HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostal Casa Valparaíso

Guesthouse | Pasaje Gálvez 173, Cerro Concepción, Valparaiso, Chile 2340000

90.2% Overall Rating

111 out of 115 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/12/2013)

"the casual staff were nice and friendly. the location of the hostel makes it easy to access the town."

Read all Hostal Casa Valparaíso reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Valparaiso?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Valparaiso

Casa Volante Hostal
13.30 USD

Hostel 96.0% 75 reviews
Casa Fischer Hostal
12.49 USD

Guesthouse 91.9% 123 reviews
Hostal Casa Aventura
14.99 USD

Guesthouse 90.2% 70 reviews
La Colombina
24.98 USD

Guesthouse 97.9% 4 reviews
Casa Kultour
19.98 USD

Guesthouse 93.7% 28 reviews
Hotel Montealegre
27.06 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
La Valija Hostel
14.15 USD

Hostel 92.0% 14 reviews
Allegretto B&B
16.65 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.2%

Overall Rating

111 out of 115 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostal Casa Valparaíso'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
87.2%
Staff
96.0%
Value
90.4%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 98 of 110 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

07 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is a gem. Jorge is a great host whose advice and hospitality made us enjoy Valparaiso so much more than we could have otherwise. He ordered dinner for us to be delivered when I was ill and was always available to help in any way possible. The location is exceptional and very safe - in the best neighbourhood in town. A great smaller hostel with lots of character and seemingly great people passing through.

Disliked: The other reviews are a bit over the top about the negatives, particularly the noise and shortage of bathrooms. We had our three year old with us and he slept perffectly as we did. None of us ever had to wait for a bathroom.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

15 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly people - they help you whenever they can :) Good breakfast Central located Very clean Nice kitchen

Disliked: ---

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

14 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Super hostel. So friendly and helpful staff! Free Piscosour!

Disliked: Nada

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice Host. A real partyhostel. You have to get use to walking on narrow streets, it is a bit creepy when you are use to NOT going places that look like that. Get the cab to: Papudo and templeman. It is very close.

Disliked: There is a lot of noise. We left early in the morning and the night was terrible. The noise was so bad, and you couldnt say anything because the owner iniciated the party. Ask for room upstairs!!!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Gabriele Cordes

With my spouse / partner

City break

09 February 2011 Gabriele would recommend this property

Liked: The stuff was very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Could be cleaner

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of those rare hostels where you immediately feel at home - absolutely loved it! The location is amazing, the building itself great, awesome staff, free Pisco Sour night...if you go to Valpo, this is the place to stay.

Disliked: I don't mind because my iPhone's enough for checking e-mails, but there are no guest computers available. But for booking your next hostel or somethin quick I'm sure the staff will let you use theirs.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

07 February 2011

Liked: Nothing really

Disliked: Place is very old and in bad condition, also not particularly clean. No facilities (computers, food / drink available to buy, towels). Also the dorm had no blinds so the sun wakes you early, the neighbourhood is full of dogs who howl all night and the bunk-beds are about to fall apart and rattle every time you move. Awful hostel

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

03 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Jorge, who runs the hostel, could not be friendlier or more helpful. He offers loads of info and tips, makes pisco sours (free) for guests, and even invites you to join him in a jugo fresco if you're around when he's making it. It's also a great place to meet other travelers. And the breakfast is excellent. Unlike many hostels which only offer bread, butter, jam and tea, Casa Valparaiso has scrambled eggs, fresh fruit, juice, coffee with milk, and of course bread, butter, jam and tea.

Disliked: There are three bathrooms but more would be nice for the size of the hostel.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

03 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very nice location, friendly athmosphere

Disliked: free wifi, but no computers

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adam Vandermeij

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 January 2011 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: Great place with great people. Jorge was awesome and really helpful with where to go and where not to go (for safety). If you like alternative night life I reccomend going to Mascarra for good dancing and good looking people.

Disliked: Nothing really at all. One of the showers was a bit tricky at times but nothing to complain about.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

adrian richardson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 January 2011 adrian would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are great. One of the best places i've stayed to meet people and explore the city together.

Disliked: The directions given to get here are not the best. i recommend checking google maps before your due to arrive.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great breakfast and a very enthusiastic and helpful hostel owner. Jorge is great!

Disliked: Fine.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Karla Rohde

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

15 January 2011 Karla would recommend this property

Liked: Super staff that told us everything important about the city, where to go, where not to go, where to eat and so on. Breakfast perfect and till 12 whith eggs, fruits and good juice! Specials like free wine and sometimes the hole hostel inclusive staff goes together to a party. Enjoyned the stay so much......

Disliked: No computers for internet, but Wifi

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Sena Shellenberger

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

15 January 2011 Sena would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are great- hold events for thr guests to mingle(last night was free wine and fruit). The breakfast is AMAZING. The house itself is old and bathrooms aren't as clean as I would prefer, but the people are great and we have extended our stay 2 nights already. Really fun chill place.

Disliked: Bathrooms

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Jorge was so friendly and helpful, kitchen facilities and breakfast both really good.

Disliked: Not really enough bathrooms when the hostel was full, but not too bad.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Alexandra Shannon

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 January 2011 Alexandra would recommend this property

Liked: The owner, Jorge, is a wonderful man. He made us feel welcome from the second we walked in and was always doing nice things for his guests. He even provided free drinks in the evenings and made us eggs every morning. He reccommended us places to go and even lent us his metro card to get around. Such an awesome guy and an awesome hostal. STAY HERE!!

Disliked: Nada!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Stella Evers

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 January 2011 Stella would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is great! They organize something for the guests every other day. Their asado was superb!

Disliked: The only downside I can think of was that 2 of the 3 bathrooms were downstairs, and that the one upstairs was therefore very busy.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Small hostel with a great atmosphere. The owners are really friendly and do a high effort to make you happy. I stayed there for New Years Eve and the dinner with the party they organized was just great. Everybody loved the hostel with the nice common room and the great breakfast. Jorge, one of the owners, speaks enough Spanish to be able to give you enough tipps for visiting Valpo, I really have enjoyed my stay.

Disliked: Breakfast only starts at 9.30 am , but as we went out in the evenings, this was ok.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emily Feinberg

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2011 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and staff. Felt more like a home than a hostel--the owner and son were super friendly and seriously helped out as if we were part of the family! The minute we arrived, we were given maps and tons of info about the area and helped to our rooms. We were getting up early for our bus, and they stayed up late, setting out our breakfasts (a hot and delicious one, might I add) and then got up at 7 to make sure we were up and ready to go. We also hung out in the common area 2 nights in a row because the space was so inviting and the hostel just cozy and inviting. Just got back from 3 weeks of travels and this was by far our best stay.

Disliked: Nothing. It was all great!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

31 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, interesting location, large room (the 2 bed one).

Disliked: Only 2 showers for the whole place.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

25 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything

Disliked: nothing...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing breakfast, big bed, great location and extremely friendly staff

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gareth Pearson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 December 2010 Gareth would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were amazing, really make stopping at this cosy cool hostel great. Offer lots of advice regarding things to see and not bother seeing.

Disliked: Nada

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fabulous, cosy hostel in the heart of Valparaisa. Easy to miss from the road, so look for the house number. The staff were wonderful and made us feel totally at home. We found their English great as our Spanish is terrible. Their tips on places to see and things to do were also spot on and the breakfasts are superb!

Disliked: I can't think of a single thing!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Irena Deiuri

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 November 2010 Irena would recommend this property

Liked: Jooooorgeeeee! The best hostel owner in the world! The breakfast was amazing, and the warm welcome and farewell party makes me come again and again and again and agin to this wonderful hostel. Thank you guys for all the great time we had there!!!

Disliked: Absolutely nothing, everything was perfect!