HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Kings Joy Hostel

Hostel | 81 Meishi Street, Xuanwu District, Beijing, China 100051

86.1% Overall Rating

184 out of 200 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/07/2014)

Dalena de Haan thinks…

"It is very central, close to some of the major attractions in the city. It is also very close to the subway and some major bus routes run past the hotel. There are many little shops and restaurants…"

Read all Kings Joy Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 42.18
  • Breakfast USD 5.68

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Beijing?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Beijing

Qianmen Courtyard Hotel
43.47 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
WC Hotel
21.09 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Beijing Leo Hostel
9.73 USD

Hostel 80.1% 245 reviews
Three Legged Frog Hostel
12.17 USD

Hostel 82.7% 47 reviews
Beijing Leo Courtyard Hostel
8.92 USD

Hostel 66.7% 40 reviews
Lu Song Yuan
74.94 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Qianmen Hostel
11.36 USD

Hostel 80.1% 362 reviews
Beijing Best Hotel
47.04 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.1%

Overall Rating

184 out of 200 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Kings Joy Hostel'

Atmosphere
77.6%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
75.2%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
82.4%
Value
92.8%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 171 of 190 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Julieta Funes Rodríguez

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 June 2012 Julieta would recommend this property

Liked: Muy buena ubicación. Excelente relación precio calidad. No tiene ambiente de hostel, es un hotel. Recomendable para los q prefieren la tranquilidad y descansar.

Disliked: Julieta left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Juan Plaza

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 June 2012 Juan would recommend this property

Liked: the place was very nice, comfortable rooms and very clean, they have a nice restaurant on the top with nice views

Disliked: the staff speak little english

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in a 2-person private room, meaning a good and clean 3-star chinese hotel room, paying only 220 RMB / night for the room. The girls at the business center downstairs were very helpful. The bar at the upstairs has nice view to the Tiananmen square and a pool table that you have to pay 10 RMB / hour.

Disliked: The tours were a bit more expensive than in other hostels. The internet connection was really slow, but they changed the internet provider during our stay, so maybe it works better now. You have to pay 1 RMB / 15 mins to use the computers, but Wifi is free.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

02 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location near to Tianan'men. Not too noisy.

Disliked: Room hadn't been swept. Bit grey and soul-less.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 June 2012

Liked: The location is great

Disliked: Not really social place

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

31 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and spacious rooms. It´s fairly close to the centre, and just a 10 minutes walk from the subway. There is a nice bar on the top floor, though it's overpriced.

Disliked: Contrary to the description on hostelbookers, this is a hotel, not a hostel. The atmosphere and the attitude of the staff are accordingly, there is not much support for backpackers. For example: King's Joy Hotel does have facilities for booking tours to the Great Wall, etc., but the tours are overpriced by up to 50% compared to guidebook recommendations and commercial tour bookings almost next door. Also, the WIFI is very slow and you have to pay, if you want to use the computers (1 yuan for 15 minutes). In short: It's a very good value for money hotel, but don't expect the homely feeling most goods hostels will give you.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

30 May 2012

Liked: The location was convenient and the room was spacious and clean. The female members of staff were friendly and helpful.

Disliked: The male staff on reception were extremely rude. When we arrived they completely ignored us. After a few minutes we asked if we could check in and they told us to wait. Eventually, one of them started to check us in- he took our names and passports then got up and walked into another room. The other member of staff also left. Shortly after 2 female staff members appeared. We waited around for a few minutes and the guy who was serving us didn't return- when we asked the girl she avoided our question but offered to check us in. The guy never returned- shocking service! We stayed for the 2 nights we'd booked then moved to another hostel. The internet worked intermittently and when it did it was painfully slow.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We got an amazing deluxe room for just a little bit more money so it was nice to have more space. Also we left the hotel for a day and were able to leave our luggage even when we weren't staying at the hotel for one night. Absolutely brilliant location as well.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lyubov Volkova

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 May 2012 Lyubov would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, very close to the central station of subway.

Disliked: You have Internet in your room only with cable:) but I was with iPad. But they have wi-fi on the first floor.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

07 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is awesome!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was in a great location within walking distance to the forbidden site, tian'anmen square, plenty of restaurants, shops and public transport. The bar on the top floor also had great comfy sofas for chilling out. The dorm rooms were also really spacious.

Disliked: You could only get wifi on the ground floor or bar so not available in rooms. Also if you don't like second hand smoking then the bar is not great. I found it too smokey if there were lots of smokers especially as no windows were open to air the place out!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

04 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great Staff and very clean, value for money. free wifi.

Disliked: N/A

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

John Finnin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2012 John would recommend this property

Liked: Nice big rooms and nice comfortable beds. Clean spaces and nice bathroom with good hot shower. Good rooftop bar though a bit pricey. Excellent location too!

Disliked: No free internet for people without wifi. Some of the staff could be a bit firendlier and the tours seem overpriced

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very central location and incredibly cheap. It's actually a mid-range hotel which has converted a few of its larger rooms into dorms - so the dorms are spacious and very luxorious by hostel standards.

Disliked: One small problem. Beds in the dorm weren't assigned to specific guests - the cleaners didn't know who had checked out, and so didn't know which beds needed clean sheets. It wasn't a problem for me, but I imagine that some travellers arrive to find unmade beds.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were friendly, good location and big rooms.

Disliked: It's more of a hotel than a hostel so not a great place if you want to meet people.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Joe Grimes

With a large group / tour

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 February 2012 Joe would recommend this property

Liked: Location could not be beat! Great hostel/hotel! Rooms were clean and warm. Hot shower! Restaurant on 6th floor offered the best "western" food we found in Beijing. We found the staff to be helpful and accomodating, Vivian was who our group mostly interacted with and she was very helpful. We booked our Great Wall tour to Mutianyu trough the hostel and it was great!

Disliked: My only complaint was the expensive key deposit and that we were only allowed to have one key per room but that was just a little inconvenience.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Harsh Taneja

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 January 2012 Harsh would recommend this property

Liked: very good location

Disliked: Harsh left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

KaKeung Szeto

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 January 2012

Liked: Right in the center of Beijing. Easy walk to shops and restaurants, and very close to Tinnamen Square.

Disliked: It's more like a hotel vibe than a hostel. Staff wasn't very friendly. Common area is inside on the top floor and reaks of cigarette smoke. It's ok, but if you're looking to meet other people, don't stay here.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 December 2011

Liked: Good Location. Warm.

Disliked: Very rude and ignorant staff in both the reception and bar. Very helpful and friendly girl in the Business Centre. This is not a typical Backpacker Hostel as they like to describe themselves as, it is a cheap hotel for Chinese that want to attract the backpacker market without having the usual laid back, friendly market. No joke, the buffet breakfast was downstairs was the worst breakfast I have ever eaten, the breakfast in the bar upstairs was edible and the coffee wasn't too bad. Depressing place... go to either Happy Dragon Courtyard Hostel or Emperor Hostel, x100 better.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I lived in a single ensuite room and everything was working well ... it is clean, warm and safe. Hotel is well located in downtown area and what's more, there are a lot of restaurants around the hotel so that you can eat out if you want to enjoy local foods. Also there is a street market near it, and accessible to subway, bus stops and train stations. If you want to stay at a place rather than a hostel, this is for you!

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location and good tours.

Disliked: One of the male receptionists should improve his courtesy.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alysa Hoskin

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 November 2011 Alysa would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean and a great value. The location couldn't be better, we really loved how close it was to the night markets and everything. Plus you have a private shower and Western toilet in your room, which is amazing for the price. We loved this place.

Disliked: It lacked a little bit of the hostel feel in the lobby, but head up to the 6th floor and the bar will give you that feeling.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Anjali Kulkarni

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

11 November 2011 Anjali would recommend this property

Liked: Location is excellent. WiFi was available in the Business room, but did not work on my laptop, so I had to go to nearby cafe to check the mail.

Disliked: Nobody at the reception could speak or understand English. I only hope China learns English fast. It was a big problem finding places, no map had English signs. For any queries, the reception staff diverted us to Business room and the girls sitting there were not interested in providing any information. They SIMPLY did not know. I think the Business Center is for selling tickets to tourist packages only.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very convenient location! And the hostel is clean - the property is a combination of a hotel and a hostel and has more hotel-like standards.

Disliked: Extremely expensive breakfasts - 35 yuan for a buffet. Same applies to dinners in the restaurant downstairs. Also the staff is not very friendly, although they can speak English and will help you if you ask them specifically.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Public toilets