HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Sanlitun Youth Hostel Beijing Hostel

No.1 Chunxiu Lu(Gong Ti Bei Lu), Chaoyang District, Beijing, China

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 72%

Facilities 74%

Location 89%

Safety 86%

Staff 80%

Value 82%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Policies

  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Beijing?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 72%

Facilities 74%

Location 89%

Safety 86%

Staff 80%

Value 82%

Showing 101-26 of 26 reviews

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family, Work / volunteering

Liked: Price; friendly and helpful staff; location

Disliked: Cleanliness not up to scratch - the first room I was put in the bed sheets had not been changed, which I only found out after dragging 24 kilos of baggage up three flights of stairs. The staff made the effort to change this immediately; wifi a bit temperamental; food and drink in communal area expensive by chinese standards (but I was allowed to bring my own into another part of the hostel - not ideal, but again a credit to the flexibility of the staff); it can be noisy, so bring earplugsOverall - I wouldn't stay again unless I needed somewhere cheap. I would say, spend a few more kuai and get into a place with reviews in the 90%s. The only other place I have been in Beijing is Peking International Youth Hostel, which I liked.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The staff are great. I also like that the hostel is very cosy, and is a great place to meet people from everywhere.

Disliked: A little bit of a walk from the subway stations.

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: the staff were very friendly and helpful with excellent English

Disliked: for the price we paid, which was similar to hotel prices, we expected the room to at least be clean.

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Shopping

Liked: Pretty cheap, location is ok (not amazing) as long as you don't mind walking a bit to the train stations. The staff was helpful though to be honest they're too busy to really be friendly which is a shame! The pool table is free and is a fun way to socialize and meet new people :) there's a restaurant/ bar so if it's cold outside (or for whatever other reason) you can just spend a whole weak in this hostel without ever leaving.Big lockers in the rooms and outside and a storage room, so you never have to worry about the safety of your things...

Disliked: The food is expensive in Chinese standards (though not so much in Sanlitun standards).Can't rent a towel- have to buy one. Bed is just a wooden board on four wooden sticks- not stable nor comfortable! But I've had less comfortable beds in big hotel rooms too. And for the price this is really ok.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: So many people from different countries. People meeting each other was so nice. I met 4 people there. It is really a nice place to be. Far better than hotels

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: excellent and helpful with all aspects of stay. The cafe/bar is great for food with stuff on most nights. Cleaned regularly and warm through winter!

Disliked: Directions to get there a little vague, print a map and the address in chinese if you plan to catch aa taxi. Otherwise, great

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: location

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: First of all I would like to say we were extremely anxious about staying in a hostel as my husband and I are nearly 50 and have never used a hostel before. The service was second to none, staff more helpful than being in a hotel and having a tour rep. The location was excellent and the food on offer was good......the carbonara being the best i have ever tasted. Our son currently lives and works in China and is hoping to move to Beijing for a new job so we will have to visit again and i will not hesitate to book this particular hostel and would even feel comfortable taking my young grand daughter with me.

Disliked: This is actually quite difficult so in an effort to be objective.....the hostel has four floors and could do with a lift for us less fit people but the staff are that helpful i am sure if you asked they would put you on a lower floor and carry your luggage up for you.........so not an issue really.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: This hostel has a fantastic atmosphere - plenty of social activities, and the bar downstairs is a good spot for mingling. Dumpling making night was fun, and the location is close to Sanlitun bars/restaurants/shopping.

Disliked: Mattresses are paper thin (moreso than any other Chinese hostel I stayed in) and beds feel very unstable - makes a terrible noise every time the upper bunk occupant rolls over! Also - one squat and one regular toilet per floor isn't enough for a hostel of this size!!

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: it has a nice character and is reasonably close for the connections to the airport. I also liked that it was easy for to get a sleep in it which I needed badly after a long day of travelling. There is also a good social aspect around it which I had experienced on a previous visit but not this time due to 2 long days of travelling to get back to the UK.

Disliked: On the booking confirmation the address wasn't printed in pinyin which made it difficult to find it and impossible to book a taxi to it. I have mentioned it to the staff and maybe hostelbookers should also try and make sure it is printed as it is difficult to travel round Beijing as it is.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability