We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Qianmen Hostel

Hostel | No.33 Meishi Street, Qianmen, Xuanwu District Beijing, China 100051

79.5% Overall Rating

340 out of 369 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/06/2015)

Arran Christopher Evans thinks…

"Excellent location very close to the action and good price, friendly staff - let me have a room for a few hours sleep in the evening when badly needed!"

Read all Qianmen Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

TERMS AND CONDITIONS General All guests must observe the rules and regulations of our hostel. Arrival and Check-out Times The hostel office is open for check-in 24 hours a day. Check-out time is 12pm on the day of departure (late check-out can also be arranged).

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Beijing?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Beijing

Three Legged Frog Hostel
10.16 USD

Hostel 83.4% 50 reviews
Beijing Leo Courtyard Hostel
8.59 USD

Hostel 68.5% 42 reviews
Beijing Leo Hostel
10.16 USD

Hostel 81.0% 253 reviews
Kings Joy Hostel
9.38 USD

Hostel 83.5% 223 reviews
Lu Song Yuan
72.66 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Beijing Far East International Youth Hostel
9.38 USD

Hostel 67.4% 270 reviews
Qianmen Courtyard Hotel
44.38 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Jade International Youth hostel
12.50 USD

Hostel 75.0% 468 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.5%

Overall Rating

340 out of 369 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Qianmen Hostel'

Atmosphere
78.4%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
73.6%
Cleanliness
76.0%
Staff
79.2%
Value
80.0%
Safety
76.8%
Refine your results Showing 278 of 313 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Hamish Munro-Faure

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 August 2015 Hamish would recommend this property

Liked: Location was amazing

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Arran Christopher Evans

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 June 2015 Arran Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location very close to the action and good price, friendly staff - let me have a room for a few hours sleep in the evening when badly needed!

Disliked: Was a fair bit of construction underway during my stay, by no means OTT but did create noise and smell.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2015

Liked: The location was fab, right near lots of tourist sites and food places. Some of the staff were very helpful and accomadating. The rooms were usually kept reasonably clean.

Disliked: Everything seemed very money orientated, we needed to use the phone when we had a problem with a lost Visa card and the staff were adamant on charging us 1 rmb per minute for the pleasure. We went down the road to Leo Hostel to use the phone for FREE! Some of the staff could be rude at times and unhelpful when it came to answering questions. The "self-catering" facilities include a kettle... Nothing else.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chiu Tung

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

25 December 2014 Chiu would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Chiu left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

HECTOR GUSTAVO SANCHEZ MARTINEZ

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2014 HECTOR GUSTAVO would recommend this property

Liked: Its close to the forbidden city and to the subway, where you can go to other attractions. Besides around the corner there are several places to have dinner and bars, if you rather to try local food its also a good choice because there are good restaurants around and a local bakery very cheap and tasty, TOTALLY recommend the kung fu show offered there.

Disliked: The bathroom and the bedroom were divided by one wall of glass giving a bad impression of the place, should be nicer if it could have only a normal wall.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Authentic houses in a really convenient area. Close to the forbidden city. Friendly atmosphere and cute baby turtles.

Disliked: Bathroom is far way from bedrooms.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

BEGOÑA ALTUNA

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

19 August 2014 BEGOÑA would recommend this property

Liked: Next to Tiananmen and Qianmen district. Staff is very helpful and knows good English. The trips to the Great Wall they offer are really interesting and we had a really good time. The hostel is very nice with two nice patios in a traditional house.

Disliked: Everything is OK.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

18 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very nice hostel with a lot of character, friendly staff, amazing location in the heart of the hutongs, very clean. a little minus for the lack of social activities in the hostel: no pool or team games. it was not my first stay there and i will definitely recommend it to anyone wishing to live the reall beijing experiencen

Disliked: no pool

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is great- less than ten minutes walk from the subway, bike rentals and great (cheap!) food down the street. Offers good western breakfast (great easy Chinese breakfast right around the corner). Other hostels are near by, so there is lots of English info in the area regarding legitimate tours and other outings.

Disliked: The atmosphere was definitely a bit quieter than some other hotels near by, since there are many families staying in the big courtyard property as well. We opted to get laundry done by the staff (laundry service 10RMB/kg) but unfortunately it got forgotten in a corner and when we asked about it two days later, it was returned to us just as we'd left it :( They did, however, refund our money without any trouble.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff did thier best to help although not always successful. Had a very good location to sights.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

William Glad

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 June 2014 William would recommend this property

Liked: Qianmen Hostel was *so close* to the metro, walking distance from Tianemen Square and Forbidden City, and just amazing sights all around. It was a fantastic location. The staff is really helpful and even last minute helped us plan places to go, told us how to get there, let us know the coolest things to see Beijing, especially at night when things are closed down. It was a good environment. An open, friendly hostel. Can't go wrong staying here.

Disliked: Not really anything that I disliked. Security could be upped a bit (Couple more cameras, replace the doors so the locks are more secure). The only real problem I had was that some of the rooms (Not all of them) had partially glass walls. It wasn't see through so we didn't notice till nighttime when we turned off our light to go to bed and the light next door kept shining through the edges of the wall. It wasn't too bad though.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Super friendly and helpfull staff!!!

Disliked: Nothing at all.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Hafizah Hassan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2014 Hafizah would recommend this property

Liked: Located at a very strategic location, Tianmen Square, Forbidden City, Shopping St, Hutong & many more by walking distance.

Disliked: We stayed in twin room with private bathroom, the room was ok but quite small, with very dim light. The bathroom is walled by a clear glass with very limited sticker so was not really comfortable to do our private things.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

CHEE HONG LIM

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2014 CHEE HONG would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and free wifi

Disliked: long (chilly & eerie) walk to the toilet and bathroom

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location close to tianmen,friendly staff,very clean,very good hot showers!

Disliked: High comission for booking train tickets 30RMB Per ticket

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Amina Trabelsi

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 October 2013 Amina would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the location in a traditional chinese hutong, and the central position.

Disliked: In the common bathrooms there is no place to put your stuff while showering.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

11 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good

Disliked: ...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Nicholas Gagen

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2013 Nicholas would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff and nice choice of breakfast's

Disliked: nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

louise edwards

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 July 2013 louise would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location!! Really great hostel for meeting people and hanging out. Would definately go back! Bargain!

Disliked: The toilets/ bathroom were miles away from my room and they leave a lot to be desired. Having said that i wouldnt let this stop me staying in this otherwise great hostel. Oh, and there were no lockers to store your stuff :(

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Overall very pleased! Very good location and very friendly, flexible staff!

Disliked: No complaints come to mind!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was my first trip to China and the hostel had a nice insight into the Chinese culture, as it is an old hutong. Staff is very friendly and helpful!

Disliked: The rooms are very small. but if you are out all day and only sleep in the room, it is perfectly adequate.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

19 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Stayed in a double ensuite. - Decent bathroom - Arriving late was no problem - Towels and bed were clean

Disliked: Nothing major. The building is pretty old, which looks cool but the rooms are a bit rundown. It was a little expensive for what it was.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

02 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it's in my top2 hostel list.

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the place was kept clean.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location - walking distance from Tieneman Square and the Forbidden City. Only a few minutes walk from the underground station which makes it easy to find. Excellent showers! Wifi in rooms. Good value for money.

Disliked: Little run down in the common areas, no lockers in the rooms. Have to go outside to the bathrooms. You get what you pay for.