We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Casa Verde Limon

Hostel | Cumming (Plaza El Descanso)198, Cerro Cárcel Valparaiso, Chile 000

91.1% Overall Rating

137 out of 144 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/10/2014)

Erin Allenby thinks…

"Our double private room was huge, the staff were friendly and helpful, and the hostel itself is a pretty cool building with a neat layout. We were able to store our bags for the day before catching a…"

Read all Casa Verde Limon reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Onsite shop(s)

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Valparaiso?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Valparaiso

Casa Violeta Limon
13.74 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Angel Hostal
13.32 USD

Guesthouse 88.6% 82 reviews
La Casa del Puerto
13.32 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
La Valija Hostel
14.15 USD

Hostel 92.0% 14 reviews
La Colombina
24.98 USD

Guesthouse 97.9% 4 reviews
Casa Kultour
19.98 USD

Guesthouse 93.7% 28 reviews
PataPata Hostel
12.51 USD

Hostel 87.5% 19 reviews
Allegretto B&B
16.65 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.1%

Overall Rating

137 out of 144 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Casa Verde Limon'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
94.4%
Staff
88.8%
Value
91.2%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 127 of 140 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

21 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was a nice hostel to stay in, the communal area is very open making it very easy to talk to other travellers. There is a trapese in the communal area too to practise your circus skills! There are 3 showers and 3 toilets which seemed fine for the amount of people when we stayed- however there was a problem occcasionally with the hot water.The communal area is next to the dorm room & some twin rooms which was a problem when we stayed as there were some very noisy travellers who didn´t go to bed despite the rules that you had to vacate the area by 12pm. The staff tried to ask them to go to their rooms but they wouldn´t and carried on their fun - I think that the staff should have not allowed them to stay after the 1st noisy night but they did which meant that some of us didn´t sleep for 2 nights ... not good!The hostel is decorated by the owner inside & out and it is fantastic´- they are just finishing the outside and it´s really wonderful!It is also in a good location, very central and close to everything.I would recommend this as a place to stay - just bring some heavy duty ear plugs!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

18 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very bohimian hostel, there was road works going on right outside the hostel when we stayed so it was noisy in the morning from 8.30am onwards. Internet was fast and free. Shame they dont do breakfasts, kitchen was well equipped though. They should change the bins in the top toilet everyday, we stayed two days and it wasnt emptied once so smelt a bit.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Karen Crouch

12 January 2010 Karen would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is wonderful and the house is artistic and fun with a communal kitchen. A great place to meet other travelers and share a bottle of wine. Highly recommended and very close to Cerro Alegre.

Disliked: Karen left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Joerg Tredup

03 January 2010 Joerg would recommend this property

Liked: We spent new years eve at this hostel, the staff is very nice, but this night cost 450% of the normal price, what is very expensive.

Disliked: Joerg left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

02 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good safe location. Nice building, lots of character. Sound carries through the hostel easily and if you have a room off the common area, as we did, you may well be kept awake by people talking or skyping outside your door (like we did - we didn't get much sleep!). Best bet is to ask for a room upstairs. The hostel however was very nice.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

29 December 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing staff, very fun and friendly travelers to socialize with. The house is owned by a creative Chilean family and it is super colorful and inviting. We stayed for a week and would stay longer if our travels allowed for more time!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Leah Swaggert

25 December 2009 Leah would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, very friendly staff and it is obvious the owners care a lot about the hostel. It is kept up very nicely. A lovely place to stay.

Disliked: Leah left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

14 December 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nicely renovated hostel at the base of one of the best cerros in Valparaiso.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

01 December 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A great hostel on the whole, though no breakfast and it was an elevator ride away from the main tourist area.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

23 November 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and colourful house! Reminded us of Pipi Longstocking's Villa Villekulla.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

celine benevelli

14 November 2009 celine would recommend this property

Liked: Really beautifu lplace in Valparaiso with very good location. But don't expect much from the staff. Not really involved.

Disliked: celine left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Celine Benevelli

12 November 2009 Celine would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place to stay. Beautiful and welcoming house . Good location.

Disliked: Celine left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alejandro Hernandez

05 November 2009 Alejandro would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the design of the house, is wonderful.... the house is closed to the downtown and the tourist areas. The deal with the owners is wonderful and they are very friendly.

Disliked: Alejandro left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Clare Griffiths

05 November 2009 Clare would recommend this property

Liked: really homely feel and big kitchen

Disliked: Clare left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christopher Wong

02 November 2009 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: Owner was nice and greeted us with a map and showed us what we can do Valparaiso which was really useful. However, there is no open reception so not as easy as other hostels to contact staff - currently being built. Good size and open kitchen. Good size room with TV, drawers and small rack to hang clothes. Shower was the downfall as had to walk through common areas (lounge, dining room, kitchen) to get to them. Had 3 showers - 1 had no light, 1 was a shoe box, 1 was decent sized but had to have temperature a little hotter than I would have liked to activate the gas heating. Nice to let us store our luggage and hang in the hostel until our bus left in the evening. Great location - everything is within walking distance. Will be nice and cool in summer.

Disliked: Christopher left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Helen Turnbull

01 November 2009 Helen would recommend this property

Liked: This is a nice hostel, fairly quiet so good for people looking for somewhere that isn´t non-stop party. The owners were helpful when we first we arrived but we didn´t see them again. The kitchen is great if you want to cook your own meals.

Disliked: Helen left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

FERNANDO TABA

30 October 2009 FERNANDO would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel are located in a great location.The construction is fabulous and the rooms very clean. It's like a aunt home.

Disliked: FERNANDO left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rico Dietzmeyer

27 October 2009 Rico would recommend this property

Liked: nice! but bad toilets and showers! but i recommend it!!

Disliked: Rico left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

18 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel feels more like a home! Great location, really nice rooms with cable TV, clean bathrooms! One of the best hostels i've been to!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

17 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice hostal, colourful, very good equiped citchen, clean, nice and helpful owner. Close to everything you need and mayor tourist area. To be recommended.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Kevin Pleasants

09 September 2009 Kevin would recommend this property

Liked: Casa Verde was a great place for backpackers. Located in central valparaiso, the hostel was clean and incredibly cool inside. the staff were helpful, although not around that much. The kitchen was fully equipped and clean, we ended up staying an extra two nights! laundry facilities are available. overall a great place to stay.

Disliked: Kevin left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

21 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely place to relax and explore this lovely little city

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

17 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Tvs in room was a bonus. Quite quiet whilst we were there but is a nice hostel with clean rooms and good social spaces.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

30 April 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A great place to stay, a short walk to the main sights of Valparaiso and the staff are really helpful and friendly. The rooms are in a brightly coloured, quirky and fascinating house and are really comfy and homely. The doubles have TV{s with loads of channels and the bed was the comfiest I have stayed in yet! I would definitley go back and recommend to anyone.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

10 February 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic hostel! Rooms: really comfortable bed, clean, loved having a duvet instead of the usual wool blanket, and of course it was a treat having cable TV. Location: convenient to transportation, grocery stores, restaurants/bars, and tourist sites. Hostel: good water pressure in the showers, good kitchen facilities, and the entire hostel is beautifully decorated with funky colors and wall hangings. It was nice to have our own key to come and go as we pleased (the owners live upstairs in a separate apartment, so we didn't see them unless we had questions, etc). Would definitely recommend this hostel to everyone!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.