HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Sitting on the City Walls Courtyard House

Guesthouse | 57 NianZi HuTong, Jingshanhoujie, DongCheng District Beijing, China 100009

93.6% Overall Rating

163 out of 167 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/05/2014)

Moritz Schraut thinks…

"Amazing "lobby" to hang around. Huge amount of different services offered, e. g. printing post cards and tour to the Great Wall. Really helpful introduction at arrival with recommendations where to…"

Read all Sitting on the City Walls Courtyard House reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Beijing?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Beijing

Little Mao's Hostel
9.57 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Peking International Youth Hostel
21.09 USD

Hostel 87.5% 22 reviews
Yuanjia International Apartment
41.04 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Jade International Youth hostel
9.73 USD

Hostel 76.7% 464 reviews
Tang House Hotel
23.36 USD

Hotel 3 star 79.3% 8 reviews
Citycourt Hotel
35.69 USD

Hotel 3 star 87.3% 20 reviews
Peking Yard Hostel
16.22 USD

Hostel 90.7% 75 reviews
Zaoyuanju
20.11 USD

Hotel 3 star 79.2% 17 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.6%

Overall Rating

163 out of 167 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Sitting on the City Walls Courtyard House'

Atmosphere
96.0%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
92.8%
Cleanliness
93.6%
Staff
96.0%
Value
91.2%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 137 of 144 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Michael Zheng

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2014 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: In a traditional Chinese courtyard setting and friendly staff

Disliked: Was a bit difficult to find and is expensive compared to other hostels I've stayed in

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, friendly people, cool building, comfortable dorm!

Disliked: Nothing!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: quiteness

Disliked: Price

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Moritz Schraut

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2014 Moritz would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing "lobby" to hang around. Huge amount of different services offered, e. g. printing post cards and tour to the Great Wall. Really helpful introduction at arrival with recommendations where to go and what to be aware of. Best hostel ever!

Disliked: Moritz left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

27 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very very quiet near Forbidden city and Tienanmen square, but Beijing is enormous...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location most tourist attractions were within walking distance. As was the metro stations. The owner was really helpful and friendly. Would definately reccommend this place.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice staff and beautiful rooms. Located right next to the forbidden city. If you wanna have a nice calm stay it is perfect.

Disliked: If you wanna spend a party weekend in Beijing with other travellers you should choose another hostel

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It has lots of character, in a great little Hutong location. About 15 mins walk to nearest tube, 30 mins or a bus to Forbidden City. Rachel and Rick are really nice and friendly and their Great Wall tour was excellent (our group were the only people on that section of the wall!).

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samantha Shepherd

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 November 2013 Samantha would recommend this property

Liked: - Great staff, they suggested some great restaurants for us, and arranged a good trip to the Great Wall. They had a lot of information about local attractions, and were very friendly. - Decent food for breakfast. - Nice rooms with big beds and bathrooms, and with their own heaters. - In a quiet area close to the Forbidden City.

Disliked: - About a ten minute walk from a metro and a bus stop, which really isn't far, but it's through a few alleyways and takes a bit of wandering around to find, unless you go the long way around. - Padlocks are provided for the doors, but the staff have copies of the keys, so if you're worried about security, bring your own lock.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Callum Mackie

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 November 2013 Callum would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent introduction, could have used it when we first arrived in Beijing. Very helpful documents provided including a map with Chinese and the hotel card has Chinese so you can use it for taxis

Disliked: Reception is a bit busy in the morning but only helps you realise you should jump outta bed and explore!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff who spoke very good English. Good atmosphere, generally clean. The dorm was more like 2 four bed dorms than one eight bed, the upper part of which had really comfy single beds. I like small hostels, so with one dorm and maybe 5 or 6 private rooms I liked the size.

Disliked: Cleaners didn't empty the bin in the bathroom as often as the time sheet suggested.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sarah Buchwieser

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 August 2013 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: The location is absolutely awesome. Everything is reachable within 15 mins. Just one advice: don't take bus no 5 at traffic peaktime (5-7) :D also the staff is very helpful and helps travellers to arrange trips to the wall etc. The tips that 老板 can give you are great. We liked the courtyard style of the hostel too. It is very comfortable to just sit in the yard and rrelax from a day of walking.

Disliked: Maybe that there is no close subway station. But I think theyre building one.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: grate staff

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Mirko Daniel Cano Soveri

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 April 2013 Mirko Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: location friendliness price

Disliked: Mirko Daniel left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: City Wall in Beijing is one of the best places I have ever stayed. The bed is AMAZING and it feels like sleeping at home! The location is perfect and the hotel took so much efforts on the little details. A perfect stay!

Disliked: Nothing!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

16 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's got bags of character with lots of odd bits of furniture that don't match, a stack of books of various flavour and random antique type stuff lying around the place. By and large it's clean and kept that way. Very quiet inside the courtyard and very relaxing. Quiet location which is convenient to boot, being close to Nanluoguxiang, Gulou and Gugong. Best thing: a cup of coffee is only 10RMB and, if you've lived for Beijing for any length of time, you know that getting fresh coffee is not cheap.

Disliked: The ants on the dining table!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sandra Cuthbert

As a family with children

Family Holiday

17 February 2013 Sandra would recommend this property

Liked: Great location within walking distance of the Forbidden City. Hostel with lots of character inside the hutong, and with the rooms set out around a wonderfully decorated enclosed courtyard. Room was comfortable and warm. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Was a little challenging to find. It would have been helpful if the directions were provided on the receipt in Chinese characters to give to the taxi driver if needed.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

rani cheema

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 February 2013 rani would recommend this property

Liked: this place was beautiful and the staff was helpful. i was only there for one night and the staff went above and beyond for me. i had to leave at 5am for a flight and was unaware that the young lady at the front hired a taxi for me! AND she woke me up to make sure i wasnt late. they had so much information to make exploring beijing easy. bus and taxi info with prices so we would know if we were getting scammed by a taxi driver ha ha. a map for free! the same map that the airport charges $12 for. its very quite, not a party hostel. you can meet people in the common area but you could also have a room to yourself in a beautiful hostel.... choice is yours! i'd stay again

Disliked: it wasnt the easiest to find that could be because i refuse to take a taxi and their directions were by taxi. i did have a million maps with me lol so i managed to find it (with the help of locals). i'd suggest that the hostel have exteremly detailed directions

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Vikraj Dowlul

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 January 2013 Vikraj would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are very helpful even providing specialised maps/guides on arrival. Rooms are big and showers good. Relaxed atmosphere.

Disliked: Not close to the best parts of the public transport system and taxis can be hard to get.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Very helpful staff. Nice double rooms.

Disliked: It can be difficult to find.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

30 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The guy at the reception was very friendly and helpful. He went out of his way to explain how to navigate the city's transport system and was very eager to help guests with whatever questions they had. The beds were very nice and comfy.

Disliked: The lady at the reception wasn't very friendly. The shower rooms were a bit moldy.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff in this hotel were wonderful and welcoming. They were friendly and very attentive and attended to all our requests and enquiries. This property is lovely however during our stay renovations were taking place and hence we could not really access the central courtyard communal area which would otherwise be really light filled and cosy. Our host explained that he only had about 10 days a year to do work to the property and this just happened to be those 10 days! Despite this the staff worked hard to minimise disruptions to guests.

Disliked: The only issue with this hotel is that it is not near a metro and the buses are not easily accessible for foreigners unless your trip is preplanned and you can ask reception which bus is appropriate to your trip. This means that it is difficult to be spontaneous in your exploration of the city. Despite this we managed to navigate both subway and bus connections OK only getting really lost on one occasion and it can be difficult to get a taxi to railway stations to and from this area.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

05 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: After a long flight cross China, arriving to this beautiful, calm and warm hostel was a heaven! I literally mean warm because it was so comfortable to arrive a heated room at chilly February night. One of the best hostels we ever stayed. GORGEOUS decoration at courtyard, cozy atmosphere, really helpful staff, special thanks to girl who works night shift!! when you arrive they give you a helpful summary what to do and how in beijing ( places are written in chinese, it really helps when asking your way) Hostel is situated in normal old neighbourhood, which makes your stay authentic and same time very close to major sights. If you go to Beijing STAY HERE :) Would recommend it to all my friends! Ps. Loved that they had their own kitchen, really practical and delicious! and good variety of teas ;)

Disliked: NOne

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Angela Royer

As a family with children

Family Holiday

02 July 2012 Angela would recommend this property

Liked: Very quiet, in a little hutong. Rachel & Rick the owners were SO helpful, as soon as we arrived they explained all we needed for an enjoyable, unproblematic stay in Beijing and arranged our trip to the Great Wall. The lounge/dining area was very peaceful and prettily decorated. The room and ensuite bathroom was clean. The food was excellent. I loved the hostel and its family atmosphere and if I ever go back to Beijing, this will be where I'll stay.

Disliked: Nothing negative to say about the hostel

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely helpful and friendly.

Disliked: Absolutely nothing!