HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Sitting On The City Walls Courtyard House Beijing Hostel

57 NianZi HuTong, JingShanHouJie, DongCheng District, Beijing, China

Atmosphere 96%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 94%

Location 91%

Safety 95%

Staff 95%

Value 89%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Postal Service
  • Restaurant
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 12:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Beijing?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 96%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 94%

Location 91%

Safety 95%

Staff 95%

Value 89%

Showing 31-22 of 22 reviews

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff in this hotel were wonderful and welcoming. They were friendly and very attentive and attended to all our requests and enquiries. This property is lovely however during our stay renovations were taking place and hence we could not really access the central courtyard communal area which would otherwise be really light filled and cosy. Our host explained that he only had about 10 days a year to do work to the property and this just happened to be those 10 days! Despite this the staff worked hard to minimise disruptions to guests.

Disliked: The only issue with this hotel is that it is not near a metro and the buses are not easily accessible for foreigners unless your trip is preplanned and you can ask reception which bus is appropriate to your trip. This means that it is difficult to be spontaneous in your exploration of the city. Despite this we managed to navigate both subway and bus connections OK only getting really lost on one occasion and it can be difficult to get a taxi to railway stations to and from this area.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The guy at the reception was very friendly and helpful. He went out of his way to explain how to navigate the city's transport system and was very eager to help guests with whatever questions they had.The beds were very nice and comfy.

Disliked: The lady at the reception wasn't very friendly. The shower rooms were a bit moldy.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Extremely helpful and friendly.

Disliked: Absolutely nothing!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: Very quiet, in a little hutong. Rachel & Rick the owners were SO helpful, as soon as we arrived they explained all we needed for an enjoyable, unproblematic stay in Beijing and arranged our trip to the Great Wall. The lounge/dining area was very peaceful and prettily decorated. The room and ensuite bathroom was clean. The food was excellent. I loved the hostel and its family atmosphere and if I ever go back to Beijing, this will be where I'll stay.

Disliked: Nothing negative to say about the hostel

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 May 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Quiet location in the heart of a genuine hutong. Comfortable beds, friendly and knowledgeable staff.

Disliked: Absolutely nothing!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: After a long flight cross China, arriving to this beautiful, calm and warm hostel was a heaven! I literally mean warm because it was so comfortable to arrive a heated room at chilly February night. One of the best hostels we ever stayed. GORGEOUS decoration at courtyard, cozy atmosphere, really helpful staff, special thanks to girl who works night shift!! when you arrive they give you a helpful summary what to do and how in beijing ( places are written in chinese, it really helps when asking your way) Hostel is situated in normal old neighbourhood, which makes your stay authentic and same time very close to major sights. If you go to Beijing STAY HERE :) Would recommend it to all my friends! Ps. Loved that they had their own kitchen, really practical and delicious! and good variety of teas ;)

Disliked: NOne

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great location in terms of walking to and from shopping and sights. Nice authentic hutong area. It was clean, homely and had great food (not inc in price). They also do laundry, organise well priced, legit tours to great wall etc, that dont stop off at shops on the way! They also allowed early check in (our flight arrived in Beijing at 5:30am!)

Disliked: Despite the staff all being extremely knowledgeable and helpful, it wasn't with a smile. Far from a subway station (about 30min walk), and lot of taxis would refuse to take us there (from what I gather, because the business card lists the address within the hutong, rather than just the main street taxis would drop you off at. Meant we walked a few times when really it was a taxi distance we were travelling.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Decoration

Disliked: location

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jun 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The atmosphere was great, they also had fair priced food and drinks. The water was only 2RMB and the beers were 4RMB! They had a wonderful American Breakfast for only 25RMB that I ate and enjoyed everyday!

Disliked: Be careful with the dog! It was very sweet to us for the first hour we were playing with it, then, all of a sudden it bit my friend! Besides a little blood he was fine, just be warned!

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Jun 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great place, great food there too. Very nice staff who speaks very good english and there if you have any question they will help you.

Disliked: It was a little hard to find the first time but it was TOTALLY worth it!

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability