HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Sanlitun Youth Hostel Beijing Hostel

No.1 Chunxiu Lu(Gong Ti Bei Lu), Chaoyang District, Beijing, China

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 73%

Facilities 76%

Location 89%

Safety 87%

Staff 80%

Value 82%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Policies

  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Beijing?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 73%

Facilities 76%

Location 89%

Safety 87%

Staff 80%

Value 82%

Showing 101-23 of 23 reviews

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: friendly staffgood bar/cafe area

Disliked: cleaning in room could have been better

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family, Work / volunteering

Liked: Price; friendly and helpful staff; location

Disliked: Cleanliness not up to scratch - the first room I was put in the bed sheets had not been changed, which I only found out after dragging 24 kilos of baggage up three flights of stairs. The staff made the effort to change this immediately; wifi a bit temperamental; food and drink in communal area expensive by chinese standards (but I was allowed to bring my own into another part of the hostel - not ideal, but again a credit to the flexibility of the staff); it can be noisy, so bring earplugsOverall - I wouldn't stay again unless I needed somewhere cheap. I would say, spend a few more kuai and get into a place with reviews in the 90%s. The only other place I have been in Beijing is Peking International Youth Hostel, which I liked.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The staff are great. I also like that the hostel is very cosy, and is a great place to meet people from everywhere.

Disliked: A little bit of a walk from the subway stations.

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: the staff were very friendly and helpful with excellent English

Disliked: for the price we paid, which was similar to hotel prices, we expected the room to at least be clean.

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Shopping

Liked: Pretty cheap, location is ok (not amazing) as long as you don't mind walking a bit to the train stations. The staff was helpful though to be honest they're too busy to really be friendly which is a shame! The pool table is free and is a fun way to socialize and meet new people :) there's a restaurant/ bar so if it's cold outside (or for whatever other reason) you can just spend a whole weak in this hostel without ever leaving.Big lockers in the rooms and outside and a storage room, so you never have to worry about the safety of your things...

Disliked: The food is expensive in Chinese standards (though not so much in Sanlitun standards).Can't rent a towel- have to buy one. Bed is just a wooden board on four wooden sticks- not stable nor comfortable! But I've had less comfortable beds in big hotel rooms too. And for the price this is really ok.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: So many people from different countries. People meeting each other was so nice. I met 4 people there. It is really a nice place to be. Far better than hotels

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: excellent and helpful with all aspects of stay. The cafe/bar is great for food with stuff on most nights. Cleaned regularly and warm through winter!

Disliked: Directions to get there a little vague, print a map and the address in chinese if you plan to catch aa taxi. Otherwise, great

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: location

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: First of all I would like to say we were extremely anxious about staying in a hostel as my husband and I are nearly 50 and have never used a hostel before. The service was second to none, staff more helpful than being in a hotel and having a tour rep. The location was excellent and the food on offer was good......the carbonara being the best i have ever tasted. Our son currently lives and works in China and is hoping to move to Beijing for a new job so we will have to visit again and i will not hesitate to book this particular hostel and would even feel comfortable taking my young grand daughter with me.

Disliked: This is actually quite difficult so in an effort to be objective.....the hostel has four floors and could do with a lift for us less fit people but the staff are that helpful i am sure if you asked they would put you on a lower floor and carry your luggage up for you.........so not an issue really.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: This hostel has a fantastic atmosphere - plenty of social activities, and the bar downstairs is a good spot for mingling. Dumpling making night was fun, and the location is close to Sanlitun bars/restaurants/shopping.

Disliked: Mattresses are paper thin (moreso than any other Chinese hostel I stayed in) and beds feel very unstable - makes a terrible noise every time the upper bunk occupant rolls over! Also - one squat and one regular toilet per floor isn't enough for a hostel of this size!!

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability