HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostal Jacaranda

Guesthouse | Almirante Montt, 327, Cerro Alegre, Valparaiso, Chile 2370880

96.0% Overall Rating

134 out of 143 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/05/2014)

Natalie Durant thinks…

"Very friendly and relaxed hostel. All the people staying there we're friendly and Tomas was great especially when we first arrived he went through the city and had lots of recommendations. Tomas also…"

Read all Hostal Jacaranda reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • BBQ area
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room
  • Children's play area

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 3.83
  • Towel USD 0.83

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Valparaiso?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Valparaiso

Costa Azul
11.78 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Casa Kreyenberg
14.99 USD

Guesthouse 92.5% 238 reviews
Planeta Lindo Hostel
13.49 USD

Hostel 91.6% 13 reviews
Hostal Tricahue
19.98 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Luna Sonrisa
16.65 USD

Guesthouse 95.9% 42 reviews
MM 450 Hostel Boutique
19.98 USD

Hostel 97.8% 9 reviews
PataPata Hostel
12.69 USD

Hostel 87.5% 19 reviews
Allegretto B&B
16.65 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
96.0%

Overall Rating

134 out of 143 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostal Jacaranda'

Atmosphere
94.4%
Location
99.2%
Facilities
91.2%
Cleanliness
97.6%
Staff
96.8%
Value
95.2%
Safety
97.6%
Refine your results Showing 115 of 143 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

carlos mauricio

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

25 February 2012 carlos would recommend this property

Liked: excellent place, very clean, good information, the best restaurant is located in this sector, gerardo help you in everything you need

Disliked: enjoy every moment in hostel jacaranda is the best

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

isabel aros

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

25 February 2012 isabel would recommend this property

Liked: recomiendo este hostal 100%, el mejor de sud america, muy limpio, ubicado en una zona estrategica, lleno de museos , paseos con vistas a la ciudad,heromsas casas de hace 2 siglos atras , el hostal cuenta con tecnologia, internet full,varios baños y tiene unas camas muy comodad y perfumadas ,un sueño!!

Disliked: a big screen TV with satellite and HD definition, a collection of dvd, beautiful gardens and a very delicate decoration

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

veronica adelina

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 February 2012 veronica would recommend this property

Liked: beautiful house! very friendly staff!, very clean, beautifully decorated, with a great location, surrounded by museums of art and design schools, restaurant and various types of bar, live music on the street, has a collection of movies too good, so a shared terrace and enjoy the sun, christian oriented in the tour, gerardo teaches you to cook exelent!!

Disliked: 100% recommend this hostel

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Geronimo Medina

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 February 2012 Geronimo would recommend this property

Liked: excellent hostel, very familiar and extremely clean! lGerardo and Christian, we report all the important events in the city, the best recommendations to visit the beaches, the house is surrounded by the best restaurants all valparaiso, gerardo is a chef! if you ask him to teach you, give you a kind of typical food (empanadas pisco sour corn pie,) was my best way to end my trip to south america love jacaranda

Disliked: beautiful decoration, an aquarium with fish of all varieties of america! a terrace with vegetables to harvest, and most importantly 2 parking!!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A quite and comfy place in the heart of the most beautiful city district.

Disliked: We didn’t get the breakfast as it was described.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is more of an open house than hostel. The owners are LOVELY and eager to help and offer advice. It,s a fantastic location, right in the central hills of Valparaiso with tons of restaurants, cafes and art at your doorstep. It is run in a very relaxed manner and you arent felt to be a burden as with other, more commerical hostels. Free, fast wifi

Disliked: Rooms were small and cramped with no room for your luggage. Small lounge and kitchen though you are fee to use the facilities whenever you wish.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kasper Poyry

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 February 2012 Kasper would recommend this property

Liked: Really extremely nice, safe and comfortable place to stay in Valpo! The owners made everything they could to make us feel welcome and even more. They also organized us great barbeque in the garden and otherwise offered their full hospitality. Small but really symphatetic place.

Disliked: Could use a computer.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good place to meat other travelers

Disliked: It is not a hostel. It is a family home which converted two rooms into dorms. The 5 person dorm is tiny and the place lacks the character of a good hostel. The TV was running all the time.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Pollard

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 February 2012 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: This was my favourite hostel in Chile. The owners are brilliant and seem to genuinely care that you have a good time. They will probably end up having some drinks and a barbecue with you at the hostel, and go out clubbing with you too. This is a great hostel for meeting other travellers so you're bound to have a good time here and in Valparaíso. The hostel is kept very clean, and the location is great. There's a shop about 20 seconds away, as well as some nice little cafes. I'd heard horror stories about Valpo being unsafe but this is located in one of the safest and best places, and I found that Valpo in general was perfectly safe even for a female solo traveller (although you should still be careful, of course). I will definately stay at Hostal Jacaranda the next time I visit Chile!

Disliked: Having to leave!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gemma Perkins

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 February 2012 Gemma would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was one of the best we have experienced during are trip around south america, really helpfull and friendly and hostel itself felt more like being at home than staying in a hostel..

Disliked: couldnt stay there longer..

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

02 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, resourceful and accommodating owners.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alija Shakes

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 January 2012 Alija would recommend this property

Liked: nice modern house - very clean and in a great location. run by two extremely friendly guys. has wifi and use of kitchen. made to feel at home.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Family home! Nice and cosy place to relax. Perfect location in the heart of the historic city center (not in the modern center!) which means it´s on a hill. Not a problem with an ascensor around the corner - harbor and modern center just 15 min walking. Lot´s of great restaurants around - the owners have a recommendation for any taste. Owners were amazingly friendly and helpful. We were allowed to sleep on one of the sofas when we arrived early in the morning after a terrible night bus trip hours before the check-out of the other guests.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maximiliano Germán Godoy Schimpf

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

23 January 2012 Maximiliano Germán would recommend this property

Liked: THIS WAS JUST AWESOME., facilities, owners (they take care of us, a lot) they showed us the city and the best ways to know it. Wonderful, just everything.

Disliked: I know the chilean problems with gas and having hot water all day, but they should. They`re charging for using the washing machine, it's not bad, but in many other places they don't. The kitchen could be used just until 10, didn't understand why, but anyway great place I will recommend it a lot.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is by far my favourite hostel in South America . It is small , so clean , great showers and comfortable beds. The owners are the kindest people ever and so nice and fun to spend time with. They are relaxed and you really feel as if you have been invited into their home. On one of the nights we were there they had a BBQ with gorgeous food . If you like staying with great people and want to meet friends ,book now !

Disliked: Having to leave :-(

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julie Mathieu

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 January 2012 Julie would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely charming hostel. Very nice and secure location. The showers are hot with good power. The bathroom,kitchen,dorms are very clean. We had a bbq with the owners and other travelers; it was so much fun. I definetly recommend this place for backpackers and for people who wants to spend a week-end in Valpo without paying too much.

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Nis Andersen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 January 2012 Nis would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly owners allways helpfull

Disliked: to little space in the 5 bed dormroom

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owners make you feel at home and are very helpful.

Disliked: Don't forget to tell them when you want to take a shower so they turn on the burner for hot water.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

kimberley davison

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 December 2011 kimberley would recommend this property

Liked: clean, friendly hostel. nice area with plenty of eateries near by and a great view of the sea and port! maybe not the best place in town but really good for the money you pay!

Disliked: they made us pay the 10% that hostel bookers "took off them", I didnt think that was very cool or professional!!!!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

xiaoxiao feng

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 December 2011 xiaoxiao would recommend this property

Liked: The colours and atomosphere of the hostel is lovely and homie.

Disliked: it was located on top of a hill - hard climb with big back packs but the treck up is worth it

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

christian andrews

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 December 2011 christian would recommend this property

Liked: everything

Disliked: nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location. The hostel also has super lovely and extremely hospital owners who welcome you into their home.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Kerry Lawlor

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 December 2011 Kerry would recommend this property

Liked: They had a lovely christmas tree. It was very homely and the two guys who run the place were very friendly and helpful. Great location.

Disliked: The 5 bed dorm should not have 5 beds in it its way too small. The lockers were rubbish you could open any lock with any of the keys and there was no lock on the room door. Wifi was very temperamental.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephanie Amato

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

29 November 2011 Stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: We enjoyed this hostel! The best hostel we have stayed in during our travels! The guys were great hosts! We stayed here for two days and left and then decided to come back because we liked it so much. Super clean and cozy, felt right at home.

Disliked: Nothing, you should stay here!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly owner, very clean premises, comfortable beds.

Disliked: Non-stop noise from Television. Being told to take my breakfast outside if I did not like the noise.