We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Kings Joy Hostel

Hostel | 81 Meishi Street, Xuanwu District, Beijing, China 100051

85.0% Overall Rating

202 out of 220 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/05/2015)

Janet Tu thinks…

"Dorm beds are very inexpensive but unlike other budget accommodations the mattresses are actually comfortable. Room was large for a central city hotel."

Read all Kings Joy Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 42.45
  • Breakfast USD 5.71

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Beijing?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Beijing

Qianmen Courtyard Hotel
46.37 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Beijing Leo Hostel
13.06 USD

Hostel 80.1% 250 reviews
Three Legged Frog Hostel
12.25 USD

Hostel 82.5% 48 reviews
Beijing Leo Courtyard Hostel
12.25 USD

Hostel 68.5% 42 reviews
Lu Song Yuan
75.92 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Qianmen Hostel
14.69 USD

Hostel 79.4% 368 reviews
Beijing Far East International Youth Hostel
9.80 USD

Hostel 70.4% 268 reviews
Beijing Saga International Youth Hostel
14.69 USD

Hostel 83.4% 102 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.0%

Overall Rating

202 out of 220 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Kings Joy Hostel'

Atmosphere
74.4%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
76.0%
Cleanliness
80.0%
Staff
85.6%
Value
92.8%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 187 of 210 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marcin Bogucki

Alone

Work / volunteering

02 July 2015 Marcin would recommend this property

Liked: Nice

Disliked: None

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Andrew Sutherland

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2015 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Very inexpensive dorm beds; very well located for major city sites

Disliked: Noisy; other lodgers disregard for curtesy;

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Janet Tu

Alone

Business / conference

07 May 2015 Janet would recommend this property

Liked: Dorm beds are very inexpensive but unlike other budget accommodations the mattresses are actually comfortable. Room was large for a central city hotel.

Disliked: I disliked no controllable AC unit in the room. It got too hot some nights.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

JaColby Adams

Alone

Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 January 2015 JaColby would recommend this property

Liked: The location was okay but there is another hostel on the same street closer. I did feel secure. The staff was always friendly and knowledgeable. Everyone spoke a conversational amount of English.

Disliked: I knew before I came there would be no Wi-Fi in the rooms but I didn’t realize how inconvenient it would be. There is no hot water...but I have learned that is standard for China, it only gets lukewarm. The locations of the attractions are not THAT far but the distance is exaggerated...Forbidden City and ECT. Are more like a 20/25 min walk...it makes a difference when it’s cold outside!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

04 January 2015

Liked: Location, luggage storage, trip to great wall on offer was good value.

Disliked: Room was freezing and the water was never hot (on top floor at least). A no frills place. They gave me an extra blanket but no space heater available.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Darko Zivanovic

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 January 2015 Darko would recommend this property

Liked: Only thing that you need to know is that tho rooms are near the mai road so you gonna have a lot of trafic sounds during the night and if you are light sleeper that can be a lroblem without ear plugs so room was very clean and food was ok location is amazing and in case I make plans of coming to Beijing again I would definitely come in this hotel. I was in a six bed room and it was always fun and full of new people coming and going. If you are a couple then maybe you should thinking about taking two bed room ;)

Disliked: the noise from the street made sleeping impossible. Beaides that everything was ..great and thank you for everything.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maria del Rosario Morelli

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2015 Maria del Rosario would recommend this property

Liked: Spacious shared room, enough space for your belongings. Excellent location

Disliked: Wifi only in reception

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Francesco Avolio

Alone

Events / festivals

25 December 2014 Francesco would recommend this property

Liked: good service provided

Disliked: There's not a guest kitchen

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Shapidah Abu shapian

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 December 2014 Shapidah would recommend this property

Liked: Local environment. See daily routine of china citizen.. Easy access and safe. People are helping.

Disliked: Shapidah left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

saicharan gupta

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 October 2014 saicharan would recommend this property

Liked: location is excellent and price is good.

