We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Che Lagarto Hostel Viña del Mar

Hostel | Diego Portales, no 131, Viña del Mar, Chile 56

81.6% Overall Rating

71 out of 80 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/02/2014)

Mark Candey thinks…

"Good Wifi, free computers to use, decent enough breakfast and secure place. Good value for Vina del Mar."

Read all Che Lagarto Hostel Viña del Mar reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Wake-up calls
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

We accept credit cards: Visa, MasterCard, Magna, American Express & Diners Club.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Viña del Mar?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Viña del Mar

Casona Española
33.30 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Casa Roma
16.65 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Little Castle
19.15 USD

Hostel 94.5% 12 reviews
Hospedajes Mirta
40.00 USD

Guesthouse 92.0% 21 reviews
Gisela & Carlos House
27.47 USD

Guesthouse 94.7% 58 reviews
Kalagen Hostel
12.48 USD

Hostel 77.4% 25 reviews
Hostal Vista Hermosa 26
22.48 USD

Guesthouse 84.7% 33 reviews
apartment mar y puerto
1,831.62 USD

Apartment Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.6%

Overall Rating

71 out of 80 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Che Lagarto Hostel Viña del Mar'

Atmosphere
82.4%
Location
73.6%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
81.6%
Staff
88.0%
Value
80.8%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 50 of 66 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jaqueline Kunz

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2014

Liked: The staff is helpfull if you ask something..

Disliked: There is not a hostel atmosphere.. the rooms are very cold..

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Mark Candey

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 February 2014 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: Good Wifi, free computers to use, decent enough breakfast and secure place. Good value for Vina del Mar.

Disliked: Only 2 showers and toilets for whole place / not sure if any rooms were en/suite. WiFi did not reach my bed in the dorm. Not many people staying there and thus a quiet location. I wanted a bit more atmosphere.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very helpful and friendly with any issues or questions! Felt very at home in this hostel! The beds were very comfortable and each person had a safe and secure locker for their belongings even though we never felt unsafe at any time. Not a far walk from the beach or the centre of town but slightly off the beaten track but the staff and people made up for that.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Francis Jones

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

10 February 2013 Francis would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast was great compared to other chilean hostels. They even had brown bread which is unheard of in Chile. I also liked the garden and the sun beds which was great for chilling out and socialzing .

Disliked: Very noisy staircase which made it hard to sleep when your room is next to it.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Rocio Ayelen Nieto

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 January 2013

Liked: good location and the staff is helpful. breakfast is good.

Disliked: the house need a lot of work and maintenance. there was a leak on the roof of our bathroom wivh made everything dirty. the kitchen is not actually in the house but outside so pray that is doesnt rain!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfy beds, helpful staff, good breakfast and a good kitchen

Disliked: Not a lot really, bit cold but it's a big building

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Padraig Phelan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 March 2012 Padraig would recommend this property

Liked: Great garden / common room.

Disliked: ITS A 30MIN BUS RIDE FROM THE BEACH!! Apparently there was no space available in the 12 bed dorm I booked to they upgraded me to a... 12 bed dorm?! Makes no sense. 12 bed dorm is really crowded - shared male and female shower rooms and only 2 cubicles (shared m&f). There were bikes to rent but were absolute death traps.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife

20 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a really pretty and spacious hostel. The staff were lovely, we arrived really early in the morning, very tired from the bus and although we couldn't check in they let us sleep on the sofas and gave us blankets! Rooms were comfortabke and bathrooms were nice And clean. We were a little walk from the nice beaches but only 5 mins into town.

Disliked: When checking out we were told that to pay in chillean pesos it cost us an extra 19% (apparently for tax). However if we paid in US dollars we wouldn't have to. It is worth asking to pay later and changing your pesos to dollars in town. Also they told me that the 10% paid on hostelbookers is a booking fee rather than a deposit so they didnt take this off. However the exchange rates for dollars were quite good so i ended up paying less than i originally thought anyway!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Lorraine Taylor

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 December 2011 Lorraine would recommend this property

Liked: It has a very big garden, great in the summer

Disliked: Lorraine left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

13 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Space

Disliked: not lot of people..

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

04 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff, comfortable beds and clean rooms.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sarah Stead

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 November 2011 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful garden area and nice big rooms, good spaces to hang out in, work, eat, play etc.

Disliked: Shower temperature was pretty unpredictable!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff here, especially phillipe, are extremely helpful! Good place to meet people. Organize cool social activities. BBQ is a must!

Disliked: Bed bugs! I got eaten alive ... But they handled it really well. Moved me immediately, checked other guests were ok and washed all my belongings. They even gave me antihistamines from their first aid kit!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

09 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast was realy good. The beach is very near, about 10minutes walking.

Disliked: The beds are very instable.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

lou stewart

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 August 2011

Liked: it was the cheapest option we could find in Vina/Valpo, so i suppose you get what you pay for! but upsides were - good wifi, decent breakfast, beds quite comfy. staff were ok, location not bad.

Disliked: the whole place is just really run down, cold and shabby - really lacking any atmosphere. not really that clean, not enough bathrooms/showers, kitchen very basic and not attached. would do if you're on a tight budget but pretty below average.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: big old building with lots of space and a big garden/front yard, a nice change to cramped city hostels. breakfast was ok (toaster!) shower was hot :) could just see the sea and had some spectacular sunsets. good lockers. good beds

Disliked: The place needs a refresh... old is normally nice but in this case old was sad and tired. there was no heating except for in the reception/breakfast room. at 12am I asked if the staff would mind if the music was lowered and he told me it was the policy of the hotel chain to have music playing from 8am till 1am every day. kitchen is in a separate building outside but ok. bathrooms are mouldy! watch out for 19% tax added for payment in pesos

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Rachael Fahrenbach

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2011 Rachael would recommend this property

Liked: I was thrilled to be there for mexican night. The staff, the guests, and the beds were great.

Disliked: The repairs being done on one of the bathrooms was at times annoying.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness

Disliked: Bit far from the centre

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Dario Kiper

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2011 Dario would recommend this property

Liked: The staff, the most helpful and friendly. Specially the manager, accomodating as to every need

Disliked: The bathroom

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really good breakfast, well equipped kitchen and helpful staff. Wifi worked well.

Disliked: The showers ran hot and cold at will and was very small. I constantly heard people going to the toilet from my bed which was gross. I also had a number of bites (bedbug bites?) that increased in number after each night's sleep. I am convinced it was something living in the bed as it wasn't very warm out!

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 April 2011

Liked: Not really much good to say

Disliked: Everything!!!! I would look for somewhere else to stay as one night was one night too many.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfy beds in the six bed dorm, really friendly and helpful staff, good breakfast, good kitchen facilities (although food they have on offer also sounds good if you prefer not to cook), close to the beach and town centre in what felt like a safe area.

Disliked: The only challenge was a cold shower on our second morning. Viña is starting to get cold this time of year, so it was not great to be in a cold shower (although refreshing!). However, it was warm one of the two days we stayed there.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good kitchen and big garden and Yasna was really helpful.

Disliked: They messed up our booking so we ended up in a 16 bed dorm instead of a private room and they also tried to overcharge us.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, large and friendly staff

Disliked: nothing