HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Kings Joy Hostel

Hostel | 81 Meishi Street, Xuanwu District, Beijing, China 100051

86.1% Overall Rating

184 out of 200 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/07/2014)

Dalena de Haan thinks…

"It is very central, close to some of the major attractions in the city. It is also very close to the subway and some major bus routes run past the hotel. There are many little shops and restaurants…"

Read all Kings Joy Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 42.26
  • Breakfast USD 5.69

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Beijing?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Beijing

Qianmen Courtyard Hotel
43.56 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
WC Hotel
21.13 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Beijing Leo Hostel
9.75 USD

Hostel 80.0% 244 reviews
Three Legged Frog Hostel
12.19 USD

Hostel 82.7% 47 reviews
Beijing Leo Courtyard Hostel
8.94 USD

Hostel 66.7% 40 reviews
Lu Song Yuan
75.10 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Qianmen Hostel
11.38 USD

Hostel 80.1% 362 reviews
Beijing Best Hotel
47.14 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.1%

Overall Rating

184 out of 200 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Kings Joy Hostel'

Atmosphere
77.6%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
75.2%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
82.4%
Value
92.8%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 171 of 190 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel - it's more like a hotel which offers 4 and 6 person shared rooms. Clean and well-located. English speaking 24-hour reception.

Disliked: There is lots of smoking in the hallways, despite signs forbidding it.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

lorenzo possamai

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

14 January 2013 lorenzo would recommend this property

Liked: the location is perfect: basically really close to Tiananmen square the rooms are big and clean and the staff was really nice and also speck good English really a good stay and good value too.

Disliked: nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Marintan Marintan

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 January 2013 Marintan would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: No wifi in the room

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Peter Pennell

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

04 January 2013 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: Proper hotel with hostel facilities

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

26 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is one of the best in Beijing. Tiananmen, Forbidden City, Temple of Heaven and Subway can be reached in only some minutes. I stayed 4 nights in a 4-people-dorm and it was really worth the price I paid.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

KITTIKUN ARNGKASAI

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 December 2012 KITTIKUN would recommend this property

Liked: Great and Cheap!

Disliked: KITTIKUN left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jeanette Andersen

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

09 December 2012 Jeanette would recommend this property

Liked: The location was GREAT - just 5 min walk south of Tianamen Square, the subway and right next to the best commercial shopping street in town :)

Disliked: Jeanette left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hotels location is perfect, a good base to visit everything and a lot of small reasonably priced restaurants in the area. The upstairs bar, although did not have any windows, had comfortable seating, cheapish drinks, pool table, wifi and shisha.

Disliked: Not all of the staff were able to speak basic English which made check in a little difficult. Also after booking through Hostelbookers.com I sent an email directly to the hotel to confirm my booking as recommended, however the first two email addresses I used did not work and the one that did, did not reply for over a week to confirm.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Cafe & Bar in the 6th floor is awesome, with great views !

Disliked: Nothing bad to say,

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location, friendly staff and excelent breakfast.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ana Marie Bacul

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 September 2012 Ana Marie would recommend this property

Liked: I checked-in early at this hostel prior to the check-in schedule without having to pay extra due to the bad weather upon arriving in Beijing. The location was great, just a walking distance to some of the top tourist attractions. It may not be a typical hostel but I was lucky to have friendly roommates.

Disliked: I just wish that yo have WIFI in every room.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hotel was only 10 minutes from the metro and 20 minutes from the Forbidden City on foot. The staff in the tourist office were very helpful, writing names down in Chinese characters for us, and telling us which bus to catch. We were located in the middle of a hutong area with lots of little lanes to explore.

Disliked: The only problem we had was extracting a hotel voucher which we needed for our visas. It took lots of emails and about 3 weeks to get the voucher, and we were just about tto book at another hotel and lose our deposit, when they finally emailed it.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the place was clean and the staff very helpfull. we were in the dorms, even there, we had a personnal bathroom for our 6 beds, which doesn't happen often for that price. it's worth staying there if you want to vivit the city center.

Disliked: There wasn't any kitchen like said in their add, so if you wanted to eat, you had to eat at their restaurant or go out (difficult for small budgets). the place is very big, 5 floors, i don't know how many rooms, so its not the cozy family place.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a hotel in which some rooms have been converted to dorms. There is a large common space on the top floor bar with big couches, many tables, a pool table and broken fooseball table. Breakfast there is good. Rooms are comfortable, air conditioned, and have bathrooms.

Disliked: When I checked in (after 12), there was no bed assignment and none of the beds in the room were made up. I actually stayed here twice and that was the case both times- beds were not made, and I had to ask reception to change the sheets. Not that big of a deal, but it is a bit disorganized. I also stayed at Qianmen Hostel down the street, which has more of a hostel feel (more common space, doesn't look like a hotel), and they were also disorganized as to who-gets-what bed, so I guess this is a Beijing thing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Morten Jalksø

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

07 August 2012 Morten would recommend this property

Liked: The quality of a hotel and great location

Disliked: Lacks the atmosphere of a hostel

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: a cheap hostel

Disliked: not the typical hostel character

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Dominic Stockdale

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 August 2012

Liked: Good location.

Disliked: The rooms were damp and dirty. The beds had not been changed when we arrived, and were very hard and uncomfortable. Our private bathroom was dirty. The staff were not helpful and quite rude.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kyong Chang

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2012 Kyong would recommend this property

Liked: I paid little but it is good for hostel value thank you!!!!!!!!!

Disliked: Not much thank you

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

22 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location, , friendly staff

Disliked: non

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was very good close to subway and main sights. They offer nice variety of tours and the roof top bar is very convenient!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is convenient, Qian Men subway station and bus stops of many routes are just minutes away. Palace Museum is within walking distance for me. I took bus to major attractions like Temple of Heaven, Summer Palace and Olympic Stadium (needed one exchange for Stadium). There are many shops around. I could easily get daily supplies. Bed was comfortable for me and washroom was clean. Staff of the front desk and room services were nice and helpful.

Disliked: Some people smoked in smoke free area. WiFi was only available in Business Center (1/F) and the Bar area (6/F). Wired Internet provided in standard rooms. Dorms had no Internet access. Not enough space for 4 of us to store stuff in our 4-bed dorm located in 1/F. I kept my stuff in baggage and anther roommate managed to leave his stuff on bed. Hot water supply was not steady during my visit in hot early June. Watch for this if you are staying in cold days.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: VERY clean rooms. The location is one of the best in Beijing, close to the Tianmen Square and the Hutongs. Nice bar and view from the top floor bar.

Disliked: Its more a HOTEL than a hostel

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

23 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and good rooms for thé price

Disliked: The smell of tobacco on clean sheets ans bathrooms towels.....

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hotel atmosphere, hostel price!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.