HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Kings Joy Hostel

Hostel | 81 Meishi Street, Xuanwu District, Beijing, China 100051

87.7% Overall Rating

174 out of 188 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/04/2014)

"Good location. I came from Beijing west railway station by bus no.9 and get-off at Qianmen-Xi bus stop,then walk ,along Meishe street around 100m and hotel is there. Go to Summer palace by bus no.5 that the bus stop is…"

Read all Kings Joy Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 42.07
  • Breakfast USD 5.66

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Beijing?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Beijing

Beijing Hyde Courtyard Hotel
12.94 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.4% 30 reviews
Qianmen Courtyard Hotel
45.95 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
WC Hotel
21.04 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Beijing Tiananmen Courtyard
22.65 USD

Hostel 77.1% 3 reviews
Beijing Leo Hostel
9.71 USD

Hostel 76.6% 240 reviews
Three Legged Frog Hostel
7.28 USD

Hostel 82.7% 47 reviews
Beijing Leo Courtyard Hostel
8.09 USD

Hostel 68.9% 39 reviews
Lu Song Yuan
46.12 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.7%

Overall Rating

174 out of 188 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Kings Joy Hostel'

Atmosphere
81.6%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
77.6%
Cleanliness
92.8%
Staff
80.0%
Value
95.2%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 159 of 177 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

John Finnin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2012 John would recommend this property

Liked: Nice big rooms and nice comfortable beds. Clean spaces and nice bathroom with good hot shower. Good rooftop bar though a bit pricey. Excellent location too!

Disliked: No free internet for people without wifi. Some of the staff could be a bit firendlier and the tours seem overpriced

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very central location and incredibly cheap. It's actually a mid-range hotel which has converted a few of its larger rooms into dorms - so the dorms are spacious and very luxorious by hostel standards.

Disliked: One small problem. Beds in the dorm weren't assigned to specific guests - the cleaners didn't know who had checked out, and so didn't know which beds needed clean sheets. It wasn't a problem for me, but I imagine that some travellers arrive to find unmade beds.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were friendly, good location and big rooms.

Disliked: It's more of a hotel than a hostel so not a great place if you want to meet people.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Joe Grimes

With a large group / tour

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 February 2012 Joe would recommend this property

Liked: Location could not be beat! Great hostel/hotel! Rooms were clean and warm. Hot shower! Restaurant on 6th floor offered the best "western" food we found in Beijing. We found the staff to be helpful and accomodating, Vivian was who our group mostly interacted with and she was very helpful. We booked our Great Wall tour to Mutianyu trough the hostel and it was great!

Disliked: My only complaint was the expensive key deposit and that we were only allowed to have one key per room but that was just a little inconvenience.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Harsh Taneja

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 January 2012 Harsh would recommend this property

Liked: very good location

Disliked: Harsh left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

KaKeung Szeto

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 January 2012

Liked: Right in the center of Beijing. Easy walk to shops and restaurants, and very close to Tinnamen Square.

Disliked: It's more like a hotel vibe than a hostel. Staff wasn't very friendly. Common area is inside on the top floor and reaks of cigarette smoke. It's ok, but if you're looking to meet other people, don't stay here.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 December 2011

Liked: Good Location. Warm.

Disliked: Very rude and ignorant staff in both the reception and bar. Very helpful and friendly girl in the Business Centre. This is not a typical Backpacker Hostel as they like to describe themselves as, it is a cheap hotel for Chinese that want to attract the backpacker market without having the usual laid back, friendly market. No joke, the buffet breakfast was downstairs was the worst breakfast I have ever eaten, the breakfast in the bar upstairs was edible and the coffee wasn't too bad. Depressing place... go to either Happy Dragon Courtyard Hostel or Emperor Hostel, x100 better.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I lived in a single ensuite room and everything was working well ... it is clean, warm and safe. Hotel is well located in downtown area and what's more, there are a lot of restaurants around the hotel so that you can eat out if you want to enjoy local foods. Also there is a street market near it, and accessible to subway, bus stops and train stations. If you want to stay at a place rather than a hostel, this is for you!

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location and good tours.

Disliked: One of the male receptionists should improve his courtesy.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alysa Hoskin

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 November 2011 Alysa would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean and a great value. The location couldn't be better, we really loved how close it was to the night markets and everything. Plus you have a private shower and Western toilet in your room, which is amazing for the price. We loved this place.

Disliked: It lacked a little bit of the hostel feel in the lobby, but head up to the 6th floor and the bar will give you that feeling.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Anjali Kulkarni

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

11 November 2011 Anjali would recommend this property

Liked: Location is excellent. WiFi was available in the Business room, but did not work on my laptop, so I had to go to nearby cafe to check the mail.

Disliked: Nobody at the reception could speak or understand English. I only hope China learns English fast. It was a big problem finding places, no map had English signs. For any queries, the reception staff diverted us to Business room and the girls sitting there were not interested in providing any information. They SIMPLY did not know. I think the Business Center is for selling tickets to tourist packages only.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very convenient location! And the hostel is clean - the property is a combination of a hotel and a hostel and has more hotel-like standards.

Disliked: Extremely expensive breakfasts - 35 yuan for a buffet. Same applies to dinners in the restaurant downstairs. Also the staff is not very friendly, although they can speak English and will help you if you ask them specifically.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Public toilets

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: really nice and flexible english speaking staff, nice large rooms that are cleaned daily

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Raymond Hamill

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 October 2011 Raymond would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and 6bed dorm room was massive. Lots of space for a dorm. It was more like a hotel suite (2 rooms) turned into a single dorm. Shower pressure was excellent. Bar/restaurant on 6th floor is good for chilling/ wifi. meeting others, but a bit pricey

Disliked: No personal lockers in dorm and having to pay everytime you open secure locker at ground floor level. Travel agent did help me book ticket for airplane, but its frustrating that every question I asked her, was met with a "I have no idea" response, and she didn't seem to have any desire to ever find out the answers to my questions, even though she must be asked the same questions by so many other travellers.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was very clean nd n terms of facilities it was alrite. .

Disliked: I found that it was expensive for what you get, also i found that the staff were very laid back, and not inclined to help you much.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Adriana Demetrova

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 October 2011 Adriana would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

HECTOR CORDERO

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 October 2011 HECTOR would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are really clean, the price is good. In general is very worthy for the money that Ipaid.

Disliked: The staff, one recepcionist made me sure that he had booked two more extra nights apart from the ones booked through Hostelbookers, as I did not trust him, I checked it out with another colleague and he did not had done it. He did not excus for the mistake, the other colleague was also so rude.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

19 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 24hoursDrug store is located within 2minutes from KingsJoy Hostel. It was very helpful.

Disliked: Nothing

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

midori kishimoto

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 October 2011

Liked: location and price is ok but you can find much more better place near here

Disliked: toilet was broken everyday. there is no wifi in the room.i was stay 2nd floor was ok but 5th floor was no wifi. people is not friendly,they say sorry i will busy when i tell to them i lost my wallet. but she was really nice person at travel office.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Caroline Gross

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 October 2011 Caroline would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are great, and the location is superb -- walking distance to Tiennamen Square and the Forbidden City, smack in the middle of the shopping district and traditional hutongs on Xuanwu District. The room was very clean (though spartan), and the bed was comfortable. The free wireless internet was nice. The breakfast was good the one morning I had it -- worth the 35 yuan I'd say, especially since it included coffee. The food upstairs was good, too, for nights when you're too tired from a day's activity to go out. I also enjoyed the two activities planned through the hotel -- the Mutianyu Great Wall Trip and the Beijing Opera.

Disliked: Only very small things -- I didn't like the smell of the soap in the shower (though the handsoap smelled nice). Also some guests were noisy when I was trying to sleep, but earplugs solved that.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great value for money. Clean rooms.

Disliked: Chinese guests/staff talking/yelling very loudly in corridors was common the 3 nights I stayed here, the rooms not very noise proof. Shower bit more than Luke warm, but not hot...good pressure though and clean. Towels & linen provided.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Karan Rawat

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

12 October 2011 Karan would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and no hassle tourist booking center

Disliked: This is more like a hotel than a hostel Have to pay to use stuff like pool and football which are usually free in hostels

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

09 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Is indeed more a hotel than a hostel.

Disliked: Overall, everything was OK.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very big rooms, nice location close to subway and many shops

Disliked: There are no lockers in room and you have to pay for locker in lobby. Directions provided are really bad if you are not taking taxi