HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Casa Volante Hostal

Hostel | Fischer 27, Cerro Concepción, Valparaiso, Chile 2370654

96.0% Overall Rating

72 out of 75 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (27/07/2014)

Teresa Tanner thinks…

"Lovely place. Hot showers, REAL COFFEE, you can make anytime!!! Excellent location, friendly staff. We really liked staying here and would have stayed longer if we could have"

Read all Casa Volante Hostal reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Valparaiso?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Valparaiso

Hostal Casa Valparaíso
15.71 USD

Guesthouse 88.7% 114 reviews
Casa Fischer Hostal
12.22 USD

Guesthouse 91.9% 123 reviews
Hostal Casa Aventura
15.71 USD

Guesthouse 90.7% 69 reviews
La Colombina
26.18 USD

Guesthouse 97.9% 4 reviews
Casa Kultour
20.94 USD

Guesthouse 93.7% 28 reviews
Hotel Montealegre
34.03 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
La Valija Hostel
14.83 USD

Hostel 91.6% 13 reviews
Allegretto B&B
17.45 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
96.0%

Overall Rating

72 out of 75 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Casa Volante Hostal'

Atmosphere
95.2%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
92.0%
Cleanliness
96.0%
Staff
96.0%
Value
96.8%
Safety
98.4%
Refine your results Showing 62 of 73 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Guhr

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 December 2013 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: great location, lovely hostel and very friendly and helpful staff. we loved it

Disliked: /

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

04 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very Great. Almost all speak multiple languages and are very educated. They make good recommendations and know many things. They are very helpful and nice people.

Disliked: Just when you first arrive you must look for the main cross street. The actual street is small and not well known by many people.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Simon Bentley

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 October 2013 Simon would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were so great and willing to drop everything for you. The kitchen was well equiped so you could easily cook. Beautiful little hostel, good beds, good atmosphere.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Charlie Cole

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway

28 October 2013 Charlie would recommend this property

Liked: Faultless place. Great staff, great location, great room. Definitely recommended.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quirky hostel in a great location! Staff were very helpful at check-in, room was clean, comfortable and warm (gets a little chilly at night). Breakfast is not included but there is a well equipped kitchen there. Internet speed was excellent.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Large lockers in rooms that are stored under the beds are great and fit all your belongings in which is good as the rooms are small. Free fruit, tea and coffee all day which is great. Wifi was really good and location was great.

Disliked: Night staff had jazz music on until late. Only 2 bathrooms (shower and toilet) so was sometimes a wait until you could use one.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ross Neal

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 September 2013 Ross would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hostel with lots of character! Friendly & helpful staff. Good sized common area to meet people. Nice having fruit and hot drinks available all day. Location is perfect. Kitchen and bathroom facilities are great and always clean. The best thing is the comfortable beds and pillows! What more can I say.. This is the perfect hostel!

Disliked: Ross left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fraser MacRae

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 September 2013 Fraser would recommend this property

Liked: It has an excellent location and very friendly staff who are happy to help you plan your stay

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Vince Szoke

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2013 Vince would recommend this property

Liked: freindly, home-like atmosphere, lovely interior, fleixible and more than helpful staff, central location, ... the first hotel in chile in which room heating was included, fruits and coffe for free, ...

Disliked: hmm... nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Moritz

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 June 2013 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: This was one of the best hostels on my entire round the world trip. The staff really treated me as a guest, not as a customer - super friendly and helpful, top location in the most interesting part of the city, yet totally quiet... it is the kind of place that you don´t want to leave.

Disliked: having to leave

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, very nice staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Teegan Green

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2013 Teegan would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were friendly, very informative and helpful. We found that one of our power outlets weren't working and informed a staff member and they rectified this immediately and was fixed ASAP that day. The room was awesome, spacious and well presented. The hostel was very clean and the staff where always maintaining this.cd

Disliked: We didn't have any dislikes about this hostel but it would have been nice to have breakfast included but saying that fruit was supplied 24/7 and this was a nice touch.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The beds. Holy cow but these have to be the best beds I've slept in in over a year. And I was in the 5 person DORM! Wider than your normal twin, longer, and in GREAT shape. The location is awesome, the staff are helpful and friendly, there is a computer, free wifi, towels, warm comforters, clean bathrooms. The kitchen is a bit small but even with the hostel almost full there didn't seem to be any issues coordinating. Valparaiso is an amazing city, quirky, colourful, interesting, charming. And the hostel is just like that. There is fruit available all day long, free coffee/tea. No breakfast, but it is not something I missed at all even after a whole stream of breakfast-included hostels in Chile (which I think odd in the context of the world of hostels).

Disliked: Errr...the fact that I have to leave it? I'll come back to Valpo some day and I will stay here.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

29 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: estiloso, limpio, bonito y bien ubicado. un gran hostal con las 3 B: bueno, bonito y barato.

Disliked: ...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Petra Kemper

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 April 2013 Petra would recommend this property

Liked: super atmosphaere, super Design, and very friendly personal

Disliked: Petra left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and tidy, massive beds, good internet, great location, safe with good lockers, helpful staff

Disliked: Showers a bitncold

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

06 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing place

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are friendly and very helpful. The hostel itself is clean and the beds are quite comfortable. 2 of the bathrooms are modern and there is always hot water. The common room area has comfy sofas and a big tv.

Disliked: The kitchen is quite small and we had to wait to use it a couple of times. The beds are quite creaky and there are no ladders for the top bunk so it might be difficult for some people. It can get a little cold in the evenings!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

06 March 2013

Liked: It was in a nice area and fresh fruit was provided daily.

Disliked: The hostel can be quite loud in the evenings and mornings - the walls are thin - and the wifi was almost non-existant. When you did manage to connect it would drop out every 5 mins and then reject you connecting again.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Heel vriendelijk, prettig, goede handdoeken hulp persoonlijk.

Disliked: Noting

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice atmosphere, very helpful and friendly stuff, fruit for free all day.

Disliked: /

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: we just loved our stay at Casa Volante! the situation is great in the historic neighbourhood, the owners and all the staff are so friendly that the second you enter this guesthouse , you feel like you are part of a family. And it becomes true as we met wonderful people there. It's mainly because the Guesthouse is small so you can met each other and talk with everybody. It's very clean, bathrooms are cleaned several times a day, the kitchen is well equipped. Definitely recommend this GH!

Disliked: Nothing, maybe except the birds noise on one side of the GH but I think they can't do anything special about that ...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paula Berton

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2013 Paula would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect! The rooms are clean, and the staff of the hostel were really friendly. They helped me with everything I needed.

Disliked: Paula left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Freundlicher Empfang, viele Tips und Infos durch Personal.

Disliked: Unser Zimmer roch leider deutlich nach Urin. Man bekommt keinen Hausschlüssel, dafür gibt es angeblich eine 24h-Rezeption. Wenn diese aber selber schläft und zudem schwerhörig ist, ist nach spätestens 15 Minuten Sturmklingeln das ganze Hostel wach. Ansonsten ein feiner Aufenthalt gewesen.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lidia Chaves Ferreira

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 February 2013 Lidia would recommend this property

Liked: O Casa Volante é um hostel novo, muito fofo e bonitinho. Uma coisa que me agradou muito foi a limpeza do ambiente, os banheiros eram novinhos e bem limpos! O staff também faz a diferença: todos foram muito solícitos e simpáticos. Super recomendo!

Disliked: A ÚNICA coisa chata sobre o Casa Volante é o fato deles não oferecerem um café da manhã completo. Eles disponibilizam frutas, chá e café, mas em Valparaíso tudo é meio caro e meio longe, então é um pouco chato ter que sair em busca do restante do café-da-manhã... Mas nada que não possa ser resolvido, pois perto do hostel existem alguns mercados onde você pode comprar seus complementos no dia anterior e deixar na geladeira do hostel.