HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Kings Joy Hostel

Hostel | 81 Meishi Street, Xuanwu District, Beijing, China 100051

87.7% Overall Rating

174 out of 188 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/04/2014)

"Good location. I came from Beijing west railway station by bus no.9 and get-off at Qianmen-Xi bus stop,then walk ,along Meishe street around 100m and hotel is there. Go to Summer palace by bus no.5 that the bus stop is…"

Read all Kings Joy Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 42.11
  • Breakfast USD 5.67

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Beijing?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Beijing

Beijing Hyde Courtyard Hotel
12.96 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.4% 30 reviews
Qianmen Courtyard Hotel
45.99 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
WC Hotel
21.05 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Beijing Tiananmen Courtyard
22.67 USD

Hostel 77.1% 3 reviews
Beijing Leo Hostel
9.72 USD

Hostel 76.6% 240 reviews
Three Legged Frog Hostel
7.29 USD

Hostel 82.7% 47 reviews
Beijing Leo Courtyard Hostel
8.10 USD

Hostel 68.9% 39 reviews
Lu Song Yuan
46.15 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.7%

Overall Rating

174 out of 188 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Kings Joy Hostel'

Atmosphere
81.6%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
77.6%
Cleanliness
92.8%
Staff
80.0%
Value
95.2%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 159 of 177 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location Staff of the agency were helpful

Disliked: Staff at the reception don't understand english and don't want to call us a taxi Never made our room even if we asked Dumpling party sucks (only staff and chinese discussion

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Jordan Bland

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 June 2013

Liked: Some of the staff were pretty cool

Disliked: Really not A hostel feel expensive for China and even Beijing standards . Not really A good area to meet people just A classy bar at the top . The Lockers were A joke 1rmb every time you opened its basic security and should be free .

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Saskia Veldenzer

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2013 Saskia would recommend this property

Liked: very good located, nearby the vorbidden city and the hutongs. i`ve never slept in a hostel, where everybody have so much space for himselve and the luggage!!! very clean.

Disliked: wifi not in the room, only in the hotel bar.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Daphne Teh

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 May 2013 Daphne would recommend this property

Liked: King Joy's Hostel is relatively easy to find from Qianmen station. Overall, it was decently clean; it wasn't spic and span, but it was definitely not dirty. One of my roommates had left a dirty bowl in the toilet which stayed there for most of my stay, but otherwise, it wasn't dirty. The cleaners were conscientious about providing toilet paper when necessary and the staff were helpful with directions.

Disliked: I thought that while the hostel was easy to find, it is not as near to the subway as it describes itself to be. Its definitely NOT far, but it isn't AS NEAR as it appears to be. Otherwise, its pretty great.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

markus bosebeck

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 May 2013 markus would recommend this property

Liked: the room was very big and clean and seamed more like a real hotel room than the normal hostel room very nice.

Disliked: markus left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: El edificio muy bueno, habitaciones buenas y restaurant con vista panorámica, buena comida.

Disliked: El personal deja mucho que desear.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 May 2013

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: The people from t reception are very rude. They work really slow, and they refuse to give you any extra service or attention, even if u try to pay for it. The rooms dont get cleaned daily. On top of it all, they refused to give us back the 25usd deposit on the room keys. They are robbers.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

26 April 2013

Liked: Location is fantastic. It's a 5 min walk to the subway and there's plenty of local restaurants around. One of the tourist information staff in the lobby was very helpful and spoke excellent English (the other 2, not so much). The view from the Bar upstairs is great.

Disliked: We had to ask for the floor to be cleaned when we checked in - it was filthy - and it smelled like ciggarette smoke. Housekeeping only changed half of the sheets (???). Despite there being no smoking signs in all the corridoors, there are ashtrays in the corridors and there is always someone smoking so the smoke comes into your room. The heating is central so after March 15, you have no control over the heat of your room (It's still very cold at night in April). There's no WiFi in the rooms, only in the lobby and the bar upstairs. The barman appears to hate his customers. And the water runs barely hot enough for a shower.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robert Mackway-Jones

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

21 April 2013 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, near the southern end of Tiananmen Square

Disliked: Robert left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

jacob bradley

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2013 jacob would recommend this property

Liked: great location and easy to find. The tour booking staff were friendly and helpful.

Disliked: the bar/cafe were very slow and didnt seem to know what they were doing.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient services for travelers, flexible/helpful staff, traveler-friendly atmosphere

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place is more of a hotel rather than what I think of as a hostel, but it is definitely worth a stay here for the location alone. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The staff are very helpful.

Disliked: My complaints are: I stayed in the four-beds dorm, and the bathroom only has a shower curtain to separate the water from the rest of the bathroom, so the entire bathroom was always wet. I also had a small problem with the dryer not starting when I put in my token, but that was quickly solved by one of the very helpful english-speaking staff. And the mattresses are quite thin, but still on the comfy side, so that's ok too.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it's worth to stay there for the view from the bar alone. fancy bathrooms

Disliked: atmosphere is noexistent. it's basically a hotel

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel - it's more like a hotel which offers 4 and 6 person shared rooms. Clean and well-located. English speaking 24-hour reception.

Disliked: There is lots of smoking in the hallways, despite signs forbidding it.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

lorenzo possamai

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

14 January 2013 lorenzo would recommend this property

Liked: the location is perfect: basically really close to Tiananmen square the rooms are big and clean and the staff was really nice and also speck good English really a good stay and good value too.

Disliked: nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Marintan Marintan

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 January 2013 Marintan would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: No wifi in the room

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Peter Pennell

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

04 January 2013 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: Proper hotel with hostel facilities

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

26 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is one of the best in Beijing. Tiananmen, Forbidden City, Temple of Heaven and Subway can be reached in only some minutes. I stayed 4 nights in a 4-people-dorm and it was really worth the price I paid.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

KITTIKUN ARNGKASAI

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 December 2012 KITTIKUN would recommend this property

Liked: Great and Cheap!

Disliked: KITTIKUN left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jeanette Andersen

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

09 December 2012 Jeanette would recommend this property

Liked: The location was GREAT - just 5 min walk south of Tianamen Square, the subway and right next to the best commercial shopping street in town :)

Disliked: Jeanette left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hotels location is perfect, a good base to visit everything and a lot of small reasonably priced restaurants in the area. The upstairs bar, although did not have any windows, had comfortable seating, cheapish drinks, pool table, wifi and shisha.

Disliked: Not all of the staff were able to speak basic English which made check in a little difficult. Also after booking through Hostelbookers.com I sent an email directly to the hotel to confirm my booking as recommended, however the first two email addresses I used did not work and the one that did, did not reply for over a week to confirm.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Cafe & Bar in the 6th floor is awesome, with great views !

Disliked: Nothing bad to say,

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location, friendly staff and excelent breakfast.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ana Marie Bacul

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 September 2012 Ana Marie would recommend this property

Liked: I checked-in early at this hostel prior to the check-in schedule without having to pay extra due to the bad weather upon arriving in Beijing. The location was great, just a walking distance to some of the top tourist attractions. It may not be a typical hostel but I was lucky to have friendly roommates.

Disliked: I just wish that yo have WIFI in every room.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hotel was only 10 minutes from the metro and 20 minutes from the Forbidden City on foot. The staff in the tourist office were very helpful, writing names down in Chinese characters for us, and telling us which bus to catch. We were located in the middle of a hutong area with lots of little lanes to explore.

Disliked: The only problem we had was extracting a hotel voucher which we needed for our visas. It took lots of emails and about 3 weeks to get the voucher, and we were just about tto book at another hotel and lose our deposit, when they finally emailed it.