HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Casa Verde Limon

Hostel | Cumming (Plaza El Descanso)198, Cerro Cárcel Valparaiso, Chile 000

88.8% Overall Rating

128 out of 135 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/04/2014)

Ramona Riedel thinks…

"It is very central and close to restaurants, shops and bars. The house is tastefully furnished and it is clean."

Read all Casa Verde Limon reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Onsite shop(s)

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 3.59

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Valparaiso?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Valparaiso

Angel Hostal
14.35 USD

Guesthouse 88.3% 81 reviews
La Casa del Puerto
14.35 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Girasoles de Valparaíso
14.35 USD

Guesthouse 73.3% 3 reviews
La Valija Hostel
15.24 USD

Hostel 91.6% 13 reviews
La Colombina
26.90 USD

Guesthouse 97.9% 4 reviews
Casa Kultour
21.52 USD

Guesthouse 93.7% 28 reviews
PataPata Hostel
17.93 USD

Hostel 87.5% 19 reviews
Allegretto B&B
17.93 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.8%

Overall Rating

128 out of 135 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Casa Verde Limon'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
89.6%
Staff
88.0%
Value
88.8%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 120 of 131 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The dorm was nice and big. There is enough bathroom for everyone.

Disliked: Not spotless and if the staff is nice they are not specially helpful.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Ramona Riedel

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 April 2014 Ramona would recommend this property

Liked: It is very central and close to restaurants, shops and bars. The house is tastefully furnished and it is clean.

Disliked: The recepcionists are not very welcome and did not explain the city or activities. They reacted bugged about questions.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Interesting building, nice common area which is very social. Good showers and location.

Disliked: Very cold inside, much colder than outside the building - lead to a few wadrobe malfunctions. Don't know how they get it so cold inside, bit unpleasant really, especially when it was pretty warm outside the building.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Gemma Bridgman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 March 2014 Gemma would recommend this property

Liked: I moved to Casa Verde Limon after staying at Casa Volante for 2 nights (they were booked up and I wanted to stay longer in Valparaiso). Both hostels were nice - clean, well kept, no breakfast but free tea/coffee. Verde Limon has a great central location near to some recommended restaurants. The trapeez and aerial silk (apparently that's what it's called) were completely random and fun to have a play on.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alysha Clark

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 February 2014 Alysha would recommend this property

Liked: Fabulous property. Clean. Central. Great rooms. Definitely stay again!!

Disliked: Alysha left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location for supermarket, sights and transport, and lovely cooking and communal facilties. Good wifi

Disliked: Bathroom upstairs could do with a better lock. All the bedrooms seems nicely decorated,except ours but perhaps they are working on that room by room. Minor points really!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ben Pettitt

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 October 2013 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! Comfortable beds, clean bathroom, great common area. Loads of character and a friendly atmosphere, helpful staff, near to bars and restaurants but still quiet at night.

Disliked: Nothing at all.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

tara-louise mansfield

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 September 2013 tara-louise would recommend this property

Liked: location, homely feel and bohemium atmosphere. staff were friendly. i liked having a chest of draws in the room

Disliked: although i appreciate the cleanliness of the hostel, every morning i was woken up to the vacuum, stereo, clanging plates or shifting noises from bedrooms up stairs

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in a double room with shared bathroom...the room was huge with comfy bed, TV and some nice touches like bedside table etc. The hostel is set in a big house, and feels more like a houseshare than a hostel. Great location for the waterfront, bars, restaurants and visiting the historic areas of the city.

Disliked: There is not much privacy for the toilet and shower facilities as they're off the main living and kitchen areas. The house and rooms were very cold - but lots of blankets are provided.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice people and solid vibe.

Disliked: Nothing really.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great common area, very easy to meet people, good kitchen, central location, close to restaurants and bars, nicely decorated. Met some great people and had a blast here.

Disliked: Surprised that it was a chilly even in early summer but ample blankets were provided. My bunk bed was a little wobbly so that was a little concerning. Could be loud in the room since it's right off the common area.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2013

Liked: friendly staff

Disliked: mouldy and old showers, old mattresses, kind of wet and cold rooms, noisy

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great, funky hostel! Double bed was comfortable (although our room was a quite small compared to other doubles). Decent kitchen. Good showers.

Disliked: There are no staff members around to enforce the quiet time in the common area. Since rooms are right off of this space it can be quite noisy if people stay up late partying. Not a huge deal though - people will usually quiet down if you just ask them too!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff. Good facilities, in all really happy with this hostel.

Disliked: Not enough showers

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sam Posetti

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 June 2012 Sam would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely friendly and helpful staff.. Centrally located just behind the unesco area.. Sufficient and clean enough kitchen and bathrooms. Noise from common room is turned off at 12. Friendly vibe in common area..

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Matthew Roberts

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 June 2012 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: lots of character

Disliked: No heating. Everyone talked about this before we got here, although it is a little ridiculous that there are heaters everywhere although they wont turn it on unless you pay extra.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kevin Wu

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 May 2012 Kevin would recommend this property

Liked: english speaking staff and fully equipped kitchen

Disliked: it's far away from bus terminal.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 April 2012

Liked: Beds are comfortible and warm Wifi is fast Good location Well decorated Towels are included

Disliked: They charge you to put a heater on- never come across that before. When someone did turn the heater there was no gas and the other one didn't work. only one 5 bed dorm the rest are couples- not much fun for a solo traveller It has big windows that make it cold They need more dorm beds to make it a hostel no breakfast Rooms are off common room which makes it hard to go to bed early, as the lights are on etc

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Josh Mullenger

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 April 2012 Josh would recommend this property

Liked: It had a really good atmosphere. It also was situated in a really good spot. It was a really nice hostel

Disliked: The bathrooms opened up onto the kitchen but it wasnt a real big deal. That is is how the quirkness of valpo works. The kitchen was a little small so you had to time your run to use it for cooking dinner it also didnt have much things to use in the ktchen eg sharp knives pots bowls you get my drift

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jo Stafford

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

19 April 2012 Jo would recommend this property

Liked: Great building and location, nice comfy beds and good always-hot showers

Disliked: Jo left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: atmosphere

Disliked: noisy

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful architecture nice size hostel.

Disliked: Bit noisy with noise from the street at times but drumming and dogs are a problem everywhere!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice cosy atmosphere, great place to meet other travellers.

Disliked: I can imagine it being quite cold as even in the Summer it was quite fresh in the communal areas.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ling Yin Phyllis Ho

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 March 2012 Ling Yin Phyllis would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in a private double room with bath room, to our surprise it includes a kitchen and there is a refrigerator too! To my observation, there is a tv in each room. The staff are helpful. Sammy provided info of Valparaiso and helped us to search information for our trip to Argentina.

Disliked: Staff may stayed just 1 floor above our room, sometimes we heard they walked around.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

adam popowicz

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 March 2012 adam would recommend this property

Liked: great location, everything we needed for one night stay, good kitchen etc, helpful staff and a nice building.

Disliked: adam left no negative feedback.