HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostal Jacaranda

Guesthouse | Almirante Montt, 327, Cerro Alegre, Valparaiso, Chile 2370880

91.2% Overall Rating

120 out of 129 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/07/2013)

"Really good location and the host provide a really good introduction of places to go and see in Valpo. Good if you want to have a chat to some local Portenos."

Read all Hostal Jacaranda reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • BBQ area
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room
  • Children's play area

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 4.08
  • Towel USD 0.89

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Valparaiso?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Valparaiso

Costa Azul
12.25 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Casa Kreyenberg
15.97 USD

Guesthouse 92.5% 238 reviews
Hostel Los Gaviotines
15.97 USD

Hostel 91.4% 8 reviews
Planeta Lindo Hostel
14.38 USD

Hostel 94.6% 10 reviews
Hostal San Pedro
14.20 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Luna Sonrisa
17.75 USD

Guesthouse 96.0% 41 reviews
MM 450 Hostel Boutique
15.97 USD

Hostel 97.8% 9 reviews
PataPata Hostel
17.75 USD

Hostel 87.5% 19 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.2%

Overall Rating

120 out of 129 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostal Jacaranda'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
99.2%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
93.6%
Value
88.8%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 113 of 129 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Giten Patel

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2011 Giten would recommend this property

Liked: The owners of the hostel were extremely welcoming and friendly. Breakfast was tasty and the hostel was very cosy...we felt completely at home.

Disliked: The shower in the ensuite room was temperamental but not too bad so there was not much we disliked.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

aurelie jacquet

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 November 2011 aurelie would recommend this property

Liked: this is a great place to stay in valparaiso. Nice little house, well kept and on top of it great breakfeast with fresh juice. I am normally reluctant to do dorms but this is a great place to get to know locals ( we were there for halloween and owners decorated place and gave candies to all kids came along great fun) and fellow travellers . This place definetely has a nice atmosphere.

Disliked: nothing had a great time, thanks again

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, A beautiful hostel, the friendliest staff!

Disliked: nothing!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andreas Thiesemann

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

03 November 2011 Andreas would recommend this property

Liked: A very personally hostel! Gerado and Christian will make you feel like at home!!! The breakfast is incredible and absolutly worth it, you will get shakes, pancakes, chilinean cake and a lot of things more. The beds are comfortable and you will get every information about the city you will need. If you go to Valparaiso take the Jacaranda Hostel.

Disliked: Nothing, we had a perfect stay!!!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly and comfortable. cooking facilities were good and the owners really go out of their way to make sure you have everything you need.

Disliked: no breakfast and no towels but this is explained clearly when advertised.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The guys are super friendly and great! The house is really cool with a massive TV, fish tank and is amazingly decorated so you feel right at home! The house is soooo clean and the beds are really comfy with little lockers in the room. (Note- Bring an eye patch for the front room as curtains are white)

Disliked: We travelled as a group and had several computers and none of them could connect to the WIFI which was annoying, but i`m sure the guys will sort it out. We also didn`t want the breakfast that is an extra charge (as we were saving money and had our own), but we were informed that we couldn`t use the kitchen to make our breafkfast until 11am, once the hostel breakfast had been completed. The breakfast looked amazing though with home made cakes and freshly mixed juices etc, all lovingly prepared.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

25 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Gerardo and Christian are super friendly... great breakfast :)

Disliked: Make sure they have the hot water turned on before attempting to shower at night

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Heather Rahimi

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 October 2011 Heather would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is absolutely wonderful, they are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was above and beyond and the hostel in general had a very welcoming atmosphere with clean facilities and happy guests.

Disliked: I have no dislikes.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katie Saunders

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 October 2011 Katie would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is amazing! Best hostel I have stayed at in 11months of travelling in South america. The owners are great hosts and full of helpful toursit information. Great value for money! Breakfast is always delicious! They don`t have many rooms so good idea to book in advance to make sure they have space.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

03 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: An exelente place to go with friends in which you can rest, enjoy a precious decoration, besides a garden and in his brilliance! The breakfast was better that he tastes in chile

Disliked: Everything was perfect, it will return, with my best friends

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

22 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: My friends and I have now staid at Hotel Jacaranda twice and both times they were incredibly accommodating. The location has two incredible patios, one up on the second floor and one down in the front yard where we spent our last trip grilling and socializing with the owners as well as amongst ourselves. The hostel itself should really be called a bed and breakfast due to the quality of the home (more like a home then any hostel I've ever visited). Our second visit was during the dieciocho, Chilean independence day, a time when grilling and drinking are considered a necessity, due to the holiday when we arrived we found one of the owners cooking up a series of courses, including ceviche (an incredible cold sea food soup), kabobs, bread and absolutely incredible dipping sauces (which he made from his own garden), and the best pisco sours (basically the national drink in chile) we've had since we arrived in Chile. Every morning we woke to a beautiful breakfast laid out on the table with breads, pastries and coffee, far more then we deserved after keeping them up all night, yet we never heard a complaint. After traveling hostel to hostel in Europe I can say hands down that this is the best hostel I've ever visited, even with the incredibly low price. This place is perfect for groups looking to spend a quiet weekend in Valporaiso and Viña del Mar, as well as groups, more like my own, that are looking to enjoy the incredible nightlife that both these Chilean cities offer.

Disliked: No complaints

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pamela Bernal

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

19 September 2011 Pamela would recommend this property

Liked: Hostal jacaranda es muy acojedor, me a dejado una linda estadia inolvidable. I muy pronto volveremos i alojaremos nuevamente en hostal jacaranda se los recomiendo a todos los que deseen una estadia en valparaiso chile

Disliked: Lo siento pero no hay nada negativo, solo positivo.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: With regard to the location, the hotel this one near everything, to steps of the center, exquisite restaurants and located in a sure place. The attention of the hotel is very brotherly. Price of agreement to the attention and offered services, totally recommended.

Disliked: I would have liked to stay more days, the place is very cozy.