Disliked: there is no wifi inside the rooms .its a big problem.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Cassandra Lawrence

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 October 2014 Cassandra would recommend this property

Liked: The location was excellent, right near Tianannmen Square, the rooms were big and clean, the shower worked well and the it was such good value for money.

Disliked: My bedside light didn't work so it was hard to get ready without disturbing other people in my dorm.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ramez Salama

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 September 2014 Ramez would recommend this property

Liked: Thanks a lots for a very clean Hostel ... If I ever back in Beijing I will stay there again, great service, the Receptionists are very helpful

Disliked: It is more of a hotel than a hostel so if you are a single traveler it maybe harder to find some solo travelers to chat with

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Parlea Mihai-Robert

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2014 Parlea would recommend this property

Liked: Good location,perfect place to meet new people.the bar front the front is awesome.

Disliked: Nothing.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: no wifi in room

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

06 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location and the conditions of the property.

Disliked: Nothing that stands out.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

James Anderson

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2014 James would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, nice staff, decent facilities.

Disliked: Dryer takes multiple tries for dry clothes.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Dalena de Haan

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2014 Dalena would recommend this property

Liked: It is very central, close to some of the major attractions in the city. It is also very close to the subway and some major bus routes run past the hotel. There are many little shops and restaurants around the hotel and many new and old hutongs. I think it is perfectly situated.

Disliked: The room was not perfectly clean. The bedding and bathroom was clean but the floor of the room was not cleaned before I arrived.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Not every room has lockers

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Janelle McCorkle

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2014 Janelle would recommend this property

Liked: very clean, safe area for luggage storage, comfortable beds

Disliked: musy purchase towel, cannot rent. towels are the size of a hand towel

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jinxiang Dong

Alone

Business / conference
Visiting friends or family

30 June 2014 Jinxiang would recommend this property

Liked: It is clear and the stuff are very friendly

Disliked: No internet inside the room

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good quality for price

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's in a very good area. Very close to some sights...so you can walk their. Also the subway is very close. The romm was very big (we stayed in the 6 bed room) and the made our bed every day and we got often new bed lines. Only the bathroom could be a little bit cleander!

Disliked: Not all of the stuff is friendly and helpful. Some of them are very nice and really want to help. We wanted to print out their our tickets and our visa for vietnam...in the beginning it was no problem bt than I told them that we have to use new paper for the prints not used one because the documents are important. Since that the printer was suddenly not working anymore ;) and they said that they cant fix it because the are no electrical engineer...but I said to them no problem i can fiy it because i saw thatthe man only but out the cable of the plug socket :D so you only have to be a lite bit careful !! But otherwise its a very nice place to stay :)

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Erlend Kjernli

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2014

Liked: Great location

Disliked: This place only wants your money. Rude staff that doesn't help you at all. For instance, we had booked a tour from a travel agency and they wanted to call the hostel to confirm the trip. We asked the guy in the reception if he had a message for us. He looked on us like we bothered him an said "no message". "So no-one have called us"? we asked. He answers that someone called, but no message. "Who called"? "A girl". You get the picture, we had to drag the information out of him. Luckily the company called again while we were standing in the reception. There were no lockers in our dorm room and we had to argue with the staff if that was true or not. Then she asked us to use the lockers by the reception that costs money. We payed 20 rmb to use the washing machine and the dryer. None of them wore working properly, so we ended up with dirty and wet laundry. So to sum up: We changed hostel. Never again.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

pui lung chun-laine

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 June 2014 pui lung would recommend this property

Liked: The location is excellent, nearby the palace, Tianmen, the old streets area, metro and bus stops. The standard is three star hotel, very spacious rooms with 6 beds. Comfortable to stay in this hotel, or hostel.

Disliked: The rooms do not have wifi connection. the only disadvantage, but we all sit down at the downsairs big lobby, is ok.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jonas Koepke

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2014 Jonas would recommend this property

Liked: Clean room, friendly staff, nice area

Disliked: Wifi only in the lobby