HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Angel Hostal Guesthouse

Cumming 160, Valparaiso, Chile

Atmosphere 93%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 76%

Location 94%

Safety 95%

Staff 90%

Value 87%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Cable TV
  • Ceiling fan
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Towels Not Included"

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 1.61USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:30

Policies

  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Valparaiso?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 93%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 76%

Location 94%

Safety 95%

Staff 90%

Value 87%

Showing 1-6 of 6 reviews

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Really breakfast. Has nice vibe all staying here very friendly. Decor is cool. Really clean. Location good for sight seeing and bars.

Disliked: As others have said all one shower

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It's a small, friendly place. The manager is very helpful, and conscientious about cleaning all the time. The single room is very good value to have a break from dorms, although see below. The location, once you can find it (again see below) is on a nice street and conveniently central, just a couple of minutes' walk from where the free walking tour starts. The wi-fi is fine.

Disliked: They need to give directions from the bus station. (They just say to get a taxi or a bus, as though everyone wants to waste their money.) It is in fact extremely easy to walk from there, but only if you know the way. I thought I would just be able to walk to the hilariously named Cumming Street and then find the number. However, I went around the top of the cemeteries, which involved walking up a big hill, because on the map the street name was at that end. The biggest problem was that it forks at least once and the fork has numbers descending in the 300s. Obviously that seems like the way to go, but it's a dead end. There was no way to know which other street was also Cumming, especially at about midnight, so I just had to take a chance downhill and hope for the best. This turned out to be the right way, but then there was a T-junction and I had to guess again. Turning right there was Cumming too in the end, but it really didn't look like it would be the same street at all. It's a really, really bizarre way to name a street. You only need to be told to walk below the cemeteries (i.e. via the seaward side) and you will be fine. The receptionist then kept insisting on speaking to me in English, even though I was speaking Spanish and even asked him not to, which was extremely annoying. The single room described as 'garden view' here in fact looks onto an internal courtyard that at night just looks like a common room. Breakfast does not include any fruit. Getting into the building is always a palaver, because you have to telepathically know to explain who you are over the intercom, rather than their just asking you.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location is great, staff are very helpful with enough English, beds & pilows very comfy!

Disliked: Shower/ bathroom facility!! If you like a hot shower then id skip this place, theres only one shower and its either burning hot or stone cold

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location, friendly atmosphere, easy to meet other travelleres, nice breakfast, very clean

Disliked: In the 3 bed dorm they put an extra bed, so there was almost no space between the beds. No diner table, and the worst is that there's only one shower

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The single room is a good valué for money. It has TV, secure safe, fun, hotter and a mini fridge. I really recommend you if you wanna a little intimacy after few days sharing room.

Disliked: The sharing room is a little small, and in the brekfast may be full. Also, there is only one shower for all the guests. But this was not a real problem for me :)

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The location and the rooms are very good!

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great hostel with lovely helpful staff in a really great location. Awesome breakfast- yoghurts, cheese toasties, cereal, toast and jam (BROWN BREAD!!!), tea and coffee which was a refreashing change from jam and white rolls bread! The hostel is really nicely decorated with loads of cool art and grafetti work and is very clean. Nice little social area so easy to meet people, watch TV and use the computers which have really fast internet. We used the kitchen a lot and it´s really well equiped. Just all round a very good hostel, we extended our stay here because it was so great and Valparaiso is also lovely!

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Location, staff helpfulness.

Disliked: The bathroom was not super clean but was not also really bad. Could be improved.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Small place with a lot of character and very friendly and helpful staff. It seemed to fit in seemlessly to the character of Valparaiso itself. Really enjoyed this hostel.

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Central location.

Disliked: When I arrived at 2 pm, I was simply told the place was full and I should look elsewhere, DESPITE HAVING A CONFIRMED BOOKING!My reserved place had been given to some German girls.I had to stand my ground and point out I didn´t book and pay a deposit to "look elsewhere", carrying my backpack around in hilly Valparaiso and losing the deposit paid. Finally, receptionist admitted that a room couldn´t be used as it had to be fumigated as it had BEDBUGS, but I could leave my stuff and occupy the room after 4 hours.In the end, I could only move in after 9.30 pm!And, even then, despite having paid for a 3 bed dorm, I was put into a more basic/uncomfortable 8 bed dorm (empty as it had just been treated for bugs), but still charged for the 3 bed place I booked. A TOTAL RIP-OFF!My first such experience with a place booked on HostelBookers.

Check Availability