HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Beijing Sanlitun Youth Hostel

Hostel | No.1, North Road of Worker's, Stadium, Chun Xiu Lu, Chaoyang Beijing, China 0000

84.0% Overall Rating

352 out of 378 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/05/2014)

"I loved the social scene of this hostel. I met so many other travellers which was important was I am travelling alone. They do cool things like free hotpit which is helps you meet people as well. The rooms are quite…"

Read all Beijing Sanlitun Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Beijing?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Beijing

Beijing Golden Pineapple Youth Hostel
16.05 USD

Hostel 70.1% 41 reviews
Beijing Perfect Inn
16.05 USD

Hotel 3 star 75.1% 7 reviews
Haina Hostel
21.57 USD

Hostel 79.2% 48 reviews
Ming Courtyard
10.54 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Beijing Citystar Hotel - Chinese Snack Street
20.11 USD

Hotel 3 star 75.2% 9 reviews
Happy Dragon Courtyard Hostel
13.78 USD

Hostel 82.5% 170 reviews
Lucky Family Hostel
12.97 USD

Hostel 88.0% 165 reviews
Beijing 161 Lama Temple Courtyard Hotel
37.78 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.0%

Overall Rating

352 out of 378 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Beijing Sanlitun Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
84.8%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
75.2%
Staff
85.6%
Value
85.6%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 316 of 349 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Seak Chiew Chua

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

06 April 2013 Seak Chiew would recommend this property

Liked: Highly recommended. Fantastic location. Very efficient and friendly staff. Very clean too. Love the did, Yu Yu. Finally, very good atmosphere. Though just a hostel overall we reckon this place is better then most 4 star hotels. Will certainly book into this place the next time we are here.

Disliked: The main access road into this hostel should have be better paved.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthew Pritchard

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2013 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: This is the third hostel within this family that I have stayed with and once again the experience was amazing! They seem to be overrun with staff, all wearing the same hoodies, great English and always friendly and helpful! I went on 4 of their organised tours all were great, some include food but they all include transport! The bar area is brilliant, met so many new friends here. First day I arrived they had a dumpling party, Wednesday they had hot pot party and best of all it's all free!

Disliked: The building is little worn around the edges but its to be expected with somewhere this busy! If I had to make any bad comment...the toilet paper dispensers are on the wall OUTSIDE the toilet! Why I don't know!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

27 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable bar with decent prices on foreign beers

Disliked: slow staff who kept me waiting at reception longt ime for simple things like getting change b

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great Location, close to shops, subway and bas and clubs. Some staff are very friendly

Disliked: Bit expensive to eat and drink here. Pool table is 10RMB per hour.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Work / volunteering

16 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Excellent cafe downstairs. Helpful staff.

Disliked: Fourth floor room + no lift was a bit annoying.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Mirey Medina

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 March 2013 Mirey would recommend this property

Liked: The location was excellent. It was easy to find and close to many transportation places and nightlife. It was very safe and trusting place. They had a dumpling workshop night and we ate them for free! It was super cheap and ridiculously nice for such price. I would definitely stay there again, if I am ever in Beijing.

Disliked: Mirey left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

samantha hawker

Alone

Work / volunteering

03 March 2013 samantha would recommend this property

Liked: great atmosphere, cosy and light and close to everything! very helpful staff too

Disliked: samantha left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ping Ping Wu

Alone

Visiting friends or family

20 February 2013 Ping Ping would recommend this property

Liked: The cleanliness of the property and bedding.

Disliked: The property's location is a bit hidden.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean room

Disliked: noisy neighborhood (clubs near)

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

steven hofland

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 February 2013 steven would recommend this property

Liked: the atmosphere...friendly staff...also a big plus you can book traintickets at the reception.

Disliked: dorm room was very hot! and the common area very cold...showers were a bit dirty but still ok...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nathan Rodgers

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 February 2013 Nathan would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were fantastic and friendly, and really made my stay here perfect. Rooms are very cheap but clean, and the facilities are great. The common room and bar is amazing....

Disliked: Nothing!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

leigh burris

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

01 February 2013 leigh would recommend this property

Liked: We really enjoyed the helpful and friendly staff, who helped advise us of our travel needs. We were really busy during our visit, so we did not spend too much time at the hostel, but we were so thankful for the great location and helpful suggestions from them. Sanlitun was a very laid back environment that would appeal to most guests!

Disliked: I was traveling with my sister and brother, and we reserved a triple private room.The only issue we ran into was when we were originally put into an overflow room, which had some issues. When we requested a new room, they were quick to accomodate us and we thoroughly enjoyed the rest of the stay!!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: fine

Disliked: fine

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

tjuana williams

Alone

City break
Visiting friends or family

06 January 2013 tjuana would recommend this property

Liked: This is my home away from home in China. Each time I visit Beijing, I stay at this property. The restaurant has reasonable food for reasonable Beijing price. They have spicy, no9t spicy, meat or meatless dishes to choose from. If you don't want to learn the language you can speak to the staff, they speak English as well as Chinese. They can assist you with getting directions to your destinations, whether you want to take a taxi, bus, or subway. It is also conviently located near subway lines, buses and train stations. There are supermarkets, shopping, theaters, bars,restaurants, etc within walking distance. There are western and nonwestern toilets and soap and tissue in the bathrooms, which is a plus. Like most hostel, be sure to bring your toiletries such as towel, shower shoes, soap, toothpaste, toothbrush, shampoo, etc. There are dogs running around like a home away from home. Most travellers are very friendly, so be ready to meet many new people and a friendly family like staff. peace shalom tjuana

Disliked: Because it is a popular place, sometimes the community bathrooms are not always clean.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Michal Gajewski

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 December 2012 Michal would recommend this property

Liked: Nice character. Very nice bar. We had a dumpling-making lesson.

Disliked: Quite far from metro station (15 min walk). Check in took too long. There was a problem with a bed for me.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

16 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: All the staff were friendly. The food was delicious especially if you are looking for Western style food done right and the hostel is located next to a string of delicious Chinese restaurants. The best part was it was very easy to book and decided what to do in Beijing by just hanging out in the hostel and talking to the staff. I The showers were always warm and the hostel rooms and bathrooms were very clean.

Disliked: It is about a 10 minute walk from the metro which is not a big deal at all but you definitely notice it after a long day of sightseeing or in the cold winter weather

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

04 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place is conveniently located in Sanlitun, friendly helpful staff, great western breakfast or price and quantity compared to the overpriced sanlitun village restaurants. The omelette is a huge serving! My private room is always clean and perfect for one or two people and great price!

Disliked: Wifi could be a bit stronger times when i m in the area.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to get in contact with other travelers

Disliked: Rooms are not really cleaned, some new towels each day thats it

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

26 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap and clean

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really wonderful atmosphere and food.

Disliked: The Mosquitos that feasted on me while I slept!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, safe, good location in sanlitun near all the bars, generally fun chilled out atmosphere.

Disliked: Air con in the room was broken, otherwise was all good!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is good for eating out cheaply and close to metro. Staff were helpful and it was generally clean. More like a cheap hotel than a hostel as it has a bar/restaurant as the main common area.

Disliked: Wifi could be painfully slow at times. Also, the music in the bar was terrible - the same songs (including James Blunt!) every day.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Martin Kendrick

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 September 2012 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: Decent sized rooms with good storage cupboards. Pool table to use but it was really shit. Friendly staff, nice place overall, good social area.

Disliked: The pay for computers were dreadful, to the point they barely worked, I think they were running IE6 for browsing...not that you can browse anything in China anyway... Enough said I like a hard bed, but these were pushing my limits, fine for me but maybe not for you if you like a soft bed. It's a fair walk to the nearest station

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

15 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.