HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Sanlitun Youth Hostel Beijing Hostel

No.1 Chunxiu Lu(Gong Ti Bei Lu), Chaoyang District, Beijing, China

Atmosphere 87%

Cleanliness 74%

Facilities 78%

Location 90%

Safety 87%

Staff 81%

Value 83%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Policies

  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Beijing?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 87%

Cleanliness 74%

Facilities 78%

Location 90%

Safety 87%

Staff 81%

Value 83%

Showing 111-120 of 155 reviews

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: This hostel has a fantastic atmosphere - plenty of social activities, and the bar downstairs is a good spot for mingling. Dumpling making night was fun, and the location is close to Sanlitun bars/restaurants/shopping.

Disliked: Mattresses are paper thin (moreso than any other Chinese hostel I stayed in) and beds feel very unstable - makes a terrible noise every time the upper bunk occupant rolls over! Also - one squat and one regular toilet per floor isn't enough for a hostel of this size!!

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: it has a nice character and is reasonably close for the connections to the airport. I also liked that it was easy for to get a sleep in it which I needed badly after a long day of travelling. There is also a good social aspect around it which I had experienced on a previous visit but not this time due to 2 long days of travelling to get back to the UK.

Disliked: On the booking confirmation the address wasn't printed in pinyin which made it difficult to find it and impossible to book a taxi to it. I have mentioned it to the staff and maybe hostelbookers should also try and make sure it is printed as it is difficult to travel round Beijing as it is.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: Great price, location, and value! I've stayed in the dorms before and they are also really well done with a private locker and decent showers/toilets. This time, I stayed in the single ensuite, and it was a great! Can't find anything comparable for price or location, so this is a gem!

Disliked: The ceiling in my room could use a coat of paint, but otherwise everything was good.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you very much for the great comments, see you next time.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: As always with Sunlitun, everything tip-top.see you next time!

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Excellent Staff!!

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The showers are GREAT! 24hrs /7 days. Wireless very quick & reliable. Great food served right through the day & drinks cheap. The dorms were warm... Maybe a little too warm at times. Individual lockers . Staff were friendly & approachable but & spoke relatively good English.

Disliked: My dorm had an obvious old aged western "long stayer" in it- a COMPLETE NO NO for any YOUTH hostel. This guy felt it was appropriate to sleep naked, snore/talk in his sleep & generally be a slob in his bed space. This should not be allowed as it wrecks the ambience & vibe of the place. Seriously, these guys need to NOT have their midlife crisis in a youth backpackers hostel- NOT cool! The pet kitten! Cute, I'll give ya' that.... But not when it's running all over the tables that people sit & eat at!

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Staff were so helpful, food was very reasonably priced, really welcoming atmosphere.

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Location is perfect

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: LOCAtion is perfect

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I really liked how friendly and helpful the staff were. I found it to be a clean and safe place while I was in Beijing.

Disliked: I had some trouble finding the property when I gave the hostel's directions to the taxi driver, but I called the front desk and they helped right away.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability