HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hostal Casa Valparaiso Valparaiso

Hostel

Galvez 173., Cerro Concepcion, Valparaiso, Chile

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 84%

Facilities 84%

Location 91%

Safety 92%

Staff 94%

Value 90%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • BBQ
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Housekeeping
  • Luggage Storage
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Valparaiso?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 84%

Facilities 84%

Location 91%

Safety 92%

Staff 94%

Value 90%

Showing 21-9 of 9 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Everything! Perfect location! Great atmosphere in the hostel, very friendly, delicious breakfast (includes scramble eggs!), nice decor and Jorge, the owner is the best manager ever. He gives you all the info and tips you need for Valparaiso, offers you drinks during the day and cares a lot for all his guests! I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Valparaiso!

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The rooms were great size (almost too big!) and we were in an excellent location in the beautiful historic district. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful with recommendations on places to visit in the area. We also loved the free drinks the hostel had in the evening, because every guest was in the hostel common room socializing, so you really got a sense of community during your stay. Oh and they had an amazing breakfast - with eggs!

Disliked: One of the showers in the house was broken during our stay so everyone had to share one bathroom. By the end of the day, the bathroom got a bit dirty, but nothing unmanageable!

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: This is a really nice hostel that makes you feel like you are at home with a decent kitchen and communal space. It's not too big so you know everyone who is staying there and the owner Jorges is really helpful and makes everyone feel at home.

Disliked: Hot water goes off and on in the shower but think this might be a general problem in South America.

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Pretty central location, excellent wifi, decent breakfast

Disliked: There are only 2 dorms (one 6 bed and one 8 bed) which were very small and there weren't enough lockers for everyone. Didn't think the hostel had much character but it was relaxing.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: This is hands down the nicest hostel we have stayed in throughout Brasil, Ecuador, Peru and now Chile. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. This is also the best breakfast we have experienced in the whole of South America; firstly it is nicely timed from 9:30 to midday and comprises fruit, bread, tea or coffee and freshly made scrambled eggs (once again some of the nicest I have had in South America as a whole) when you arrive to the table if desired.Check in is not until the afternoon, yet when we arrived at 6am the owner got us to take off our backpacks and immediately showed us to some dorm beds to get some sleep before even checking in as he knew we had been travelling on an overnight bus. He then offered us a breakfast when we woke up for the small charge of 1,500 pesos.This is also one of the friendliest hostels in which we have stayed. We originally came for two nights and extended our stay by another two because the hostel and its ambience were so nice. We stayed chatting over breakfast for two hours to other guests every morning. I could not recommend any hostel more.

Disliked: Absolutely nothing apart from maybe having to leave when our stay was at an end.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Staff are amazing.....and Jorge knows his stuff when it comes to the best the local are has to offer!

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Oct 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very friendly staff, great location, good admosfere and nice pisco sours!

Disliked: lockers too small

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Oct 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good Breakfast(and breakfast hours). Free pisco sours some nights.

Disliked: Bathrooms we a little run down. Property in need of some basic maintenance but not too bad.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very nice owners, great location, nice common room and the best breakfast and breakfast times (fresh scrambled eggs and 9-12!) i have had in south america, good common area, dorms with a view. This is the best hostel I've ever stayed at! The staff was really helpful and the place was gorgeous!

Disliked: I was only 3 days .. I would like more time. Valparaiso is wonderful.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: In a beautiful alley with no cars. Big rooms. Super friendly and helpful.

Disliked: A little noisy (TV is on all the time) but no worse than your average hostel.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability