HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Kings Joy Hostel

Hostel | 81 Meishi Street, Xuanwu District, Beijing, China 100051

87.7% Overall Rating

174 out of 188 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/04/2014)

"Good location. I came from Beijing west railway station by bus no.9 and get-off at Qianmen-Xi bus stop,then walk ,along Meishe street around 100m and hotel is there. Go to Summer palace by bus no.5 that the bus stop is…"

Read all Kings Joy Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 42.07
  • Breakfast USD 5.66

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Beijing?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Beijing

Beijing Hyde Courtyard Hotel
12.94 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.4% 30 reviews
Qianmen Courtyard Hotel
45.95 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
WC Hotel
21.04 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Beijing Tiananmen Courtyard
22.65 USD

Hostel 77.1% 3 reviews
Beijing Leo Hostel
9.71 USD

Hostel 76.6% 240 reviews
Three Legged Frog Hostel
7.28 USD

Hostel 82.7% 47 reviews
Beijing Leo Courtyard Hostel
8.09 USD

Hostel 68.9% 39 reviews
Lu Song Yuan
46.12 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.7%

Overall Rating

174 out of 188 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Kings Joy Hostel'

Atmosphere
81.6%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
77.6%
Cleanliness
92.8%
Staff
80.0%
Value
95.2%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 159 of 177 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. I came from Beijing west railway station by bus no.9 and get-off at Qianmen-Xi bus stop,then walk ,along Meishe street around 100m and hotel is there. Go to Summer palace by bus no.5 that the bus stop is located on Me is he street too. There are a lot of restaurants and food stall along the way to hotel. For facility, it has two elevators, so don't worry to carry heavy bags to your room. However, in dorm room,there has no soap, shampoo, no free drinking water, no free towel. Friendly staffs.

Disliked: No WiFi in room. No cleaning service will be provided if there has no someone checkout. Anyway, you could ask them in case your dorm room need cleaning.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mark Elsner

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 April 2014 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: Quite a comfortable place to stay with highly attentive & professional service from the staff, from the desk attendants who were marvelous to the housekeeping staff who were courteous and efficient.

Disliked: Not one thing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Chan

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

02 April 2014 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: The bed was so comfortable, the 6-bed dorm was huge and spacious. Great location. Check-in staff was friendly but a little slow.

Disliked: There is not too much character but all you gotta do is step outside the doors and you're right in the heart of Beijing!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Chadi EL RAYES

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 March 2014 Chadi would recommend this property

Liked: All is good in general

Disliked: They have no kitchen service or tv room. The staff can be nicer

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas Rotte

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 February 2014 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: 6 bed dorm was huge, any other hostel would have turned it into a 12 bed dorm. Very clean room (cleaned every day). Friendly staff. Lots of restaurants, shops and a subway station nearby.

Disliked: No wifi in the rooms

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maria Theresa Lagleva

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 February 2014 Maria Theresa would recommend this property

Liked: Very safe and accessible. The staff are very friendly and they speak English fluently. The place is cozy with good wifi connection at the lobby area. It is very clean and very affordable. I would love to go back to Beijing and stay at this very same hotel. I would also recommend this to my friends.

Disliked: It would be a lot better if Wifi is accessible in the rooms

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Johanna Clayton

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 February 2014 Johanna would recommend this property

Liked: Very comfortable beds, the elevators, the warm rooms, the very secure luggage facilities

Disliked: Wifi only in the lobby. Terrible directions from the airport: ************************************************************************** Take the Airport Train that links to the Subway, then switch to line 2 and take that to Qianemen. Take Exit C, there's a sign for Meishi St, walk down this street ,approx 7-12 mins, until you reach Kings Jostel Hostel- very visible sign.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The price was suitable for what you get (dorm room)

Disliked: Bathroom in the hotel foyer was filthy at times but the bathroom inside the dorm was clean.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sheryl Newell

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 February 2014 Sheryl would recommend this property

Liked: It's really a hotel with some of the rooms in dorm style. Our room was huge so had loads of space and the location is in walking distance to some of the big attrractions eg Forbidden City. Subway stop really close too. There's a buffet breakfast for extra 25yuan which is pretty sufficient.

Disliked: Slightly annoying could only get wifi in the lobby area and as the bar was shut there's no communal area to meet other backpackers. Great if you're already in a group & want a bit more luxury than normal :)

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Anton Glavatyi

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 December 2013 Anton would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Anton left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

04 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good,, a very nice place to stay.. the room where i lived was big and cozy.. nice neighbours.

Disliked: there is no internet in the rooms.. it's bad,, you need to go to the lobby which is sometimes not comfortable.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is exceptional, situated quite close to the train station and a few minutes walk to the tianamen square and forbidden city

Disliked: Could do with free lockers to put our luggage in.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Emma Logan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 November 2013 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: Great

Disliked: N/A

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: So close to tien an men square

Disliked: Some of the staff were quite rude but Jenny was fantastic

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the best dorms have been to, and i've been to many many hostels! big rooms, clean and great beds!

Disliked: nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location near sights and lots of places to eat, spacious rooms, helpful staff in the 'business center'

Disliked: The reception staff weren't very helpful, when we arrived we asked to book an extra night and got dismissed by an uninterested guy telling us we had to book it online. You had to pay to use the computer and only 1 of 5 was working. It's not really a hostel, no free drinking water (boiled water or purified) as we have experienced in every other hostel. There is no kitchen and the bar is expensive, not to mention the rude staff up there who are not helpful or barely even talk to you when you order something. The place seems to be geared more towards a hotel than a hostel.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

23 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked it's central location ! Next to the subway station Qianmen, everything was easily accessed. Forbidden City etc everything was nearby.. Water could be bought ice-cold at the reception which I liked. My shared 6-bed dorm was cleaned everyday and the price was worth it. I was travelling alone but nothing was stolen and I felt safe all the time.

Disliked: I thought that the staff could smile a little bit more often, however the security guides at the front door always said nihao, which made me smile while entering. Unfortuntalely the Internet in the Viewing Bar on the sixth floor was very unreliable and online worked once in a while. We found out that it had special problems with apple products, however the staff was always trying to assist even though it didn't change the speed of the internet. One minus was also that the price was a bit more expensive than it said on my booking confirmation. Nothing major, but about 3€... I was a bit unlucky with two very annoying and loudly snorring roommates but that was not the Hotels fault ;-)

82.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was perfect and it was slighter cheaper than another popular hostel a little further up which i was surprised about the room was superb. I actually thought they had given me the wrong room. Even though it was a dorm, it felt upper class. Always clean. The furniture was elegant and I can honestly say it has been the one of the best dorms I've stayed in.

Disliked: A minor complaint but if I had to say something, it was there was no room light in the room and we had to rely on the light coming from the other room in 201.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, staff and the room.

Disliked: The hostel had a deal with a firm who took us to the Great Wall. Er had to pay extra on the trip without any warning about it. The hostel should inform us about this before we booked the tour.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

paul neighbour

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013 paul would recommend this property

Liked: King Joy Hostel was very clean. it was like staying in a 3 star Hotel. Bus number 20 went right passed the door from the Beijing train station. the bus cost Just RMB1. so I Just got off the bus from the Beijing Airport at the Beijing Raiway station and got right on Bus 20 to the Kings Joy Hostel. the Bus stop for bus 20 is 50m from where the Airport bus stops at Beijing Railway station. to use the Internet at Kings Joy was only RMB1 per 15 mins. there was a mc donalds Just up the street from the Kings Joy Hostel. and a low cost supermaket was 5 min walk away. it was a 5 min walk to the Bank of China.

Disliked: Best price in Beijing.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's clean and cheap. It has bike rental.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

virginia cartiel

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 July 2013 virginia would recommend this property

Liked: beds were amazing, massive and really comfy. there was a lift and the bar is very nice. great location

Disliked: it was more like a hotel than a hostel, lacked intimacy. wifi only on the 6th floor and it wasn't even working

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2013

Liked: Clean. The food

Disliked: If you look for an hostel atmosphere don't go to this one. It looks like an hotel and it is not good to meet new people. The staff is not so helpful and the bar staff not so nice. Internet just works in the bar and not always.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Mathias Weigand

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 June 2013

Liked: Good Location They clean the room every day.

Disliked: If you like to meet new people, DON'T GO THERE!!! It's totaly a Hotel - with Dorm Rooms. Wi-Fi just in the Bar (but 20 RMB for a Beer...), there are no common rooms, TV or DVD Player. Computers are 1 RMB / 15 min. I wouldn't go there again, since it is not a Hostel. I went to other Hostels to go to their bar and to meet other travelers...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is good. Rooms are tidy. They organise excursions (I went to the Great Wall with them).

Disliked: Wi-fi only works in the bar. I went to the Great Wall with them, they say the price includes the ticket. It does, but when you get there you have to pay another 90y to get to the Great Wall by that cable car thing or walk the stairs for like an hour.