We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostal Casa Aventura

Guesthouse | Pasaje Galvez 11, Cerro Concepción, Valparaiso, Chile -

92.0% Overall Rating

76 out of 78 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/05/2015)

"Great location on the best street in Valparaiso. Lovely owner who sits and chats with you at breakie. Breakie is nicer than average. Lovely old building with wooden floors and high ceilings. No bunk beds woohoo!"

Read all Hostal Casa Aventura reviews

Facilities

  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Cot / crib
  • Sofa

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Valparaiso?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Valparaiso

Casa Fischer Hostal
10.03 USD

Guesthouse 90.3% 129 reviews
Casa Volante Hostal
12.89 USD

Hostel 93.0% 82 reviews
Hotel Montealegre
23.49 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hostal Casa Valparaíso
10.75 USD

Guesthouse 90.1% 119 reviews
Casa Kultour
14.33 USD

Guesthouse 92.6% 29 reviews
Allegretto B&B
14.33 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
PataPata Hostel
12.42 USD

Hostel 86.4% 22 reviews
Luna Sonrisa
14.33 USD

Guesthouse 94.9% 46 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.0%

Overall Rating

76 out of 78 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostal Casa Aventura'

Atmosphere
87.2%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
93.6%
Staff
92.0%
Value
92.8%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 64 of 78 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stefan Dirr

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

01 October 2012 Stefan would recommend this property

Liked: Upon our reservation Christian wrote us an e-mail right away offering help. That was very kind. When arriving Alda welcomed us and gave us some advice what to see and visit in the city. That was very helpful. The hostel is very cosy and comfortable, rooms are clean and the breakfast is excellent. We felt quite at home there.

Disliked: We were offered a Metro ticket for the next day, but when we wanted to get it they already had given it to someone else.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jennifer McCartney

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

30 July 2012 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a great hostel! They have nice clean and spacious rooms with only 3 or 4 beds. There are plenty of bathrooms. The breakfast is AMAZING (eggs! kiwi jam! fresh fruit!) The staff is great and can helpful find anything you're looking for in the city. And it's a wonderful location with lots of friendly, nice people.

Disliked: Really nothing. The only one slight downside was that occasionally if two people are showering the water gets cold, but this can be avoided easily.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very lively atmosphere, clean, and comfortable hostel. I came to this hostel while searching for an apartment in Valparaiso. The staff was extremely helpful and even connected me with past guests who were looking for roommates.

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing breakfast (eggs, fresh bread, loads of fruits, etc), hot showers, clean and nice facilities, superfriendly staff and a three-bed dorm where other hostels would have packed three bunk beds in. The german owner and his staff are very helpfull, one of the best hostels I stayed at :)

Disliked: Well, some people complained about the dorms not having windows or only a small window, but I didn't really care. Some rooms are a bit dark, but as I don't spend my day in dorms I didn't really care.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Chris Hodges

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2012 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff except for that one girl, but I think she's no longer working there anyway. Excellent breakfast with fruits and eggs. Very comfy beds.

Disliked: Said we should go to the fish market. And when we came back with fish and cooked a nice meal, they blamed us next day for the smell of fish around the kitchen. Well, that happens. We had to stop guitar playing and noise at 10pm on a Saturday (hm, okay) and when we left for a bar by 11pm, we still got flamed for the noise next day although we did as we were told. We never complained about the children running around at 6am nor the construction site just outside of the hostel that started terrorizing us from 7am until evening.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 June 2012

Liked: The breakfast is really good (fresh fruits, eggs, homemade jam), the internet connection is very fast, rooms are spacious.

Disliked: Common are is not inviting, rooms are cold (no heaters).

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere and social area. Nice big kitchen and huge bedrooms with really comfy beds and duvets!

Disliked: Only one bathroom on the second floor so you have to go downstairs quite alot

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jessica Suarez Nunez

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2012 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the whole place , city and food, great place

Disliked: Jessica left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I have to say that this hostel was one of the nicest we stayed in in South America. The showers and kitchen were so clean and the breakfast was well worth getting up for. Eggs, bread, jam, fresh fruit and tea/coffee. So nice! Everything is an easy walk from the hostel too.

Disliked: At night, its a lights out at 12 sort of place. But we stayed there to chill the beans so we were alright with that. If you want to party dont stay here.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rhian Williams

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 May 2012 Rhian would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are really friendly and helpful. The beds are big and comfy, and the rooms are huge and you're not squashed in like some other hostels. Breakfast is really good and had a community feeling

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Natalie Candarakis

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2012 Natalie would recommend this property

Liked: Loved staying at Casa Aventura, it was really a fantastic hostel, not too big or too small and there was a great atmosphere, particularly at breakfast and nighttime with the communal table. Breakfasts were fantastic; lots of fruit, bread and homemade jams, as well as scrambled eggs, and tea and coffee. It was really refreshing to stay in such a well-run hostel, the staff and owners were all incredibly friendly and helpful and the beautiful hostel is well maintained and always spotless. There is a well-stocked kitchen too, so you are able to cook with ease, and the location is perfect. Great wifi, too! I will definitely be recommending to friends, thank you so much Casa Aventura!

Disliked: Absolutely nothing, I would recommend this hostel completely - loved our stay!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kate Milligan

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 May 2012 Kate would recommend this property

Liked: Really helpful staff. Loads of tips on the local area and made sure we saw the best of it in our day there. They even left us out breakfast as we had to get up early for a bus!

Disliked: Kate left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

26 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: this place is very nice...its one of the best hostel we stayed in Chile...the owner is lovely and very helpfull!!!!!great breakfast thank you

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Guilherme Gomes

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 April 2012 Guilherme would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is great! Amaro and Jackeline are very nice!

Disliked: The kitchen could be bigger.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Single beds in dorm rooms gave it a spacious feel. Great breakfast and friendly staff. A great stay and would thoroughly recommend it!

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing breakfast, helpful staff, great location, we had a private room which was well appointed. Good map, really cool area - atmosphere, bumped into the ownes while having breaky - talked for ages before we even realised - they were both champs, really good hostel.

Disliked: sometimes there´s a funky smell next to the showers

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the breakfast is very good, scrumbled eggs, bread, homemade jam, good coffee and fresh fruit. Nice to eat with the other people in the hostel at the same table. Good conversations. Rooms are good.

Disliked: the toilet and bathroom are old and smells a little bit

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice interior Large ceilings Friendly and knowledgable staff

Disliked: Road works during the day Some rooms hard to ventilate and with no outside windows

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely hosts, fantastic location right in the historic centre of Valparaiso. The breakfasts were great, lots of fruit!

Disliked: The common area is right outside rooms so if you want to have a few glasses of wine after midnight its frowned upon...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Grant McKelvey

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 March 2012 Grant would recommend this property

Liked: Why can't all hostels be like this?! Casa Aventura is everything a backpackers should be, and the best we have stayed in in south America. Very friendly and helpful staff led by Christian. Beautiful, typical house right in the perfect quarter of town. Comfortable, clean rooms and shared bathrooms. Well equipped and tidy kitchen. Excellent breakfast every day served around common dining table with fellow travellers made for an excellent atmosphere. We cannot recommend this hostel highly enough. Thanks for a great stay in Valparaiso!

Disliked: Nothing!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jamie Guajardo

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 March 2012 Jamie would recommend this property

Liked: What is not to like about this place. Breakfast was always being replenished and there was eggs! Myself and my partner loved staying here as the location and house could not be better. There was nothing better than waking up opening the large windows to a beautiful spansh/latin american 1800's architecture, old cobble stone streets and a blue sky in the bakcground. We took so many photos of the view from our window up the hill than of most other places.

Disliked: The only thing I can think of is that the common area was not the largest so there would be times when it was packed as packed can be.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sean Diamond

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 March 2012 Sean would recommend this property

Liked: - The breakfasts were the best Ive had in 7 weeks of this trip; fruit platter, homemade jams, scrambled eggs, real coffee. People lingered over their breakfasts and were sociable. - Good clean shower and toilet facilities - Friendly and helpful staff, really took time to show you where to go on the city map for example

Disliked: - My room (3 bed dorm) smelled slightly from the damp ceiling. - The room was off an enclosed central room, no window directly to the outside. - It s a lights-out-at 12 place (due to the proximity of the social area to the rooms and potential disturbance from people talking). Its a bit early and a bit like being put to bed!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Melanie Robillard

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 March 2012 Melanie would recommend this property

Liked: The location is excellent. The breakfast is fantastic.

Disliked: If you are in the dorm right next to the office desk it's loud. It's right where everyone eats breakfast and the only common area. Be warned. If you have an early bus to catch wear earplugs to bed.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marco Dilger

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 March 2012 Marco would recommend this property

Liked: Best breakfast I ever had in a hostel! Staff as well among the best i ever encountered

Disliked: It's not easy to meet people here, the common area is very small and closes early. Only one public computer that was very old and not functioning properly.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maurits Van der Zouw

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 February 2012 Maurits would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel has a really relax atmosphere and is no party hostel. This place was just what we needed! This hostel serves a great breakfast every morning with scrambled eggs, fresh bread, nice coffee and a good conversation with the other guests and the German owner. The staff speaks English, spanish and German and are really helpfull. The room we stayed in was amazing! À double room with a really high sealing and great view. The location is great aswell. Situated close to some of the highlights of Valparaiso or on walking distance. The kitchen has everything you need to make a meal. The oven is even working so we made ourselves à nice lasagne :)

Disliked: Nothing!!