HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Sitting On The City Walls Courtyard House Beijing Hostel

57 NianZi HuTong, JingShanHouJie, DongCheng District, Beijing, China

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 93%

Facilities 93%

Location 91%

Safety 94%

Staff 93%

Value 87%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Postal Service
  • Restaurant
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 12:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Beijing?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 93%

Facilities 93%

Location 91%

Safety 94%

Staff 93%

Value 87%

Showing 21-17 of 17 reviews

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very helpful staff who spoke very good English. Good atmosphere, generally clean. The dorm was more like 2 four bed dorms than one eight bed, the upper part of which had really comfy single beds. I like small hostels, so with one dorm and maybe 5 or 6 private rooms I liked the size.

Disliked: Cleaners didn't empty the bin in the bathroom as often as the time sheet suggested.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The location is absolutely awesome. Everything is reachable within 15 mins. Just one advice: don't take bus no 5 at traffic peaktime (5-7) :D also the staff is very helpful and helps travellers to arrange trips to the wall etc. The tips that 老板 can give you are great. We liked the courtyard style of the hostel too. It is very comfortable to just sit in the yard and rrelax from a day of walking.

Disliked: Maybe that there is no close subway station. But I think theyre building one.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 May 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: grate staff

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: locationfriendlinessprice

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: City Wall in Beijing is one of the best places I have ever stayed. The bed is AMAZING and it feels like sleeping at home! The location is perfect and the hotel took so much efforts on the little details. A perfect stay!

Disliked: Nothing!

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: It's got bags of character with lots of odd bits of furniture that don't match, a stack of books of various flavour and random antique type stuff lying around the place. By and large it's clean and kept that way. Very quiet inside the courtyard and very relaxing. Quiet location which is convenient to boot, being close to Nanluoguxiang, Gulou and Gugong. Best thing: a cup of coffee is only 10RMB and, if you've lived for Beijing for any length of time, you know that getting fresh coffee is not cheap.

Disliked: The ants on the dining table!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: this place was beautiful and the staff was helpful. i was only there for one night and the staff went above and beyond for me. i had to leave at 5am for a flight and was unaware that the young lady at the front hired a taxi for me! AND she woke me up to make sure i wasnt late.they had so much information to make exploring beijing easy. bus and taxi info with prices so we would know if we were getting scammed by a taxi driver ha ha. a map for free! the same map that the airport charges $12 for.its very quite, not a party hostel. you can meet people in the common area but you could also have a room to yourself in a beautiful hostel.... choice is yours!i'd stay again

Disliked: it wasnt the easiest to find that could be because i refuse to take a taxi and their directions were by taxi. i did have a million maps with me lol so i managed to find it (with the help of locals). i'd suggest that the hostel have exteremly detailed directions

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Staff are very helpful even providing specialised maps/guides on arrival. Rooms are big and showers good.Relaxed atmosphere.

Disliked: Not close to the best parts of the public transport system and taxis can be hard to get.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: Great location within walking distance of the Forbidden City. Hostel with lots of character inside the hutong, and with the rooms set out around a wonderfully decorated enclosed courtyard. Room was comfortable and warm. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Was a little challenging to find. It would have been helpful if the directions were provided on the receipt in Chinese characters to give to the taxi driver if needed.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great location. Very helpful staff. Nice double rooms.

Disliked: It can be difficult to find.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability