HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Luna Sonrisa

Guesthouse | Templeman 833, Cerro Alegre, Valparaiso, Chile 2370951

95.8% Overall Rating

39 out of 39 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/03/2014)

"Good location with other hostels on the hill in tourist district, very concious of safety, very clean. As good as it gets for a hostel"

Read all Luna Sonrisa reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Valparaiso?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Valparaiso

Planeta Lindo Hostel
16.32 USD

Hostel 94.6% 10 reviews
MM 450 Hostel Boutique
16.14 USD

Hostel 97.8% 9 reviews
PataPata Hostel
17.94 USD

Hostel 87.5% 19 reviews
Allegretto B&B
17.94 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Casa Kultour
21.52 USD

Guesthouse 93.7% 28 reviews
Hostal San Pedro
14.35 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hostal Casa Aventura
16.14 USD

Guesthouse 91.1% 68 reviews
Casa Kreyenberg
16.14 USD

Guesthouse 92.5% 238 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
95.8%

Overall Rating

39 out of 39 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Luna Sonrisa'

Atmosphere
95.2%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
90.4%
Cleanliness
97.6%
Staff
96.0%
Value
94.4%
Safety
99.2%
Refine your results Showing 31 of 36 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

16 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location with other hostels on the hill in tourist district, very concious of safety, very clean. As good as it gets for a hostel

Disliked: Everything was good, a little noisy, some minor shower water issues, kitchen area is a little cramped.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Willliam Metcalfe

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

08 February 2014 Willliam would recommend this property

Liked: The property is clean, well-maintained, attractive, and comfortable. I was there with my 21-year-old daughter. We did not want to leave. The breakfasts are delicious. The people who run the place are helpful, friendly, cheerful, and knowledgeable.

Disliked: There is nothing to dislike about Luna Sonrisa.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Tina Coffield

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

26 January 2014 Tina would recommend this property

Liked: Nice friendly staff, who offer lots of good information. Good location.

Disliked: Tina left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

13 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff , quiet location with easy access to restuarants and the city. great breakfasts, good wifi, safe luggage storage and lots of info on city, bus routes, etc

Disliked: common areas small

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

William Schouteten

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 January 2014 William would recommend this property

Liked: The location is quite nice, up on one of the hills. Breakfast is nice as well and when we left early, we were given a sandwich for on the bus!

Disliked: When we made the reservation, we were sent an e-mail asking for our arrival details and we replied saying specifically we didn't want an inside room. We never received an answer, but we got the inside room anyways (room 5), it gives out into the common area and was very loud. After two nights, we moved to room 2 with private bathroom, a bit more expensive, but definitely worth it, it's away from the common areas and has a window opening outside.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tobias Leupold

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 December 2013 Tobias would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice location in Cerro Alegre, amazing breakfast included, spotlessly clean, cool old building, very comfortable bed and spacious dorms

Disliked: Very quiet and the indoor community area is limited to the kitchen area (rather small and downstairs) so it is not the most social hostel.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carmel Pezzullo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 July 2013 Carmel would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were incredibly helpful and understanding. Hostel was clean and showers had hot water. Location is great, in an awesome part of town.

Disliked: Doors to the dorms don't block out light.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bradley Blain

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 April 2013 Bradley would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was super clean and the staff were really friendly and helpful. Upon arrival thy provided us with a map and suggestions of places to visit and areas that were not very safe and should therefore avoid. Breakfast was delicious- real coffee (a rarity in Chile), freshly baked bread, home-made jam and marmalade and fresh fruit! Perfect for all of the hill and stair climbing that we undertook in Valparaiso!

Disliked: There is not much to dislike although on our first night someone got mugged as they were trying to enter the hostel. This made us a little paranoid but we had no problems and I think the hill that this hostel is on is generally pretty safe. Had a couple of hot showers too which was a bit unpleasant but we ended up staying for 5 nights instead of 2 and the shower was super hot on all other occasions.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and best breakfast in whole South America!

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely property in great area in Cerro Alegre, close to restaurants, bars etc, but quiet on street itself. Dorms set out in such a way that you have plenty of your own space, good lockers etc. Good breakfast with decent coffee and excellent whole meal bread, fruit etc.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ewa Olton

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 February 2013 Ewa would recommend this property

Liked: Everything:location,rooms,staff and lovely breakfast:)

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Helpful explanation of map.

Disliked: Pillows not that comfy.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Consuelo Manriquez

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 January 2013 Consuelo would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent service and very clean. This is the best place to stay. The staff goes above and beyond in a very humble way.

Disliked: Consuelo left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Scott Richards

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 December 2012 Scott would recommend this property

Liked: The Luna Sonrisa is a quaint little hostel with a nice relaxed atmosphere. The staff are very friendly and knowledgeable, and fluent in English and Spanish. They can help set you up with a wide range of activities, or just hang out for a chat or a drink in the off hours.

Disliked: A little squeaky (Stairs) and noisy at times...the noise travels easily with the open layout. The shower was a little fussy, but eventually worked fine. Overall my complaints are very minor. The perks of the place outweigh the cons.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked how everyone has their own space in the dorm. Not the usual set up with bunk beds, etc. Nice area of town!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Susie Thurmond

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2012 Susie would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and friendly, helpful staff

Disliked: Problems with one of the hot water heaters led to cold showers two morningsu

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: city itself and location of the hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: simple property. friendly staff and great location.

Disliked: no hot shower in the evening.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice, clean, and quiet place in a good location. Pretty good breakfast as well.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maya Martinez

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 May 2012 Maya would recommend this property

Liked: I loved my stay at Luna Sonrisa. The locaiton is incredible, with a great view and lots of little shops near by. The breakfast is quite tasty too :)

Disliked: Maya left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

David Bishop

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 April 2012 David would recommend this property

Liked: Well positioned in a nice part of Valparaiso.

Disliked: Not enough places at the breakfast table - we had to wait for over 20 minutes before we could sit down, although the breakfast was good. Disliked our initial warnings about the city too. I'm all for being cautious and sensible with your belongings when traveling, however the "advice" we were given on arrival all but told us we'd certainly be mugged as soon as we set foot out of the door!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hui Hua Chua

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 April 2012 Hui Hua would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, quiet and home-like atmosphere.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was really nice and helpful! Breakfast was awesome, best we ever had up to now in south america! Nice rooms and everything really cosy and clean!

Disliked: ---

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owners are always available for help and tips; the breakfast is absolutely delicious - you could stay there all day eating the yummy breads and jams. The beds were very comfortable and the rooms have adequate space for your "stuff".

Disliked: Not very much natural light throughout but only minor compared with the advantages of staying here.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was very friendly. Good breakfast. Good location. Hostel well kept.

Disliked: We very much disliked the room we were given (and its price). It was a double room, clean and with good beds. So far so good. However, the room had no window to the outside, but only a window to the main entrance hall, so you won´t leave it open during your sleep. It was also not possible to lock the window, everybody could have easily slided it open. All this for a very high price. Staff was friendly and tried to give us another room on the second day, but we had already found a much better hostel in the neighborhood. So we left with mixed emotions. For half the money and with correct description of the room, erverything would have been acceptable.