HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Hostal Jacaranda & Home Guesthouse

Almirante Montt 327, Cerro Alegre, Valparaiso, Chile

Atmosphere 92%

Cleanliness 96%

Facilities 89%

Location 99%

Safety 97%

Staff 93%

Value 94%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • BBQ
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • WiFi

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 3.69USD
  • Towel 0.80USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Valparaiso?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 92%

Cleanliness 96%

Facilities 89%

Location 99%

Safety 97%

Staff 93%

Value 94%

Showing 1-6 of 6 reviews

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Relaxation / spa

Liked: It's beautifully decorated.

Disliked: I never knew exactly who was in charge.

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 May 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The location is awesome! They also tell you a lot about the sights of Valpo on arrival.

Disliked: There was no atmosphere at all. Also there is no dining area, just a living room with a table and only 3 chairs (which was very inconvenient considering there were at least 12 guests staying at the same time we were there). The showers were either boiling hot or cold (a good shower temperature was impossible). We would not recommend the hostel....

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great host, excellent comfy and clean bedsKitchen for useWarm showers

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very friendly and relaxed hostel. All the people staying there we're friendly and Tomas was great especially when we first arrived he went through the city and had lots of recommendations. Tomas also helped us when we were interested in doing a wine trip and as a result we stayed an extra night! Showers were hot, beds comfy and warm and the location was great - close to lots of restaurants and bars for the evening when we did not want to be walking in the less desirable parts of town.

Disliked: Although this hostel is on the quieter side there were often people up late at night and our room was next to the road and the cars going past were quite loud.

Customer would recommend this property

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Living room nice, kitchen ok, wifi ok.

Disliked: The hostel manager wasn't answering the door, had to wake him up by ringing the bell for minutes. Strangely there was a note on the door pointing to a different address, and there was another note on the door go toback to the first address?? No breakfast

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Really good location and the host provide a really good introduction of places to go and see in Valpo. Good if you want to have a chat to some local Portenos.

Disliked: Cold shower the first night and lack of common areas so no where to meet others and no real character.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Brilliant hostel, very homely, lovely garden in the front for breakfast (not included, but you can use the kitchen!) and the two owners are super hosts. I felt really at home here- perfect place to explore valparaiso!

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating


01 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Excellent information available. Good outside garden eating area.

Disliked: Small lounge

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Brilliant location! Situated in between two beautiful hills, Cerro Concepcion and Cerro Alegre. Comfy and wide mattresses which makes for a good snooze.

Disliked: Kitchen is slightly small, however there are plenty of delectable restaurants close by.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Relaxation / spa, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: One day comes to this hotel before my reservation, to sleep in the private, small and very comfortable room with tv satelital, with a bath deprived from 22:30 up to 10:30 that there facilitate to you of nice that are his owners, the value is very low for the comfort and technology that they have, very cleanly and like, then change to the bedroom of 4 beds with a small terrace, very cleanly and very drafty, exelntes douche with warm water, and a spectacular garden, everything what has planted can be occupied by you to cook ... it was a wizard ... the smell of natural tomatoes and basil was spectacular every morning thank you gerardo and christian for looking after ourselves every day

Disliked: I need mooore days in this spectacular city & jacaranda hostel!!

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability