We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Kalagen Hostel

Hostel | Calle Valparaiso 618, Viña del Mar, Chile 2571543

77.4% Overall Rating

22 out of 25 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/07/2014)

"Great vibes, by far the best place to stay in the centro of Viña, great rooms, great staff, great evenings, great nights, great people all over the place - good memories garanteed."

Read all Kalagen Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.66
  • Towel USD 1.66

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Viña del Mar?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Viña del Mar

Hostal Vista Hermosa 26
22.42 USD

Guesthouse 84.7% 33 reviews
Gisela & Carlos House
27.40 USD

Guesthouse 94.7% 58 reviews
Hospedajes Mirta
40.00 USD

Guesthouse 92.0% 21 reviews
Little Castle
19.10 USD

Hostel 94.5% 12 reviews
Che Lagarto Hostel Viña del Mar
13.00 USD

Hostel 81.6% 80 reviews
Casona Española
33.21 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Casa Roma
16.60 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
apartment mar y puerto
1,826.54 USD

Apartment Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.4%

Overall Rating

22 out of 25 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Kalagen Hostel'

Atmosphere
76.8%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
75.2%
Cleanliness
75.2%
Staff
72.0%
Value
76.0%
Safety
81.6%
Refine your results Showing 13 of 24 reviews
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great vibes, by far the best place to stay in the centro of Viña, great rooms, great staff, great evenings, great nights, great people all over the place - good memories garanteed.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

HIROKI OHASHI

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 June 2014 HIROKI would recommend this property

Liked: It was fantastic hostel. Located in center and just 10 minutes from bus terminal. The building was old, however staff were cleaned up every morning.

Disliked: Hot shower was sometimes not so hot.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Benjamin Lawless-Jennings

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

16 December 2013 Benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and lots of rooms. Nice TV area to chill.

Disliked: Definitely overpriced.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ondrej Pinkas

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 September 2013 Ondrej would recommend this property

Liked: especially the location and the price are great, no limits of hot showers, good breakfast

Disliked: when I got there, the guy in the reception wanted to give me a much higher price (20 USD) than I read in hostelbookers (12 USD), then I made a reservation but he insisted on paying higher price talking about IVA and some other reasons - finally I paid the rest of what the reservation said (about 10.000 CLP), other weakness if I compare it to other hostels where I have stayed is the staff - in particular the guy that has a morning shift in reception was not interested in guests at all (many times even didnt say hello, didnt remember the names, didnt ask about anything - I would say - not a guy to work in a hostel). The third thing I didnt like was the lockers - many of them are broken and if there are more guest in the room travelling alone, they wouldnt have a locker in their room. Posibility of luggage store is for 2 USD, usually it is for free.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

15 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Located right in the city center. About 15-20 minutes walking distance to the closest beach (which is quite small, but okay). Friendly staff. Breakfast was okay, nothing out of the ordinary.

Disliked: Not too clean bathrooms, which I guess is party the fault of the guests but since it's such a big place it needs constant cleaning. Many lockers in the rooms were broken so it didn't feel too safe to leave your things there. Three computers for the guests to use, but only one of them was working though, which for that many guests is a bit too little. They did have WiFi, but it only worked in the common areas, not in the rooms.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

andrea spindel

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa

12 January 2013 andrea would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, good communal room with a tv, brekky

Disliked: Bathrooms were pretty gross (but I am a bit of a princess)

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Alina Kalinchenko

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 January 2013 Alina would recommend this property

Liked: Quite cheap. Clean rooms, enough of bathrooms. Rather close to the beach - like 15 minutes on foot.

Disliked: Dirty bathrooms. There was no window in our room (4-beds room)

31.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Julien Boutheau

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 January 2013

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: This guesthouse stole me 22 €, without accepting me to change my booking for few days ! I tried to exchange with them by email, but no response... business is business... they don't care about backpackers' issues and agenda changes...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Liam Stanton

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 December 2012 Liam would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms are reasonably priced but well kept and spácious. Staff went above and beyond to help us out. They gave honest recommendations about places to visit.

Disliked: Liam left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

11 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The big living room

Disliked: Everything was ok, except there were no matches in the kitchen to light the gas.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Thales Vicente de Souza

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

06 November 2012 Thales would recommend this property

Liked: People were very friendly and nice.

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cristian Daniel Ulloa Da Silva

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

15 August 2012 Cristian Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: i really love this hostel becouse is really clean, and is in the middle of the city so i get everything close, but the thing that i like more, is they offer me a lot of club to go out at night for free, for staying in the hostel, that make me feel like a vip in the city, they have security cameras two!!

Disliked: i did't find thing that i didn't like really, but they are working in the decoration inside, but i think that is ok

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, really friendly and hepful staff an the most "home like" hostel we have been to in South America. Highly recommend it!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.