HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Sanlitun Youth Hostel Beijing Hostel

No.1 Chunxiu Lu(Gong Ti Bei Lu), Chaoyang District, Beijing, China

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 72%

Facilities 74%

Location 89%

Safety 86%

Staff 80%

Value 82%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Policies

  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Beijing?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 72%

Facilities 74%

Location 89%

Safety 86%

Staff 80%

Value 82%

Showing 11-20 of 33 reviews

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good common area

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: Good value for money, atmosphere (young people)

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 20%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: They are pretty close to all the bars and clubs

Disliked: I first got a shared room for 4 people with a shared bathroom... The bed in the room had a chinese matress, which means 2cm thick. The aircon was on but all it really acomplished was make noises. The bathroom smelled like your train station public bathroom. I asked to be changed to a private room with normal matresses and a private bathroom. The lighting in the room resembles the lighting in a South American prostitution house. I killed two cocroaches in 1 night, the towels were stained (the color resembled that of blood or feces) and the bathroom smelled like mold. The hostel itself is located in a super sketchy, shady courtyard.I was planning to stay two nights and ended up leaving at 8 am the next day because the room and the toilet were absolutely disgusting. I've stayed in hostels all over Germany and Italy, London, Ecuador, Hong Kong and other cities in China, and I've never seen a dirtier place before.

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Very clean for the price, and the location is wonderful.

Disliked: The wifi wasn't great. The cleaning lady once also took away my towel thinking it was someone else's leftover. They eventually returned the towel without apologizing. Would think twice about retuning.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: great little bargood location

Disliked: the bathrooms could be modernised

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: I loved the social scene of this hostel. I met so many other travellers which was important was I am travelling alone. They do cool things like free hotpit which is helps you meet people as well. The rooms are quite clean and showers are ok.

Disliked: THE STAFF! The staff were just rude. This happened to everyone that I met. For example I was eating some take away noodles in the communal area and a staff member came over and shouted at me and asked me to leave the property. There were no signs to state no outside eating. This was one of many incidents that I witnessed.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Visiting friends or family

Liked: There are lockers for everyone in the dorms. Bring or purchase your own lock. Cynthia is very nice and helpful. The coffee and beer are good and the prices are right.

Disliked: The check-on process was not smooth. My friend and I were put in separate rooms. They prioritise by who checks in first, not who booked first.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nice location

Disliked: should be more clean

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: English speaking staff

Disliked: No kitchen area for you to use

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: Great atmosphere, clean rooms, staff speaks English very well, very cheap.

Disliked: No free wifi in rooms, only in the communal area

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability