We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostal Casa Valparaíso

Guesthouse | Pasaje Gálvez 173, Cerro Concepción, Valparaiso, Chile 2340000

91.4% Overall Rating

112 out of 116 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/12/2013)

"the casual staff were nice and friendly. the location of the hostel makes it easy to access the town."

Read all Hostal Casa Valparaíso reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Valparaiso?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Valparaiso

Casa Volante Hostal
12.47 USD

Hostel 96.0% 75 reviews
Casa Fischer Hostal
9.16 USD

Guesthouse 91.9% 123 reviews
Hostal Casa Aventura
14.99 USD

Guesthouse 90.2% 70 reviews
La Colombina
24.98 USD

Guesthouse 97.9% 4 reviews
Casa Kultour
19.98 USD

Guesthouse 93.7% 28 reviews
Hotel Montealegre
27.06 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
La Valija Hostel
14.15 USD

Hostel 92.0% 14 reviews
Allegretto B&B
16.65 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.4%

Overall Rating

112 out of 116 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostal Casa Valparaíso'

Atmosphere
90.4%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
96.8%
Value
92.0%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 99 of 111 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Irena Deiuri

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 November 2010 Irena would recommend this property

Liked: Jooooorgeeeee! The best hostel owner in the world! The breakfast was amazing, and the warm welcome and farewell party makes me come again and again and again and agin to this wonderful hostel. Thank you guys for all the great time we had there!!!

Disliked: Absolutely nothing, everything was perfect!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Rozzi Klomp

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

16 November 2010 Rozzi would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic breakfast, comfy beds & a cosy family home atmosphere. The guys who run the hostel are super helpful, although they don't speak much english, they spoke very slowly and helped me with my espanol.

Disliked: Can be very quiet if you are on your own, however, during my stay there were some awesome backpackers also staying here :)

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Kirsty Bennetts

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 November 2010 Kirsty would recommend this property

Liked: Situated in an old house which has a lot of character. Our room was very spacious. The communal area was just like being in a friends home. The pisco sour was delicious!

Disliked: Nothing really. You have to climb a lot of steps to get to the hostel but that's part of the nature and character of Valparaiso and it keeps you fit.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

07 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff and location of this hostel were amazing. Jorge, the manager of the hostel went out of his way to recommend places to go to and activities we could do. He was also lovely enough to make us breakfast even though we got up way later than the time breakfast is served - he gave us amazing service and was so hospitable. I would definitely stay there again. Our room was also enormous and very comfortable.

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hosts were very friendly and helpful. Went out of their way to help you and make you feel at home. Nice big rooms and nice bedding. Good pisco sours monday night.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lachlan Calder

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

19 September 2010 Lachlan would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic staff, great pisco, good fun

Disliked: Lachlan left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jonathan Adams

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

03 September 2010 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were big and the views from the windows were good. Staff were really friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: lovely hostel with really friendly staff and AMAZING breakfast, recommended!

Disliked: -

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great Staff :)

Disliked: the location

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms were decorated in a fun way and were clean and comfortable.The breakfast was generous and tasty and freshly made.

Disliked: the bathroom not very clean.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Lindsey Bauer

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

22 July 2010 Lindsey would recommend this property

Liked: A fantastic find! I will definitely stay here when I return to Valparaíso. The breakfast was delicious, and the staff was extremely helpful to find fun and economical ways of exploring the city. Would recommend for anyone!

Disliked: Lindsey left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jonathan Tucker

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 July 2010 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: Nice guy running the place who was very helpful. Breakfast was nice too, with eggs and kiwi fruit as well as the standard bread and jam. Great location, though currently the alley it's on is being dug up. Still, the cerro itself is beautiful.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Neal Ledwith

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break

05 July 2010 Neal would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was ultra friendly and very helpful, making sure we knew all the places to see, get a beer, cheap eats. Joined in on their pisco and cervice night, which was brilliant.

Disliked: Can get a bit cold in winter as the place has no heating at all. Warm blankets on the beds though.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sarah Pirouet

02 June 2010 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: The host Jorge could not do enough for you and there was free Pisco sour each night and he cooked a lovely seafood dinner for a very good price.Good place to meet and socialise with other travellers.

Disliked: Sarah left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

15 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff here were so lovely and did all they could to help you, showing you where to visit, the cheap restaurants, where was safe to go at night etc. Great breakfast with delicious eggs, fruit, bread, tea etc. Nice living room with TV and comfy sofas. Beds were comfortable and you were given a spacious locker on arrival with a key. Good location on Cerro concepcion, it was down a kind of passageway but we didnt feel unsafe at all.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

13 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel! It's in a safe area, though the first time we walked down the stairs and through the alley we were a bit apprehensive. The manager is incredibly friendly and helpful and he puts on an "event" every second night like cooking a meal or pisco sour night for everyone in the hostel, which usually ends with a night out in the clubs. It's great for meeting people, and a really comfortable house-style hostel. Breakfast is also really good!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

27 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice owner and staff, very central location on cerro concepcion, good breakfast and big airy rooms. Only inconvenience was noise during the night.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

robert jones

11 February 2010 robert would recommend this property

Liked: the property is nice, with large rooms with high ceilings. the building has character, though does need a little modernising, and a better bathroom. the staff are always polite and happy to help, and the breakfast is good too, with bread, butter, jam, eggs, fruit, juice, and tea & coffee on offer.

Disliked: robert left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

victoria smith

11 February 2010 victoria would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful old building with heaps of character, high ceilings, huge windows, great atmosphere. Staff were very friendly. Breakfast was nice. Free wi-fi. Big bedrooms. Really enjoyed our stay here!

Disliked: victoria left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

30 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had a great stay at Casa Valparaíso! It was in a great location, not hard to find as long as you wrote down the directions before! This was a great and safe location to wander around, easy to get to everywhere from. The hostel had really a really great character, it wasn't your average hostel which made it really nice! It was perfectly clean, we had full use of the kitchen, there were 3 bathrooms, free wifi, had a dorm all to ourselves, we were really happy here. The staff were local spanish guys and we didnt speak any spanish at that point, but they made a huge effort and were super friendly! Would definitely recommend staying here!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

samantha fosberry

29 January 2010 samantha would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly, hospitable and relaxed.Good breakfast! very enjoyable stay.

Disliked: samantha left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

robert henson

23 January 2010 robert would recommend this property

Liked: Nice little hostel. Owners were very helpful and accommodating. Only a little english - but no problems communicating. Was a little hard to find - but worth the effort for its location. Would stay here again for sure:)

Disliked: robert left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

10 January 2010

Liked: I dont particularly recommend it.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.