HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostal Jacaranda

Guesthouse | Almirante Montt, 327, Cerro Alegre, Valparaiso, Chile 2370880

91.1% Overall Rating

122 out of 131 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/05/2014)

Natalie Durant thinks…

"Very friendly and relaxed hostel. All the people staying there we're friendly and Tomas was great especially when we first arrived he went through the city and had lots of recommendations. Tomas also…"

Read all Hostal Jacaranda reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • BBQ area
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room
  • Children's play area

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 3.90
  • Towel USD 0.85

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Valparaiso?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Valparaiso

Costa Azul
11.69 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Casa Kreyenberg
15.25 USD

Guesthouse 92.5% 238 reviews
Hostel Los Gaviotines
15.25 USD

Hostel 91.4% 8 reviews
Planeta Lindo Hostel
13.72 USD

Hostel 95.1% 11 reviews
Hostal San Pedro
13.55 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Luna Sonrisa
16.94 USD

Guesthouse 95.9% 42 reviews
MM 450 Hostel Boutique
20.33 USD

Hostel 97.8% 9 reviews
PataPata Hostel
0.03 USD

Hostel 87.5% 19 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.1%

Overall Rating

122 out of 131 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostal Jacaranda'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
99.2%
Facilities
82.4%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
93.6%
Value
88.8%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 115 of 131 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

blue randy

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 December 2012 blue would recommend this property

Liked: Attended by the owners, Gerardo and Cristian, they do of your days in the hotel a wonderful experience of the city comfortably, cleanly, clean comfortable beds a lot of information, warm water, laundry, terrace, tv satelital, wi fi hotel jacaranda is perfect

Disliked: the best hostel!! lovely jacaranda

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

kris rodri

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 December 2012 kris would recommend this property

Liked: Located in the center of the gastronomy and galleries of art of valparaiso, a very economic value for the comfort and the attention of the first quality that his owners offer to you very cleanly, comfortable and perfumed litters, baths with warm water, very economic system of laundry a terrace to eat meat to the gridiron with a beautiful lighting, exelent!!!!

Disliked: Beautiful place

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

molly veronica

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 December 2012 molly would recommend this property

Liked: The best hotel of america of the south

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

mackena carrie

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

10 December 2012 mackena would recommend this property

Liked: A very well located, very clean hotel and very confortaable, as the house of my brother! Internet in all the property, warm water, a lot of information of the city perfect to sleep very comfortable litters wide bedrooms

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

RED tenna

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 December 2012 RED would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful hotel, very clean, the beds with sheets clean and perfumed and very worried by the good one to sleep!! A beautiful terrace, a perfect decoration! Very well located between important mas of valparaiso, the wonderful owners you present very amicable, a lot of information to do something every day Loves jacarandaNOTH

Disliked: NOTHING

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

tompson beatriz

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 December 2012 tompson would recommend this property

Liked: 100 %% exelente place, in the center of the tourism of valparaiso, very comfortable beds, a lot of information explained in English by the owners, a terrace romantically illuminated for nights of wine and cerveza Gerardo and Cristian, always worried of that your demurrage is perfect, good friends I it recommend 100 %

Disliked: Perfect everything

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

27 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Every. single. thing. GO!

Disliked: Absolutely nothing!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable, homely . Liked the living room, where able to plug laptop into tv to play movies etc. kitchen well equipped.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Verity Griffin

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 October 2012 Verity would recommend this property

Liked: Great little house with just a few rooms. Very friendly and helpful and amazing location. Hot showers!

Disliked: Very little. Towels were an added extra but that was no big deal.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely friendly and helpful owner. Making you really feel at home:-)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joanna Nation

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 October 2012 Joanna would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly owners,it just felt like I was staying at a friends home, which was much needed after many month backpacking. Quiet environment, nice breakfast, great location, clean rooms- all in all a very enjoyable stay. Highly recommend and I would definitely stay there again!

Disliked: Joanna left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Veronica Park

Alone

City break

09 October 2012 Veronica would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very helpful, very nice and they gave excellent recommendations. The hostel is small, but cozy and very clean.

