HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Sanlitun Youth Hostel Beijing Hostel

No.1 Chunxiu Lu(Gong Ti Bei Lu), Chaoyang District, Beijing, China

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 74%

Facilities 76%

Location 86%

Safety 85%

Staff 80%

Value 79%

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Policies

  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Beijing?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 74%

Facilities 76%

Location 86%

Safety 85%

Staff 80%

Value 79%

Showing 101-110 of 157 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: mein drittes mal dort und ich habe sogar 4 österreicher getroffen.

Disliked: die hunde die nicht stubenrein sind

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good atmosphere at the bar. Clean toilets.

Disliked: Expensive menu and drinks. The tours they offer don't worth it.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: I stayed in a private room for 2 nights at this hostel, the atmosphere was great and staff very helpful indeed. With pool table, tv, various computers, comfortable couches etc on offer, the facilities are very good and much used, you can certainly make new friends and meet travel companions at this place. I booked a few tours, including one to the Great Wall, from here and staff were very helpful and honest about the alternatives on offer. The room was basic but better than I had expected at a hostel in central Beijing, bed very comfortable and bathroom tiny but functional. Great value for money!

Disliked: One note of disappointment - at the last minute I tried to extend my stay in this hostel, but no rooms were available. Instead, the hostel offered me accomodation right next door (across the courtyard) at a cheap Chinese hotel, where they rent some rooms for just such occasions. This is a mistake. The Chinese hotelrooms are not up to the same standard, dirty, slightly mouldy, and I also did not feel quite safe there due to very strange sounds coming from the corridors and surrounding streets at night (fights?). If you book at this hostel, just make sure your room is in the hostel itself, and not at this 'convenient' alternative.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: friendly staffgood bar/cafe area

Disliked: cleaning in room could have been better

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family, Work / volunteering

Liked: Price; friendly and helpful staff; location

Disliked: Cleanliness not up to scratch - the first room I was put in the bed sheets had not been changed, which I only found out after dragging 24 kilos of baggage up three flights of stairs. The staff made the effort to change this immediately; wifi a bit temperamental; food and drink in communal area expensive by chinese standards (but I was allowed to bring my own into another part of the hostel - not ideal, but again a credit to the flexibility of the staff); it can be noisy, so bring earplugsOverall - I wouldn't stay again unless I needed somewhere cheap. I would say, spend a few more kuai and get into a place with reviews in the 90%s. The only other place I have been in Beijing is Peking International Youth Hostel, which I liked.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The staff are great. I also like that the hostel is very cosy, and is a great place to meet people from everywhere.

Disliked: A little bit of a walk from the subway stations.

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: the staff were very friendly and helpful with excellent English

Disliked: for the price we paid, which was similar to hotel prices, we expected the room to at least be clean.

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Shopping

Liked: Pretty cheap, location is ok (not amazing) as long as you don't mind walking a bit to the train stations. The staff was helpful though to be honest they're too busy to really be friendly which is a shame! The pool table is free and is a fun way to socialize and meet new people :) there's a restaurant/ bar so if it's cold outside (or for whatever other reason) you can just spend a whole weak in this hostel without ever leaving.Big lockers in the rooms and outside and a storage room, so you never have to worry about the safety of your things...

Disliked: The food is expensive in Chinese standards (though not so much in Sanlitun standards).Can't rent a towel- have to buy one. Bed is just a wooden board on four wooden sticks- not stable nor comfortable! But I've had less comfortable beds in big hotel rooms too. And for the price this is really ok.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: So many people from different countries. People meeting each other was so nice. I met 4 people there. It is really a nice place to be. Far better than hotels

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: excellent and helpful with all aspects of stay. The cafe/bar is great for food with stuff on most nights. Cleaned regularly and warm through winter!

Disliked: Directions to get there a little vague, print a map and the address in chinese if you plan to catch aa taxi. Otherwise, great

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability