HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostal Casa Valparaíso

Guesthouse | Pasaje Gálvez 173, Cerro Concepción, Valparaiso, Chile 2340000

88.7% Overall Rating

110 out of 114 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/12/2013)

"the casual staff were nice and friendly. the location of the hostel makes it easy to access the town."

Read all Hostal Casa Valparaíso reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Valparaiso?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Valparaiso

Casa Volante Hostal
13.43 USD

Hostel 95.9% 65 reviews
Casa Fischer Hostal
15.25 USD

Guesthouse 92.0% 122 reviews
Hostal Casa Aventura
16.14 USD

Guesthouse 91.1% 68 reviews
La Colombina
26.90 USD

Guesthouse 97.9% 4 reviews
Girasoles de Valparaíso
14.35 USD

Guesthouse 73.3% 3 reviews
Casa Kultour
21.52 USD

Guesthouse 93.7% 28 reviews
La Valija Hostel
15.25 USD

Hostel 91.6% 13 reviews
Allegretto B&B
17.94 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.7%

Overall Rating

110 out of 114 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostal Casa Valparaíso'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
85.6%
Staff
94.4%
Value
88.0%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 97 of 109 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

22 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Très bonne ambiance et excellents accueil et conseils des responsables.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the casual staff were nice and friendly. the location of the hostel makes it easy to access the town.

Disliked: if you want to sleep this place may not be the place to stay. late night revelers get back from their night out and make a lot of noise, disrupting those who need to sleep. the late breakfast caters to these late nighters.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: simply the best staf of all hostels I know, I recommend

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

22 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Sergio was extremyly helpful and friendly as well as his staff. Really great Ambiance in the hostel. Gold starting point to explore the world heritage quartier of Valparaiso.

Disliked: Nothing - no problems at all.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great breakfast, but starts kind of late... Helpful staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really good location in Cerro Concepcion. Lots of great cafes, restaurants and sights near by. The double room was really big and the bed was incredibly comfy. The breakfast was also nice, including eggs, and freshly made juice smoothies (although the breakfast was served quite late, 9.30-midday. A bit of a pain if you wanted to head out early).

Disliked: Although it said 24 hr reception, we arrived at 7.30 in the morning and had to sit on the door step for two hours until anyone got up. We rang the mobiles, and also rang the doorbell several times but still had to sit there for two hours. Was a bit of a pain!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Martín Jiménez Arango

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday

24 December 2012 Martín would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast was great and the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Martín left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very fun and helpful staff and really care about their hostel and want to make your stay the best possible. Clean place.

Disliked: Confusing to get to your first time.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jenny Dell

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 September 2012 Jenny would recommend this property

Liked: great staff, really passionate about valpo, and we were given a really detailed introduction to the town and the sights. Was good to have your own key as well, and you can borrow cards for the metro to Vina del Mar which was a pleasant surprise, as otherwise we would have had to buy this in addition to the ticket which would have been pointless. Good breakfast, and served until 12.

Disliked: Jenny left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elvy Doorman

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 April 2012 Elvy would recommend this property

Liked: So friendly these people! The breakfast is great, until 12.00!!! It feels like a shared appartment, a real living room, really nice. And the beds are great!

Disliked: Sometimes no hot water, but most of the time there was no problem

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Marcos Duque

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2012 Marcos would recommend this property

Liked: It's very well located and the breakfast is very good.

Disliked: It's very noisy during the night. They allow parties downstairs, so if you want to sleep before 2am, forget it. Last night they also made some mess (even more noise, spilled oil, a strange guy sleeping on a couch...) during the previous party so next morning breakfast time was delayed because of it.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Emma McInnes

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 March 2012 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: Alehandros (? spelling) and Vanessa were very nice. Vanessa told us all about the city and good places to eat! Each morning they serve breakfast from 9:30 until noon which was great because we got to sleep in and when we were ready to eat we would go downstairs and eat with the other travelers and share stories. It was a nice setting. I realised that you just need to make yourself at home, treat it as if it is your own and you will soon enjoy the atmosphere much more. As for the room - it was spacious and warm (end of March) and clean. There were three washrooms - all clean. I never ran out of hot water nor did I have to wait in a line for the shower. They also provide laundry for a fee and towel hire too. I'd recommend this place again!

