HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Casa Volante Hostal

Hostel | Fischer 27, Cerro Concepción, Valparaiso, Chile 2370654

95.9% Overall Rating

63 out of 65 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/04/2014)

Jonathan McWilliams thinks…

"Excellent wifi, large secure lockers and a locked room, friendly staff who made excellent recommendations for the walking tour and what to do, quirky design and located up the hill which fits well…"

Read all Casa Volante Hostal reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Valparaiso?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Valparaiso

Hostal Casa Valparaíso
16.14 USD

Guesthouse 88.7% 114 reviews
Casa Fischer Hostal
15.25 USD

Guesthouse 92.0% 122 reviews
Hostal Casa Aventura
16.14 USD

Guesthouse 91.1% 68 reviews
La Colombina
26.90 USD

Guesthouse 97.9% 4 reviews
Girasoles de Valparaíso
14.35 USD

Guesthouse 73.3% 3 reviews
Casa Kultour
21.52 USD

Guesthouse 93.7% 28 reviews
La Valija Hostel
15.25 USD

Hostel 91.6% 13 reviews
Allegretto B&B
17.94 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
95.9%

Overall Rating

63 out of 65 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Casa Volante Hostal'

Atmosphere
94.4%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
92.8%
Cleanliness
96.0%
Staff
96.0%
Value
97.6%
Safety
97.6%
Refine your results Showing 51 of 62 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Teegan Green

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2013 Teegan would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were friendly, very informative and helpful. We found that one of our power outlets weren't working and informed a staff member and they rectified this immediately and was fixed ASAP that day. The room was awesome, spacious and well presented. The hostel was very clean and the staff where always maintaining this.cd

Disliked: We didn't have any dislikes about this hostel but it would have been nice to have breakfast included but saying that fruit was supplied 24/7 and this was a nice touch.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The beds. Holy cow but these have to be the best beds I've slept in in over a year. And I was in the 5 person DORM! Wider than your normal twin, longer, and in GREAT shape. The location is awesome, the staff are helpful and friendly, there is a computer, free wifi, towels, warm comforters, clean bathrooms. The kitchen is a bit small but even with the hostel almost full there didn't seem to be any issues coordinating. Valparaiso is an amazing city, quirky, colourful, interesting, charming. And the hostel is just like that. There is fruit available all day long, free coffee/tea. No breakfast, but it is not something I missed at all even after a whole stream of breakfast-included hostels in Chile (which I think odd in the context of the world of hostels).

Disliked: Errr...the fact that I have to leave it? I'll come back to Valpo some day and I will stay here.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

29 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: estiloso, limpio, bonito y bien ubicado. un gran hostal con las 3 B: bueno, bonito y barato.

Disliked: ...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Petra Kemper

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 April 2013 Petra would recommend this property

Liked: super atmosphaere, super Design, and very friendly personal

Disliked: Petra left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and tidy, massive beds, good internet, great location, safe with good lockers, helpful staff

Disliked: Showers a bitncold

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

06 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing place

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are friendly and very helpful. The hostel itself is clean and the beds are quite comfortable. 2 of the bathrooms are modern and there is always hot water. The common room area has comfy sofas and a big tv.

Disliked: The kitchen is quite small and we had to wait to use it a couple of times. The beds are quite creaky and there are no ladders for the top bunk so it might be difficult for some people. It can get a little cold in the evenings!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

06 March 2013

Liked: It was in a nice area and fresh fruit was provided daily.

Disliked: The hostel can be quite loud in the evenings and mornings - the walls are thin - and the wifi was almost non-existant. When you did manage to connect it would drop out every 5 mins and then reject you connecting again.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Heel vriendelijk, prettig, goede handdoeken hulp persoonlijk.

Disliked: Noting

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice atmosphere, very helpful and friendly stuff, fruit for free all day.

Disliked: /

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: we just loved our stay at Casa Volante! the situation is great in the historic neighbourhood, the owners and all the staff are so friendly that the second you enter this guesthouse , you feel like you are part of a family. And it becomes true as we met wonderful people there. It's mainly because the Guesthouse is small so you can met each other and talk with everybody. It's very clean, bathrooms are cleaned several times a day, the kitchen is well equipped. Definitely recommend this GH!

Disliked: Nothing, maybe except the birds noise on one side of the GH but I think they can't do anything special about that ...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paula Berton

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2013 Paula would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect! The rooms are clean, and the staff of the hostel were really friendly. They helped me with everything I needed.

Disliked: Paula left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Freundlicher Empfang, viele Tips und Infos durch Personal.

Disliked: Unser Zimmer roch leider deutlich nach Urin. Man bekommt keinen Hausschlüssel, dafür gibt es angeblich eine 24h-Rezeption. Wenn diese aber selber schläft und zudem schwerhörig ist, ist nach spätestens 15 Minuten Sturmklingeln das ganze Hostel wach. Ansonsten ein feiner Aufenthalt gewesen.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lidia Chaves Ferreira

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 February 2013 Lidia would recommend this property

Liked: O Casa Volante é um hostel novo, muito fofo e bonitinho. Uma coisa que me agradou muito foi a limpeza do ambiente, os banheiros eram novinhos e bem limpos! O staff também faz a diferença: todos foram muito solícitos e simpáticos. Super recomendo!

Disliked: A ÚNICA coisa chata sobre o Casa Volante é o fato deles não oferecerem um café da manhã completo. Eles disponibilizam frutas, chá e café, mas em Valparaíso tudo é meio caro e meio longe, então é um pouco chato ter que sair em busca do restante do café-da-manhã... Mas nada que não possa ser resolvido, pois perto do hostel existem alguns mercados onde você pode comprar seus complementos no dia anterior e deixar na geladeira do hostel.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sophie Schneiter

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 February 2013 Sophie would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is very nice! Nice room, big and very comfortable bed, clean, nice staff, muy buena onda! Moreover, this hostel is very well located.

Disliked: Unfortunately, there is no breakfast including.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

maria eugenia kokaly tapia

Alone

City break

05 February 2013 maria eugenia would recommend this property

Liked: la casa es hermosa y con mucha onda. ademas, todo se nota bien pensado, es comodo y limpio. sigan así y mucha suerte!

Disliked: nada que decir

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

LUCIE PLACE

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 February 2013 LUCIE would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness of the staff

Disliked: The dog that was barking till 3am right in front of our windows!

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Viviana Quaroni

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 January 2013 Viviana would recommend this property

Liked: Brand new, well-decorated in a cute and personal style hostel with knowledgable and kind staff! Although breakfast is not included, they make up for it by offering daily coffee/tea and fresh fruit and with a whole shelf of free food! The double rooms are big and even have a tv set! Location is excellent.

Disliked: The fridge is a bit small, but it's cleaned out regularly, so it's not too much of an issue!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maya Gunnarsson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 January 2013 Maya would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly staff. The decor was super funky and cute. Storage big enough for your whole pack. Reading lamps in each bed. Really good vibes.

Disliked: Only 2 bathrooms! And it would have been nice if they had a computer.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

martina cermakova

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 January 2013 martina would recommend this property

Liked: Location,spacey room,living room area stylish

Disliked: Just two toilets,I hade to wait with my legs crossed for 10 min or more Had room 7-can bee quite noise from people and washing mashine Some people think that cooking at 12pm is normal

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice common area, staff were really nice and helpful, good location, free wifi (but was quite slow), free fruit tea and coffee

Disliked: Kitchen was a bit small, not enough bathrooms, rooms smelled bad

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sam Roberton

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 January 2013 Sam would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and comfortable place, with nice helpful (and friendly) staff.

Disliked: My only complaint would be that having only two bathrooms means you may well find yourself waiting for a shower or toilet at popular times.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic!! New and very friendly. The owners are really helpful and lovely. Fresh fruit, tea and coffee all day. Beds very comfy and warm. Only two bathrooms but wasn't an issue and always clean and great showers. A good crowd too. Nice areas to hang out in and a clean kitchen.

Disliked: Nada

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals

24 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: me parecio bien lindo el hostal, muy bien decorado y con una ubicación excelente. y el precio es mas que razonable.

Disliked: la chapa de mi habitación tenia un defecto y me costo el primer dia abrir la puerta con la llave, pero me ayudaron a resolverlo al tiro.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Silvia Donoso

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 December 2012 Silvia would recommend this property

Liked: beautiful room, good linen, great location and the tips of the staff were really usefull. We'll be back with more time.

Disliked: they could change the self-catering policy for breakfast included