HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Beijing Sanlitun Youth Hostel

Hostel | No.1, North Road of Worker's, Stadium, Chun Xiu Lu, Chaoyang Beijing, China 0000

82.6% Overall Rating

356 out of 383 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/05/2014)

"I loved the social scene of this hostel. I met so many other travellers which was important was I am travelling alone. They do cool things like free hotpit which is helps you meet people as well. The rooms are quite…"

Read all Beijing Sanlitun Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Beijing?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Beijing

Beijing Golden Pineapple Youth Hostel
16.08 USD

Hostel 70.1% 41 reviews
Haina Hostel
17.87 USD

Hostel 79.2% 48 reviews
Ming Courtyard
8.93 USD

Hostel 87.6% 3 reviews
Beijing Citystar Hotel - Chinese Snack Street
20.14 USD

Hotel 3 star 75.2% 9 reviews
Happy Dragon Courtyard Hostel
9.75 USD

Hostel 82.6% 172 reviews
Lucky Family Hostel
11.37 USD

Hostel 89.7% 183 reviews
Beijing 161 Lama Temple Courtyard Hotel
39.74 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Beijing Yuexuan Courtyard Garden Hostel
14.62 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.6%

Overall Rating

356 out of 383 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Beijing Sanlitun Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
84.8%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
78.4%
Cleanliness
73.6%
Staff
83.2%
Value
83.2%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 319 of 354 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is good for eating out cheaply and close to metro. Staff were helpful and it was generally clean. More like a cheap hotel than a hostel as it has a bar/restaurant as the main common area.

Disliked: Wifi could be painfully slow at times. Also, the music in the bar was terrible - the same songs (including James Blunt!) every day.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Martin Kendrick

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 September 2012 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: Decent sized rooms with good storage cupboards. Pool table to use but it was really shit. Friendly staff, nice place overall, good social area.

Disliked: The pay for computers were dreadful, to the point they barely worked, I think they were running IE6 for browsing...not that you can browse anything in China anyway... Enough said I like a hard bed, but these were pushing my limits, fine for me but maybe not for you if you like a soft bed. It's a fair walk to the nearest station

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

15 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

STEPHEN HOBSON

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 September 2012 STEPHEN would recommend this property

Liked: The staff here make your stay so pleasant.

Disliked: The mattresses in the 8 bed dorms are a bit thin, but at the price they were still fine.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice clean hostel. Other reviews described that the hostel tries to make money off you in any way, which is a little bit true. Internet connection was very good, thus we did not mind having to pay 1RMB per 15min. breakfast (28yuan)and drinks were priced similarly to other hostels in town. Good location near metro, bakery and restaurants. This hostel is located in a more modern (expat) area of town. Lots of staff always buzzing about and the bathrooms and public areas were kept very clean and tidy. secure rooms with key cards and lockers in room and additional lockers available near the reception. Lots of services available (all with additional costs though)

Disliked: staff was a bit reluctant to help us get a taxi to the hospital but realizing that they probably look a bit odd if they would not help somebody to get to the hospital they could be convinced to walked out to the road with us and called a cab - problem solved and afterwards very helpful with storing medicine in fridge.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Michal Szewczyk

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 September 2012 Michal would recommend this property

Liked: It is great for meeting people, good location, very helpfull staff.

Disliked: Michal left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Alexsander Castro de Oliveira

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 September 2012 Alexsander would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and atmosphere°

Disliked: The Bar is a bit pricy

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

02 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and staff. I always stay here when I visit Beijing

Disliked: This summer the prices are higher!!!!! I paid almost 20 yuan more than last time I stayed (The hostel increased the drinks prices too)

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2012

Liked: Cozy atmosphere in the bar downstairs.

Disliked: Moskitos, dirty rooms and facilities, location, english level of staff.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

26 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very, very friendly and helpful staff, very good english level amongst the staff as well

Disliked: the "fresh fruit smoothy" is basically ice cube and sirup...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Cristina Cuevas

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2012 Cristina would recommend this property

Liked: Great location in a fun neighborhood, helpful staff (although not very fluent in English), great highly recommended breakfast, fun bar. The rooms also have air conditioning.

Disliked: The rooms were as expected for the price. That said, they were full of mosquitoes. My boyfriend and I were covered in mosquito bites after staying just two days there.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice atmosphere

Disliked: bathroom and toilets not really clean but still okay compared to other experiences in china ;)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Steven Ballard

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2012 Steven would recommend this property

Liked: EVERYTHING!!! From the patient staff to the food everything was great. The staff was pleasant and patient with me as asked the same question over and over got lost because I could follow simple directions. The space was nice it has rain head showers which are my favorites, and thanks to this hostel I met some of my new best friends. Without a doubt my stay at this hostel was one of the top ten experiences of my life.

Disliked: For some reason there are two dogs that live in there. They are very tame and well mannered its just that sometimes the entrance to the hostile gets this weird wet dog smell to it. Slightly discomforting.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Bart Pluijms

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

09 August 2012 Bart would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, friendly staff and good rooms with good beds. We got a private room for 2 and got everyday clean towels. We did like the bar downstairs with some good (also western) food, drinks (beers, juices, smoothies, cocktails) and music. We also booked a trip to the Great Wall at the hostel which was arranged very good!

Disliked: You only got WiFi downstairs and it doesn't work all the time. There are only three computers which you can use (1 RMB for 15 minutes). The hostel is not really close to an subway station (abou 15 minutes walk), but there are some nice restaurants in the street.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was great. They had a restaurant and bar with good food and specials on drinks and food depending on the day. They had a tour desk. Clean bathrooms/ showers. They had separate shower/bathrooms for men and women. Bed was reasonably comfortable.

Disliked: Had to carry my luggage up 4 flights of stairs. The A/C was not working well and it was hot as hell in the middle of summer.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Matt Walker

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 August 2012 Matt would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were air conditioned, which was definitely needed! The great wall trip was good. Staff were usually friendly

Disliked: Not much to dislike here. They didn't take card for payment just as a heads up to others!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Amie Dolan

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2012 Amie would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, convenient to book tours.

Disliked: They put us in the hotel next door and said it was their 'second building'. The room was digusting and the shower was even worse. It was too late to find somewhere else to stay and they said they were fully booked. The next day we went to check out and get a refunf for the rest of our stay but they were able to move us into a room in the actual hostel building, not next door. The rest of our stay was pretty pleasant.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff (helped us move a way too drunk person out of the room at 3am), great restaurant (a little pricey, but typical for hostels in the area), laundry service and lots of activities. Rooms are comfortable and have lockers.

Disliked: Note that it is near a popular clubs and bars area, so many people stay there to party which can pose a problem for people wanting to sleep. Our experience may have been isolated though and the staff was very helpful.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Jerry Ruth

With my spouse / partner

City break
Relaxation/spa
Visiting friends or family

08 July 2012 Jerry would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is incredibly nice and helpful

Disliked: The owner has tried turning this venue into a cash cow. The hotel he recently purchased is run-down and is filled with cast-off, broken-down furniture. Because of the expansion, there are too many guests and the common area is often too full of people. The furnishings are the cheapest possible. There is a brothel at the hotel that draws an unsavory clientele. For the same price, travelers can get much better elsewhere.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Graham Adamson

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 July 2012 Graham would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent place to stay! The staff servicing the tour desk is extremely helpful and energetic! We took a private double room which turned out to be in the hotel across the parking lot rather than the actual Sanlitun hostel, so be aware of this. We had problems in that hotel's room and changed rooms to a private twin in the actual Sanlitun hostel. This was MUCH better.

Disliked: Only complain is the lack of wifi in the rooms, especially given the rate charged for a private room.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

30 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location, close to the famous bar street, nice staff and good food

Disliked: Only one western toilet in each bathroom

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MANGIN POLOVTSEVA AMANDINE

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2012 MANGIN POLOVTSEVA would recommend this property

Liked: It's a very great hostel, one of the best I've been to ! The staff is very helpful and friendly, the food is delicious, they're a lot of massage place around ( a must do !) They also organised different kind of tours ...

Disliked: Nothing !

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice big 8 bed dorm, good wifi, helpfull staff but not always best informed, good place to meet people, free food parties

Disliked: no real common room or kitchen only the overpriced restaurant, 15 min to the metro

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Kurt Thiele

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2012

Liked: The location is good. Well equipped with most everything you could want.

Disliked: There is no wifi in the rooms. My room was dirty even after the cleaners were in. Food and drinks are very expensive and the portions are small. Downstairs there are always so many mosquitos and it is very hot. At night time they play very loud music making skype impossible.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bryce Zimmerman

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2012 Bryce would recommend this property

Liked: Great vibe. Awesome food. Helpful and friendly staff.. the Great Wall tour we booked through them was an experience I'll never forget. I had an incredible time in Beijing!

Disliked: Absolutely nothing.