Disliked: The lock on the outside door wasn´t working that well

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location in the middle of Cerro Alegre, close to great restaurants and sights. Very friendly, helpful owners...I recommend this hostel for stays in Valparaiso!

Disliked: No heating in dorms.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

james bates

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2012 james would recommend this property

Liked: couldn´t recommend this hostel highly enough. in a great location, the facilities are comfortable and the hosts are a wealth of information and mucho mucho fun. if you´re lucky you might get a BBQ and you wont eat again for days! Lou and James

Disliked: nada

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to nice cafes and restaurants, good wi-fi in the room, owner was very nice. Like other reviews have said, it was like living in someone else's house (which was fine for my sister and me).

Disliked: We arrived at 11:40am and had to wait half an hour because there was no one in the hostel to receive us.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bustamante Alvarez

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

04 July 2012 Bustamante would recommend this property

Liked: it's feels like home.

Disliked: everything was good!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cabezas Carolin

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 July 2012 Cabezas would recommend this property

Liked: I loved this hostel, beautifully decorated, very very affordable, beautiful garden, continuous hot water!! full internet, I was very surprised because it includes breakfast in the little amount of money you pay to sleep in this wonderful place, it is best which breakfast is based vitamins, cheeses, and artisanal jam, does not contain eggs ! perfect for walking hours! There is a free tour every day! is perfect!owners are spectacular, high availability to help at all, also give you information of the whole city and speak English!

Disliked: is a wonderful city and a perfect hostel

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vergara Rosmary

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

01 July 2012 Vergara would recommend this property

Liked: wonderful hostel, exelentes beds, very economical in every way, also includes breakfast, a very healthy breakfast without saturated fats, natural juice and jelly cheese perfect for the value of the room! owners exelentes people and very friendly, lots of information on what to do in this beautiful city sleep is respected

Disliked: all perfect

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Louise Morgan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 June 2012

Liked: My shared dorm was really comfortable and clean, with a locker provided. The breakfast provided - which was only available on the first day of my stay - was small but nice. There is free wifi and the location is good for sightseeing. I was really disapointed with my stay here (see below), but Valpraiso is a lovely place - I booked into another hostel on the same street and had a great stay elsewhere.

Disliked: The bathrooms - they ask you to limit your shower to ten minutes! This is the only hostel I've ever stayed in which doesn't offer 24-hour unlimited hot water. I was helpfully presented with a map upon arrival, but told not to lose it as they wanted it back when I left. On my second morning, the owners did not get out of bed early enough to either provide breakfast or take my payment and check me out. This place is someone's home rather than a hostel, I think they need to work out whether they want to run it as a hostel or just have friends to stay...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Emma Foskett

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 June 2012

Liked: The beds! SO COMFY! Lovely outside area with fairy lights and I met a nice bunch of travellers.

Disliked: It may be the same in every Valparisian hostel, but the breakfast of two small white flat rolls and jam\cheese just didn´t cut it after the feasts I became accustomed too in Mendoza. It´s also a very small hostel- you feel like you´re sharing their house. If you want something a little larger with more character try Acuarela´-I visited a girl who was staying there and was charmed by the place and the owner. If I go back to Valpo I´ll go there!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! The owners were so sweet and helpful, the rooms and breakfast lovely, and the location brilliant. It was great value for money too.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved it! After months spent backpacking, this is one of my favourite hostels ever, and definitely the best we have encountered in South America! Gerardo and Christian are fantastic, super nice... they even shared their dinner with us! We loved the decorations, the fish tank, and all of the bright colours. A cute little patio in the front is perfect for taking in the morning sun. The breakfast is small, but the juice is super tasty!

Disliked: Nothing! Amazing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway

21 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place was an awesome find. Super friendly staff, awesome location, and clean/comfortable rooms. Highly recommended!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, friendly helpful staff, clean.

Disliked: Breakfast is a bit meagre, as in many hostels, but not bad. Good fruit juice though.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly atmosphere, helpful staff, a cozy spot to make yourself feel at home!

Disliked: There was not as much living room space as you might expect, but that is really the only thing I could find somewhere in my mind. It is a great place to stay!