HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Kings Joy Hostel

Hostel | 81 Meishi Street, Xuanwu District, Beijing, China 100051

85.0% Overall Rating

193 out of 209 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/10/2014)

Cassandra Lawrence thinks…

"The location was excellent, right near Tianannmen Square, the rooms were big and clean, the shower worked well and the it was such good value for money."

Read all Kings Joy Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 42.23
  • Breakfast USD 5.69

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Beijing?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Beijing

Qianmen Courtyard Hotel
40.28 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
WC Hotel
21.12 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Beijing Leo Hostel
7.31 USD

Hostel 80.1% 245 reviews
Three Legged Frog Hostel
8.93 USD

Hostel 82.7% 47 reviews
Beijing Leo Courtyard Hostel
8.93 USD

Hostel 66.7% 40 reviews
Lu Song Yuan
75.04 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Qianmen Hostel
8.12 USD

Hostel 79.8% 364 reviews
Beijing Best Hotel
47.11 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.0%

Overall Rating

193 out of 209 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Kings Joy Hostel'

Atmosphere
75.2%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
74.4%
Cleanliness
85.6%
Staff
84.0%
Value
91.2%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 178 of 199 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

saicharan gupta

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 October 2014 saicharan would recommend this property

Liked: location is excellent and price is good.

Disliked: there is no wifi inside the rooms .its a big problem.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Cassandra Lawrence

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 October 2014 Cassandra would recommend this property

Liked: The location was excellent, right near Tianannmen Square, the rooms were big and clean, the shower worked well and the it was such good value for money.

Disliked: My bedside light didn't work so it was hard to get ready without disturbing other people in my dorm.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ramez Salama

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 September 2014 Ramez would recommend this property

Liked: Thanks a lots for a very clean Hostel ... If I ever back in Beijing I will stay there again, great service, the Receptionists are very helpful

Disliked: It is more of a hotel than a hostel so if you are a single traveler it maybe harder to find some solo travelers to chat with

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Parlea Mihai-Robert

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2014 Parlea would recommend this property

Liked: Good location,perfect place to meet new people.the bar front the front is awesome.

Disliked: Nothing.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: no wifi in room

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

06 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location and the conditions of the property.

Disliked: Nothing that stands out.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

James Anderson

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2014 James would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, nice staff, decent facilities.

Disliked: Dryer takes multiple tries for dry clothes.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Dalena de Haan

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2014 Dalena would recommend this property

Liked: It is very central, close to some of the major attractions in the city. It is also very close to the subway and some major bus routes run past the hotel. There are many little shops and restaurants around the hotel and many new and old hutongs. I think it is perfectly situated.

Disliked: The room was not perfectly clean. The bedding and bathroom was clean but the floor of the room was not cleaned before I arrived.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Not every room has lockers

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Janelle McCorkle

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2014 Janelle would recommend this property

Liked: very clean, safe area for luggage storage, comfortable beds

Disliked: musy purchase towel, cannot rent. towels are the size of a hand towel

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jinxiang Dong

Alone

Business / conference
Visiting friends or family

30 June 2014 Jinxiang would recommend this property

Liked: It is clear and the stuff are very friendly

Disliked: No internet inside the room

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good quality for price

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's in a very good area. Very close to some sights...so you can walk their. Also the subway is very close. The romm was very big (we stayed in the 6 bed room) and the made our bed every day and we got often new bed lines. Only the bathroom could be a little bit cleander!

Disliked: Not all of the stuff is friendly and helpful. Some of them are very nice and really want to help. We wanted to print out their our tickets and our visa for vietnam...in the beginning it was no problem bt than I told them that we have to use new paper for the prints not used one because the documents are important. Since that the printer was suddenly not working anymore ;) and they said that they cant fix it because the are no electrical engineer...but I said to them no problem i can fiy it because i saw thatthe man only but out the cable of the plug socket :D so you only have to be a lite bit careful !! But otherwise its a very nice place to stay :)

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Erlend Kjernli

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2014

Liked: Great location

Disliked: This place only wants your money. Rude staff that doesn't help you at all. For instance, we had booked a tour from a travel agency and they wanted to call the hostel to confirm the trip. We asked the guy in the reception if he had a message for us. He looked on us like we bothered him an said "no message". "So no-one have called us"? we asked. He answers that someone called, but no message. "Who called"? "A girl". You get the picture, we had to drag the information out of him. Luckily the company called again while we were standing in the reception. There were no lockers in our dorm room and we had to argue with the staff if that was true or not. Then she asked us to use the lockers by the reception that costs money. We payed 20 rmb to use the washing machine and the dryer. None of them wore working properly, so we ended up with dirty and wet laundry. So to sum up: We changed hostel. Never again.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

pui lung chun-laine

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 June 2014 pui lung would recommend this property

Liked: The location is excellent, nearby the palace, Tianmen, the old streets area, metro and bus stops. The standard is three star hotel, very spacious rooms with 6 beds. Comfortable to stay in this hotel, or hostel.

Disliked: The rooms do not have wifi connection. the only disadvantage, but we all sit down at the downsairs big lobby, is ok.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jonas Koepke

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2014 Jonas would recommend this property

Liked: Clean room, friendly staff, nice area

Disliked: Wifi only in the lobby

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

ruth valentine

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 April 2014 ruth would recommend this property

Liked: Bed Comfort:v good Size: good single Noise: v quiet Shelf: no Bed side light: yes Plug Socket next to bed: yes Able to get a good nights sleep:great Lockers- Not in room – small lockers in lobby Space in Bed Room Lots of space and a few cupboards Staff helpful Local Maps Not at desk Wife Availability & Strength Only in lobby – not much seating or plug sockets – gotta sit on the marble floor sometimes – not the best Toilets/Shower Room Shower and toilet in room – 1 shared between 6 – pretty good / no smell Kitchen Facilities- none Drinking Water Availability – none – can buy a big bottle for Y5 Communal Room/Social Areas –none Cleanliness – ok the floor needed sweeping in the room a lot of hair Was it friendly and welcoming/ good atmosphere/ would I go back?- this is a hotel with a few rooms turned into dorms - not really a hostel – but very conviniet for Tieneman square and Forbiden City – walking distance from Quinemen Square Subway – hotel easy to spot – big grey building with red writing – in a interesting spot – lots of locals around – cheap places to eat nearby – cheap bar over the rd called no 98- handy…No frills hotel

Disliked: Bed Comfort:v good Size: good single Noise: v quiet Shelf: no Bed side light: yes Plug Socket next to bed: yes Able to get a good nights sleep:great Lockers- Not in room – small lockers in lobby Space in Bed Room Lots of space and a few cupboards Staff helpful Local Maps Not at desk Wife Availability & Strength Only in lobby – not much seating or plug sockets – gotta sit on the marble floor sometimes – not the best Toilets/Shower Room Shower and toilet in room – 1 shared between 6 – pretty good / no smell Kitchen Facilities- none Drinking Water Availability – none – can buy a big bottle for Y5 Communal Room/Social Areas –none Cleanliness – ok the floor needed sweeping in the room a lot of hair Was it friendly and welcoming/ good atmosphere/ would I go back?- this is a hotel with a few rooms turned into dorms - not really a hostel – but very conviniet for Tieneman square and Forbiden City – walking distance from Quinemen Square Subway – hotel easy to spot – big grey building with red writing – in a interesting spot – lots of locals around – cheap places to eat nearby – cheap bar over the rd called no 98- handy…No frills hotel

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff, location, spacious rooms

Disliked: note that hotel, not hostel, wifi only in lobby/biz center

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Victor Chen

Alone

Visiting friends or family

17 April 2014 Victor would recommend this property

Liked: Close to main areas of Tianamen and subway is less than 4 min walk. Shops are everywhere so very convenient. Hostel is quiet too. No crazy loud party people

Disliked: No wifi in rooms. Just lobby only

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. I came from Beijing west railway station by bus no.9 and get-off at Qianmen-Xi bus stop,then walk ,along Meishe street around 100m and hotel is there. Go to Summer palace by bus no.5 that the bus stop is located on Me is he street too. There are a lot of restaurants and food stall along the way to hotel. For facility, it has two elevators, so don't worry to carry heavy bags to your room. However, in dorm room,there has no soap, shampoo, no free drinking water, no free towel. Friendly staffs.

Disliked: No WiFi in room. No cleaning service will be provided if there has no someone checkout. Anyway, you could ask them in case your dorm room need cleaning.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mark Elsner

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 April 2014 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: Quite a comfortable place to stay with highly attentive & professional service from the staff, from the desk attendants who were marvelous to the housekeeping staff who were courteous and efficient.

Disliked: Not one thing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Chan

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

02 April 2014 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: The bed was so comfortable, the 6-bed dorm was huge and spacious. Great location. Check-in staff was friendly but a little slow.

Disliked: There is not too much character but all you gotta do is step outside the doors and you're right in the heart of Beijing!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Chadi EL RAYES

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 March 2014 Chadi would recommend this property

Liked: All is good in general

Disliked: They have no kitchen service or tv room. The staff can be nicer

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas Rotte

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 February 2014 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: 6 bed dorm was huge, any other hostel would have turned it into a 12 bed dorm. Very clean room (cleaned every day). Friendly staff. Lots of restaurants, shops and a subway station nearby.

Disliked: No wifi in the rooms

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maria Theresa Lagleva

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 February 2014 Maria Theresa would recommend this property

Liked: Very safe and accessible. The staff are very friendly and they speak English fluently. The place is cozy with good wifi connection at the lobby area. It is very clean and very affordable. I would love to go back to Beijing and stay at this very same hotel. I would also recommend this to my friends.

Disliked: It would be a lot better if Wifi is accessible in the rooms