HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Qianmen Hostel

Hostel | No.33 Meishi Street, Qianmen, Xuanwu District Beijing, China 100051

83.3% Overall Rating

325 out of 352 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/01/2014)

Hafizah Hassan thinks…

"Located at a very strategic location, Tianmen Square, Forbidden City, Shopping St, Hutong & many more by walking distance."

Read all Qianmen Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

TERMS AND CONDITIONS General All guests must observe the rules and regulations of our hostel. Arrival and Check-out Times The hostel office is open for check-in 24 hours a day. Check-out time is 12pm on the day of departure (late check-out can also be arranged).

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Beijing?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Beijing

Three Legged Frog Hostel
7.28 USD

Hostel 82.7% 47 reviews
Beijing Leo Courtyard Hostel
8.09 USD

Hostel 68.9% 39 reviews
Beijing Leo Hostel
9.71 USD

Hostel 76.6% 240 reviews
Kings Joy Hostel
9.71 USD

Hostel 86.3% 187 reviews
Lu Song Yuan
46.13 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Beijing Tiananmen Courtyard
22.66 USD

Hostel 77.1% 3 reviews
Beijing Far East International Youth Hostel
9.71 USD

Hostel 70.3% 266 reviews
Beijing Hyde Courtyard Hotel
12.95 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.4% 30 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.3%

Overall Rating

325 out of 352 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Qianmen Hostel'

Atmosphere
82.4%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
79.2%
Cleanliness
74.4%
Staff
85.6%
Value
86.4%
Safety
80.8%
Refine your results Showing 266 of 298 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Hafizah Hassan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2014 Hafizah would recommend this property

Liked: Located at a very strategic location, Tianmen Square, Forbidden City, Shopping St, Hutong & many more by walking distance.

Disliked: We stayed in twin room with private bathroom, the room was ok but quite small, with very dim light. The bathroom is walled by a clear glass with very limited sticker so was not really comfortable to do our private things.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

CHEE HONG LIM

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2014 CHEE HONG would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and free wifi

Disliked: long (chilly & eerie) walk to the toilet and bathroom

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location close to tianmen,friendly staff,very clean,very good hot showers!

Disliked: High comission for booking train tickets 30RMB Per ticket

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Amina Trabelsi

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 October 2013 Amina would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the location in a traditional chinese hutong, and the central position.

Disliked: In the common bathrooms there is no place to put your stuff while showering.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

11 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good

Disliked: ...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Nicholas Gagen

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2013 Nicholas would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff and nice choice of breakfast's

Disliked: nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

louise edwards

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 July 2013 louise would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location!! Really great hostel for meeting people and hanging out. Would definately go back! Bargain!

Disliked: The toilets/ bathroom were miles away from my room and they leave a lot to be desired. Having said that i wouldnt let this stop me staying in this otherwise great hostel. Oh, and there were no lockers to store your stuff :(

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Overall very pleased! Very good location and very friendly, flexible staff!

Disliked: No complaints come to mind!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was my first trip to China and the hostel had a nice insight into the Chinese culture, as it is an old hutong. Staff is very friendly and helpful!

Disliked: The rooms are very small. but if you are out all day and only sleep in the room, it is perfectly adequate.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

19 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Stayed in a double ensuite. - Decent bathroom - Arriving late was no problem - Towels and bed were clean

Disliked: Nothing major. The building is pretty old, which looks cool but the rooms are a bit rundown. It was a little expensive for what it was.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

02 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it's in my top2 hostel list.

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the place was kept clean.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location - walking distance from Tieneman Square and the Forbidden City. Only a few minutes walk from the underground station which makes it easy to find. Excellent showers! Wifi in rooms. Good value for money.

Disliked: Little run down in the common areas, no lockers in the rooms. Have to go outside to the bathrooms. You get what you pay for.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Sally Bromiley

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 April 2013

Liked: Checking out, staff were ok

Disliked: We booked online after reading positive reviews. Email communication was slow with the hostel but they did reply. We got to the hostel and the reception area looked OK, they did food and had a little bar area. I think we were ripped off booking train tickets through the hostel as we were charged £4 each extra for them to book our tickets and then we found 2 ticket offices in 100 metres radius of this hostel which they didn't even tell us! Once we got to the room things went even more downhill, it was like a squat. The door didn't even fit the frame as it was warped, the single glazed windows just let all the cold in, so the heating was working overtime. It was freezing in the room, all the time! The shared bathroom was miles away, 2 floors down, across 2 courtyards and round this little alley. The toilets and showers may have been outside as there was no main door on the rooms. We didn't shower here at all during our stay and checked out as soon as we found somewhere else to stay. The staff were Ok, they tried to accommodate us, we had booked a hostel and were given a triple room when we checked in, when we said we wanted to check out early they said we could move into a twin room with private bathroom but that room was even worse. Sorry, ths place needs serious renovation! we even found vomit that hadn't been cleaned down one side of one of the beds. gross!!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Fern Lim

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2013 Fern would recommend this property

Liked: It has a convenient location. The woman on staff for late nights was friendly. It does have character. They offer Great Wall trips to Mutianyu and Jingshanling.

Disliked: It was rather run down. The common areas weren't as conducive to meeting fellow travelers as other hostels around the corner. Not a big deal if you're traveling with friends, but for solo travelers it'll take more effort. I'd shop around at other hostels around the corner for tours to the Great Wall for other options/price ranges, and online for the other touristy performances.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: people friendly

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Lucy Trevis

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 March 2013 Lucy would recommend this property

Liked: Great location Helpful staff Good shower and hot water Comfortable beds with clean sheets and duvet Affordable price

Disliked: Bathroom could have been cleaner and less rough around the edges

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, good menu, nice price

Disliked: Too cold in the bathrooms, beds quiet hard

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location is superb.

Disliked: check-in took 10min. only one basin for men. showers are almost outside in fresh air.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly and helpful staff, cheap beer, good location, common area (patio) really nice

Disliked: nothing

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 November 2012

Liked: Nothing special. I ended moving to another place. And I am happy I did as that place had a great atmosphere, better staff and better facilities for exactly the same price. I just would not recommend for people to stay at Qianmen hostel if they have other choices. It guess can be OK in summer, when it is not freezing in the shared bathrooms, and it might be nice to stay in the courtyard. But this property is no interesting in November Rooms are warm and well heated though The staff was OK, but nothing special, no attention.

Disliked: When I stayed, the was no great atmosphere, people did not linger around in the shared spaces. The shared bathrooms are freezing In November. Be warned. Facilities and rooms are average. The staff was one one the least warmth welcome I have had in china. Nothing bad at all, but just very average, so I was surprised versus some of the reviews I read on the web site.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The property was very, very well located just a few minutes walk from Tiananmen sq. It was clean, friendly and with a beautiful 19th century Peking ambiance in its courtyards.

Disliked: Not a lot.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Nick Rutten

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 October 2012 Nick would recommend this property

Liked: There is a really nice courtyard with a good atmosphere. The showers are perfect. We were there during the Autumn festival and there were cakes and fruits for everyone. The breakfast and coffee/tea are really good. This is a hostel were you'd want to stay for weeks, just because it feels a little bit like home.

Disliked: The reception staff is not nice. They are rude and not friendly or helpfull. The bar staff is really nice! The cleaners carry walkie talkies to communicate, instead of using them they shout at eachother. While sleeping this is not so nice.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Waranee Kittiwarawoot

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 October 2012 Waranee would recommend this property

Liked: This place has an old Chinese atmosphere even though it's located in the middle of tourist attraction places. Its location is the best! Very nice Qianmen St. and Da Zha Lan Xie Jie are just around the corner. Lot of bus stops and Qianmen subway line 2 is just five minutes walk. Staffs here might not be smile a lot but they're friendly enough and very helpful.

Disliked: Hostel entrance's quite dark. Ensuit bathroon isn't drain well.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I met very interesting people here. The layout of the hostel (in particular the location of the courtyard) kind of forces you to walk past the common areas to get to your room or the shared washroom. As a result you are likely to interact with the other guests.

Disliked: Mainly the staff. They were not very friendly or helpful. Also, the bathroom is a long walk, and you have to go outdoors. I would NOT stay here in the winter for this reason. Additionally there is only one sink in the men's bathroom.