We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Kings Joy Hostel

Hostel | 81 Meishi Street, Xuanwu District, Beijing, China 100051

83.5% Overall Rating

204 out of 223 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/08/2015)

Sahil Raina thinks…

"Location of the property from metro stations and other tourist places. On the main road public transport is available. Police security is also nearby. Full of tourists so one feel secure as well."

Read all Kings Joy Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 40.83
  • Breakfast USD 5.50

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Beijing?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Beijing

Qianmen Courtyard Hotel
44.60 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Beijing Leo Hostel
10.21 USD

Hostel 81.0% 253 reviews
Three Legged Frog Hostel
10.21 USD

Hostel 83.4% 50 reviews
Beijing Leo Courtyard Hostel
8.64 USD

Hostel 68.5% 42 reviews
Lu Song Yuan
73.02 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Qianmen Hostel
10.99 USD

Hostel 79.7% 370 reviews
Beijing Far East International Youth Hostel
9.42 USD

Hostel 67.4% 270 reviews
Beijing Saga International Youth Hostel
9.42 USD

Hostel 84.2% 103 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.5%

Overall Rating

204 out of 223 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Kings Joy Hostel'

Atmosphere
72.0%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
75.2%
Cleanliness
78.4%
Staff
82.4%
Value
91.2%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 190 of 213 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Erlend Kjernli

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2014

Liked: Great location

Disliked: This place only wants your money. Rude staff that doesn't help you at all. For instance, we had booked a tour from a travel agency and they wanted to call the hostel to confirm the trip. We asked the guy in the reception if he had a message for us. He looked on us like we bothered him an said "no message". "So no-one have called us"? we asked. He answers that someone called, but no message. "Who called"? "A girl". You get the picture, we had to drag the information out of him. Luckily the company called again while we were standing in the reception. There were no lockers in our dorm room and we had to argue with the staff if that was true or not. Then she asked us to use the lockers by the reception that costs money. We payed 20 rmb to use the washing machine and the dryer. None of them wore working properly, so we ended up with dirty and wet laundry. So to sum up: We changed hostel. Never again.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

pui lung chun-laine

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 June 2014 pui lung would recommend this property

Liked: The location is excellent, nearby the palace, Tianmen, the old streets area, metro and bus stops. The standard is three star hotel, very spacious rooms with 6 beds. Comfortable to stay in this hotel, or hostel.

Disliked: The rooms do not have wifi connection. the only disadvantage, but we all sit down at the downsairs big lobby, is ok.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jonas Koepke

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2014 Jonas would recommend this property

Liked: Clean room, friendly staff, nice area

Disliked: Wifi only in the lobby

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

ruth valentine

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 April 2014 ruth would recommend this property

Liked: Bed Comfort:v good Size: good single Noise: v quiet Shelf: no Bed side light: yes Plug Socket next to bed: yes Able to get a good nights sleep:great Lockers- Not in room – small lockers in lobby Space in Bed Room Lots of space and a few cupboards Staff helpful Local Maps Not at desk Wife Availability & Strength Only in lobby – not much seating or plug sockets – gotta sit on the marble floor sometimes – not the best Toilets/Shower Room Shower and toilet in room – 1 shared between 6 – pretty good / no smell Kitchen Facilities- none Drinking Water Availability – none – can buy a big bottle for Y5 Communal Room/Social Areas –none Cleanliness – ok the floor needed sweeping in the room a lot of hair Was it friendly and welcoming/ good atmosphere/ would I go back?- this is a hotel with a few rooms turned into dorms - not really a hostel – but very conviniet for Tieneman square and Forbiden City – walking distance from Quinemen Square Subway – hotel easy to spot – big grey building with red writing – in a interesting spot – lots of locals around – cheap places to eat nearby – cheap bar over the rd called no 98- handy…No frills hotel

Disliked: Bed Comfort:v good Size: good single Noise: v quiet Shelf: no Bed side light: yes Plug Socket next to bed: yes Able to get a good nights sleep:great Lockers- Not in room – small lockers in lobby Space in Bed Room Lots of space and a few cupboards Staff helpful Local Maps Not at desk Wife Availability & Strength Only in lobby – not much seating or plug sockets – gotta sit on the marble floor sometimes – not the best Toilets/Shower Room Shower and toilet in room – 1 shared between 6 – pretty good / no smell Kitchen Facilities- none Drinking Water Availability – none – can buy a big bottle for Y5 Communal Room/Social Areas –none Cleanliness – ok the floor needed sweeping in the room a lot of hair Was it friendly and welcoming/ good atmosphere/ would I go back?- this is a hotel with a few rooms turned into dorms - not really a hostel – but very conviniet for Tieneman square and Forbiden City – walking distance from Quinemen Square Subway – hotel easy to spot – big grey building with red writing – in a interesting spot – lots of locals around – cheap places to eat nearby – cheap bar over the rd called no 98- handy…No frills hotel

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff, location, spacious rooms

Disliked: note that hotel, not hostel, wifi only in lobby/biz center

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Victor Chen

Alone

Visiting friends or family

17 April 2014 Victor would recommend this property

Liked: Close to main areas of Tianamen and subway is less than 4 min walk. Shops are everywhere so very convenient. Hostel is quiet too. No crazy loud party people

Disliked: No wifi in rooms. Just lobby only

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. I came from Beijing west railway station by bus no.9 and get-off at Qianmen-Xi bus stop,then walk ,along Meishe street around 100m and hotel is there. Go to Summer palace by bus no.5 that the bus stop is located on Me is he street too. There are a lot of restaurants and food stall along the way to hotel. For facility, it has two elevators, so don't worry to carry heavy bags to your room. However, in dorm room,there has no soap, shampoo, no free drinking water, no free towel. Friendly staffs.

Disliked: No WiFi in room. No cleaning service will be provided if there has no someone checkout. Anyway, you could ask them in case your dorm room need cleaning.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mark Elsner

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 April 2014 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: Quite a comfortable place to stay with highly attentive & professional service from the staff, from the desk attendants who were marvelous to the housekeeping staff who were courteous and efficient.

Disliked: Not one thing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Chan

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

02 April 2014 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: The bed was so comfortable, the 6-bed dorm was huge and spacious. Great location. Check-in staff was friendly but a little slow.

Disliked: There is not too much character but all you gotta do is step outside the doors and you're right in the heart of Beijing!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Chadi EL RAYES

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 March 2014 Chadi would recommend this property

Liked: All is good in general

Disliked: They have no kitchen service or tv room. The staff can be nicer

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas Rotte

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 February 2014 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: 6 bed dorm was huge, any other hostel would have turned it into a 12 bed dorm. Very clean room (cleaned every day). Friendly staff. Lots of restaurants, shops and a subway station nearby.

Disliked: No wifi in the rooms

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maria Theresa Lagleva

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 February 2014 Maria Theresa would recommend this property

Liked: Very safe and accessible. The staff are very friendly and they speak English fluently. The place is cozy with good wifi connection at the lobby area. It is very clean and very affordable. I would love to go back to Beijing and stay at this very same hotel. I would also recommend this to my friends.

Disliked: It would be a lot better if Wifi is accessible in the rooms

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Johanna Clayton

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 February 2014 Johanna would recommend this property

Liked: Very comfortable beds, the elevators, the warm rooms, the very secure luggage facilities

Disliked: Wifi only in the lobby. Terrible directions from the airport: ************************************************************************** Take the Airport Train that links to the Subway, then switch to line 2 and take that to Qianemen. Take Exit C, there's a sign for Meishi St, walk down this street ,approx 7-12 mins, until you reach Kings Jostel Hostel- very visible sign.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The price was suitable for what you get (dorm room)

Disliked: Bathroom in the hotel foyer was filthy at times but the bathroom inside the dorm was clean.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sheryl Newell

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 February 2014 Sheryl would recommend this property

Liked: It's really a hotel with some of the rooms in dorm style. Our room was huge so had loads of space and the location is in walking distance to some of the big attrractions eg Forbidden City. Subway stop really close too. There's a buffet breakfast for extra 25yuan which is pretty sufficient.

Disliked: Slightly annoying could only get wifi in the lobby area and as the bar was shut there's no communal area to meet other backpackers. Great if you're already in a group & want a bit more luxury than normal :)

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Anton Glavatyi

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 December 2013 Anton would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Anton left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

04 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good,, a very nice place to stay.. the room where i lived was big and cozy.. nice neighbours.

Disliked: there is no internet in the rooms.. it's bad,, you need to go to the lobby which is sometimes not comfortable.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is exceptional, situated quite close to the train station and a few minutes walk to the tianamen square and forbidden city

Disliked: Could do with free lockers to put our luggage in.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Emma Logan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 November 2013 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: Great

Disliked: N/A

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: So close to tien an men square

Disliked: Some of the staff were quite rude but Jenny was fantastic

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the best dorms have been to, and i've been to many many hostels! big rooms, clean and great beds!

Disliked: nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location near sights and lots of places to eat, spacious rooms, helpful staff in the 'business center'

Disliked: The reception staff weren't very helpful, when we arrived we asked to book an extra night and got dismissed by an uninterested guy telling us we had to book it online. You had to pay to use the computer and only 1 of 5 was working. It's not really a hostel, no free drinking water (boiled water or purified) as we have experienced in every other hostel. There is no kitchen and the bar is expensive, not to mention the rude staff up there who are not helpful or barely even talk to you when you order something. The place seems to be geared more towards a hotel than a hostel.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

23 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked it's central location ! Next to the subway station Qianmen, everything was easily accessed. Forbidden City etc everything was nearby.. Water could be bought ice-cold at the reception which I liked. My shared 6-bed dorm was cleaned everyday and the price was worth it. I was travelling alone but nothing was stolen and I felt safe all the time.

Disliked: I thought that the staff could smile a little bit more often, however the security guides at the front door always said nihao, which made me smile while entering. Unfortuntalely the Internet in the Viewing Bar on the sixth floor was very unreliable and online worked once in a while. We found out that it had special problems with apple products, however the staff was always trying to assist even though it didn't change the speed of the internet. One minus was also that the price was a bit more expensive than it said on my booking confirmation. Nothing major, but about 3€... I was a bit unlucky with two very annoying and loudly snorring roommates but that was not the Hotels fault ;-)

82.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was perfect and it was slighter cheaper than another popular hostel a little further up which i was surprised about the room was superb. I actually thought they had given me the wrong room. Even though it was a dorm, it felt upper class. Always clean. The furniture was elegant and I can honestly say it has been the one of the best dorms I've stayed in.

Disliked: A minor complaint but if I had to say something, it was there was no room light in the room and we had to rely on the light coming from the other room in 201.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, staff and the room.

Disliked: The hostel had a deal with a firm who took us to the Great Wall. Er had to pay extra on the trip without any warning about it. The hostel should inform us about this before we booked the tour.