HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of King's Joy International Hostel Beijing Hostel

No. 81, Meishi St., Xuanwu District, Beijing, China

Atmosphere 58%

Cleanliness 67%

Facilities 66%

Location 89%

Safety 90%

Staff 68%

Value 82%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Bar
  • Common Room
  • Games Room
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Not Included"
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 43.12USD
  • Breakfast 5.81USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 09:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Beijing?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 58%

Cleanliness 67%

Facilities 66%

Location 89%

Safety 90%

Staff 68%

Value 82%

Showing 51-60 of 70 reviews

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It's really a hotel with some of the rooms in dorm style. Our room was huge so had loads of space and the location is in walking distance to some of the big attrractions eg Forbidden City. Subway stop really close too. There's a buffet breakfast for extra 25yuan which is pretty sufficient.

Disliked: Slightly annoying could only get wifi in the lobby area and as the bar was shut there's no communal area to meet other backpackers. Great if you're already in a group & want a bit more luxury than normal :)

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Good,, a very nice place to stay.. the room where i lived was big and cozy.. nice neighbours.

Disliked: there is no internet in the rooms.. it's bad,, you need to go to the lobby which is sometimes not comfortable.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location is exceptional, situated quite close to the train station and a few minutes walk to the tianamen square and forbidden city

Disliked: Could do with free lockers to put our luggage in.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: So close to tien an men square

Disliked: Some of the staff were quite rude but Jenny was fantastic

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great

Disliked: N/A

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great location near sights and lots of places to eat, spacious rooms, helpful staff in the 'business center'

Disliked: The reception staff weren't very helpful, when we arrived we asked to book an extra night and got dismissed by an uninterested guy telling us we had to book it online. You had to pay to use the computer and only 1 of 5 was working. It's not really a hostel, no free drinking water (boiled water or purified) as we have experienced in every other hostel. There is no kitchen and the bar is expensive, not to mention the rude staff up there who are not helpful or barely even talk to you when you order something. The place seems to be geared more towards a hotel than a hostel.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: I really liked it's central location ! Next to the subway station Qianmen, everything was easily accessed. Forbidden City etc everything was nearby.. Water could be bought ice-cold at the reception which I liked. My shared 6-bed dorm was cleaned everyday and the price was worth it. I was travelling alone but nothing was stolen and I felt safe all the time.

Disliked: I thought that the staff could smile a little bit more often, however the security guides at the front door always said nihao, which made me smile while entering.Unfortuntalely the Internet in the Viewing Bar on the sixth floor was very unreliable and online worked once in a while. We found out that it had special problems with apple products, however the staff was always trying to assist even though it didn't change the speed of the internet. One minus was also that the price was a bit more expensive than it said on my booking confirmation. Nothing major, but about 3€... I was a bit unlucky with two very annoying and loudly snorring roommates but that was not the Hotels fault ;-)

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location, staff and the room.

Disliked: The hostel had a deal with a firm who took us to the Great Wall. Er had to pay extra on the trip without any warning about it. The hostel should inform us about this before we booked the tour.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: King Joy Hostel was very clean. it was like staying in a 3 star Hotel.Bus number 20 went right passed the door from the Beijing train station.the bus cost Just RMB1.so I Just got off the bus from the Beijing Airport at the Beijing Raiway station and got right on Bus 20 to the Kings Joy Hostel.the Bus stop for bus 20 is 50m from where the Airport bus stops at Beijing Railway station.to use the Internet at Kings Joy was only RMB1 per 15 mins.there was a mc donalds Just up the street from the Kings Joy Hostel.and a low cost supermaket was 5 min walk away.it was a 5 min walk to the Bank of China.

Disliked: Best price in Beijing.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability