
Happy Dragon Courtyard Hostel
10.99 USD

Hostel 82.1% 176 reviews
Lucky Family Hostel
10.99 USD

Hostel 90.7% 199 reviews
Beijing 161 Lama Temple Courtyard Hotel
36.59 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Beijing Yuexuan Courtyard Garden Hostel
14.13 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Dragon King Hostel
10.99 USD

Hostel 89.4% 136 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.9%

Overall Rating

365 out of 395 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Beijing Sanlitun Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
73.6%
Cleanliness
71.2%
Staff
80.8%
Value
82.4%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 329 of 366 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: fine

Disliked: fine

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

tjuana williams

Alone

City break
Visiting friends or family

06 January 2013 tjuana would recommend this property

Liked: This is my home away from home in China. Each time I visit Beijing, I stay at this property. The restaurant has reasonable food for reasonable Beijing price. They have spicy, no9t spicy, meat or meatless dishes to choose from. If you don't want to learn the language you can speak to the staff, they speak English as well as Chinese. They can assist you with getting directions to your destinations, whether you want to take a taxi, bus, or subway. It is also conviently located near subway lines, buses and train stations. There are supermarkets, shopping, theaters, bars,restaurants, etc within walking distance. There are western and nonwestern toilets and soap and tissue in the bathrooms, which is a plus. Like most hostel, be sure to bring your toiletries such as towel, shower shoes, soap, toothpaste, toothbrush, shampoo, etc. There are dogs running around like a home away from home. Most travellers are very friendly, so be ready to meet many new people and a friendly family like staff. peace shalom tjuana

Disliked: Because it is a popular place, sometimes the community bathrooms are not always clean.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Michal Gajewski

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 December 2012 Michal would recommend this property

Liked: Nice character. Very nice bar. We had a dumpling-making lesson.

Disliked: Quite far from metro station (15 min walk). Check in took too long. There was a problem with a bed for me.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

16 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: All the staff were friendly. The food was delicious especially if you are looking for Western style food done right and the hostel is located next to a string of delicious Chinese restaurants. The best part was it was very easy to book and decided what to do in Beijing by just hanging out in the hostel and talking to the staff. I The showers were always warm and the hostel rooms and bathrooms were very clean.

Disliked: It is about a 10 minute walk from the metro which is not a big deal at all but you definitely notice it after a long day of sightseeing or in the cold winter weather

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

04 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place is conveniently located in Sanlitun, friendly helpful staff, great western breakfast or price and quantity compared to the overpriced sanlitun village restaurants. The omelette is a huge serving! My private room is always clean and perfect for one or two people and great price!

Disliked: Wifi could be a bit stronger times when i m in the area.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to get in contact with other travelers

Disliked: Rooms are not really cleaned, some new towels each day thats it

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

26 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap and clean

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really wonderful atmosphere and food.

Disliked: The Mosquitos that feasted on me while I slept!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, safe, good location in sanlitun near all the bars, generally fun chilled out atmosphere.

Disliked: Air con in the room was broken, otherwise was all good!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is good for eating out cheaply and close to metro. Staff were helpful and it was generally clean. More like a cheap hotel than a hostel as it has a bar/restaurant as the main common area.

Disliked: Wifi could be painfully slow at times. Also, the music in the bar was terrible - the same songs (including James Blunt!) every day.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Martin Kendrick

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 September 2012 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: Decent sized rooms with good storage cupboards. Pool table to use but it was really shit. Friendly staff, nice place overall, good social area.

Disliked: The pay for computers were dreadful, to the point they barely worked, I think they were running IE6 for browsing...not that you can browse anything in China anyway... Enough said I like a hard bed, but these were pushing my limits, fine for me but maybe not for you if you like a soft bed. It's a fair walk to the nearest station

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

15 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

STEPHEN HOBSON

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 September 2012 STEPHEN would recommend this property

Liked: The staff here make your stay so pleasant.

Disliked: The mattresses in the 8 bed dorms are a bit thin, but at the price they were still fine.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice clean hostel. Other reviews described that the hostel tries to make money off you in any way, which is a little bit true. Internet connection was very good, thus we did not mind having to pay 1RMB per 15min. breakfast (28yuan)and drinks were priced similarly to other hostels in town. Good location near metro, bakery and restaurants. This hostel is located in a more modern (expat) area of town. Lots of staff always buzzing about and the bathrooms and public areas were kept very clean and tidy. secure rooms with key cards and lockers in room and additional lockers available near the reception. Lots of services available (all with additional costs though)

Disliked: staff was a bit reluctant to help us get a taxi to the hospital but realizing that they probably look a bit odd if they would not help somebody to get to the hospital they could be convinced to walked out to the road with us and called a cab - problem solved and afterwards very helpful with storing medicine in fridge.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Michal Szewczyk

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 September 2012 Michal would recommend this property

Liked: It is great for meeting people, good location, very helpfull staff.

Disliked: Michal left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Alexsander Castro de Oliveira

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 September 2012 Alexsander would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and atmosphere°

Disliked: The Bar is a bit pricy

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

02 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and staff. I always stay here when I visit Beijing

Disliked: This summer the prices are higher!!!!! I paid almost 20 yuan more than last time I stayed (The hostel increased the drinks prices too)

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2012

Liked: Cozy atmosphere in the bar downstairs.

Disliked: Moskitos, dirty rooms and facilities, location, english level of staff.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

26 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very, very friendly and helpful staff, very good english level amongst the staff as well

Disliked: the "fresh fruit smoothy" is basically ice cube and sirup...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Cristina Cuevas

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2012 Cristina would recommend this property

Liked: Great location in a fun neighborhood, helpful staff (although not very fluent in English), great highly recommended breakfast, fun bar. The rooms also have air conditioning.

Disliked: The rooms were as expected for the price. That said, they were full of mosquitoes. My boyfriend and I were covered in mosquito bites after staying just two days there.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice atmosphere

Disliked: bathroom and toilets not really clean but still okay compared to other experiences in china ;)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Steven Ballard

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2012 Steven would recommend this property

Liked: EVERYTHING!!! From the patient staff to the food everything was great. The staff was pleasant and patient with me as asked the same question over and over got lost because I could follow simple directions. The space was nice it has rain head showers which are my favorites, and thanks to this hostel I met some of my new best friends. Without a doubt my stay at this hostel was one of the top ten experiences of my life.

Disliked: For some reason there are two dogs that live in there. They are very tame and well mannered its just that sometimes the entrance to the hostile gets this weird wet dog smell to it. Slightly discomforting.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Bart Pluijms

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

09 August 2012 Bart would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, friendly staff and good rooms with good beds. We got a private room for 2 and got everyday clean towels. We did like the bar downstairs with some good (also western) food, drinks (beers, juices, smoothies, cocktails) and music. We also booked a trip to the Great Wall at the hostel which was arranged very good!

Disliked: You only got WiFi downstairs and it doesn't work all the time. There are only three computers which you can use (1 RMB for 15 minutes). The hostel is not really close to an subway station (abou 15 minutes walk), but there are some nice restaurants in the street.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was great. They had a restaurant and bar with good food and specials on drinks and food depending on the day. They had a tour desk. Clean bathrooms/ showers. They had separate shower/bathrooms for men and women. Bed was reasonably comfortable.

Disliked: Had to carry my luggage up 4 flights of stairs. The A/C was not working well and it was hot as hell in the middle of summer.