HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostal NuevaMente

Guesthouse | Pocuro Street Nº 1088, Valparaiso, Chile 2340000

78.7% Overall Rating

103 out of 112 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/02/2012)

"Fantastic friendly staff, god location in walking distance from sights and busses."

Read all Hostal NuevaMente reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Sofa

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 74.93
  • Breakfast USD 4.16

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Valparaiso?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Valparaiso

B SIDE House
13.32 USD

Guesthouse 87.1% 4 reviews
The Grand House
69.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Puerto Encantado
9.99 USD

Hostel 77.5% 9 reviews
Hostal El rincon Marino
18.32 USD

Hostel 93.3% 9 reviews
Hostal Costa Manantial
0.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
LATINOAMERICANOHOSTEL
16.65 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hostel Licanantay
11.66 USD

Hostel 66.5% 41 reviews
Hostal de Visita
13.32 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
78.7%

Overall Rating

103 out of 112 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostal NuevaMente'

Atmosphere
77.6%
Location
68.8%
Facilities
73.6%
Cleanliness
74.4%
Staff
87.2%
Value
83.2%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 89 of 103 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Natalia Garcia

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

16 January 2014

Liked: it was cheap

Disliked: We arrived at 6am and we had to wait in the cold until 9am that somebody showed up to open the door for us! the room was big but not very clean. The bathroom wasn't very clean and there's a permanent guest who is kind of an asshole.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly staff, big rooms,

Disliked: a little bit dirty,

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 February 2013

Liked: The proximity to the bus station

Disliked: See above

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

02 January 2013

Liked: Friendliness

Disliked: Is not too close as informed, there is lot of stairs and the place was not too clean but it was reveillon and it justify because everyone was doing party.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic friendly staff, god location in walking distance from sights and busses.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Jarleth Lennon

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 February 2012

Liked: Staff were helpful and recommended things to do in town

Disliked: Extremely difficult to find. No one at the bus station had heard of it and there is no sign outside the door when you eventually get to the right street. Bathroom and kitchen facilities very basic

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

psyche man shan law

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 January 2012 psyche man shan would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel has charisma and the staffs as well as guests are friendly and fun.

Disliked: psyche man shan left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luke Jensen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 January 2012 Luke would recommend this property

Liked: The water pressure is amazing! It's like a fire hydrant whenever you turn on any faucet. What luxury! Staff is very helpful - they give you a lock for your locker and a key for the outside door so you don't have to buzz in all the time. Above-average breakfast (biscuits, yogurt, juice, tea) served until a reasonable hour (why do most places stop at 10am?).

Disliked: It is a little bit far away from everything, but there are lots of combis/metro options.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly owners, sent several emails of advice before ariving.

Disliked: -

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Luis Miguel TEIXEIRA DE CASTRO

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 January 2012 Luis Miguel would recommend this property

Liked: Basic accomodation, ok for one night. Friendly staff.

Disliked: Far from the city historic center. Lots and lots of dogs in the neighborhood!! We needed to wash everything before using it in the kitchen.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Ralph Warren

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 January 2012

Liked: Nice old houe, not so clean though. Friendly staff

Disliked: Is a long walk to the center, cold shower

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Piotr Tomiak

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 December 2011 Piotr would recommend this property

Liked: It's cheap, nice and quite near the to sea. Maybe neighborhood is not a touristic one, but still it's safe and it is reflected in the price.

Disliked: Piotr left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

15 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We really liked staying at this hostel. The staff were lovely and really helpful. It was close to the main areas of Valparaiso and it was easy to catch public transport to sightsee around the city. We had to catch a bus at 10:45pm and the hostel let us keep our luggage there during the day for free, even after we had checked out and then let us hang out at the hostel until it was time to catch our bus. We really appreciated that.

Disliked: Dishes in the kitchen were quite dirty and required us to clean things prior to being able to utilise them. Other than that, there is nothing to dislike about this hostel.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice set up

Disliked: not centrally located, alittle unclean

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kim van Rossum

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 January 2011 Kim would recommend this property

Liked: The Swiss couple that worked here where verry friendly and helpfull. on arrival we got a map and all the information about the town and what to do while here. the room we had was big and clean. there is a mini shop right accross het street. the kitchen is small but at least you can cook your own meal. for us it was the money worth.

Disliked: the floor is made of wood and when some one is walking you can hear it all over the house.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: My experience at this hotel was excellent. If I return to Valparaiso sure I return to this hostel, always gave me good advice to learn and have fun. This hostel is simple but clean and functional.

Disliked: We live a good and memorable experience with the real life of local people, by not being located in the most touristic area. Is close to everything, museums, viewpoints, elevators, supermarket, restaurants, transportation, sea ... Nothing displeased me.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

03 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i booked a dorm room and was thrilled to find out that a dorm only has 2 beds in it. Staff were very helpfull, i checked out 3 hours late and there was no problem whatsoever

Disliked: the hostel wasnt in the best location but was a cheap taxi ride into town

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paul Dempsey

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 November 2010 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Very Helpful staff, very clean, well equiped kitchen and very comfy beds

Disliked: Try to do laundry elsewhere....... very difficult as none in the area but exeptionally expensive in the hostel iself

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Wai Ming Wong

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

18 November 2010 Wai Ming would recommend this property

Liked: The staffs are really helpful. When I arrived, the staff did spend half an hour to describe Valparaiso and let me know what can I do. In addition, I was also informed some must-go place which is not mentioned in any guide book. Really friendly and helpful staffs!!!!!

Disliked: The location is just so so, but near to the bus terminus. I would rather prefer staying at the nearby cerro so that I can watch the night view of Valparaiso easily.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Magee

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 November 2010 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent hostel. It´s a fifteen minute walk to the more happening end of town, but we don´t mind that at all. The room was big and nice, the shower was great, the staff were fantastic, the view was good. It´s small so it isn´t a party hostel, but we´re not traveling to party. I´d absolutely recommend this hostel for couples or traveling partners who want a chill, comfortable hostel that feels like home.

Disliked: Daniel left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 November 2010

Liked: The owner and staff were really helpful. The owner rang up some places in the next place we were going and booked us in somewhere, and gave us something to put in our sandwiches after our stuff was stolen out of the fridge. Another staff member advised us on places to visit and was very helpful too. Also you could walk there from the bus station.

Disliked: I disliked the location as it was really far from anywhere and there was nothing around there at all (unless you needed your car fixing), and it was a really scruffy area. I disliked the breakfasts which included stale tasting sliced bread, and the room we were in. I disliked the fact that there was no light on the steep stairs when you returned to the hostel, making it difficult to find your way. I didn't like the fact that no toilet paper was supplied at any point while we were there.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway

26 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: really beautifull building, nice tv room and a kitchen that we could use. Shower was good and hot!!

Disliked: Not enough pots and pans for cooking..

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Sarah Davies

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2010 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: The owners were really warm and welcoming - more like a family than a hostel.

Disliked: The showers were cold, and one toilet is not enough between all the guests!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jens petersen

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

18 July 2010 jens would recommend this property

Liked: the staff!

Disliked: low season

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

21 May 2010

Liked: Very friendly stuff, big and clean (but in winter very cold) rooms; kitchen and bathrooms are not really clean....

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.