HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostal Casa Aventura

Guesthouse | Pasaje Galvez 11, Cerro Concepción, Valparaiso, Chile -

90.2% Overall Rating

68 out of 70 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/04/2014)

"The breakfast of scrambled eggs and fruit was terrific. Rooms are large and spacious."

Read all Hostal Casa Aventura reviews

Facilities

  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Cot / crib
  • Sofa

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Valparaiso?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Valparaiso

Casa Fischer Hostal
12.49 USD

Guesthouse 91.9% 123 reviews
Casa Volante Hostal
13.30 USD

Hostel 96.0% 75 reviews
Hotel Montealegre
27.06 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hostal Casa Valparaíso
11.66 USD

Guesthouse 90.2% 115 reviews
Casa Kultour
19.98 USD

Guesthouse 93.7% 28 reviews
Allegretto B&B
16.65 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
MM 450 Hostel Boutique
19.98 USD

Hostel 97.8% 9 reviews
PataPata Hostel
12.66 USD

Hostel 87.5% 19 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.2%

Overall Rating

68 out of 70 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostal Casa Aventura'

Atmosphere
84.8%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
92.0%
Value
89.6%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 60 of 70 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Chris Hodges

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2012 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff except for that one girl, but I think she's no longer working there anyway. Excellent breakfast with fruits and eggs. Very comfy beds.

Disliked: Said we should go to the fish market. And when we came back with fish and cooked a nice meal, they blamed us next day for the smell of fish around the kitchen. Well, that happens. We had to stop guitar playing and noise at 10pm on a Saturday (hm, okay) and when we left for a bar by 11pm, we still got flamed for the noise next day although we did as we were told. We never complained about the children running around at 6am nor the construction site just outside of the hostel that started terrorizing us from 7am until evening.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 June 2012

Liked: The breakfast is really good (fresh fruits, eggs, homemade jam), the internet connection is very fast, rooms are spacious.

Disliked: Common are is not inviting, rooms are cold (no heaters).

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere and social area. Nice big kitchen and huge bedrooms with really comfy beds and duvets!

Disliked: Only one bathroom on the second floor so you have to go downstairs quite alot

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jessica Suarez Nunez

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2012 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the whole place , city and food, great place

Disliked: Jessica left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I have to say that this hostel was one of the nicest we stayed in in South America. The showers and kitchen were so clean and the breakfast was well worth getting up for. Eggs, bread, jam, fresh fruit and tea/coffee. So nice! Everything is an easy walk from the hostel too.

Disliked: At night, its a lights out at 12 sort of place. But we stayed there to chill the beans so we were alright with that. If you want to party dont stay here.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rhian Williams

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 May 2012 Rhian would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are really friendly and helpful. The beds are big and comfy, and the rooms are huge and you're not squashed in like some other hostels. Breakfast is really good and had a community feeling

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Natalie Candarakis

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2012 Natalie would recommend this property

Liked: Loved staying at Casa Aventura, it was really a fantastic hostel, not too big or too small and there was a great atmosphere, particularly at breakfast and nighttime with the communal table. Breakfasts were fantastic; lots of fruit, bread and homemade jams, as well as scrambled eggs, and tea and coffee. It was really refreshing to stay in such a well-run hostel, the staff and owners were all incredibly friendly and helpful and the beautiful hostel is well maintained and always spotless. There is a well-stocked kitchen too, so you are able to cook with ease, and the location is perfect. Great wifi, too! I will definitely be recommending to friends, thank you so much Casa Aventura!

Disliked: Absolutely nothing, I would recommend this hostel completely - loved our stay!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kate Milligan

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 May 2012 Kate would recommend this property

Liked: Really helpful staff. Loads of tips on the local area and made sure we saw the best of it in our day there. They even left us out breakfast as we had to get up early for a bus!

Disliked: Kate left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

26 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: this place is very nice...its one of the best hostel we stayed in Chile...the owner is lovely and very helpfull!!!!!great breakfast thank you

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Guilherme Gomes

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 April 2012 Guilherme would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is great! Amaro and Jackeline are very nice!

Disliked: The kitchen could be bigger.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Single beds in dorm rooms gave it a spacious feel. Great breakfast and friendly staff. A great stay and would thoroughly recommend it!

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing breakfast, helpful staff, great location, we had a private room which was well appointed. Good map, really cool area - atmosphere, bumped into the ownes while having breaky - talked for ages before we even realised - they were both champs, really good hostel.

Disliked: sometimes there´s a funky smell next to the showers

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the breakfast is very good, scrumbled eggs, bread, homemade jam, good coffee and fresh fruit. Nice to eat with the other people in the hostel at the same table. Good conversations. Rooms are good.

Disliked: the toilet and bathroom are old and smells a little bit

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice interior Large ceilings Friendly and knowledgable staff

Disliked: Road works during the day Some rooms hard to ventilate and with no outside windows

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely hosts, fantastic location right in the historic centre of Valparaiso. The breakfasts were great, lots of fruit!

Disliked: The common area is right outside rooms so if you want to have a few glasses of wine after midnight its frowned upon...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Grant McKelvey

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 March 2012 Grant would recommend this property

Liked: Why can't all hostels be like this?! Casa Aventura is everything a backpackers should be, and the best we have stayed in in south America. Very friendly and helpful staff led by Christian. Beautiful, typical house right in the perfect quarter of town. Comfortable, clean rooms and shared bathrooms. Well equipped and tidy kitchen. Excellent breakfast every day served around common dining table with fellow travellers made for an excellent atmosphere. We cannot recommend this hostel highly enough. Thanks for a great stay in Valparaiso!

Disliked: Nothing!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jamie Guajardo

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 March 2012 Jamie would recommend this property

Liked: What is not to like about this place. Breakfast was always being replenished and there was eggs! Myself and my partner loved staying here as the location and house could not be better. There was nothing better than waking up opening the large windows to a beautiful spansh/latin american 1800's architecture, old cobble stone streets and a blue sky in the bakcground. We took so many photos of the view from our window up the hill than of most other places.

Disliked: The only thing I can think of is that the common area was not the largest so there would be times when it was packed as packed can be.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sean Diamond

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 March 2012 Sean would recommend this property

Liked: - The breakfasts were the best Ive had in 7 weeks of this trip; fruit platter, homemade jams, scrambled eggs, real coffee. People lingered over their breakfasts and were sociable. - Good clean shower and toilet facilities - Friendly and helpful staff, really took time to show you where to go on the city map for example

Disliked: - My room (3 bed dorm) smelled slightly from the damp ceiling. - The room was off an enclosed central room, no window directly to the outside. - It s a lights-out-at 12 place (due to the proximity of the social area to the rooms and potential disturbance from people talking). Its a bit early and a bit like being put to bed!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Melanie Robillard

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 March 2012 Melanie would recommend this property

Liked: The location is excellent. The breakfast is fantastic.

Disliked: If you are in the dorm right next to the office desk it's loud. It's right where everyone eats breakfast and the only common area. Be warned. If you have an early bus to catch wear earplugs to bed.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marco Dilger

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 March 2012 Marco would recommend this property

Liked: Best breakfast I ever had in a hostel! Staff as well among the best i ever encountered

Disliked: It's not easy to meet people here, the common area is very small and closes early. Only one public computer that was very old and not functioning properly.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maurits Van der Zouw

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 February 2012 Maurits would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel has a really relax atmosphere and is no party hostel. This place was just what we needed! This hostel serves a great breakfast every morning with scrambled eggs, fresh bread, nice coffee and a good conversation with the other guests and the German owner. The staff speaks English, spanish and German and are really helpfull. The room we stayed in was amazing! À double room with a really high sealing and great view. The location is great aswell. Situated close to some of the highlights of Valparaiso or on walking distance. The kitchen has everything you need to make a meal. The oven is even working so we made ourselves à nice lasagne :)

Disliked: Nothing!!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed my stay. Love the location, character and the beds are so comfortable. Staff are friendly and helpful and made my stay more enjoyable. I will be recommending this hostel to anyone who visits Valparaiso. Also the breakfast is fantastic! You even get eggs! This hostel makes you feel very much at home.

Disliked: There is absolutely nothing to dislike about this hostel! If anyone does they must be very hard to please.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Super comfortable beds, pillows and blankets! Good breakfast with fruits, scrambled eggs etc.

Disliked: Can be quite noicy since the breakfast table/common area is right in front of the rooms. There is nobody at reception after 8 pm. Also: DO NOT pay this hostel via bank transfer! Just don't. You'll end up paying a lot more than supposed.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms are really spacious and the beds comfortable. The bathroom upstairs had a good, hot shower, the wifi worked properly and the breakfast was very good (included fruits and tasty bread). Location is good, staff is nice and you get a proper value for money.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed at Casa Aventura for 3 nights, 2 were in the 3-bed dorm and 1 in a private room - both were excellent. Spacious, comfortable beds, down duvets and individual lockers, shelves and bedside tables. There were no bunks (you get a proper bed!) so it was possible to have your own space. The private room was very generous in size and light. The staff are ultra friendly, and the owners make an effort to have breakfast with the guests every morning. The breakfast includes fresh fruit, eggs, tea/coffee, fresh bread and what seemed to be homemade jam - yum! All in all, an excellent hostel which has obviously considered the needs of travellers and has all the key things right. I would recommend Casa Aventura to anyone visiting Valpo.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.