HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Hostal Jacaranda & Home Guesthouse

Almirante Montt 327, Cerro Alegre, Valparaiso, Chile

Atmosphere 92%

Cleanliness 96%

Facilities 89%

Location 99%

Safety 97%

Staff 93%

Value 94%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • BBQ
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • WiFi

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 3.82USD
  • Towel 0.83USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Valparaiso?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 92%

Cleanliness 96%

Facilities 89%

Location 99%

Safety 97%

Staff 93%

Value 94%

Showing 41-5 of 5 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: couldn´t recommend this hostel highly enough. in a great location, the facilities are comfortable and the hosts are a wealth of information and mucho mucho fun. if you´re lucky you might get a BBQ and you wont eat again for days!Lou and James

Disliked: nada

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Close to nice cafes and restaurants, good wi-fi in the room, owner was very nice. Like other reviews have said, it was like living in someone else's house (which was fine for my sister and me).

Disliked: We arrived at 11:40am and had to wait half an hour because there was no one in the hostel to receive us.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break

Liked: it's feels like home.

Disliked: everything was good!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, City break, Events / festivals, Family Holiday, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Romantic getaway, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: I loved this hostel, beautifully decorated, very very affordable, beautiful garden, continuous hot water!! full internet, I was very surprised because it includes breakfast in the little amount of money you pay to sleep in this wonderful place, it is best which breakfast is based vitamins, cheeses, and artisanal jam, does not contain eggs ! perfect for walking hours! There is a free tour every day! is perfect!owners are spectacular, high availability to help at all, also give you information of the whole city and speak English!

Disliked: is a wonderful city and a perfect hostel

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
With a large group / tour

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Romantic getaway, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Work / volunteering

Liked: wonderful hostel, exelentes beds, very economical in every way, also includes breakfast, a very healthy breakfast without saturated fats, natural juice and jelly cheese perfect for the value of the room! owners exelentes people and very friendly, lots of information on what to do in this beautiful citysleep is respected

Disliked: all perfect

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The beds! SO COMFY! Lovely outside area with fairy lights and I met a nice bunch of travellers.

Disliked: It may be the same in every Valparisian hostel, but the breakfast of two small white flat rolls and jam\\cheese just didn´t cut it after the feasts I became accustomed too in Mendoza.It´s also a very small hostel- you feel like you´re sharing their house. If you want something a little larger with more character try Acuarela´-I visited a girl who was staying there and was charmed by the place and the owner. If I go back to Valpo I´ll go there!

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 May 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Romantic getaway

Liked: This place was an awesome find. Super friendly staff, awesome location, and clean/comfortable rooms. Highly recommended!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 May 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Loved it! After months spent backpacking, this is one of my favourite hostels ever, and definitely the best we have encountered in South America! Gerardo and Christian are fantastic, super nice... they even shared their dinner with us! We loved the decorations, the fish tank, and all of the bright colours. A cute little patio in the front is perfect for taking in the morning sun. The breakfast is small, but the juice is super tasty!

Disliked: Nothing! Amazing!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 May 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Everything! The owners were so sweet and helpful, the rooms and breakfast lovely, and the location brilliant. It was great value for money too.

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 May 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: My shared dorm was really comfortable and clean, with a locker provided. The breakfast provided - which was only available on the first day of my stay - was small but nice. There is free wifi and the location is good for sightseeing.I was really disapointed with my stay here (see below), but Valpraiso is a lovely place - I booked into another hostel on the same street and had a great stay elsewhere.

Disliked: The bathrooms - they ask you to limit your shower to ten minutes! This is the only hostel I've ever stayed in which doesn't offer 24-hour unlimited hot water.I was helpfully presented with a map upon arrival, but told not to lose it as they wanted it back when I left.On my second morning, the owners did not get out of bed early enough to either provide breakfast or take my payment and check me out. This place is someone's home rather than a hostel, I think they need to work out whether they want to run it as a hostel or just have friends to stay...

Check Availability