HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Sitting on the City Walls Courtyard House

Guesthouse | 57 NianZi HuTong, Jingshanhoujie, DongCheng District Beijing, China 100009

93.6% Overall Rating

163 out of 167 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/07/2014)

Julia Housham thinks…

"Location was excellent, if a little difficult to find at first. The reception staff were excellent, helping with all trips, recommendations and services. Very comfortable room; quiet, good size and…"

Read all Sitting on the City Walls Courtyard House reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Beijing?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Beijing

Little Mao's Hostel
9.57 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Peking International Youth Hostel
21.08 USD

Hostel 87.5% 22 reviews
Yuanjia International Apartment
41.03 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Jade International Youth hostel
9.73 USD

Hostel 77.3% 465 reviews
Tang House Hotel
23.35 USD

Hotel 3 star 79.3% 8 reviews
Citycourt Hotel
35.68 USD

Hotel 3 star 87.3% 20 reviews
Peking Yard Hostel
16.22 USD

Hostel 90.7% 75 reviews
Zaoyuanju
20.11 USD

Hotel 3 star 79.2% 17 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.6%

Overall Rating

163 out of 167 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Sitting on the City Walls Courtyard House'

Atmosphere
96.0%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
92.8%
Cleanliness
93.6%
Staff
96.0%
Value
91.2%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 138 of 145 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely helpful and friendly.

Disliked: Absolutely nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet location in the heart of a genuine hutong. Comfortable beds, friendly and knowledgeable staff.

Disliked: Absolutely nothing!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location in terms of walking to and from shopping and sights. Nice authentic hutong area. It was clean, homely and had great food (not inc in price). They also do laundry, organise well priced, legit tours to great wall etc, that dont stop off at shops on the way! They also allowed early check in (our flight arrived in Beijing at 5:30am!)

Disliked: Despite the staff all being extremely knowledgeable and helpful, it wasn't with a smile. Far from a subway station (about 30min walk), and lot of taxis would refuse to take us there (from what I gather, because the business card lists the address within the hutong, rather than just the main street taxis would drop you off at. Meant we walked a few times when really it was a taxi distance we were travelling.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Decoration

Disliked: location

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Haley Huffines

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2011 Haley would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was great, they also had fair priced food and drinks. The water was only 2RMB and the beers were 4RMB! They had a wonderful American Breakfast for only 25RMB that I ate and enjoyed everyday!

Disliked: Be careful with the dog! It was very sweet to us for the first hour we were playing with it, then, all of a sudden it bit my friend! Besides a little blood he was fine, just be warned!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place, great food there too. Very nice staff who speaks very good english and there if you have any question they will help you.

Disliked: It was a little hard to find the first time but it was TOTALLY worth it!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

31 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rick and Rachel went out of their way to be helpful, directive and friendly to guests especially me. The rooms were cleaned daily, flushing western loos, plenty of hot water, relaxed atmosphere and soo close to fobidden city etc.. staying in a hutong is better than being on anoisy main beijing street, loads of character.

Disliked: The 4 bed dorm is a little small, not really any room for large backpacks ie 4 backpacks and it is standing room only. Not really a place to party, not that i was looking to, but if you want a party hostel this is not for you!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful and honest staffs give many useful tips about city,extremely useful for me first time Beijing.Clean room, cosy common area easy meet other traveler.Cheep beer and food.It's in the real Hutong and walking distance to many famouse sits downtowm.Will be back for sure.

Disliked: None

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping

26 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: patio

Disliked: far from city center far from Tiananmen Square always have to get a taxi to go out Air Conditioning is not working very well and it s very noisy

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Richard Norman

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2010 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere, service, food

Disliked: Location is not near any metro stops. Bus service is good, though.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

hannah Tyler

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Family Holiday

18 July 2010 hannah would recommend this property

Liked: It had a hotel feel which was great for my parents who had never stayed in a hostel.

Disliked: the location was out of the way. Not really good for taking a walk at night

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

10 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great place we loved it!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

joanna crosby

06 June 2010 joanna would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is absolutely the best. Three cheers, five stars and copious kudos. Great food on premises at great prices and the coffee is terrific. Beds are hard and the hostel would have been difficult to find if a staff member hadn't come out to get us, but those are the only less-that-complimentary comments I can make.

Disliked: joanna left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

scott henderson

06 June 2010 scott would recommend this property

Liked: Traditional looks of an old hutong and a very peaceful haven from the madness of Beijing.

Disliked: scott left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kevin Briggs

02 June 2010 Kevin would recommend this property

Liked: Everything!!!

Disliked: Kevin left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

27 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very pretty hostel and really quite location. Staff really friendly and the small hostel makes a lovely place to stay compared to large and noisy hostels.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

22 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff at this hostel were really friendly and helpful. As soon as I got there they gave me a free map and a guide to main attractions with English and Mandarin translations. This was extremely useful as the hostel is very central but still a short taxi ride from most of the main attractions (Beijing is a huge city!!!) As the hostel is in a hutong it can be tricky to find on your own, I had to get the cab driver to ring the reception for more directions to find the street. The locals are well used to backpackers wandering the hutong and kindly pointed me in the direction of the hostel. The interior of the hostel is fantastic, really cosy atmosphere and I found it easy to meet other travellers. The dorm was clean and comfortable but a bit smaller than some of the other hostels I'd stayed in and the lockers provided were only big enough to hold your valuables not your backpack and are outside the dorm in the communal area. You can book trips to the great wall etc at discount prices (good value) and the food was lovely with a western menu available. One downside, there are no street lights in the hutong itself so it's really dark if you're returning to the hostel at night even so I felt pretty safe and I was travelling alone.Overall I'd recommend this hostel for the character, atmosphere and friendly staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Correll

16 January 2010 David would recommend this property

Liked: Everything!The staff are extremely friendly and helpful,great location,great reasonably priced food and drinks are available if you are too lazy to drag yourself away from the comfort of the hostel the occasional visit by the hostel dog Tin Tin .Highly recommend this hostel if you are staying in Beijing

Disliked: David left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

27 December 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place to stay!! Friendly staffs!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

16 November 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: No.6 Winner of "World Top 10 Hostel of 2008" !? I was disappointed as I have seen several better hostels in Asia. Good location & friendly stuff, but very small rooms, problems with hot water...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

11 November 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Johanna Kolkak

10 November 2009 Johanna would recommend this property

Liked: It was freezing inside the lobby area and in the evenings also the rooms were cold. Beer was cheap but there were no party atmosphere in this hostel. Location was central and made it easy to walk to Tian'anmen Square and to other attractions. Great location to see local people!

Disliked: Johanna left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mitch Altman

05 November 2009 Mitch would recommend this property

Liked: Me and my 7 friends really loved staying at Sitting On The City Walls Couryard House! Rachel and Rick and the rest of the staff were very friendly and helpful, and gave good recommendations on where to go and how to get there, often writing down the Chinese characters when it would be helpful for finding our way. The place has a wonderful atmosphere, the food they had available was quite decent, and our rooms were comfortable and clean. The place is located in a hutong (a local neighborhood, of which there are not all that many left), which was way cooler than staying in a sterile part of town. It is a short walk to The Forbidden City, and across from Jinshang Park (way worth a visit, since it affords a wonderful view of the whole city), and about a 20-minute walk from the closest subway station (Dongsi). There are many busses within a 2-minute walk that are convenient for getting all over town (for 1 RMB, or about 1.5 US cents!). It got pretty cold a few of the nights we were there, but the heat in most of the rooms is really good, and they provided us with plenty of blankets. I would definitely recommend this place, and will stay again next time I go to Beijing.

Disliked: Mitch left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

29 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostel I've been to and really helpful staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

21 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rick and Rachel were great. They gave advice on where to go and how to get around without associating themselves with tour groups. Free internet and lovely atmosphere inside.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.