We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Beijing Sanlitun Youth Hostel

Hostel | No.1, North Road of Worker's, Stadium, Chun Xiu Lu, Chaoyang Beijing, China 0000

82.5% Overall Rating

361 out of 390 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (05/04/2015)

"The hostel is in the center of most things entertaining so, in that regard it's a great place to stay."

Read all Beijing Sanlitun Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Beijing?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Beijing

Beijing Golden Pineapple Youth Hostel
16.18 USD

Hostel 70.1% 41 reviews
Haina Hostel
17.98 USD

Hostel 78.5% 50 reviews
Ming Courtyard
9.81 USD

Hostel 92.0% 5 reviews
Happy Dragon Courtyard Hostel
8.99 USD

Hostel 82.9% 174 reviews
Lucky Family Hostel
11.44 USD

Hostel 89.1% 190 reviews
Beijing 161 Lama Temple Courtyard Hotel
38.09 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Beijing Yuexuan Courtyard Garden Hostel
14.71 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
N.E. Hotel Beijing
31.71 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/04/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/04/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.5%

Overall Rating

361 out of 390 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Beijing Sanlitun Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
84.8%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
75.2%
Cleanliness
72.8%
Staff
83.2%
Value
85.6%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 325 of 361 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff are so helpful speak fluent English and always about. I arrived at 6:30am and they checked me in and got me a bed at that time no worries..... when you get to the place it looks a bit dingy as you have to cut thru a strange little carpark but once you are there its all good....

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Big rooms, nice bar and common areas.

Disliked: no Wi-Fi in the rooms, and the bathrooms was quite dirty. The location is not the best...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Meaghan Li

Alone

Partying / nightlife

12 August 2013 Meaghan would recommend this property

Liked: Spacious, clean rooms and hot showers with great water pressure. The staff are super friendly and helpful and you can't beat the price. Located right next to restaurants and convenience stores with a bus stop a few minutes walk away.

Disliked: WiFi can only be accessed in the bar, which serves average food that is expensive by Chinese standards. There are mosquitos in the bar area as well.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Phillip Chung

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 June 2013 Phillip would recommend this property

Liked: Its location is very convenient and rooms are very quiet.

Disliked: If you would like to meet other travelers, this is not the place.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Peter Isra

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

26 May 2013 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: Good breakfast (hard to get in China) and good bar, both in the common area where you can hang out and meet other travelers. Nice neighborhood with plenty to do around. The girls that work there are all pretty which is a plus =).

Disliked: No elevator. No wifi in rooms. A little far from the subway station. Some of the tours are overpriced.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Su Za

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 May 2013 Su would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to meet other travellers.

Disliked: I found things to be a little overpriced.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jack Bell

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2013 Jack would recommend this property

Liked: I thought the rooms, and all of the hostel was very clean and the staff were very helpful with any enquiries. Mattresses were a bit too flat and thin than I'd prefer, but I still got a decent nights sleep. Food and drink in their bar downstairs is good value for money too. Showers and toilets are shared with your gender but always kept clean on a daily basis.

Disliked: Just the mattresses being a bit too thin, but that's really a tiny issue compared to the rest of my stay.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Hanna Andrea Sand

Alone

Visiting friends or family

29 April 2013 Hanna Andrea would recommend this property

Liked: The hostels location is awesome, not far from Beijings party district and the airport express. It's easy to get to know nice people, staff is quite helpful and most of them are really nice - especially the hostel dog! ;) Bedroom and bathroom was clean. It's really good value for money!

Disliked: No elevator to get to the 4th floor, 6 bed room was not too big so it was a little hard to manage having 6 suitcases in the dorm. Socket-outlet above my bed was broken and it caused a short whenever you wanted to use it. Also, the lockers didn't have locks so no place to store your valuables when you didn't bring a lock on your own.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

keith taylor

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2013 keith would recommend this property

Liked: I've stayed at Sanlitun every time I've passed through Beijing for the last few years, and each visit has been great. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the staff are friendly and helpful and the bar is great fun, and a great place to meet people. I've left glowing reviews for this place before, so this time I'm mention two minor (very minor) gripes with the place. First, the wifi doesn't extend beyond the ground floor (though if you're lucky you might pick up a signal on the second). Most hostels in this price range offer wifi throughout. Saying that, you can plug your laptop in with a LAN cable, so it's not a big deal. Second, I like to cycle while in the city but the rental bikes available could use a serious service. Each time I come here they get a little worse, and this last one was especially bad. The pedal was falling off, the bike was stuck in a single gear and one of the brake pads was pressed against the rim, so it was like cycling uphill all day. Please, please give the bikes a good once over before I return. Other than those two tiny problems Sanlitun was awesome as ever, and I'd have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone.

Disliked: See above.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Seak Chiew Chua

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

06 April 2013 Seak Chiew would recommend this property

Liked: Highly recommended. Fantastic location. Very efficient and friendly staff. Very clean too. Love the did, Yu Yu. Finally, very good atmosphere. Though just a hostel overall we reckon this place is better then most 4 star hotels. Will certainly book into this place the next time we are here.

Disliked: The main access road into this hostel should have be better paved.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthew Pritchard

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2013 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: This is the third hostel within this family that I have stayed with and once again the experience was amazing! They seem to be overrun with staff, all wearing the same hoodies, great English and always friendly and helpful! I went on 4 of their organised tours all were great, some include food but they all include transport! The bar area is brilliant, met so many new friends here. First day I arrived they had a dumpling party, Wednesday they had hot pot party and best of all it's all free!

Disliked: The building is little worn around the edges but its to be expected with somewhere this busy! If I had to make any bad comment...the toilet paper dispensers are on the wall OUTSIDE the toilet! Why I don't know!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

27 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable bar with decent prices on foreign beers

Disliked: slow staff who kept me waiting at reception longt ime for simple things like getting change b

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great Location, close to shops, subway and bas and clubs. Some staff are very friendly

Disliked: Bit expensive to eat and drink here. Pool table is 10RMB per hour.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Work / volunteering

16 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Excellent cafe downstairs. Helpful staff.

Disliked: Fourth floor room + no lift was a bit annoying.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Mirey Medina

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 March 2013 Mirey would recommend this property

Liked: The location was excellent. It was easy to find and close to many transportation places and nightlife. It was very safe and trusting place. They had a dumpling workshop night and we ate them for free! It was super cheap and ridiculously nice for such price. I would definitely stay there again, if I am ever in Beijing.

Disliked: Mirey left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

samantha hawker

Alone

Work / volunteering

03 March 2013 samantha would recommend this property

Liked: great atmosphere, cosy and light and close to everything! very helpful staff too

Disliked: samantha left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ping Ping Wu

Alone

Visiting friends or family

20 February 2013 Ping Ping would recommend this property

Liked: The cleanliness of the property and bedding.

Disliked: The property's location is a bit hidden.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean room

Disliked: noisy neighborhood (clubs near)

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

steven hofland

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 February 2013 steven would recommend this property

Liked: the atmosphere...friendly staff...also a big plus you can book traintickets at the reception.

Disliked: dorm room was very hot! and the common area very cold...showers were a bit dirty but still ok...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nathan Rodgers

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 February 2013 Nathan would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were fantastic and friendly, and really made my stay here perfect. Rooms are very cheap but clean, and the facilities are great. The common room and bar is amazing....

Disliked: Nothing!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

leigh burris

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

01 February 2013 leigh would recommend this property

Liked: We really enjoyed the helpful and friendly staff, who helped advise us of our travel needs. We were really busy during our visit, so we did not spend too much time at the hostel, but we were so thankful for the great location and helpful suggestions from them. Sanlitun was a very laid back environment that would appeal to most guests!

Disliked: I was traveling with my sister and brother, and we reserved a triple private room.The only issue we ran into was when we were originally put into an overflow room, which had some issues. When we requested a new room, they were quick to accomodate us and we thoroughly enjoyed the rest of the stay!!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: fine

Disliked: fine

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

tjuana williams

Alone

City break
Visiting friends or family

06 January 2013 tjuana would recommend this property

Liked: This is my home away from home in China. Each time I visit Beijing, I stay at this property. The restaurant has reasonable food for reasonable Beijing price. They have spicy, no9t spicy, meat or meatless dishes to choose from. If you don't want to learn the language you can speak to the staff, they speak English as well as Chinese. They can assist you with getting directions to your destinations, whether you want to take a taxi, bus, or subway. It is also conviently located near subway lines, buses and train stations. There are supermarkets, shopping, theaters, bars,restaurants, etc within walking distance. There are western and nonwestern toilets and soap and tissue in the bathrooms, which is a plus. Like most hostel, be sure to bring your toiletries such as towel, shower shoes, soap, toothpaste, toothbrush, shampoo, etc. There are dogs running around like a home away from home. Most travellers are very friendly, so be ready to meet many new people and a friendly family like staff. peace shalom tjuana

Disliked: Because it is a popular place, sometimes the community bathrooms are not always clean.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Michal Gajewski

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 December 2012 Michal would recommend this property

Liked: Nice character. Very nice bar. We had a dumpling-making lesson.

Disliked: Quite far from metro station (15 min walk). Check in took too long. There was a problem with a bed for me.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

16 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.