HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostal Casa Valparaíso

Guesthouse | Pasaje Gálvez 173, Cerro Concepción, Valparaiso, Chile 2340000

88.7% Overall Rating

110 out of 114 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/12/2013)

"the casual staff were nice and friendly. the location of the hostel makes it easy to access the town."

Read all Hostal Casa Valparaíso reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Valparaiso?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Valparaiso

Casa Volante Hostal
12.08 USD

Hostel 96.0% 75 reviews
Casa Fischer Hostal
12.10 USD

Guesthouse 91.9% 123 reviews
Hostal Casa Aventura
15.55 USD

Guesthouse 90.7% 69 reviews
La Colombina
25.92 USD

Guesthouse 97.9% 4 reviews
Casa Kultour
20.74 USD

Guesthouse 93.7% 28 reviews
Hotel Montealegre
33.70 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
La Valija Hostel
14.69 USD

Hostel 92.0% 14 reviews
Allegretto B&B
17.28 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.7%

Overall Rating

110 out of 114 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostal Casa Valparaíso'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
85.6%
Staff
94.4%
Value
88.0%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 97 of 109 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

fagen barry

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 October 2011 fagen would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice owners, great location, nice common room and the best breakfast and breakfast times (fresh scrambled eggs and 9-12!) i have had in south america, good common area, dorms with a view. This is the best hostel I've ever stayed at! The staff was really helpful and the place was gorgeous!

Disliked: I was only 3 days .. I would like more time. Valparaiso is wonderful.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

24 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: In a beautiful alley with no cars. Big rooms. Super friendly and helpful.

Disliked: A little noisy (TV is on all the time) but no worse than your average hostel.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

20 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the atmosphere of the hostel was amazing

Disliked: this hostel wasn´t very clean.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

mark govier

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 July 2011 mark would recommend this property

Liked: It is a reasonable place, in a good central location.

Disliked: The groups of backpackers who would take over the kitchen and lounge area, and make it difficult for others to eat etc.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sam Adams

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 July 2011 Sam would recommend this property

Liked: Jorge was awesome! He showed us what to see and what to do in the city. Also he warned us of the more dangerous areas of town. He gave us a rechargeable metro card to use too.

Disliked: n/a

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

DAVE WILSON

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2011 DAVE would recommend this property

Liked: The place is great, the hostel is set in the heart of the preserved old town. The manager is super friendly and goes out of his way to make sure you know where to go (and where not to go ) in town, to recommend the best services, the best value restaurants (away from the tourists) and the type of bars they have in town. He put on a BBQ when the football match was on and genuinely made us feel at home. I would recommend people to stay here without doubt - it is not a party hostel but nonetheless it is a great place to have drinks and meet other travellers and hit up the town. Best breakfast I've had in Sth America. Beds are super comfortable and warm as well which is always a bonus in Chile in winter. I will be going back.

Disliked: If you want a massive wild backpacker party scene with a bar etc then maybe this is not for you. But, don't get me wrong, it is great to meet people and go out for drinks and have fun.. also good if you want to stay long term and study or look for work etc.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Mark Rizzo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 June 2011 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was kind and the breakfast was good.

Disliked: The downstairs room was rather shabby and I was kept up by the loud group of English teens and American playing drinking games (not the hostels fault).

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ingrid Errington

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 June 2011 Ingrid would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic breakfast, comfy beds, clean, nice loungeroom, great location up on the hill (but not TOO far up!).

Disliked: No computer, had to make your own bed and book exchange was rather lacking, but all minor inconveniences.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bryan Davis

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 June 2011 Bryan would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast, good atmosphere. Great common area.

Disliked: Tough to find, but that is Valpo I suppose. No heat too, so can be chilly.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast was amazing and the staff were very friendly and helpful - spent time explaining the best sightseeing spots in Valparaiso and Vina Del Mar. Downstairs lounge has a nice homely feel.

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing breakfast, unlimited hot water, great social area to encourage meeting people, and hostel is small enough that you do meet everyone. Great atmosphere.

Disliked: None.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I think that if it were summer and the hostel were full it would have been a fun place, but it was cold and only a few people were staying there which decreased the 'fun' factor. Good breakfast (with good bread!) and a nice common area.

Disliked: Rooms were a bit cramped, lockers were busted (though the host offered to store our valuables for us - hardly an idea alternative). Electrical outlets in the room didn't work.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely helpful and nice staff. They also do a good breakfast and put a lot of care into things. Good washing service as well.

Disliked: The property is an old building and this shows at some places. However the house is cleaned rigorously every day by the staff.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

liam hall

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

01 May 2011 liam would recommend this property

Liked: Family feel. Good hostel for the city. Keep in mind building is old

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had a great stay here. Booked two nights and ended up staying 4. We loved the staff and enjoyed the dinners and drinks they put on for guests for a small price. Perfect location in a very cool area....lots of nice cafes.

Disliked: Nada

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joseph Carew-Bourke

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 April 2011 Joseph would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel I have ever stayed in, nice building with friendly staff and other travellers.

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: breakfast, meeting people, location, staff (family) would there defenitively go again,

Disliked: 7 beds in a 6 bed room, but well - if they wouldn't have added another bed I couldn't have extended my stay. waiting for the shower, breakfast could be earlier in case you have early to leave - but then rolls wouldn't be fresh ;)

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: breakfast is wonderful and served late. beds are super!

Disliked: hot water could be erratic in the morning when everyone else had also showered

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the owner provides his guests with many informations

Disliked: ... cleanliness was okay but not outstanding good

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samuel Bainbridge

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 April 2011 Samuel would recommend this property

Liked: Staff very helpfull, really great atmosphere & we got free Pisco sours too!

Disliked: They could do with a sign out the front of the property as its easy to walk past and miss it.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Charming old house

Disliked: nil

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

maria popson

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 March 2011 maria would recommend this property

Liked: Love the care george has with the guests!

Disliked: Nothing, it was all good!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Gillian Hurn

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 March 2011 Gillian would recommend this property

Liked: Small and quirky, with helpful staff. The double room was big and light.

Disliked: There are only 2 bathrooms (including 1 shower) so sometimes you have to wait a while to use the toilet.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Mike O´Neill

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 March 2011 Mike would recommend this property

Liked: Set in an old house, this place was like staying in someones house rather than a hostel. It's only a small place, but has a very homey feel. When I checked in the guy on the desk gave me a map, and marked on all the good places to visit, how much things cost etc. The area the hostel is set in is quiet, and really nice. There is a kitchen you can use, and 2 large supermarkets at the bottom of the hill. The living room has a TV and big dinig table, and is a great place to meet people. I had 2 great nights here and met some great people.

Disliked: That I couldn't stay longer!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

07 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is a gem. Jorge is a great host whose advice and hospitality made us enjoy Valparaiso so much more than we could have otherwise. He ordered dinner for us to be delivered when I was ill and was always available to help in any way possible. The location is exceptional and very safe - in the best neighbourhood in town. A great smaller hostel with lots of character and seemingly great people passing through.

Disliked: The other reviews are a bit over the top about the negatives, particularly the noise and shortage of bathrooms. We had our three year old with us and he slept perffectly as we did. None of us ever had to wait for a bathroom.