HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Sitting On The City Walls Courtyard House Beijing

Hostel

57 NianZi HuTong, JingShanHouJie, DongCheng District, Beijing, China

Atmosphere 96%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 94%

Location 90%

Safety 94%

Staff 95%

Value 88%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Postal Service
  • Restaurant
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 12:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Beijing?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 96%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 94%

Location 90%

Safety 94%

Staff 95%

Value 88%

Showing 21-26 of 26 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The location is absolutely awesome. Everything is reachable within 15 mins. Just one advice: don't take bus no 5 at traffic peaktime (5-7) :D also the staff is very helpful and helps travellers to arrange trips to the wall etc. The tips that 老板 can give you are great. We liked the courtyard style of the hostel too. It is very comfortable to just sit in the yard and rrelax from a day of walking.

Disliked: Maybe that there is no close subway station. But I think theyre building one.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 May 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: grate staff

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: locationfriendlinessprice

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: City Wall in Beijing is one of the best places I have ever stayed. The bed is AMAZING and it feels like sleeping at home! The location is perfect and the hotel took so much efforts on the little details. A perfect stay!

Disliked: Nothing!

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: It's got bags of character with lots of odd bits of furniture that don't match, a stack of books of various flavour and random antique type stuff lying around the place. By and large it's clean and kept that way. Very quiet inside the courtyard and very relaxing. Quiet location which is convenient to boot, being close to Nanluoguxiang, Gulou and Gugong. Best thing: a cup of coffee is only 10RMB and, if you've lived for Beijing for any length of time, you know that getting fresh coffee is not cheap.

Disliked: The ants on the dining table!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: this place was beautiful and the staff was helpful. i was only there for one night and the staff went above and beyond for me. i had to leave at 5am for a flight and was unaware that the young lady at the front hired a taxi for me! AND she woke me up to make sure i wasnt late.they had so much information to make exploring beijing easy. bus and taxi info with prices so we would know if we were getting scammed by a taxi driver ha ha. a map for free! the same map that the airport charges $12 for.its very quite, not a party hostel. you can meet people in the common area but you could also have a room to yourself in a beautiful hostel.... choice is yours!i'd stay again

Disliked: it wasnt the easiest to find that could be because i refuse to take a taxi and their directions were by taxi. i did have a million maps with me lol so i managed to find it (with the help of locals). i'd suggest that the hostel have exteremly detailed directions

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Staff are very helpful even providing specialised maps/guides on arrival. Rooms are big and showers good.Relaxed atmosphere.

Disliked: Not close to the best parts of the public transport system and taxis can be hard to get.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: Great location within walking distance of the Forbidden City. Hostel with lots of character inside the hutong, and with the rooms set out around a wonderfully decorated enclosed courtyard. Room was comfortable and warm. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Was a little challenging to find. It would have been helpful if the directions were provided on the receipt in Chinese characters to give to the taxi driver if needed.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great location. Very helpful staff. Nice double rooms.

Disliked: It can be difficult to find.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff in this hotel were wonderful and welcoming. They were friendly and very attentive and attended to all our requests and enquiries. This property is lovely however during our stay renovations were taking place and hence we could not really access the central courtyard communal area which would otherwise be really light filled and cosy. Our host explained that he only had about 10 days a year to do work to the property and this just happened to be those 10 days! Despite this the staff worked hard to minimise disruptions to guests.

Disliked: The only issue with this hotel is that it is not near a metro and the buses are not easily accessible for foreigners unless your trip is preplanned and you can ask reception which bus is appropriate to your trip. This means that it is difficult to be spontaneous in your exploration of the city. Despite this we managed to navigate both subway and bus connections OK only getting really lost on one occasion and it can be difficult to get a taxi to railway stations to and from this area.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability