We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Angel Hostal

Guesthouse | Cumming Street 160, Valparaiso, Chile -

88.1% Overall Rating

71 out of 85 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/04/2015)

"Really breakfast. Has nice vibe all staying here very friendly. Decor is cool. Really clean. Location good for sight seeing and bars."

Read all Angel Hostal reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.56

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Valparaiso?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Valparaiso

Casa Verde Limon
11.53 USD

Hostel 92.3% 162 reviews
Casa Violeta Limon
14.80 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
La Casa del Puerto
18.70 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
La Valija Hostel
10.13 USD

Hostel 89.7% 18 reviews
Casa Kultour
18.70 USD

Guesthouse 92.6% 29 reviews
PataPata Hostel
12.42 USD

Hostel 86.4% 22 reviews
Allegretto B&B
15.58 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Casa Volante Hostal
11.52 USD

Hostel 93.0% 82 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 07/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 07/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.1%

Overall Rating

71 out of 85 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Angel Hostal'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
76.0%
Cleanliness
87.2%
Staff
90.4%
Value
85.6%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 72 of 82 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really breakfast. Has nice vibe all staying here very friendly. Decor is cool. Really clean. Location good for sight seeing and bars.

Disliked: As others have said all one shower

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

I. C. Turner

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2015 I. C. would recommend this property

Liked: It's a small, friendly place. The manager is very helpful, and conscientious about cleaning all the time. The single room is very good value to have a break from dorms, although see below. The location, once you can find it (again see below) is on a nice street and conveniently central, just a couple of minutes' walk from where the free walking tour starts. The wi-fi is fine.

Disliked: They need to give directions from the bus station. (They just say to get a taxi or a bus, as though everyone wants to waste their money.) It is in fact extremely easy to walk from there, but only if you know the way. I thought I would just be able to walk to the hilariously named Cumming Street and then find the number. However, I went around the top of the cemeteries, which involved walking up a big hill, because on the map the street name was at that end. The biggest problem was that it forks at least once and the fork has numbers descending in the 300s. Obviously that seems like the way to go, but it's a dead end. There was no way to know which other street was also Cumming, especially at about midnight, so I just had to take a chance downhill and hope for the best. This turned out to be the right way, but then there was a T-junction and I had to guess again. Turning right there was Cumming too in the end, but it really didn't look like it would be the same street at all. It's a really, really bizarre way to name a street. You only need to be told to walk below the cemeteries (i.e. via the seaward side) and you will be fine. The receptionist then kept insisting on speaking to me in English, even though I was speaking Spanish and even asked him not to, which was extremely annoying. The single room described as 'garden view' here in fact looks onto an internal courtyard that at night just looks like a common room. Breakfast does not include any fruit. Getting into the building is always a palaver, because you have to telepathically know to explain who you are over the intercom, rather than their just asking you.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is great, staff are very helpful with enough English, beds & pilows very comfy!

Disliked: Shower/ bathroom facility!! If you like a hot shower then id skip this place, theres only one shower and its either burning hot or stone cold

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Stine Sørensen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 April 2014 Stine would recommend this property

Liked: Small, nice and clean

Disliked: Very small with only one shower!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, friendly atmosphere, easy to meet other travelleres, nice breakfast, very clean

Disliked: In the 3 bed dorm they put an extra bed, so there was almost no space between the beds. No diner table, and the worst is that there's only one shower

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pedro Mayoral Zazo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 March 2014 Pedro would recommend this property

Liked: The single room is a good valué for money. It has TV, secure safe, fun, hotter and a mini fridge. I really recommend you if you wanna a little intimacy after few days sharing room.

Disliked: The sharing room is a little small, and in the brekfast may be full. Also, there is only one shower for all the guests. But this was not a real problem for me :)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location and the rooms are very good!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Peter Clark

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

26 April 2013 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel with lovely helpful staff in a really great location. Awesome breakfast- yoghurts, cheese toasties, cereal, toast and jam (BROWN BREAD!!!), tea and coffee which was a refreashing change from jam and white rolls bread! The hostel is really nicely decorated with loads of cool art and grafetti work and is very clean. Nice little social area so easy to meet people, watch TV and use the computers which have really fast internet. We used the kitchen a lot and it´s really well equiped. Just all round a very good hostel, we extended our stay here because it was so great and Valparaiso is also lovely!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chris Brown

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 April 2013 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: Small place with a lot of character and very friendly and helpful staff. It seemed to fit in seemlessly to the character of Valparaiso itself. Really enjoyed this hostel.

Disliked: Chris left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Cristiano Lopes

Alone

City break

22 April 2013 Cristiano would recommend this property

Liked: Location, staff helpfulness.

Disliked: The bathroom was not super clean but was not also really bad. Could be improved.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Laszlo Wagner

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 April 2013

Liked: Central location.

Disliked: When I arrived at 2 pm, I was simply told the place was full and I should look elsewhere, DESPITE HAVING A CONFIRMED BOOKING! My reserved place had been given to some German girls. I had to stand my ground and point out I didn´t book and pay a deposit to "look elsewhere", carrying my backpack around in hilly Valparaiso and losing the deposit paid. Finally, receptionist admitted that a room couldn´t be used as it had to be fumigated as it had BEDBUGS, but I could leave my stuff and occupy the room after 4 hours. In the end, I could only move in after 9.30 pm! And, even then, despite having paid for a 3 bed dorm, I was put into a more basic/uncomfortable 8 bed dorm (empty as it had just been treated for bugs), but still charged for the 3 bed place I booked. A TOTAL RIP-OFF! My first such experience with a place booked on HostelBookers.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carina Sauter

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 April 2013 Carina would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome breakfast, nice bathroom with a hot and strong shower to get clean and relax;):)) Everything is clean, staff is very helpful and friendly.

Disliked: The beds were squeaking but that's it.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Martin Hornacek

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 April 2013 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: - friendly staff

Disliked: - no negative feedback

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The dorm rooms have lockers, the beds were comfy and the hostal is quiet so we had a good sleep. The owner was very nice and helpful and explained all the great places to visit in the area as soon as we arrived. The hostal is also in a great location and a short walk from the centre. The hostal also provides free wifi and two computers for guests to use.

Disliked: Yes, this hostel does only have one bathroom for all the guests to use (although there is a separate toilet), but we didn't find it too much of a problem during our stay. I think it would only be a problem if you are in a rush - otherwise you can find a quiet time to shower, maybe when other people are cooking dinner, or earlier in the morning before everyone needs it! As others have commented the communal area is a little small, however again we didn't find it much of a problem. There is also a kitchen with oven, microwave, gas hobs and fridge/freezer.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

tyler coll

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 February 2013 tyler would recommend this property

Liked: the hostel was really cool and all the rooms - private + dorms are decorated well with cool art work . staff were friendly enough and we loved the cheese toasties and the rest for breakfast.

Disliked: the communal areas were too small for us. the lounge/living area only has room for three or so people or else you find yourself tripping over one another. the shower was not 24hour hot water.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Angel Hostel esta en un lugar buenísimo, cerca de todo (restaurantes, botellerías, bares, paraderos de micros, colectivos y trolebus y zona turística). Los que trabajan allí son muy amables y te dan indicaciones de lo que ver y hacer en Valparaíso. El ambiente es muy amigable.

Disliked: Hay solamente una ducha y el lugar luce como sucio... hace falta un aseo más frecuente y eficiente, una vez que mucha gente pasa y pasará por allá. No recomiendo si quieres estar alojado por más de 2 días.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

13 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: super cozy environment and very clean. great location for a young traveller who wants to go out at night.

Disliked: only one shower

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They had incredible breakfasts - 2 toasted cheese sandwiches for each person plus toast, cereal, yoghurt and we were given muffins one morning too. They gave us all free champagne for new years eve too which was great. Very secure, locked front door and lockers provided

Disliked: Only one shower for farrrrr too many people. The beds and sheets were not great either.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff is friendly,nice rooms with style

Disliked: little community room

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Daniel Ward

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 December 2012 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Super central location, great wifi and computers. A perfect place to meet other travellers as the communal area is tiny and breakfast is served for the whole hostel on a coffee table in the centre. This is a bit strange at first but I liked it. If you don't want to meet other travellers or fear enclosed spaces this wont be for you.

Disliked: Only one bathroom for the hostel so expect to queue and the kitchen is small.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 December 2012

Liked: This hostel was very quirky and the beds really comfy. Was in a good location and felt safe staying here.

Disliked: There were only 2 bathrooms at this property and one of them smelt badly of drains. The kitchen was tiny and you had to wait your turn to cook. I also didn´t like the layout of the hostel, the communal area was just too small for all the guest to sit and socialise or eat. And I didn´t like how the owners area you had to knock to go in and speak to him.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 November 2012

Liked: Nice breakfast, good location.

Disliked: Had to wait to check in despite it saying you can check in at 12. Very cramped. Only one bathroom very little hot water.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Tomás González

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

22 November 2012 Tomás would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and more than decent (free) breakfasts. Also, you can a very full equipped kitchen for cooking.

Disliked: It doesn't have enough bathrooms and you don't have the option of having a private one, which could be a problem when the hostel is full.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break

07 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hotel, very nicely located between cerro bellavista cerro alegre and cerro conception. The street is full of nice bars frequented by local people. Good vibe. The staff is extremely kind and helpful

Disliked: all good

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Pieter Obdeijn

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

06 November 2012 Pieter would recommend this property

Liked: Nice atmosphere, art and staff!

Disliked: Only one shower, an extra shower would be nice

The property's response is...