Disliked: The noise from the social space does echo upstairs, however you are in a hostel and although it may be noisy until midnight you will get lots of sleep from then on!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good Atmosphere, helpful staff its a good hostel to stay if you dont have any problems if there are a lot of noises!

Disliked: bathrooms are realy a mess, very loud, there is next to the hostel some party going on..

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

enrico panizzolo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 March 2012 enrico would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is very friendly and helpful, beds are nice and breakfast is good too

Disliked: Toiltes could be improved but still ok

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Marie Helbo

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 March 2012 Marie would recommend this property

Liked: Jorge, the owner, welcomed us very warmly and gave us all the information needed to visit the city, go to restaurants or for drinks; the breakfast was awesome (and served till late so you can sleep in ;-) ); the beds are really comfortable; the location is great... everything was good!

Disliked: You have to queue for shower but, hey, you just have to be patient!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maria Eugenia Martinez

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Shopping

06 March 2012 Maria Eugenia would recommend this property

Liked: Excelent location. The staff is more than friendly and always willing to advise and help. the athmosphere inside the hostel is great.

Disliked: No bad topics

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Beatriz Quiros Mancebo

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 January 2012 Beatriz would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! Perfect location! Great atmosphere in the hostel, very friendly, delicious breakfast (includes scramble eggs!), nice decor and Jorge, the owner is the best manager ever. He gives you all the info and tips you need for Valparaiso, offers you drinks during the day and cares a lot for all his guests! I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Valparaiso!

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

MARGARET RULLI

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 January 2012 MARGARET would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were great size (almost too big!) and we were in an excellent location in the beautiful historic district. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful with recommendations on places to visit in the area. We also loved the free drinks the hostel had in the evening, because every guest was in the hostel common room socializing, so you really got a sense of community during your stay. Oh and they had an amazing breakfast - with eggs!

Disliked: One of the showers in the house was broken during our stay so everyone had to share one bathroom. By the end of the day, the bathroom got a bit dirty, but nothing unmanageable!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a really nice hostel that makes you feel like you are at home with a decent kitchen and communal space. It's not too big so you know everyone who is staying there and the owner Jorges is really helpful and makes everyone feel at home.

Disliked: Hot water goes off and on in the shower but think this might be a general problem in South America.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lorraine Taylor

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 December 2011 Lorraine would recommend this property

Liked: Staff really friendly and helpfull Fantastic breakfast with scrambled eggs! Good location Great, friendly atmosphere

Disliked: Quality of the beds, dorms, but is really made up for by the great ambience!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pretty central location, excellent wifi, decent breakfast

Disliked: There are only 2 dorms (one 6 bed and one 8 bed) which were very small and there weren't enough lockers for everyone. Didn't think the hostel had much character but it was relaxing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jonathan O´Riordan

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

07 December 2011 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: This is hands down the nicest hostel we have stayed in throughout Brasil, Ecuador, Peru and now Chile. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. This is also the best breakfast we have experienced in the whole of South America; firstly it is nicely timed from 9:30 to midday and comprises fruit, bread, tea or coffee and freshly made scrambled eggs (once again some of the nicest I have had in South America as a whole) when you arrive to the table if desired. Check in is not until the afternoon, yet when we arrived at 6am the owner got us to take off our backpacks and immediately showed us to some dorm beds to get some sleep before even checking in as he knew we had been travelling on an overnight bus. He then offered us a breakfast when we woke up for the small charge of 1,500 pesos. This is also one of the friendliest hostels in which we have stayed. We originally came for two nights and extended our stay by another two because the hostel and its ambience were so nice. We stayed chatting over breakfast for two hours to other guests every morning. I could not recommend any hostel more.

Disliked: Absolutely nothing apart from maybe having to leave when our stay was at an end.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

steve hancock

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 December 2011 steve would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are amazing.....and Jorge knows his stuff when it comes to the best the local are has to offer!

Disliked: steve left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, great location, good admosfere and nice pisco sours!

Disliked: lockers too small

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good Breakfast(and breakfast hours). Free pisco sours some nights.

Disliked: Bathrooms we a little run down. Property in need of some basic maintenance but not too bad.