HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Sanlitun Youth Hostel Beijing Hostel

No.1 Chunxiu Lu(Gong Ti Bei Lu), Chaoyang District, Beijing, China

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 72%

Facilities 74%

Location 89%

Safety 86%

Staff 80%

Value 82%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Policies

  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Beijing?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 72%

Facilities 74%

Location 89%

Safety 86%

Staff 80%

Value 82%

Showing 91-33 of 33 reviews

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Easy directions from metro. Always clean (maybe too many cleaning staff sometimes in your way). Friendly bar (maybe to much if you want wifi and silence). Front desk staff spoke English very well. Many different tours offered. Food good priced. Ethernet cable provided for internet in rooms.

Disliked: Only wifi is downstairs in bar area (keeping you around to buy their drinks and food).

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Staff were really helpful

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: It was close to the centre railway station, they had a private room I could have instead of a dorm, as when I arrived I came down with the flu and needed to sleep.

Disliked: Its really a place for younger people, I felt a bit out of place, but, if I were younger it would have been very buzzy and perfect. It was very smoky in my room, (cigarettes) so I changed which they were ok with. The single room was expensive for what it was, but it was ok.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: I like the smile from the front-desk acceseptors.

Disliked: I like everything here .

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Shopping, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Location,friendly & helpful staff, close to massages.

Disliked: Steep increase in price from just 5 months ago. (50% price increase and they expect it to go higher this summer). Also the beer price went up by 10rmb.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I liked the location (even if not really close to the metro but it's China!!), the atmosphere and the cleanliness of dorms and bathrooms.

Disliked: Even if the staff is generally kind, it is not at all helpful if you want to travel by yourself. I tried to go to the Great Wall by myself instead of taking their expensive tour and they didn't give me the explanations I wanted. Practically they told me: why don't you stay one day more and take our tour? They really do not understand that travelers are different and people who can speak Chinese go around by their selves and not with overrated tours.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: mein drittes mal dort und ich habe sogar 4 österreicher getroffen.

Disliked: die hunde die nicht stubenrein sind

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good atmosphere at the bar. Clean toilets.

Disliked: Expensive menu and drinks. The tours they offer don't worth it.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: I stayed in a private room for 2 nights at this hostel, the atmosphere was great and staff very helpful indeed. With pool table, tv, various computers, comfortable couches etc on offer, the facilities are very good and much used, you can certainly make new friends and meet travel companions at this place. I booked a few tours, including one to the Great Wall, from here and staff were very helpful and honest about the alternatives on offer. The room was basic but better than I had expected at a hostel in central Beijing, bed very comfortable and bathroom tiny but functional. Great value for money!

Disliked: One note of disappointment - at the last minute I tried to extend my stay in this hostel, but no rooms were available. Instead, the hostel offered me accomodation right next door (across the courtyard) at a cheap Chinese hotel, where they rent some rooms for just such occasions. This is a mistake. The Chinese hotelrooms are not up to the same standard, dirty, slightly mouldy, and I also did not feel quite safe there due to very strange sounds coming from the corridors and surrounding streets at night (fights?). If you book at this hostel, just make sure your room is in the hostel itself, and not at this 'convenient' alternative.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: friendly staffgood bar/cafe area

Disliked: cleaning in room could have been better

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability