We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Kings Joy Hostel

Hostel | 81 Meishi Street, Xuanwu District, Beijing, China 100051

83.5% Overall Rating

204 out of 223 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/08/2015)

Sahil Raina thinks…

"Location of the property from metro stations and other tourist places. On the main road public transport is available. Police security is also nearby. Full of tourists so one feel secure as well."

Read all Kings Joy Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 40.63
  • Breakfast USD 5.47

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Beijing?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Beijing

Qianmen Courtyard Hotel
44.38 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Beijing Leo Hostel
10.16 USD

Hostel 81.0% 253 reviews
Three Legged Frog Hostel
10.16 USD

Hostel 83.4% 50 reviews
Beijing Leo Courtyard Hostel
8.59 USD

Hostel 68.5% 42 reviews
Lu Song Yuan
72.66 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Qianmen Hostel
10.94 USD

Hostel 79.5% 369 reviews
Beijing Far East International Youth Hostel
9.38 USD

Hostel 67.4% 270 reviews
Beijing Saga International Youth Hostel
10.94 USD

Hostel 84.2% 103 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.5%

Overall Rating

204 out of 223 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Kings Joy Hostel'

Atmosphere
72.0%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
75.2%
Cleanliness
78.4%
Staff
82.4%
Value
91.2%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 190 of 213 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jeanette Andersen

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

09 December 2012 Jeanette would recommend this property

Liked: The location was GREAT - just 5 min walk south of Tianamen Square, the subway and right next to the best commercial shopping street in town :)

Disliked: Jeanette left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hotels location is perfect, a good base to visit everything and a lot of small reasonably priced restaurants in the area. The upstairs bar, although did not have any windows, had comfortable seating, cheapish drinks, pool table, wifi and shisha.

Disliked: Not all of the staff were able to speak basic English which made check in a little difficult. Also after booking through Hostelbookers.com I sent an email directly to the hotel to confirm my booking as recommended, however the first two email addresses I used did not work and the one that did, did not reply for over a week to confirm.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Cafe & Bar in the 6th floor is awesome, with great views !

Disliked: Nothing bad to say,

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location, friendly staff and excelent breakfast.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ana Marie Bacul

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 September 2012 Ana Marie would recommend this property

Liked: I checked-in early at this hostel prior to the check-in schedule without having to pay extra due to the bad weather upon arriving in Beijing. The location was great, just a walking distance to some of the top tourist attractions. It may not be a typical hostel but I was lucky to have friendly roommates.

Disliked: I just wish that yo have WIFI in every room.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hotel was only 10 minutes from the metro and 20 minutes from the Forbidden City on foot. The staff in the tourist office were very helpful, writing names down in Chinese characters for us, and telling us which bus to catch. We were located in the middle of a hutong area with lots of little lanes to explore.

Disliked: The only problem we had was extracting a hotel voucher which we needed for our visas. It took lots of emails and about 3 weeks to get the voucher, and we were just about tto book at another hotel and lose our deposit, when they finally emailed it.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the place was clean and the staff very helpfull. we were in the dorms, even there, we had a personnal bathroom for our 6 beds, which doesn't happen often for that price. it's worth staying there if you want to vivit the city center.

Disliked: There wasn't any kitchen like said in their add, so if you wanted to eat, you had to eat at their restaurant or go out (difficult for small budgets). the place is very big, 5 floors, i don't know how many rooms, so its not the cozy family place.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a hotel in which some rooms have been converted to dorms. There is a large common space on the top floor bar with big couches, many tables, a pool table and broken fooseball table. Breakfast there is good. Rooms are comfortable, air conditioned, and have bathrooms.

Disliked: When I checked in (after 12), there was no bed assignment and none of the beds in the room were made up. I actually stayed here twice and that was the case both times- beds were not made, and I had to ask reception to change the sheets. Not that big of a deal, but it is a bit disorganized. I also stayed at Qianmen Hostel down the street, which has more of a hostel feel (more common space, doesn't look like a hotel), and they were also disorganized as to who-gets-what bed, so I guess this is a Beijing thing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Morten Jalksø

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

07 August 2012 Morten would recommend this property

Liked: The quality of a hotel and great location

Disliked: Lacks the atmosphere of a hostel

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: a cheap hostel

Disliked: not the typical hostel character

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Dominic Stockdale

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 August 2012

Liked: Good location.

Disliked: The rooms were damp and dirty. The beds had not been changed when we arrived, and were very hard and uncomfortable. Our private bathroom was dirty. The staff were not helpful and quite rude.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kyong Chang

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2012 Kyong would recommend this property

Liked: I paid little but it is good for hostel value thank you!!!!!!!!!

Disliked: Not much thank you

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

22 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location, , friendly staff

Disliked: non

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was very good close to subway and main sights. They offer nice variety of tours and the roof top bar is very convenient!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is convenient, Qian Men subway station and bus stops of many routes are just minutes away. Palace Museum is within walking distance for me. I took bus to major attractions like Temple of Heaven, Summer Palace and Olympic Stadium (needed one exchange for Stadium). There are many shops around. I could easily get daily supplies. Bed was comfortable for me and washroom was clean. Staff of the front desk and room services were nice and helpful.

Disliked: Some people smoked in smoke free area. WiFi was only available in Business Center (1/F) and the Bar area (6/F). Wired Internet provided in standard rooms. Dorms had no Internet access. Not enough space for 4 of us to store stuff in our 4-bed dorm located in 1/F. I kept my stuff in baggage and anther roommate managed to leave his stuff on bed. Hot water supply was not steady during my visit in hot early June. Watch for this if you are staying in cold days.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: VERY clean rooms. The location is one of the best in Beijing, close to the Tianmen Square and the Hutongs. Nice bar and view from the top floor bar.

Disliked: Its more a HOTEL than a hostel

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

23 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and good rooms for thé price

Disliked: The smell of tobacco on clean sheets ans bathrooms towels.....

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hotel atmosphere, hostel price!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Julieta Funes Rodríguez

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 June 2012 Julieta would recommend this property

Liked: Muy buena ubicación. Excelente relación precio calidad. No tiene ambiente de hostel, es un hotel. Recomendable para los q prefieren la tranquilidad y descansar.

Disliked: Julieta left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Juan Plaza

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 June 2012 Juan would recommend this property

Liked: the place was very nice, comfortable rooms and very clean, they have a nice restaurant on the top with nice views

Disliked: the staff speak little english

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in a 2-person private room, meaning a good and clean 3-star chinese hotel room, paying only 220 RMB / night for the room. The girls at the business center downstairs were very helpful. The bar at the upstairs has nice view to the Tiananmen square and a pool table that you have to pay 10 RMB / hour.

Disliked: The tours were a bit more expensive than in other hostels. The internet connection was really slow, but they changed the internet provider during our stay, so maybe it works better now. You have to pay 1 RMB / 15 mins to use the computers, but Wifi is free.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

02 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location near to Tianan'men. Not too noisy.

Disliked: Room hadn't been swept. Bit grey and soul-less.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 June 2012

Liked: The location is great

Disliked: Not really social place

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

31 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and spacious rooms. It´s fairly close to the centre, and just a 10 minutes walk from the subway. There is a nice bar on the top floor, though it's overpriced.

Disliked: Contrary to the description on hostelbookers, this is a hotel, not a hostel. The atmosphere and the attitude of the staff are accordingly, there is not much support for backpackers. For example: King's Joy Hotel does have facilities for booking tours to the Great Wall, etc., but the tours are overpriced by up to 50% compared to guidebook recommendations and commercial tour bookings almost next door. Also, the WIFI is very slow and you have to pay, if you want to use the computers (1 yuan for 15 minutes). In short: It's a very good value for money hotel, but don't expect the homely feeling most goods hostels will give you.