We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Luna Sonrisa

Guesthouse | Templeman 833, Cerro Alegre, Valparaiso, Chile 2370951

95.9% Overall Rating

42 out of 42 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/04/2014)

Tom Grosvenor thinks…

"Nice property, great high ceilings, very light and airy. Great breakfast. Good location to explore the hills."

Read all Luna Sonrisa reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Valparaiso?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Valparaiso

Planeta Lindo Hostel
13.49 USD

Hostel 92.2% 14 reviews
MM 450 Hostel Boutique
23.81 USD

Hostel 97.8% 9 reviews
PataPata Hostel
12.87 USD

Hostel 87.5% 19 reviews
Allegretto B&B
16.65 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Casa Kultour
19.98 USD

Guesthouse 93.7% 28 reviews
Hostal Tricahue
19.98 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hostal Casa Aventura
14.99 USD

Guesthouse 90.2% 70 reviews
Casa Kreyenberg
14.99 USD

Guesthouse 92.5% 238 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
95.9%

Overall Rating

42 out of 42 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Luna Sonrisa'

Atmosphere
95.2%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
91.2%
Cleanliness
97.6%
Staff
95.2%
Value
96.0%
Safety
99.2%
Refine your results Showing 35 of 40 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Tom Grosvenor

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 April 2014 Tom would recommend this property

Liked: Nice property, great high ceilings, very light and airy. Great breakfast. Good location to explore the hills.

Disliked: The private room didn't feel very private as looked out onto the main hallway and curtains didn't fit the windows. Shower was never more than lukewarm.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephen James

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 April 2014 Stephen would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel. Big dorm, good breakfast. Relaxed atmosphere. Friendly staff. Lend you metro card to travel outside Valpo. Stayed 6 days.

Disliked: Rooms are close together, so sometimes noisy at night & in morning when people leave early Smoking area / smoke gets inside hostel.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: More homely than some other hostels and interesting location, breakfast was also good.

Disliked: Ensuite bathroom was a little cramped

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: can't think of anything

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

16 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location with other hostels on the hill in tourist district, very concious of safety, very clean. As good as it gets for a hostel

Disliked: Everything was good, a little noisy, some minor shower water issues, kitchen area is a little cramped.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Willliam Metcalfe

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

08 February 2014 Willliam would recommend this property

Liked: The property is clean, well-maintained, attractive, and comfortable. I was there with my 21-year-old daughter. We did not want to leave. The breakfasts are delicious. The people who run the place are helpful, friendly, cheerful, and knowledgeable.

Disliked: There is nothing to dislike about Luna Sonrisa.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Tina Coffield

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

26 January 2014 Tina would recommend this property

Liked: Nice friendly staff, who offer lots of good information. Good location.

Disliked: Tina left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

13 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff , quiet location with easy access to restuarants and the city. great breakfasts, good wifi, safe luggage storage and lots of info on city, bus routes, etc

Disliked: common areas small

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

William Schouteten

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 January 2014 William would recommend this property

Liked: The location is quite nice, up on one of the hills. Breakfast is nice as well and when we left early, we were given a sandwich for on the bus!

Disliked: When we made the reservation, we were sent an e-mail asking for our arrival details and we replied saying specifically we didn't want an inside room. We never received an answer, but we got the inside room anyways (room 5), it gives out into the common area and was very loud. After two nights, we moved to room 2 with private bathroom, a bit more expensive, but definitely worth it, it's away from the common areas and has a window opening outside.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tobias Leupold

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 December 2013 Tobias would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice location in Cerro Alegre, amazing breakfast included, spotlessly clean, cool old building, very comfortable bed and spacious dorms

Disliked: Very quiet and the indoor community area is limited to the kitchen area (rather small and downstairs) so it is not the most social hostel.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carmel Pezzullo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 July 2013 Carmel would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were incredibly helpful and understanding. Hostel was clean and showers had hot water. Location is great, in an awesome part of town.

Disliked: Doors to the dorms don't block out light.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bradley Blain

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 April 2013 Bradley would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was super clean and the staff were really friendly and helpful. Upon arrival thy provided us with a map and suggestions of places to visit and areas that were not very safe and should therefore avoid. Breakfast was delicious- real coffee (a rarity in Chile), freshly baked bread, home-made jam and marmalade and fresh fruit! Perfect for all of the hill and stair climbing that we undertook in Valparaiso!

Disliked: There is not much to dislike although on our first night someone got mugged as they were trying to enter the hostel. This made us a little paranoid but we had no problems and I think the hill that this hostel is on is generally pretty safe. Had a couple of hot showers too which was a bit unpleasant but we ended up staying for 5 nights instead of 2 and the shower was super hot on all other occasions.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and best breakfast in whole South America!

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely property in great area in Cerro Alegre, close to restaurants, bars etc, but quiet on street itself. Dorms set out in such a way that you have plenty of your own space, good lockers etc. Good breakfast with decent coffee and excellent whole meal bread, fruit etc.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ewa Olton

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 February 2013 Ewa would recommend this property

Liked: Everything:location,rooms,staff and lovely breakfast:)

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Helpful explanation of map.

Disliked: Pillows not that comfy.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Consuelo Manriquez

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 January 2013 Consuelo would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent service and very clean. This is the best place to stay. The staff goes above and beyond in a very humble way.

Disliked: Consuelo left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Scott Richards

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 December 2012 Scott would recommend this property

Liked: The Luna Sonrisa is a quaint little hostel with a nice relaxed atmosphere. The staff are very friendly and knowledgeable, and fluent in English and Spanish. They can help set you up with a wide range of activities, or just hang out for a chat or a drink in the off hours.

Disliked: A little squeaky (Stairs) and noisy at times...the noise travels easily with the open layout. The shower was a little fussy, but eventually worked fine. Overall my complaints are very minor. The perks of the place outweigh the cons.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked how everyone has their own space in the dorm. Not the usual set up with bunk beds, etc. Nice area of town!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Susie Thurmond

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2012 Susie would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and friendly, helpful staff

Disliked: Problems with one of the hot water heaters led to cold showers two morningsu

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: city itself and location of the hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: simple property. friendly staff and great location.

Disliked: no hot shower in the evening.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice, clean, and quiet place in a good location. Pretty good breakfast as well.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maya Martinez

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 May 2012 Maya would recommend this property

Liked: I loved my stay at Luna Sonrisa. The locaiton is incredible, with a great view and lots of little shops near by. The breakfast is quite tasty too :)

Disliked: Maya left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

David Bishop

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 April 2012 David would recommend this property

Liked: Well positioned in a nice part of Valparaiso.

Disliked: Not enough places at the breakfast table - we had to wait for over 20 minutes before we could sit down, although the breakfast was good. Disliked our initial warnings about the city too. I'm all for being cautious and sensible with your belongings when traveling, however the "advice" we were given on arrival all but told us we'd certainly be mugged as soon as we set foot out of the door!