HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Columba Hostel Vina del Mar

Hostel

Valparaiso 618, Vina del Mar, Chile

Atmosphere 73%

Cleanliness 68%

Facilities 74%

Location 82%

Safety 78%

Staff 71%

Value 74%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Free Airport Transfer
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Nightclub
  • Parking
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room 1.50USD
  • Towel 1.50USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Vina del Mar?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 73%

Cleanliness 68%

Facilities 74%

Location 82%

Safety 78%

Staff 71%

Value 74%

Showing 1-6 of 6 reviews

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Excellent breakfast (although doesn't begin until 9 am). Helpful staff. Great location.

Disliked: Some of the shared bathrooms were under construction so the lines got long. Can be loud at night and the beds are just so-so.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great vibes, by far the best place to stay in the centro of Viña, great rooms, great staff, great evenings, great nights, great people all over the place - good memories garanteed.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It was fantastic hostel. Located in center and just 10 minutes from bus terminal. The building was old, however staff were cleaned up every morning.

Disliked: Hot shower was sometimes not so hot.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife

Liked: Great location and lots of rooms. Nice TV area to chill.

Disliked: Definitely overpriced.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: especially the location and the price are great, no limits of hot showers, good breakfast

Disliked: when I got there, the guy in the reception wanted to give me a much higher price (20 USD) than I read in hostelbookers (12 USD), then I made a reservation but he insisted on paying higher price talking about IVA and some other reasons - finally I paid the rest of what the reservation said (about 10.000 CLP), other weakness if I compare it to other hostels where I have stayed is the staff - in particular the guy that has a morning shift in reception was not interested in guests at all (many times even didnt say hello, didnt remember the names, didnt ask about anything - I would say - not a guy to work in a hostel). The third thing I didnt like was the lockers - many of them are broken and if there are more guest in the room travelling alone, they wouldnt have a locker in their room. Posibility of luggage store is for 2 USD, usually it is for free.

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing

Liked: Located right in the city center. About 15-20 minutes walking distance to the closest beach (which is quite small, but okay). Friendly staff. Breakfast was okay, nothing out of the ordinary.

Disliked: Not too clean bathrooms, which I guess is party the fault of the guests but since it's such a big place it needs constant cleaning. Many lockers in the rooms were broken so it didn't feel too safe to leave your things there. Three computers for the guests to use, but only one of them was working though, which for that many guests is a bit too little. They did have WiFi, but it only worked in the common areas, not in the rooms.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa

Liked: Great location, good communal room with a tv, brekky

Disliked: Bathrooms were pretty gross (but I am a bit of a princess)

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 80%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Quite cheap. Clean rooms, enough of bathrooms. Rather close to the beach - like 15 minutes on foot.

Disliked: Dirty bathrooms. There was no window in our room (4-beds room)

Customer would recommend this property

31% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
31% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: This guesthouse stole me 22 €, without accepting me to change my booking for few days ! I tried to exchange with them by email, but no response... business is business... they don't care about backpackers' issues and agenda changes...

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Rooms are reasonably priced but well kept and spácious. Staff went above and beyond to help us out. They gave honest recommendations about places to visit.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability