HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Licanantay

Hostel | Guillermo Rivera 316, Subida Ecuador, Valparaiso, Chile 2380374

66.5% Overall Rating

27 out of 41 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/03/2014)

Elise O'Neil thinks…

"Great staff, extremely friendly welcome! Was surprised it was so great after reading bad reviews- obviously written by pedantic neurotic travellers who haven't been in enough backpackers to realise…"

Read all Hostel Licanantay reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 0.83

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Valparaiso?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Valparaiso

Hostal de Visita
13.32 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Casa Verde Limon
11.32 USD

Hostel 91.1% 144 reviews
Casa Violeta Limon
13.74 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Angel Hostal
13.32 USD

Guesthouse 88.6% 82 reviews
La Casa del Puerto
13.32 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
La Valija Hostel
14.15 USD

Hostel 92.0% 14 reviews
La Colombina
24.98 USD

Guesthouse 97.9% 4 reviews
Casa Kultour
19.98 USD

Guesthouse 93.7% 28 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
66.5%

Overall Rating

27 out of 41 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Licanantay'

Atmosphere
68.8%
Location
72.8%
Facilities
57.6%
Cleanliness
56.8%
Staff
68.8%
Value
72.8%
Safety
68.0%
Refine your results Showing 31 of 39 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Siu Wing Yeung

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 May 2014

Liked: No

Disliked: Price is different from hostelbookers and they charge me for full price and don't refund me the 12% online payment. Noisy.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Siu Wing Yeung

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 May 2014

Liked: No

Disliked: PrIce is dishonest and noisy of the bar until 4am

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 May 2014

Liked: No

Disliked: Price is dishonest. Too Noisy of the bar under the hostel.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 April 2014

Liked: friendly staff and the location is ok

Disliked: stayed over weekend so it was very noise because of the bar downstairs...run down and not very clean

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elise O'Neil

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 March 2014 Elise would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, extremely friendly welcome! Was surprised it was so great after reading bad reviews- obviously written by pedantic neurotic travellers who haven't been in enough backpackers to realise this is a good one! Well equipped kitchen, cleaning every day, comfy beds and not as noisy a everyone made it out to be! Recommended.

Disliked: Only hitch is the kitchen wait-time gets a bit extreme (2 hrs for pasta!) because of te people-kitchen ratio. Easily fixed by cooking earlier or heading out instead! We were here on the weekend though so this could be different on other days!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Mark Candey

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 February 2014 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap. OK location, free WiFi. Can't complain for the price.

Disliked: Only a few grubby bathrooms. No computers to use. Rubbish breakfast (but at least they have one). Can be noisy - should repect guests after 24:00 and have area for people to party late without disturbing others. Limited power points.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013

Liked: - the staff tried to be helpfull and friendly (showed us the sightseeing points on the map) - kitchen is usefull for cooking

Disliked: - disco under the hostel (very loud at night) - party every night in the kitchen (very loud) - bed very uncomfartable - french staff had problems with the speach (english and spanish) - breakfast was rare (only bread with marmalade and coffee/ tea) - there have been problems with the showerslots, because there are only 3 bathrooms for many people

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and good location

Disliked: Noise because there is a bar downstairs

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2013

Liked: La localisation et le prix

Disliked: A priori, cette auberge paraissait très correcte sur le site. Malheureusement, nous sommes arrivés un dimanche matin, après une nuit bien arrosée pour le personnel. Nous avions réservé une chambre à 6 pour finalement avoir une chambre à 12, et il manquait un carreau à l'une des fenêtre en plein hiver, et rien n'avait été fait pour éviter les courants d'air. La cuisine, les salles de bains étaient sales, les poubelles non vidées et des sacs poubelles traînaient dans l'entrée. Il manquait des barreaux à certains de nos lits, et le petit déjeuné était constitué de pain dur. Malgré le prix très attractif, je ne recommanderai pas cette auberge.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

05 May 2013

Liked: The beds were really comfy.

Disliked: The receptionist was more interested in chatting with the guests than attending me when I arrived. The price for renting towels was out-of-date. The shower had a bunch of hair clogging up the drain. It was gross.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good big beds

Disliked: a little scrubby in places

31.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

03 March 2013

Liked: Staff was somewhat friendly.

Disliked: Incredibly dirty, the staff played loud music all night and very early in the morning, breakfast was just bread, in a terrible part of town.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Steve Haley

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 February 2013 Steve would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Snoring Brazilian man?

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful building and staff were so friendly and helpful

Disliked: Shower rooms were a bit mouldy and dirty looking - just needs a bit of a spruce up!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nevena Pencheva

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 September 2012 Nevena would recommend this property

Liked: The location is amazing, very friendly stuff, nice and clean place. But from thursday to sunday is a party place so not suitable for people looking for peace and quietness.

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a hostel up a hill from some cool bars. There were lots of friendly backpackers here to party so probably not the best if you need sleep more than anything. The Californian guy & Chilean guy who works there are really friendly and helpful! Usual hostel bread/jam/tea breaky. Lockers in dorms. It's on the first story of a building so street noise isn't too bad. I walked from the bus terminal, the description gives good details- Avenida Ecuador is a small street so carefull not to walk past it! Valparaiso isn't that big so the hostel is in walking distance of most things.

Disliked: There are now 8 bed dorms instead of 6, but the bunkbeds are 3/4 size so really big! Wear footwear at all times or you might get dirty feet! Kitchen is clean though.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kayla Van Kampen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 April 2012 Kayla would recommend this property

Liked: It had a really cool vibe, the beds were comfortable (and warm!) and the staff was very friendly.

Disliked: Nothing, it was a great place.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

john sparre

Alone

City break

02 April 2012 john would recommend this property

Liked: the taxi driver that took me to the hostel stole my bag. the police were not interested but the staff tried to help me find the driver but it was useless. the beds are very big and wide. queen size.

Disliked: i wasn´t there long but i think that there is only one combined bathroom-toilet.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ekaterina Smirnova

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 February 2012 Ekaterina would recommend this property

Liked: Really sweat beds, amazing friendly staff, clean bathrooms, liquid soap in bathroom

Disliked: Poor breakfast

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Alessandro Paudice

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 January 2012

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: The worst place that I stayed in my life travelling around the world. The rooms and the bathrooms are very dirty. The manager is very very rude. I don't recommend this place. Don't go.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is in a great area, near really cool bars and places to eat. The hostel is clean, guys working there are great and there is a real family feel in terms of everyone going out at night.

Disliked: When we arrived we had booked into a 4bed dorm but other travellers had turned up earlier that day adn were placed in this room. This was a little annoying so the owner explained he would move them when they returned. The hostel is very loud- if you book into the 4bed it is right beside the kitchen and for the 3 nights I was there I was woken up each night by drunk travellers. I was poorly so it was not the best place to be.Also, there is no organisation in the fridge I had pizza and wine stolen, which was very frustrating

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that the staff was so friendly, we ate together and did some sightseeing together. The hostel was really cosy

Disliked: Cant think of anything

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: La situacion, el trato del staff

Disliked: nada

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

DIMITRA CHATZIIOANNIDOU

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2011 DIMITRA would recommend this property

Liked: A bohemic hostel in a really good location of Valparaíso close to all the shops, museums and bars...The beds are really great and the owner Gonzalo makes every backpacker feel really welcome! I would definitely suggest it to other backpackers!

Disliked: The building would need some renovation, but after all this is the beauty of Valpo!

40.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Steve Peirce

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 June 2011

Liked: The bed was this hostel`s only redeeming feature, it was the best I´ve slept in after spending 2 months in South America.

Disliked: Where to start. The staff were terrible, when we arrived they were incredibly rude and dismissive. We booked into a 4-man dorm, but when we arrived the guy showed us to a 12-man room where only 3 beds were made up, the rest were still dirty from previous guests, there was also a lot of litter on the ground. When we asked about the 4-man dorm the guy said he`d sort it in the morning (we were only staying one night) and walked out. Then the next day checking out we had to wake him up to do so. The bathrooms were disgusting with a lot of mould on the ceilings and generally looked like they hadn`t been cleaned in a while. The free breakfast was nowhere to be seen. Also the photos aren`t reflective of the property at all, the whole place is shabby, with peeling paint and generally looks run-down. We left as soon as we could, there are far nicer places right nearby for the same price.