We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Casa Verde Limon

Hostel | Cumming (Plaza El Descanso)198, Cerro Cárcel Valparaiso, Chile 000

92.3% Overall Rating

155 out of 162 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/03/2015)

"Great character and community feel! Designed very well to get people talking and meeting."

Read all Casa Verde Limon reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Onsite shop(s)

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Valparaiso?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Valparaiso

Casa Violeta Limon
14.19 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Angel Hostal
11.95 USD

Guesthouse 88.1% 85 reviews
La Casa del Puerto
17.92 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
La Valija Hostel
11.50 USD

Hostel 89.7% 18 reviews
Casa Kultour
14.93 USD

Guesthouse 92.6% 29 reviews
PataPata Hostel
12.42 USD

Hostel 86.4% 22 reviews
Allegretto B&B
14.93 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hostal de Visita
11.95 USD

Hostel 95.2% 3 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.3%

Overall Rating

155 out of 162 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Casa Verde Limon'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
98.4%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
92.0%
Value
90.4%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 139 of 158 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nothing stood out

Disliked: was very quite, not good if your trying to meet people.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Much character, interesting colours. A trapeze! On a lovely street and near to everything. Friendly staff, relaxed atmosphere.

Disliked: Unreliable hot water upstairs and rooms can be drafty... but no biggies.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Monika Divisova

25 June 2010 Monika would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel stuff, both ladies, are very nice. Working for everyone needs. The hostel can be noisy, inside and outside as well, it depends the time of the year you visit, I think. And on your sleep as well, mine isn't too deep, so I got bit disturb by the noise. TV in each room is very good idea, especially during the football games! We really enjoyed it. The kitchen is very well equipped. All the house is airy and feels comfortable, even bit cold, but there are 2 heaters in common area, near the eating table and near the computers. PC's and wifi are working well tambien! It made us feel welcome and comfy, one of few places, during our 8month travel through South America, we won't forget.

Disliked: Monika left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

16 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent facilities. kitchen was so easy to work in. Everything worked perfectly. The beds are comfy and good supply of bed clothes. Rooms size are good. The hostel is very quirky and has a feel good vibe - was very nice to land there on a rainy evening after having issues at the Chile/Argentina border. I would definately stay here again and would recommend it. The bathrooms were kept well also. Only thing is you have to go through the kitchen to get to the shower (sounds worse than it is). Could do with hotter water but it wasnt unbearable, was more awkward for washing greasy dishes, nothing a kettle with boiling water couldn't solve though. Location is very good. close to the main street and supermarket and a good base for all sightseeing. Laundry is quite cheap, we washed a massive bag 5kgs for 3500CH pesos and it's ready in about 2 hours. Staff are helpful and they actually provide an itenery as to what to do for 3 days. We stuck to this and we covered eveything in the city.Would recommend this to friends and would come back if I ever happen to be here again. Wouldn't see it as a party hostel but then it is June/Winter at the moment and things are a little more quiet. I would imagine it's a little more lively in the Summer.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

15 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cosy

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

14 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice, modern and comfortable hostel. But rather quiet while I was staying there and hard to find anyone that works there at times.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

04 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is a beautiful place.. We loved to stay at this hostel.. It's very clean.. the rooms are awesome and it is also perfect to have a rest.. I really would recommend this place to everyone..:) The only thing is that the earliest check-in is at 8:00 a.m.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chris Clark

07 March 2010 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly. Beautiful artwork all around the house.

Disliked: Chris left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

01 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful, clean, good location: 100 points

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

22 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I love this hostel and have stayed here multiple times, I never want to leave! Great artistic style, helpful staff, and the location is perfect for walks to cerro alegre and around Valparaiso. Don´t miss it!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ben Hall

11 February 2010 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: good place to stay

Disliked: Ben left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

marc squires

07 February 2010 marc would recommend this property

Liked: really groovy place with fab decor and thoughtful touches- valparasio itself is a great place is a top pick to stay - not much help form staff who are nowhere to be seen but had a great stay and recommend

Disliked: marc left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

21 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was a nice hostel to stay in, the communal area is very open making it very easy to talk to other travellers. There is a trapese in the communal area too to practise your circus skills! There are 3 showers and 3 toilets which seemed fine for the amount of people when we stayed- however there was a problem occcasionally with the hot water.The communal area is next to the dorm room & some twin rooms which was a problem when we stayed as there were some very noisy travellers who didn´t go to bed despite the rules that you had to vacate the area by 12pm. The staff tried to ask them to go to their rooms but they wouldn´t and carried on their fun - I think that the staff should have not allowed them to stay after the 1st noisy night but they did which meant that some of us didn´t sleep for 2 nights ... not good!The hostel is decorated by the owner inside & out and it is fantastic´- they are just finishing the outside and it´s really wonderful!It is also in a good location, very central and close to everything.I would recommend this as a place to stay - just bring some heavy duty ear plugs!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

18 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very bohimian hostel, there was road works going on right outside the hostel when we stayed so it was noisy in the morning from 8.30am onwards. Internet was fast and free. Shame they dont do breakfasts, kitchen was well equipped though. They should change the bins in the top toilet everyday, we stayed two days and it wasnt emptied once so smelt a bit.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Karen Crouch

12 January 2010 Karen would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is wonderful and the house is artistic and fun with a communal kitchen. A great place to meet other travelers and share a bottle of wine. Highly recommended and very close to Cerro Alegre.

Disliked: Karen left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Joerg Tredup

03 January 2010 Joerg would recommend this property

Liked: We spent new years eve at this hostel, the staff is very nice, but this night cost 450% of the normal price, what is very expensive.

Disliked: Joerg left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

02 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good safe location. Nice building, lots of character. Sound carries through the hostel easily and if you have a room off the common area, as we did, you may well be kept awake by people talking or skyping outside your door (like we did - we didn't get much sleep!). Best bet is to ask for a room upstairs. The hostel however was very nice.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

29 December 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing staff, very fun and friendly travelers to socialize with. The house is owned by a creative Chilean family and it is super colorful and inviting. We stayed for a week and would stay longer if our travels allowed for more time!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Leah Swaggert

25 December 2009 Leah would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, very friendly staff and it is obvious the owners care a lot about the hostel. It is kept up very nicely. A lovely place to stay.

Disliked: Leah left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

14 December 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nicely renovated hostel at the base of one of the best cerros in Valparaiso.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

01 December 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A great hostel on the whole, though no breakfast and it was an elevator ride away from the main tourist area.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

23 November 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and colourful house! Reminded us of Pipi Longstocking's Villa Villekulla.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

celine benevelli

14 November 2009 celine would recommend this property

Liked: Really beautifu lplace in Valparaiso with very good location. But don't expect much from the staff. Not really involved.

Disliked: celine left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Celine Benevelli

12 November 2009 Celine would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place to stay. Beautiful and welcoming house . Good location.

Disliked: Celine left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alejandro Hernandez

05 November 2009 Alejandro would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the design of the house, is wonderful.... the house is closed to the downtown and the tourist areas. The deal with the owners is wonderful and they are very friendly.

Disliked: Alejandro left no negative feedback.