We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostal Jacaranda

Guesthouse | Almirante Montt, 327, Cerro Alegre, Valparaiso, Chile 2370880

96.0% Overall Rating

134 out of 143 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/05/2014)

Natalie Durant thinks…

"Very friendly and relaxed hostel. All the people staying there we're friendly and Tomas was great especially when we first arrived he went through the city and had lots of recommendations. Tomas also…"

Read all Hostal Jacaranda reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • BBQ area
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room
  • Children's play area

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 3.83
  • Towel USD 0.83

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Valparaiso?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Valparaiso

Costa Azul
10.80 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Casa Kreyenberg
14.99 USD

Guesthouse 92.5% 238 reviews
Planeta Lindo Hostel
13.49 USD

Hostel 92.2% 14 reviews
Hostal Tricahue
19.98 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Luna Sonrisa
16.65 USD

Guesthouse 95.9% 42 reviews
MM 450 Hostel Boutique
19.98 USD

Hostel 97.8% 9 reviews
PataPata Hostel
12.51 USD

Hostel 87.5% 19 reviews
Allegretto B&B
16.65 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
96.0%

Overall Rating

134 out of 143 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostal Jacaranda'

Atmosphere
94.4%
Location
99.2%
Facilities
91.2%
Cleanliness
97.6%
Staff
96.8%
Value
95.2%
Safety
97.6%
Refine your results Showing 115 of 143 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great host, excellent comfy and clean beds Kitchen for use Warm showers

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Natalie Durant

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 May 2014 Natalie would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and relaxed hostel. All the people staying there we're friendly and Tomas was great especially when we first arrived he went through the city and had lots of recommendations. Tomas also helped us when we were interested in doing a wine trip and as a result we stayed an extra night! Showers were hot, beds comfy and warm and the location was great - close to lots of restaurants and bars for the evening when we did not want to be walking in the less desirable parts of town.

Disliked: Although this hostel is on the quieter side there were often people up late at night and our room was next to the road and the cars going past were quite loud.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 January 2014

Liked: Living room nice, kitchen ok, wifi ok.

Disliked: The hostel manager wasn't answering the door, had to wake him up by ringing the bell for minutes. Strangely there was a note on the door pointing to a different address, and there was another note on the door go toback to the first address?? No breakfast

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 July 2013

Liked: Really good location and the host provide a really good introduction of places to go and see in Valpo. Good if you want to have a chat to some local Portenos.

Disliked: Cold shower the first night and lack of common areas so no where to meet others and no real character.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

14 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Felt like small family home sharing with the two owners, great location and great local knowledge.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tori Thompson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 April 2013 Tori would recommend this property

Liked: Brilliant hostel, very homely, lovely garden in the front for breakfast (not included, but you can use the kitchen!) and the two owners are super hosts. I felt really at home here- perfect place to explore valparaiso!

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Brilliant location! Situated in between two beautiful hills, Cerro Concepcion and Cerro Alegre. Comfy and wide mattresses which makes for a good snooze.

Disliked: Kitchen is slightly small, however there are plenty of delectable restaurants close by.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent information available. Good outside garden eating area.

Disliked: Small lounge

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Small, cosy, well located hostel with the best owners ever! Had an awesome Christmas an New Years Eve!! How my fellow room mate said,"If they offered breakfast, we'd probably never leave" :) Thanks for everything!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MORAS DINAS

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 February 2013 MORAS would recommend this property

Liked: One day comes to this hotel before my reservation, to sleep in the private, small and very comfortable room with tv satelital, with a bath deprived from 22:30 up to 10:30 that there facilitate to you of nice that are his owners, the value is very low for the comfort and technology that they have, very cleanly and like, then change to the bedroom of 4 beds with a small terrace, very cleanly and very drafty, exelntes douche with warm water, and a spectacular garden, everything what has planted can be occupied by you to cook ... it was a wizard ... the smell of natural tomatoes and basil was spectacular every morning thank you gerardo and christian for looking after ourselves every day

Disliked: I need mooore days in this spectacular city & jacaranda hostel!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

LEMOON MARY

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 February 2013 LEMOON would recommend this property

Liked: They spoke to me about this hotel in the south of this country, and it was my better decicion, a very clean hostel, his two owners with a lot of information wherefrom going, tips for the night. Very comfortable room to see movies in HD, and his SPECTACULAR terrace LIGHTING! It incredible pass! The commas are very comfortable, the baths and the whole house always clean, very well located and very very economically for the exelente service that offers this simple hotel

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

WILLIS ROGERY

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

17 February 2013 WILLIS would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful hostel, I believe that the only one in chili that recycles bottles and it has a garden that produces varied types of you, tomatoes, lettuces, maizes, basil, ciboulette, flowers " " sunflowers " ", of everything you can occupy and enjoy a beautiful terrace in the middle of an enormous city, a very clean place attended by 2 boys (does not live through a family as he says a comment) .gerardo and christian do everything for whom your demurrage is perfect! Maps, tips, cards for train,The value is very low for the location and all the comforts that offer you since "hostel" " does not include breakfast, (he says in the page) but you can occupy you, coffee, sugar, cereals, there are small supermarkets closely together like that that alone he buys what I was lacking, and it was very economic! They do not also charge for the towels (but in the page he says that if it is necessary to pay for them, this way that is another wonderful attention of the owners " they do not like to charge for them ") this hostel it has exelentes comments and also it the lonely panet says 1 place!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

PUIG CAROLA

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 February 2013 PUIG would recommend this property

Liked: Come to this hotel for recommendation, Reserve during one night and I let's still have him three,we sleep in the shared, very wide bedroom of 4 beds, very clean, then change to the private bedroom, which is small and for someone who travels with a rucksack as the normal people it is perfect, it has tv satelital, and in the nights they facilitate a private bath to you, the value is very low, this one in winter season, this way that is normal that it does not have included breakfast, serious to abuse to question it!But it is to occupy at any hour and all the times want: coffee, sugar, sweetener, cereals, grasses in the garden if you want natural you, also they possess basil, rosemary, oregano, cibouette, tomatoes, the maizes were growing this way that we could not eat, they plant sunflowers and other varieties of very beautiful flowers It has an incredible location, a terrace to share with Internet full you illuminate musical sign satelital ESPNHD SONYHD WBHD HBOHD and MOVIECITY! You eat we get bored in the nights, you prop gerardo and christian have a lot of information and tips of the city, concerts free, exelentes bars in vineyard of the sea and valparaiso

Disliked: nothing

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 February 2013

Liked: Locatoin is good. Cable TV in the double room.

Disliked: Tiny -In the double there was not enough room to open our 2 backpacks. Because it was so small. Then just with the bags closed there is not enough room for 2 people to stand in the room. The bedspread was dirty and old. Had to go ask for the hot water to be turned on on morning 2. Hot water on day 1 was boiling, then cold, boiling, and repeat. The bathroom that they say can be 'private' at night has paper thin walls and when its not private you can hear every movement in the bathroom of your fellow travellers Breakfast not included the only common area inside is shared with the family of the house, so you're interrupting their lounge room if you sit there. Same with the kitchen. Towels not included, pay extra. Pay extra to use the kitchen after check out ($2500 pesos).

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

04 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was the best hostal in which we have ever stayed! The owners, Gerardo and Christian, go above and beyond to make their guests comfortable and welcomed. The place has a great vibe and laid back but meticulously clean atmosphere. We met other really cool travelers there as well while relaxing in the front courtyard. Gerardo even let me use fresh herbs from his garden the night I cooked dinner! Felt more like visiting long lost friends than staying in a hostel! Amazing location as well! Enjoy!

Disliked: Loved everything!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The guys that run the hostel are very friendly, they provide a good overview of the city, highlighting what is good to see and what to avoid. The hostel is small and friendly with a decent sized communal areas located in a great part of town. It's quiet with fast wifi too.

Disliked: I stayed in the only private room, whist the bed was comfortable the room was practically the size of the bed, comfortable though!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owners, Christian and Gerardo, are incredibly warm and helpful. The property is the cutest thing ever with a small, intimate terrace with an herb garden. It's a small house, so it feels like home. The kitchen is free to use for cooking. The dorms have lockers and the beds are nice and comfy. Most of all, the location is perfect. It's a great place to explore the wonderful city from and it's in the neighborhood with the best restaurants and bars. One of the coolest hostels I have ever stayed at.

Disliked: Absolutely nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

08 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owners were super helpful and as its a small hostel everyone gets to know each other really easily. Great atmosphere!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 January 2013

Liked: location is the only good thing

Disliked: everything else: small, dirty, no common space

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Micaela Muro

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 December 2012 Micaela would recommend this property

Liked: Cristian and Gerardo were outstanding guests and really warm people. The hostel has a superb location and it's decorated in a lovely way. I enjoyed my staying very much.

Disliked: It gets a little bit crowded when fully booked.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Localized on the center of cerro alegre

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

RED MATHEW

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 December 2012 RED would recommend this property

Liked: My end of trip was valparaiso, was the best way of ending a long time out of house, but in jacaranda it is the house of some very good friends, decorated for Christmas holidays, it made me surprise my family, we sup on meat to the gridiron, antipooches " typical Chilean " choripan "pebre" very deliciously, his owners cook, illuminate the terrace, very good music, the hotel is very clean, full wifi and very comfortable his beds and very perfumed at the moment of this one sleeps located in the center of everything, several discotheque in the sector you prop, many tips, near the beaches in viña del mar Thank you Gera and Cristian for doing of my last so wonderful days of trip

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

hilton pipa

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 December 2012 hilton would recommend this property

Liked: Very pretty, comfortable, clean, full wifi, terrace lighting, laundry, comfortable and perfumed beds! Many informaciond and the city tips tours, very good friends his owners Cristian & Gera Thank you boys!!!

Disliked: perfect place

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

milo toyn

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 December 2012 milo would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful place in valparaiso, very clean, very comfortable and very well located in the city, his wonderful owners hosts

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

puig susan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 December 2012 puig would recommend this property

Liked: Surprised at the exelente attention of his owners very well located in the gastronomic sector of valparaiso, beautiful common areas

Disliked: Beautiful place